F-35 inflicted $ 2,5 million in damage by firing an aircraft cannon


The United States Marine Corps F-35B fighter inadvertently fired at itself with a 25mm aircraft cannon, causing significant damage estimated at no less than $ 2,5 million. It happened on March 12 in Arizona, but the incident has received fame only now.


According to the portal The Drive, the detonation of the ammunition led to damage to the lower fuselage of the aircraft. But the pilot was not injured and was even able to land the F-35B on the runway.

Despite the absence of casualties in the explosion of the munition, the US Maritime Security Center assigned the accident a Class A - the highest level of emergency on the scale of the US military. This level is assigned in cases where damage was caused in the amount of at least $ 2,5 million, the plane was lost, and the pilot or several crew members were killed, injured or disabled.


A detailed investigation of the situation has yet to be carried out. At the moment, there is information only that when fired from an artillery mount, a "tracer semi-armor-piercing high-explosive fragmentation incendiary projectile" PGU-32 / B SAPHEI-T detonated.

With correct operation, the fuse mechanism is triggered some time after the target is hit. After the explosion, as a result of contact with the air, zirconium begins to burn, which causes additional damage when the ammunition is used. Apparently, the cause of the incident was a malfunction of the projectile.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 25 March 2021 11: 39
    +5
    A wonderful plane. You just need to work on the speed a little, so that if anything, I could dodge my bullets ...
  2. oderih Offline oderih
    oderih (Alex) 25 March 2021 14: 22
    +3
    Probably rocket inserted the wrong way round.
  3. Natalia Andreeva (Natalia Andreeva) 26 March 2021 07: 22
    0
    Everything's Alright. Read the regulations acceptance shells by US military representatives. Our military representatives hair stand on end.
  4. Solomon Offline Solomon
    Solomon (alexey salomon) April 22 2021 10: 09
    0
    semi-armor-piercing tracer high-explosive incendiary projectile

    wink laughing

F-35 нанёс себе ущерб на 2,5 млн долларов, выстрелив из авиационной пушки


Истребитель морской пехоты Соединенных Штатов F-35B непреднамеренно «выстрелил в себя» из авиационной пушки калибра 25 мм, нанеся при этом значительный ущерб, оцениваемый в не менее чем 2,5 млн долларов. Это произошло 12 марта в Аризоне, однако известность инцидент получил только сейчас.


По информации портала The Drive, детонация боеприпаса привела к повреждению нижней части фюзеляжа самолета. Но летчик не получил ранений и даже смог посадить F-35B на ВПП.

Несмотря на отсутствие жертв при взрыве боеприпаса, Центр морской безопасности США присвоил этому несчастному случаю класс А – наиболее высокий уровень чрезвычайных ситуаций во шкале американских вооруженных сил. Этот уровень присваивается в тех случаях, когда был причинен ущерб на сумму не менее 2,5 млн долларов, утерян самолет, а также погиб, ранен или стал инвалидом пилот или несколько членов экипажа.


Детальное расследование ситуации еще предстоит провести. На настоящий момент есть информация лишь о том, что при выстреле из артиллерийской установки сдетонировал «трассирующий полубронебойный осколочно-фугасный зажигательный снаряд» PGU-32 / B SAPHEI-T.

При корректной работе механизм взрывателя срабатывает через некоторое время уже после поражения цели. После взрыва в результате соприкосновения с воздухом начинает гореть цирконий, что приносит дополнительный ущерб при действии боеприпаса. По всей видимости, причиной произошедшего стала неисправность снаряда.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 25 марта 2021 11:39
    +5
    Замечательный самолет. Просто надо над скоростью немного поработать, чтоб от своих пуль если что, мог бы увернуться....
  2. oderih Офлайн oderih
    oderih (Алекс) 25 марта 2021 14:22
    +3
    Наверное ракету не той стороной вставили.
  3. Наталья Андреева (Наталья Андреева) 26 марта 2021 07:22
    0
    Всё норм. Читайте нормативы приёмки снарядов американскими военпредами. У наших военпредов волосы дыбом.
  4. Salomon Офлайн Salomon
    Salomon (алексей саломон) 22 апреля 2021 10:09
    0
    трассирующий полубронебойный осколочно-фугасный зажигательный снаряд

    wink laughing