Russia got the most from the American "shale revolution"


The US oil sanctions against Iran and Venezuela paradoxically negatively affected the "hegemon" itself. American economy increased dependence on supplies of Russian "black gold", and Saudi oil preferred the "transparent" US market to the "opaque" Chinese one.


In the past 2020, Russia climbed to second place among the largest exporters of oil and fuel oil in the United States, pushing Saudi Arabia to third. In numbers, it looks like this: every day the Americans bought from us an average of 538 thousand barrels against 514 from Riyadh. Only neighboring Canada is out of competition with its 3,2 million barrels per day. This means that Washington is taking raw materials from Moscow at the "pre-maid" level. How did it happen?

It turns out that the United States created these problems for itself, or rather, President Donald Trump did it. On the one hand, thanks to the "shale revolution", the "hegemon" quickly became a major producer and exporter of light oil. On the other hand, many American refineries are still heavily dependent on heavy oil imports. The economy of oil refineries in the United States is designed in such a way that it is more profitable for them to process not their own light, which at least fill them with, but heavy oil. And then the Republican president shot his own industrialists in the foot, imposing sanctions on Venezuela, where heavy viscous oil traditionally came from.

So American refineries would have been left without the usual raw materials, but Moscow came to their aid. Valero and Exxon are the largest importers of Russian crude oil and fuel oil. It is interesting that fuel oil, a product of a low level of processing, is in high demand. Buyers mix it with their light crude oils and get the optimal feedstock for further distillation. There is a lot of fuel oil in Russia due to the fact that our own refinery is not fully modernized, so we can supply it in marketable quantities. As the saying goes, every cloud has a silver lining.

As for the Saudis, Riyadh has been betting on seizing the promising Chinese market in the past few years. A combination of several factors contributed to this. First, an increase in shale oil production in the United States, which led to a decrease in imports of light grades. Secondly, the American sanctions against Tehran did their job, knocking out "black gold" from Iran from the market. This forced actively developing Asian countries, primarily China, to look for alternative suppliers. And Saudi Arabia directed its export flows to the more premium Asia-Pacific market, which has a capacity higher than that of the United States. Riyadh actively competes with Moscow, giving buyers significant discounts. This allowed him to become the No. 1 oil supplier in China. The plans to firmly gain a foothold in the Indian market are also evidenced by the desire of the Saudis to acquire 20% of the local raw materials conglomerate Reliance Industries.

Meanwhile, Russian companies are mastering the business of delivering "sanctioned" Venezuelan oil. Due to the restrictive regime, the state-owned company PDVSA was forced to start doing business with small players of rather dubious origins. Remember the Venezuelan supertanker Ayacucho, which received a Russian "residence permit" and was renamed "Maxim Gorky"? Contrary to suggestions that the tanker would be used only as a floating storage of raw materials, it began to operate the voyages. The vessel was seen transferring 2 million barrels of oil to another vessel near Singapore last November. This is a common practice to circumvent US sanctions.

Also, the Pavinospirit tanker, owned by Pavino-Tanker LLC, registered in Vladivostok, was seen delivering Venezuelan oil. The oil tanker Sierra flew twice in 2020 to the port of Jose in Venezuela. This is an Aframax class tanker, which in 2019 turned from Panamanian to Russian. It was first owned by Novograin LLC, registered in Rostov-on-Don, and now by Rustanker LLC from Novorossiysk, which, in turn, belongs to the offshore company Makandi Marine Inc. in the Marshall Islands. The same office owns the Nostras oil tanker, which regularly runs off the coast of Venezuela. According to Reuters, OGX Trading from Moscow, established in 2020, helps Caracas with the export of "black gold". Its owner is the UAE-based Marlybone Trading company.

In general, Russian structures are clearly actively involved in the schemes for the supply of Venezuelan oil. However, so far no one has caught them directly by the hand. As representatives of the TankerTrackers company explained, they receive satellite photographs of terminals and tankers, from which they calculate from the shadow in the background how deep the vessel has sunk into the water. Based on this, observers determine how much oil is on board.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. ck9999999 Offline ck9999999
    ck9999999 (C K) 27 March 2021 14: 17
    -2
    A bear in a circus is taught to ride a bicycle in a couple of months. Thirty years have passed since the collapse of the USSR, and enthusiasm for increasing the export of fuel oil is perhaps irrelevant.
    1. al2145133 Offline al2145133
      al2145133 (Alexey Gribalev) 17 May 2021 09: 05
      0
      Why not make money on fools?

Россия взяла максимум от американской «сланцевой революции»


Санкции США в нефтяной сфере против Ирана и Венесуэлы парадоксальным образом негативно отразились на самом «гегемоне». Американская экономика увеличила зависимость от поставок российского «черного золота», а саудовская нефть предпочла «прозрачный» рынок США «непрозрачному» китайскому.


В минувшем 2020-м году Россия поднялась на вторую строчку среди крупнейших экспортеров нефти и мазута в США, оттеснив на третью Саудовскую Аравию. В цифрах это выглядит так: ежесуточно американцы покупали у нас в среднем по 538 тысяч баррелей против 514 у Эр-Рияда. Вне конкуренции только соседняя Канада с ее 3,2 миллиона баррелей в сутки. Это означает, что Вашингтон берет у Москвы сырья на «домайданном» уровне. Как же так получилось?

Оказывается, эти проблемы США создали себе сами, вернее, сделал это президент Дональд Трамп. С одной стороны, благодаря «сланцевой революции», «гегемон» быстро превратился в крупного производителя и экспортера легкой нефти. С другой стороны, многие американские НПЗ по-прежнему сильно зависят от импорта нефти тяжелой. Экономика нефтеперерабатывающих заводов в США устроена так, что им выгоднее перерабатывать не свою легкую, которой хоть залейся, а именно тяжелую нефть. И тут президент-республиканец выстрелил в ногу своим собственным промышленникам, введя санкции в отношении Венесуэлы, откуда традиционно шла тяжелая вязкая нефть.

Так американские НПЗ остались бы без привычного сырья, но на помощь им пришла Москва. Компании Valero и Exxon являются крупнейшими импортерами российской сырой нефти и мазута. Интересно, что повышенным спросом пользуется именно мазут, продукт низкого уровня переработки. Покупатели смешивают его с легкими сортами своей нефти и получают оптимальное сырье для дальнейшей перегонки. В России мазута много из-за того, что собственная нефтепереработка не до конца модернизирована, поэтому мы можем поставлять его в товарных количествах. Как говорится, нет худа без добра.

Что до саудитов, то Эр-Рияд в последние несколько лет сделал ставку на захват перспективного китайского рынка. Этому способствовало сочетание нескольких факторов. Во-первых, рост добычи сланцевой нефти в США, что привело к снижению импорта легких сортов. Во-вторых, свое дело сделали американские санкции против Тегерана, выбившие с рынка «черное золото» из Ирана. Это вынудило активно развивающиеся азиатские страны, прежде всего, Китай, искать альтернативных поставщиков. И Саудовская Аравия направила свои экспортные потоки на более премиальный рынок стран Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона, емкость которого выше, чем у США. Эр-Рияд активно конкурирует с Москвой, давая покупателям значительные скидки. Это позволило ему стать поставщиком нефти №1 в Китае. О планах прочно закрепиться также на индийском рынке свидетельствует желание саудитов приобрести 20% местного сырьевого конгломерата Reliance Industries.

Между тем, российские компании осваивают бизнес по доставке «санкционной» венесуэльской нефти. Из-за режима ограничений государственная компания PDVSA была вынуждена начать вести дела с мелкими игроками, имеющими довольно сомнительное происхождение. Помните венесуэльский супертанкер Ayacucho, который получил российскую «прописку» и был переименован в «Максим Горький»? Вопреки предложениям, что танкер будет использоваться только как плавучий накопитель сырья, он начал совершать рейсы. В прошлом ноябре это судно было замечено за перегрузкой 2 миллионов баррелей нефти на другое судно возле Сингапура. Это обычная практика обхождения американских санкций.

Также за доставкой венесуэльской нефти был замечен танкер «Павиноспирит», принадлежащий ООО «Павино-Танкер», зарегистрированному во Владивостоке. Нефтеналивной танкер «Сиерра» (Sierra) в 2020-м дважды совершал рейсы к порту Хосе в Венесуэле. Это танкер класса «Афрамакс», который в 2019-м году превратился из панамского в российский. Им сперва владело ООО «Новогрейн», зарегистрированное в Ростове-на-Дону, а теперь «ООО «Рустанкер» из Новороссийска, которое, в свою очередь, принадлежит офшорной компании Makandi Marine Inc., что на Маршалловых островах. Эта же контора владеет нефтетанкером «Нострас» (Nostras), который регулярно крутится возле побережья Венесуэлы. По данным агентства Reuters, с экспортом «черного золота» Каракасу помогает компания «О Джи Икс Трейдинг» из Москвы, созданная в 2020 году. Владельцем ее числится компания Marlybone Trading из ОАЭ.

В общем, российские структуры явно активно подключились к схемам по поставкам венесуэльской нефти. Однако напрямую за руку их пока никто не ловил. Как пояснили представители компании TankerTrackers, они получают спутниковые фотографии терминалов и танкеров, по которым высчитывают по тени на фоне, насколько глубоко судно погрузилось в воду. Исходя из этого, наблюдатели определяют, сколько нефти находится на борту.
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. ck9999999 Офлайн ck9999999
    ck9999999 (С К) 27 марта 2021 14:17
    -2
    Медведя в цирке за пару месяцев учат на велосипеде кататься . 30 лет после развала СССР прошло, и восторги по поводу наращивания экспорта мазута пожалуй неуместны.
    1. al2145133 Офлайн al2145133
      al2145133 (Алексей Грибалев) 17 мая 2021 09:05
      0
      Отчего же на дураках не заработать?