How Russia manages to evade US sanctions for Nord Stream 2


To complete the construction of the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline, advanced European Technology... How Russia manages to evade US sanctions, German broadcaster Deutsche Welle reports, citing its own investigation.


Until recently, the Akademik Chersky, which had been transferred from the Far East to the Baltic, did not have the necessary equipment. But at the end of March 2021, the pipelayer started laying pipes near the island of Rügen (Germany).

Each piece of piping equipment has its own story.

- indicated on the website of Nuova Patavium (Italy), which recently supplied equipment to the pipe-laying vessel "Akademik Chersky".

The Italians have equipped the ship with the latest precision tube processing system. These data are of interest in light of the US sanctions that threaten anyone who is somehow involved in the completion of Nord Stream 2. The Russians managed to bypass the US restrictions and re-equip the ship, despite the fact that if the contract is worth more than $ 1 million (850 thousand euros), fines are provided.

In the period August-September 2020, various pipe-laying equipment worth about 10 million euros was delivered to the German port of Mukran for the subsidiary of the Russian Gazprom (STIF). The equipment manufacturers are companies from the Netherlands and Italy.

For example, on September 12, processing systems with hydraulic drives from Nuova Patavium in the amount of $ 1,1 million were sent from Russia to Germany. It turned out that the specified equipment came to Russia from Italy in two batches with an interval of several months. Moreover, each batch was estimated at less than $ 200 thousand.

Nuova Patavium still hasn't responded to DW's request for a price difference. At the same time, the more American restrictions are tightened, the more confusing the supply chain becomes.

The buyer of the equipment is Sistema SPB (St. Petersburg), which has only a few employees. In addition to Nuova Patavium, the aforementioned Russian company also purchased equipment for the pipelayer from Opus SRL (Italy). A similar story happened with Opus SRL equipment. It came to Germany at a price of $ 1,2 million, and from Italy it was exported at a price 10 times less. Opus SRL did not respond to DW's request either.

The focus was also on Vermaat Technics BV (the Netherlands), whose ultra-modern stand-alone non-turn welding machine Veraweld Torch System D was delivered to the port of Mukran by STIF for the Akademik Chersky ship.

We do not know what is happening on board the Akademik Chersky. We did not supply any equipment to complete the laying of Nord Stream 2

- the Dutch company claims, convincing that after July 2020 (toughening of US sanctions) it stopped cooperation with Russia.

Indeed, on paper, Vermaat Technics BV had no dealings with STIF. The equipment was delivered not to the subsidiary of the Russian Gazprom, but to Vermaat Service, which, as the Dutch firm insists, has nothing to do with it and is a company from Russia.

DW was able to establish that now another Dutch company, BHS International BV, is supplying Vermaat Technics BV equipment. They only managed to find the mailbox of this company, located somewhere in the countryside in the southeast of the country, as well as an inactive website. The Internet domain is registered to a Russian company and BHS International has a common partner with Vermaat Service. In general, Akademik Chersky received equipment from the Netherlands for almost $ 5 million.

Roundabout supply, shell companies, and price manipulation raise the question - are Americans so easy to fool? At the same time, a former employee of the US State Department, Daniel Fried, doubts that European companies will be punished. The United States fears counter-sanctions from the EU countries. Nick Tsafos of the Washington Center for Strategic and International Studies agrees with him. He believes that the Joe Biden administration will turn a blind eye to these "pranks".

Akademik Chersky is due to finish laying pipes in September 2021. After the re-equipment, this vessel can work twice as fast as TUB "Fortuna", which is now laying pipes near the island of Bornholm (Denmark).
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Alsur Offline Alsur
    Alsur (Alexey) 27 March 2021 13: 33
    +4
    DW's position, which reveals the schemes of European companies that would come under US sanctions, does not seem logical. But if you look at it, then the funding of this newspaper, like journalists, can be funded by grants from the United States, then everything becomes logical. Only whether such a media has the right to be called German, I think not. This publication must be awarded the title of foreign agent or lobbyist for the interests of the United States, they must pay taxes to the German treasury, and readers must know about their status. In my opinion this is true.
  2. trampoline instructor (Bazil Bazil) 27 March 2021 13: 42
    0
    The sanctions are very weak, so they can't do much damage.
    To the question in the headline "How does Russia manage to evade sanctions ...?" the answer is given only on the example of "Nord Stream".
    If there is a ban on the purchase of Russian OFZs, the consequences for Russia will be very serious. The likelihood of this is small, since the "sharks of imperialism" have a good profit from them and will not beat themselves to their pocket.
    In my opinion, only here so much attention is paid to the Nord Stream with its problems. If you read only "The Reporter", then the reader may have an analogy of this Stream with the Road of life from surrounded Leningrad during the war years.
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 27 March 2021 14: 02
      +1
      If there is a ban on the purchase of Russian OFZs, the consequences for Russia will be very serious. The likelihood of this is small, since the "sharks of imperialism" have a good profit from them and will not beat themselves to their pocket.

      Then there will be other buyers for them. And the Europeans will have the opportunity to purchase something less useful, for example, American securities laughing this is why the probability is low.

      If you read only "The Reporter", then the reader may have an analogy of this Stream with the Road of life from surrounded Leningrad during the war years.

      Exaggeration, of course, but some analogies are visible. If this road is blocked, it will be interesting to observe winter Europe.
      1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 27 March 2021 16: 47
        +1
        All proletarian greetings, as well as salam, shalom, etc.
        The reporter is a normal site (Ruslan Respect), people are resting, enjoying themselves, everyone is happy, a small penny is dripping, everything is in the house ...
        The topics are very different, people share what they know and their opinions, a kind of intimate spiritual club ...
        Krgs guys! P.V.
      2. trampoline instructor (Bazil Bazil) 27 March 2021 16: 47
        -6
        And the Europeans will have the opportunity ... it will be interesting to watch winter Europe

        You (the propagandist propagandists of the Soviet leaven) have gotten into the habit of sympathizing with the children of Germany (Africa) and savoring "what about the Ukrainians" while drooling.
        By the way, Ukrainians have been "freezing" for the seventh winter, they will not freeze in any way. It will be the same with "winter Europe". You don't have to worry about this: Russia is not the only country that produces and sells gas and oil.
        Look better in your own country. Resetting OFZs by foreigners will lead to a sharp fall in the ruble, $$$ will lightly break through the "sotochku" (I am not talking about the euro), ruble prices for everything will briskly rush up, 20 million poor Russians will turn into at least 50 million, and banks and exchangers will have to install scoreboards with three-digit in numbers.
        That's when you play as much as you can on an empty stomach :).
        1. 123 Offline 123
          123 (123) 27 March 2021 17: 33
          +3
          You (the propagandist propagandists of the Soviet leaven) have gotten into the habit of sympathizing with the children of Germany (Africa) and savoring "what about the Ukrainians" while drooling.
          By the way, Ukrainians have been "freezing" for the seventh winter, they will not freeze in any way.

          Today I am an agitator-propagandist of the Soviet leaven? belay We need to write it down somewhere. So many labels have been pasted, I can't remember everything laughing
          As for trousers, it sounds like a song, I get rid of everything that has grown over the winter with some difficulty. yes
          Tell us how Ukraine for the seventh year is blooming more and more beautifully lol

          It will be the same with "winter Europe". You don't have to worry about this: Russia is not the only country that produces and sells gas and oil.

          Am I worried about them? belay Of course, Russia is not the only country producing gas, but the others are a little farther and they are slightly more expensive. I doubt that they will be able to immediately replace almost 45% of European needs. And how they are going to fill the gas pipelines from our side or do without them is curious to see.

          Look better in your own country.

          Don't mind good You can see yours too.

          Resetting OFZs by foreigners will lead to a sharp fall in the ruble, $$$ will lightly break through the "hundred" (I am not talking about the euro), ruble prices for everything will briskly rush up, 20 million poor Russians will turn into at least 50 million, and banks and exchangers will have to install a scoreboard with three-digit in numbers.

          Firstly, Europe is not all foreigners. Let them drop yes A yield in the region of 6-7% is not the worst option in our times. attachments. You can't get it in Europe, in other places you will have to pay extra yourself. You can buy yourself a little.
          https://www.banki.ru/investment/bonds/issuer-MFRU/

          Will the dollar break through the "hundredth"? The government will drink champagne for a week.
          And why should ruble prices briskly soar up just after sotochka? Is that how it is written in your training manual? smile About the new millions of poor Russians too? What scoreboards in exchangers are you talking about? If desired, account management can be carried out online from a smartphone.
          1. The comment was deleted.
            1. The comment was deleted.
              1. The comment was deleted.
          2. The comment was deleted.
            1. The comment was deleted.
        2. The comment was deleted.
        3. Cherry Offline Cherry
          Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 27 March 2021 18: 07
          -1
          $$$ will lightly break the "sotochku"

          This is the same as the "Ukrainians" are freezing "for the seventh winter already." :-D
  3. Cherry Offline Cherry
    Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 27 March 2021 18: 01
    -1
    And what is Deutsche Welle digging under Gazprom? Also received a grant from the United States?

Как России удается уклоняться от санкций США за «Северный поток-2»


Для окончания строительства газопровода «Северный поток-2» применяются передовые европейские технологии. Как России удается уклоняться от санкций США, сообщает немецкая телерадиокомпания Deutsche Welle, ссылаясь на собственное расследование.


Ещё недавно «Академик Черский», переброшенный с Дальнего Востока на Балтику, не имел нужного оборудования. Но в конце марта 2021 года трубоукладчик приступил к укладке труб возле острова Рюген (Германия).

Каждая деталь трубопроводного оборудования имеет свою собственную историю

– указывается на сайте компании Nuova Patavium (Италия), которая недавно снабдила оборудованием трубоукладочное судно «Академик Черский».

Итальянцы оснастили судно новейшей системой прецизионной обработки труб. Эти данные вызывают интерес в свете американских санкций, грозящих любому, кто так или иначе вовлечен в достройку «Северного потока-2». Россиянам удалось обойти ограничения США и переоснастить судно, несмотря на то, что, если сумма контракта составляет более $1 млн (850 тыс. евро), предусмотрены штрафы.

В период август-сентябрь 2020 года в немецкий порт Мукран для «дочки» российского «Газпрома» (STIF) было доставлено различное трубоукладочное оборудование на сумму порядка 10 млн евро. Производителями оборудования являются компании из Нидерландов и Италии.

Например, 12 сентября из России в Германию были отправлены процессинговые системы с гидроприводами от Nuova Patavium на сумму $1,1 млн. Выяснилось, что указанное оборудование поступило в Россию из Италии двумя партиями с интервалом в несколько месяцев. Причем каждая партия была оценена в менее чем $200 тыс.

Nuova Patavium до сих пор не ответила на запрос DW по поводу разницы в цене. При этом, чем больше ужесточаются американские ограничения, тем запутанней становится цепочка поставок.

Покупателем оборудования является компания «Система СПБ» (Санкт-Петербург), в которой всего несколько сотрудников. Кроме Nuova Patavium, упомянутая российская фирма закупила оборудование для трубоукладчика также у компании Opus SRL (Италия). С оборудованием Opus SRL произошла аналогичная история. В Германию оно поступило по цене в $1,2 млн, а из Италии его экспортировали по цене в 10 раз меньше. Компания Opus SRL тоже не ответила на запрос DW.

В центре внимания также оказалась компания Vermaat Technics BV (Нидерланды), чей ультрасовременный автономный аппарат для сварки неповоротных стыков Veraweld Torch System D был доставлен в порт Мукран компанией STIF для судна «Академик Черский».

Нам неизвестно, что происходит на борту «Академика Черского». Мы не поставляли никакого оборудования для завершения прокладки «Северного потока-2»

– утверждает нидерландская компания, убеждая, что после июля 2020 года (ужесточения санкций США) прекратила сотрудничество с Россией.

Действительно, на бумаге Vermaat Technics BV не имела никаких дел с компанией STIF. Оборудование было поставлено не «дочке» российского «Газпрома», а фирме Vermaat Service, которая, как настаивает нидерландская фирма, не имеет к ней никакого отношения и является компанией из России.

DW удалось установить, что теперь поставками оборудования Vermaat Technics BV занимается другая нидерландская компания, BHS International BV. Удалось отыскать лишь почтовый ящик этой фирмы, расположенный где-то в сельской местности на юго-востоке страны, а также недействующий сайт. Интернет-домен зарегистрирован на российскую компанию и BHS International имеет общего партнера с фирмой Vermaat Service. В целом «Академик Черский» получил оборудование из Нидерландов почти на $5 млн.

Поставки обходными путями, использование подставных фирм и манипулирование ценами вызывают вопрос – неужели американцев так легко обмануть? При этом бывший работник Госдепа США Дэниел Фрид сомневается, что европейские компании будут наказаны. В США опасаются контрсанкций стран Евросоюза. С ним согласен Ник Цафос из Вашингтонского центра стратегических и международных исследований. Он считает, что администрация Джо Байдена будет закрывать глаза на эти «шалости».

«Академик Черский» должен закончить укладку труб в сентябре 2021 года. После проведенного переоборудования это судно может работать в два раза быстрее, чем ТУБ «Фортуна», которая сейчас укладывает трубы возле острова Борнхольм (Дания).
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. ALSur Офлайн ALSur
    ALSur (Алексей) 27 марта 2021 13:33
    +4
    Позиция DW, которая раскрывает схемы европейских компаний, что бы они попали под санкции США, кажется не логичной. Но если разобраться, то финансирование этой газеты, как и журналистов может осуществляется на гранды из США, то тогда становится всё логично. Только вправе ли такое СМИ называться немецким, я думаю нет. Этому изданию надо присваивать звание иноагента или лоббиста интересов США, они должны платить в немецкую казну налоги и об их статусе должны знать читатели. По моему это справедливо.
  2. Санкции очень слабенькие, поэтому особого урона нанести не могут.
    На вопрос в заголовке "Как России удается уклоняться от санкций ...?" дан ответ только на примере "Северного Потока".
    Если будет запрет на покупку российских ОФЗ, то последствия для России будут очень серьёзными. Вероятность этого небольшая, поскольку "акулы империализма" имеют с них хорошую доходность и не будут сами себя бить по карману.
    По-моему, только здесь "Северному Потоку" с его проблемами уделяется столько внимания. Если читать только "Репортёр", то у читателя может возникнуть аналогия этого Потока с Дорогой жизни из окружённого Ленинграда в годы войны.
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 27 марта 2021 14:02
      +1
      Если будет запрет на покупку российских ОФЗ, то последствия для России будут очень серьёзными. Вероятность этого небольшая, поскольку "акулы империализма" имеют с них хорошую доходность и не будут сами себя бить по карману.

      То на них найдутся другие покупатели. А у европейцев появится возможность приобрести что либо менее полезное, например американские бумаги laughing именно по этому вероятность низкая.

      Если читать только "Репортёр", то у читателя может возникнуть аналогия этого Потока с Дорогой жизни из окружённого Ленинграда в годы войны.

      Преувеличение конечно, но некоторые аналогии просматриваются. Если эту дорогу перекрыть, за зимней Европой наблюдать будет интересно.
      1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 27 марта 2021 16:47
        +1
        Всем пролетарский привет, а также салам, шалом и пр...
        Репортёр нормальный сайт (Руслан респект), народ отдыхает, получает удовольствие, все довольны, малая копейка капает, всё в дом...
        Темы самые разные, народ делится, чем-что знает и своим мнением, эдакий камерный душевный клуб...
        Krgs ребята! П.В.
      2. инструктор батутной зоны (Bazil Bazil) 27 марта 2021 16:47
        -6
        А у европейцев появится возможность ... за зимней Европой наблюдать будет интересно

        В вас (агитаторах-пропагандистах советской закваски) намертво въелась привычка сочувствовать детям Германии (Африки) и истекая слюнями тут смаковать "а как там у хохлов".
        Кстати, хохлы "замерзают" уже седьмую зиму, никак не замерзнут. Так же будет и с "зимней Европой". За это вы не извольте беспокоиться: Россия не единственная страна, добывающая-продающая газ и нефть.
        Посмотрите лучше в своей стране. Сброс ОФЗ иностранцами приведет к резкому падению рубля, $$$ влёгкую пробьет "соточку" (молчу про евро), рублёвые цены на всё резво метнутся вверх, 20 млн нищих россиян превратятся в минимум 50 млн, а банкам и обменникам придётся устанавливать табло с трёхзначными цифрами.
        Вот тогда вы тут натощак повыступаете вволю:).
        1. 123 Офлайн 123
          123 (123) 27 марта 2021 17:33
          +3
          В вас (агитаторах-пропагандистах советской закваски) намертво въелась привычка сочувствовать детям Германии (Африки) и истекая слюнями тут смаковать "а как там у хохлов".
          Кстати, хохлы "замерзают" уже седьмую зиму, никак не замерзнут.

          Сегодня я агитатор-пропагандист советской закваски? belay Надо где нибудь записать. Столько ярлыков наклеено, все не упомнить laughing
          Насчет портков звучит как песня, изживаю не без труда все что за зиму наросло yes
          Расскажите нам как Украина седьмой год цветет все краше lol

          Так же будет и с "зимней Европой". За это вы не извольте беспокоиться: Россия не единственная страна, добывающая-продающая газ и нефть.

          А я за них беспокоюсь? belay Россия естественно не единственная страна добывающая газ, вот только другие несколько дальше и у них слегка дороже. Сомневаюсь что они смогут сразу заместить почти 45% европейских потребностей. А уж как они собираются газопроводы с нашей стороны заполнять или обходится без них посмотреть любопытно.

          Посмотрите лучше в своей стране.

          Не возражаю good Можно и вашей посмотреть.

          Сброс ОФЗ иностранцами приведет к резкому падению рубля, $$$ влёгкую пробьет "соточку" (молчу про евро), рублёвые цены на всё резво метнутся вверх, 20 млн нищих россиян превратятся в минимум 50 млн, а банкам и обменникам придётся устанавливать табло с трёхзначными цифрами.

          Во первых Европа не все иностранцы. Пусть сбрасывают yes Доходность в районе 6-7% это в наши времена не самый плохой вариант. вложений. В Европе этого не получить, в иных местах еще и самому доплачивать придется. Можете и себе прикупить немного.
          https://www.banki.ru/investment/bonds/issuer-MFRU/

          Доллар пробьет "соточку" ? Правительство неделю шампанское будет пить.
          А почему рублевые цены должны резво взметнутся вверх именно после соточки? Это у вас так в методичке написано? smile Про новые миллионы нищих россиян тоже? Про какие табло в обменниках вы рассказываете? При желании управление счетом можно провести онлайн со смартфона.
          1. Комментарий был удален.
            1. Комментарий был удален.
              1. Комментарий был удален.
          2. Комментарий был удален.
            1. Комментарий был удален.
        2. Комментарий был удален.
        3. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
          Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 27 марта 2021 18:07
          -1
          $$$ влёгкую пробьет "соточку"

          Это тоже самое,что "хохлы "замерзают" уже седьмую зиму,".На украинском Корре эту мантру тоже семь лет повторяют:"Скоро рашка фсё,скоро Путину кирдык,скоро долларпосто!" :-D
  3. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
    Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 27 марта 2021 18:01
    -1
    А Deutsche Welle-то чего копает под Газпром? Тоже грант от США получила?