Loss of Russian transit pushes the Baltics towards reindustrialization


Policy The economic pressure exerted by the Kremlin on the Baltic countries in recent years has produced an unexpected, but at the same time quite expected result. Having lost Russian, and at the same time Belarusian transit flows, the Balts are now thinking about reindustrialization. The presence of such plans was announced by the head of the Latvian government Krisjanis Karins. What can come of this?


This all sounds pretty ironic. The fact is that the Baltic States inherited from the USSR a developed heavy industry, which they began to rapidly get rid of after gaining independence, and Latvia was the undisputed leader in this process. Everyone has heard the names of RAF, VEF, "Alpha", "Radiotekhnika" and other successful Latvian brands. All of them were immediately called “Soviet monsters”, ineffective, energy-consuming and unprofitable, and therefore pulling Latvia back into the “scoop”. In terms of the rate of liquidation of its industry, Riga has overtaken even Vilnius and Tallinn. Instead, it was predicted to become the "Baltic Switzerland", where the main stake will be made on the banking and insurance sector, and the level of welfare of Latvians will approach Scandinavia.

What came of this in practice is well known. More than half of the working-age population of the Baltics has left for other EU countries, where there is work and wages are higher, and is not going to return. In addition to "Riga Balsam", sprat and the confectionery factory "Laima", there are no special productions left in Latvia. What else kept the "Baltic tigers" afloat? Of course, their traditional transit role between Russia and Belarus, on the one hand, and Western Europe, on the other. Oil products, mineral fertilizers, coal and other bulk cargoes were transported through Latvian and Lithuanian ports.

However, the proprietary Russophobia of the Balts was also cut down on this bitch. Moscow several years ago began the process of reorienting its cargo flows to its own ports on the Baltic Sea. Now Minsk was forced to follow her example, deciding to teach Lithuania a lesson for its “Lukashenka phobia”. Half of the export volumes of Belarusian oil products will go through Ust-Luga, and potash fertilizers may follow in the future. Riga's hopes to intercept them from Russia did not materialize. The most interesting thing is how the Latvian authorities are now commenting on this. What is the speech of the head of the government of the country Krisjanis Karins, who said the following:

It is an outdated idea that transit will save us. Bridge between East and West. Well, where will he take us ... And this is the most transitory thinking - to buy, sell, carry, that we will become rich - therefore we are not rich.

The approach is original, you can't say anything. It turns out that over the past thirty years Latvia has not grown rich to the Scandinavian level only because it was forced to carry Russian transit cargo. Indeed, coal is a dirty, environmentally harmful thing, it is better to carry some containers instead, but where will they come from? No answer. In general, we have before us a typical example of "positive thinking". Even more interesting is the recipe for success that Krisjanis Karins, a native of the United States, proposed for Latvia:

The antidote is reindustrialization, which means jobs and wages for people.

The head of government proposes to carry out a kind of "intellectual industrialization" in the country, which will create new high-paying jobs for a large number of people, and it must be done with the money of the European Union. What a twist! In essence, this means recognizing the fallacy of the entire previous economic course over the past 30 years, when systemic de-industrialization was carried out. And we must admit that the conclusion made by the Prime Minister is correct, but what will come of it in practice?

At first, out of those € 2 billion of the European Recovery Fund economics, on which Karins is counting, only 5% of the amount is allocated directly to economic development. There is not much to roam here: sawing factories for scrap is not at all like building them from scratch.

Secondlywho will work in these "intellectual" industries? This requires highly qualified personnel, and with them in Latvia strained. Those who had previously left to work abroad, but they did not learn the new ones as unnecessary. Soviet research institutes and design bureaus have been liquidated, and the professional technical education has practically been destroyed due to the forced translation of the education process into the Latvian language.

Thirdly, it is not entirely clear why the head of the Latvian government believes that the reindustrialization of the Eastern European periphery will be approved by Berlin and Paris, which objectively do not need any competitors. The Western European market has long been divided, no one needs new players on it. In theory, sales are possible in the Eurasian Union, but given the current political course of the Baltic states, this is simply unrealistic.

Thus, a certain voice of reason in the leadership of the former Soviet republics is gradually beginning to wake up, but real changes are still very far away.
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vadim Ananyin Offline Vadim Ananyin
    Vadim Ananyin (Vadim Ananyin) 18 March 2021 12: 47
    +5
    Well, everything is simple here, you need to pour something into the ears of citizens, so he pours.
    Empty chatter from the appointee, nothing more, the most important thing is that no one will feel sorry for them, not in the west, not in the east.
    Judging by this, their brains have not grown until now.
    1. Pete mitchell Offline Pete mitchell
      Pete mitchell (Pete Mitchell) 18 March 2021 14: 01
      +6
      Quote: Vadim Ananyin
      it is necessary to pour something into the ears of citizens, so he pours. Empty chatter from the appointee, nothing more, the most important thing is that no one will feel sorry for them, not in the west, not in the east

      Let me clarify: idle chatter from American appointee, he is the same Latvian as ...
  2. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 18 March 2021 14: 06
    +10
    Now a helluva lot of clever farmer will tell us how their industry will reach heavenly heights.
    And Sergei missed the sprat, the last plant was closed, the sprats in Riga are Russian, and the fishermen are moving to the Russian Federation. In general, the situation is like with lard in Ukraine. Well, there is at least politically correct bacon, from Poland and Germany. But Russian sprats in Riga are the bottom!
    In short - all for the farms, for pasture.
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 18 March 2021 17: 40
      +5
      In general, the situation is like with lard in Ukraine. Well, there is at least politically correct bacon, from Poland and Germany.

      No longer No. And for a long time. News like this over the past year is full.

      Ukraine in February became the main buyer of pork from Russia, writes Interfax-Ukraine with reference to the monitoring of the Center of Agricultural Analytics of the Ministry of Agriculture of the Russian Federation.
      https://biz.liga.net/ekonomika/prodovolstvie/novosti/ukraina-stala-glavnym-pokupatelem-rossiyskoy-svininy-v-fevrale

      True, the situation may change somewhat if China thinks that Ukrainian pork is not very tasty without Mtor Sich. But there is a tendency, Moscow bacon is easily assimilated by Ukrainian "patriots" laughing
  3. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 18 March 2021 14: 11
    +7
    The third point is the main one. The inclusion of the countries of the Eastern bloc in the EU implied DE-INDUSTRIALIZATION. So no industrialization is planned in the Baltics.
    But nice to read. If there is no industrialization, will there be Latvia? Well, Ukraine should also think about it (if there is something to think about). What's with the Great Agrarian Power? Or is it still necessary to carry out industrialization? But who will give them?
    This raises another question. So why did Comrade Stalin industrialize the country?
  4. AICO Offline AICO
    AICO (Vyacheslav) 18 March 2021 14: 26
    +3
    Now let .... push each other - we will send the schedule !!!
  5. Let prostitution be engaged, Riga will be the All-Russian bard
  6. General Black Offline General Black
    General Black (Gennady) 18 March 2021 16: 12
    +4
    I would like to hear from the head of the transport department. Our Torah Drukh, Mr. Vladest.
  7. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
    zzdimk 18 March 2021 16: 20
    0
    And who needs the reindustrialization of sprotland?
  8. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
    Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 18 March 2021 17: 12
    -3
    Yes, it is bad in the Baltic countries, very bad, but it is completely incomprehensible why, by all indicators, such as standard of living, average life expectancy, etc., they are much ahead of such a rich, industrial and self-sufficient country like Russia? This is all the intrigues of enemies.
    1. Ulysses Online Ulysses
      Ulysses (Alexey) 18 March 2021 21: 44
      +3
      Yes, it is bad in the Baltic countries, very bad, but it is completely incomprehensible why, by all indicators, such as standard of living, average life expectancy, etc., they are much ahead of such a rich, industrial and self-sufficient country like Russia? This is all the intrigues of enemies.

      Tribaltic extinctions are generally of no interest to anyone.
      We in Kaliningrad can talk about trade with Poland.
      Lithuania is not in business at all.
      There is nothing interesting for our market.
    2. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 19 March 2021 06: 56
      +1
      Yes, it is bad in the Baltic countries, very bad, but it is completely incomprehensible why, by all indicators, such as standard of living, average life expectancy, etc., they are much ahead of such a rich, industrial and self-sufficient country like Russia? This is all the intrigues of enemies.

      Don't change the topic. Why are you worried? Bindyuzhnik emigrated from Ukraine to Israel, and you from the Baltic States or what?
    3. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 19 March 2021 18: 50
      +3
      Yes, it is bad in the Baltic countries, very bad, but it is completely incomprehensible why, by all indicators, such as standard of living, average life expectancy, etc., they are much ahead of such a rich, industrial and self-sufficient country like Russia? This is all the intrigues of enemies.

      No, this is propaganda. The usual rating which is considered by those who need it and of course they will calculate it as needed.
      Living standards criteria:

      Health
      Domesticity
      Public life
      Material well-being
      Political stability
      Geography and climate
      Guarantee of employment
      Political freedom
      Gender equality

      https://migronis.com/blog/country-ranking-2020

      Experts will probably easily explain that Russia in the ranking in family life cannot be in high positions because same-sex marriages are not allowed, but for health, so the Balts have all left for work in Europe, there is no one to be ill. And they will tell you about the climate that it is better there, and they will come up with something about political stability, for example, that Navalny was not imprisoned there, that others are imprisoned - that's another matter. And of course, there is much more political freedom there, just because don't argue anymore. And so on all counts.

      If you look at what the UN has counted, it turns out that according to the mysterious index of "human development" in Estonia, things are better than in Italy, the United Arab Emirates, Greece, Poland, Saudi Arabia and so on. And in Russia it turns out to be worse than in Kazakhstan, Palau, Argentina and, naturally, than among the Balts.
      https://gtmarket.ru/ratings/human-development-index

      They are there at the UN in general, they are still entertainers laughing For example, there is a rating on the quality index of elites ...
      The evaluation criteria are something like this:

      the elites, which have a predominantly positive force of development, are of the highest quality, and the elites, which have a negative impact on the development of their countries, are, respectively, of the lower quality.

      So it turns out that in Kazakhstan, Indonesia, Mexico and Saudi Arabia, the elite is more positive than in Russia, but there is no elite in Botswana. What is more positive? More positive and that's it. Don't ask. And for some reason, 32 countries in the rating, apparently in the rest of the elite are absent as a class.
      https://gtmarket.ru/ratings/elite-quality-index
  9. Pilot Offline Pilot
    Pilot (Pilot) April 13 2021 18: 43
    0
    Yes everything is correct. We must now sit on the roof, swing our legs and look at the moon. And everything will happen by itself.

Потеря российского транзита толкает Прибалтику к реиндустриализации


Политика экономического давления, оказываемая в последние годы Кремлем на страны Прибалтики, дала неожиданный, но вместе с тем вполне ожидаемый результат. Потеряв российские, а заодно и белорусские транзитные потоки, прибалты теперь задумались о реиндустриализации. О наличии подобных планов заявил глава латвийского правительства Кришьянис Кариньш. Что же может из этого получиться?


Все это звучит довольно иронично. Дело в том, что Прибалтика получила в наследство от СССР развитую тяжелую промышленность, от которой начала стремительно избавляться после обретения независимости, и безусловным лидером по этому процессу была именно Латвия. Каждый когда-то слышал названия РАФ, ВЭФ, «Альфа», «Радиотехника» и прочие успешные латвийские бренды. Все они были немедленно названы «советскими монстрами», неэффективными, энергозатратными и убыточными, а потому тянущими Латвию обратно в «совок». По темпам ликвидации своей промышленности Рига обогнала даже Вильнюс и Таллин. Взамен ей пророчили стать «Балтийской Швейцарией», где основная ставка будет сделана на банковский и страховой сектор, а уровень благосостояния латышей приблизится к Скандинавии.

Что из этого вышло на практике, хорошо известно. Более половины трудоспособного населения Прибалтики разъехалась по другим странам Евросоюза, где работа есть, а заработные платы выше, и возвращаться не собирается. Кроме «Рижского бальзама», шпрот и кондитерской фабрики «Лайма» особых производств в Латвии не осталось. Что еще поддерживало «прибалтийских тигров» на плаву? Разумеется, их традиционная роль транзитера между Россией и Белоруссией, с одной стороны, и Западной Европой, с другой. Через латвийские и литовские порты шли нефтепродукты, минеральные удобрения, уголь и прочие насыпные грузы.

Однако фирменная русофобия прибалтов подпилили и этот сук. Москва несколько лет назад начала процесс переориентации своих грузопотоков на собственные порты на Балтийском море. Теперь ее примеру вынужденно последовал и Минск, решивший проучить Литву за проявленную «лукашенкофобию». Через Усть-Лугу пойдет половина экспортных объемов белорусских нефтепродуктов, а в перспективе за ними могут последовать и калийные удобрения. Надежды Риги перехватить их у России не оправдались. Самое интересное то, как латвийские власти теперь это комментируют. Чего стоит выступление главы правительства страны Кришьяниса Кариньша, который заявил следующее:

Это устаревшая мысль, что транзит нас спасет. Мост между Востоком и Западом. Ну куда он нас заведет… И это самое транзитное мышление — покупать, продавать, везти, что мы станем богатыми, — мы поэтому не являемся богатыми.

Подход оригинальный, ничего не скажешь. Оказывается, Латвия за прошедшие тридцать лет не разбогатела до скандинавского уровня только из-за того, что была вынуждена возить российские транзитные грузы. И правда, уголь – штука грязная, экологически вредная, вместо него лучше возить какие-нибудь контейнеры, но вот откуда они возьмутся? Нет ответа. В общем, перед нами типичный образчик «позитивного мышления». Еще интереснее рецепт успеха, который предложил для Латвии выходец из США Кришьянис Кариньш:

Противоядием является реиндустриализация, что означает рабочие места и зарплаты для людей.

Глава правительства предлагает провести в стране некую «интеллектуальную индустриализацию», которая создаст новые высокооплачиваемые рабочие места для большого количества людей, а сделать ее надо на деньги Европейского союза. Вот это поворот! По своей сути, это означает признание ошибочности всего предыдущего экономического курса за минувшие 30 лет, когда производилась системная деиндустриализация. И следует признать, что вывод премьер-министром сделан верный, но вот что выйдет из этого на практике?

Во-первых, из тех 2 миллиардов евро Европейского фонда восстановления экономики, на которые рассчитывает Кариньш, непосредственно на экономическое развитие отведено только 5% от суммы. Тут особо не разгуляешься: пилить заводы на металлолом – это совсем не то, что их строить с нуля.

Во-вторых, кто будет на этих «интеллектуальных» производствах работать? Для этого нужны высококвалифицированные кадры, а с ними в Латвии напряг. Имевшиеся ранее уехали на заработки за границу, а новых не выучили за ненадобностью. Советские НИИ и КБ ликвидированы, а профессиональное техническое образование практически уничтожено из-за принудительного перевода процесса образования на латвийский язык.

В-третьих, не совсем понятно, почему глава латвийского правительства считает, что рендустриализацию восточноевропейской периферии одобрят Берлин и Париж, которым никакие конкуренты объективно не нужны. Рынок Западной Европы давно поделен, новые игроки на нем никому не нужны. Теоретически сбыт возможен в Евразийском союзе, но при нынешнем политическом курсе Прибалтики это просто нереально.

Таким образом, некий голос разума в руководстве бывших советских республик постепенно начинает просыпаться, однако до реальных перемен еще очень далеко.
14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Вадим Ананьин (Вадим Ананьин) 18 марта 2021 12:47
    +5
    Ну здесь всё просто, надо что-то лить в уши гражданам вот он и льёт.
    Пустая болтовня от назначенца не более того, самое главное что их никто жалеть-то и не будет не на западе не на востоке.
    Мозги у них не выросли судя по сему до сих пор.
    1. Pete Mitchell Офлайн Pete Mitchell
      Pete Mitchell (Pete Mitchell) 18 марта 2021 14:01
      +6
      Цитата: Вадим Ананьин
      надо что-то лить в уши гражданам вот он и льёт. Пустая болтовня от назначенца не более того, самое главное что их никто жалеть-то и не будет не на западе не на востоке

      Позвольте уточнение: пустая болтовня от американского назначенца, он такой же латыш как ...
  2. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 18 марта 2021 14:06
    +10
    Сейчас нам шибко умный хуторянин расскажет, как их промышленность достигнет небесных высот.
    А насчёт шпрот Сергей упустил, последний завод закрыли, шпроты в Риге российские, а рыбаки перебираются в РФ. В общем, ситуация, как с салом на Украине. Ну, там хотя бы сало политкорректное, из Польши и Германии. А вот российские шпроты в Риге - это днище!
    Короче - все на хутора, на подножный корм.
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 18 марта 2021 17:40
      +5
      В общем, ситуация, как с салом на Украине. Ну, там хотя бы сало политкорректное, из Польши и Германии.

      Уже нет no При чем давно. Новости, подобной этой за прошлый год полно.

      Украина в феврале стала основным покупателем свинины из России, пишет Интерфакс-Украина со ссылкой на мониторинг Центра агроаналитики Минсельхоза РФ.
      https://biz.liga.net/ekonomika/prodovolstvie/novosti/ukraina-stala-glavnym-pokupatelem-rossiyskoy-svininy-v-fevrale

      Ситуация правда может несколько изменится,если Китай подумает что украинская свинина не очень вкусная без "Мтор Сичь". Но тенденция есть, московское сало легко усваивается украинскими "патриотами" laughing
  3. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 18 марта 2021 14:11
    +7
    Третий пункт - основной. Включение стран восточного блока в ЕС подразумевало ДЕИНДУСТРИАЛИЗАЦИЮ. Так что никакой индустриализации в Прибалтике не намечается.
    Но приятно читать. Если не будет индустриализации, то будет ли Латвия? Ну и Украине надо бы задуматься (если есть чем думать). Что там с Великой Аграрной Державой? Или все же надо индустриализацию проводить? Но кто же им даст?
    В связи с этим возникает еще один вопрос. Так для чего товарищ Сталин проводил индустриализацию страны?
  4. AICO Офлайн AICO
    AICO (Вячеслав) 18 марта 2021 14:26
    +3
    Пусть теперь в .... толкают друг друга - график вышлем!!!
  5. Пусть проституцией займутся, будет Рига Всероссийским бардомом
  6. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 18 марта 2021 16:12
    +4
    Хотелось бы выслушать начальника транспортного цеха. Нашего Торагого Друха,г-на Владеста.
  7. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
    zzdimk 18 марта 2021 16:20
    0
    А реиндустриализация шпротлэнда кому нужна?
  8. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
    Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 18 марта 2021 17:12
    -3
    Да,плохо в странах Балтии,очень плохо.Но совершенно непонятно почему по всем показателям,таким как уровень жизни,средняя продолжительность жизни и т.д.они намного опережают такую богатую,индустриальную и самодостаточную страну как Россия?Это все происки врагов.
    1. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
      Улисс (Алексей) 18 марта 2021 21:44
      +3
      Да,плохо в странах Балтии,очень плохо.Но совершенно непонятно почему по всем показателям,таким как уровень жизни,средняя продолжительность жизни и т.д.они намного опережают такую богатую,индустриальную и самодостаточную страну как Россия?Это все происки врагов.

      Трибалтийские вымираты вообще никому не интересны.
      Мы в Калининграде можем говорить о торговле с Польшей.
      Литва вообще не при делах.
      Там нет ничего интересного для нашего рынка.
    2. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 19 марта 2021 06:56
      +1
      Да,плохо в странах Балтии,очень плохо.Но совершенно непонятно почему по всем показателям,таким как уровень жизни,средняя продолжительность жизни и т.д.они намного опережают такую богатую,индустриальную и самодостаточную страну как Россия?Это все происки врагов.

      Вы тему-то не подменяйте. Чего заволновались? Биндюжник из Украины в Израиль эмигрировал, а вы с Прибалтики что ли?
    3. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 19 марта 2021 18:50
      +3
      Да,плохо в странах Балтии,очень плохо.Но совершенно непонятно почему по всем показателям,таким как уровень жизни,средняя продолжительность жизни и т.д.они намного опережают такую богатую,индустриальную и самодостаточную страну как Россия?Это все происки врагов.

      Нет, это пропаганда. Обычный рейтинг который считают те кто нужно и конечно посчитают так как нужно.
      Критерии уровня жизни:

      Здоровье
      Семейная жизнь
      Общественная жизнь
      Материальное благополучие
      Политическая стабильность
      География и климат
      Гарантия трудоустройства
      Политическая свобода
      Гендерное равенство

      https://migronis.com/blog/country-ranking-2020

      ЭксперДы наверняка без труда объяснят, что Россия в рейтинге по семейной жизни не может быть на высоких позициях потому что не разрешены однополые браки, а по здоровью, так прибалты все на заработках по Европе разъехались, там болеть некому. И про климат расскажут что там лучше и про политическую стабильность что нибудь придумают, например что там Навального не посадили, что других сажают - это другое. И конечно же политической свободы там намного больше, просто по тому что больше и не спорьте. И так по всем пунктам.

      Если посмотреть что ООН насчитало, то оказывается что по загадочному индексу "человеческого развития" в Эстонии дела обстоят лучше чем в Италии, ОАЭ, Греции Польше, Саудовской Аравии и так далее. А в России оказывается хуже чем в Казахстане, Палау, Аргентине и естественно чем у прибалтов.
      https://gtmarket.ru/ratings/human-development-index

      Они там в ООН вообще те еще затейники laughing Например есть рейтинг по индексу качества элит...
      Критерии оценки примерно такие:

      элиты, обладающие преимущественно позитивной силой развития, имеют высшее качество, а элиты, оказывающие негативное влияние на развитие своих стран, соответственно низшее качество.

      Вот и получается что в Казахстане, Индонезии, Мексике и Саудовской Аравии элиты позитивней чем в России, а в Ботсване нет. Чем позитивней? Позитивней и все. Не спрашивайте. Причем в рейтинге почему то 32 страны, видимо в остальных элиты отсутствуют как класс.
      https://gtmarket.ru/ratings/elite-quality-index
  9. Лётчик Офлайн Лётчик
    Лётчик (Лётчик) 13 апреля 2021 18:43
    0
    Да всё правильно. Надо теперь сидеть на крыше, болтать ногами и смотреть на луну. И всё само произойдёт.