Danger to the Montreux convention: Turkish Cabinet approves zoning plan for the Istanbul Canal bypassing the Bosphorus


On March 27, 2021, the Turkish Ministry of Environment and Urbanization approved a zoning plan for the Kanal Istanbul shipping channel, designed to bypass the congested Bosphorus, writes the Turkish online publication AhvalNews, citing the oldest local newspaper Cumhuriyet.


The head of the department, Murat Kurum, informed that all objections against the project, both from citizens and municipal authorities, and various state institutions, were carefully studied. Thus, the efforts of the opponents of the project were in vain and the canal will be built.

It is noted that in 2011, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan announced the need to build a 45-kilometer waterway worth $ 25 billion, connecting the Sea of ​​Marmara and the Black Sea, and running parallel to the Bosphorus. The canal was supposed to unload the Bosphorus, but its construction was met with strong opposition from the opposition.



Professional activists, "social activists", grant-eaters from NGOs and the new opposition mayor of Istanbul began to assert in unison that the channel poses a serious danger to the metropolis. They predicted a large-scale earthquake, the destruction of the last forested areas of the huge city and endless troubles for the inhabitants of the Sea of ​​Marmara.

In addition, the opposition insists that by building an "unnecessary" channel, the Turkish Cabinet has decided to stimulate businessmen close to the current Turkish authorities, giving them huge amounts of money for development.

Istanbul faces largest corruption case in its history

- wrote the Istanbul MP ​​from the main opposition Republican People's Party (Cumhuriyet Halk Partisi) Gürsel Tekin on his Twitter account.

Contrary to practice, the zoning plan was approved behind closed doors, without taking into account the opinions of any institutions, non-governmental organizations, trade associations and without discussion in the commissions and meetings of the Istanbul municipality.

- he added.

Now the Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure of Turkey will take financial responsibility for the implementation of the project by contractor companies, the Turkish media summed up.

Experts believe that after the appearance of the Istanbul Canal, a situation may arise in which the Montreux Convention on the time and tonnage of warships of non-Black Sea countries in the Black Sea will cease to be fulfilled. The danger is associated with the fact that the Montreux Convention indicates the Bosphorus as a waterway, the movement of ships through which is regulated. The document says nothing about movement through possible new waterways.

As for the Dardanelles Strait, the passage through which is also regulated by the convention, this issue is resolved by the construction of a canal only 5 km long near the Turkish city of Gelibolu. Given the Turkish expansion in the region, as well as the sharp rejection of the Russian Crimea, this scenario is quite likely in the medium term.
  • Photos used: https://pxhere.com/ and Randam / wikimedia.org
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 28 March 2021 16: 53
    +4
    Legal inconsistency.
    The Montreux Convention defines the status of the passage of warships through the Bosphorus and the Dardanelles.
    On the other hand, the convention limits the duration of the stay of warships in the Black Sea. No matter how they got there.
    1. Dear sofa expert. 28 March 2021 20: 38
      +5
      The Montreux convention is fiction today.
      The convention plays a role as long as “all is well”.

      In the "case of cases" it will not play any role. All "contracts" will fly through the window.

      For Russia, this will mean absolutely nothing - nothing.
      Everything that enters the water area of ​​the World Cup will be simply and uncompromisingly destroyed. If Russia needs the Bosphorus, it will be unquestioningly provided. Under the gun of nuclear missiles or of good will, it does not matter.

      All the ways to get around the Bosphorus are irrelevant.

      Everything that has time to enter the water area ... and so on ...

      And the channel itself .. well, let it be.

      What's wrong with that?
  3. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 28 March 2021 17: 19
    -1
    It would be better if the whole world threw off and dug the Suez understudy. And digging is easier and more meaningful ...
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. olpin51 Offline olpin51
    olpin51 (Oleg Pinegin) 29 March 2021 12: 06
    +1
    In general, the Istanbul Canal is primarily an economic project. As for the international aspect, the Montreux Convention regime, covering the space from the Mediterranean to the Black Sea, will remain unchanged, including for the new artificial sea highway.

Опасность для конвенции Монтрё: Кабмин Турции утвердил план зонирования Стамбульского канала в обход Босфора


27 марта 2021 года министерство окружающей среды и урбанизации Турции утвердило план зонирования судоходного канала «Стамбул» (Kanal Istanbul), предназначенного для обхода перегруженного пролива Босфор, пишет турецкое интернет-издание AhvalNews, ссылаясь на старейшую местную газету Cumhuriyet.


Глава ведомства Мурат Курум проинформировал, что были внимательно изучены все возражения, направленные против проекта, как со стороны граждан и муниципальных властей, так и различных государственных учреждений. Таким образом, усилия противников проекта оказались тщетными и канал будет построен.

Отмечается, что в 2011 году президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган объявил о необходимости строительства 45-километрового водного пути, стоимостью $25 млрд, соединяющего Мраморное и Черное моря, и проходящего параллельно проливу Босфор. Канал должен был разгрузить Босфор, но его строительство было встречено решительным противодействием со стороны оппозиции.



Профессиональные активисты-«общественники», грантоеды из НКО и новый оппозиционный мэр Стамбула начали хором утверждать, что канал представляет серьезную опасность для мегаполиса. Они предсказывали крупномасштабное землетрясение, уничтожение последних лесных районов громадного города и нескончаемые беды для обитателей Мраморного моря.

Кроме того, оппозиционеры настаивают, что строительством «ненужного» канала турецкий кабмин решил простимулировать близких к действующим властям Турции бизнесменов, отдав им на освоение гигантские деньги.

Стамбул столкнулся с крупнейшим коррупционным делом в своей истории

– написал стамбульский депутат от главной оппозиционной Народно-республиканской партии (Cumhuriyet Halk Partisi) Гюрсель Текин в своем Twitter-аккаунте.

Вопреки практике, план зонирования был утвержден за закрытыми дверями, без учета мнений каких-либо учреждений, неправительственных организаций, торговых ассоциаций и без обсуждения в комиссиях и собраниях муниципалитета Стамбула

– добавил он.

Теперь министерство транспорта и инфраструктуры Турции возьмет на себя финансовую ответственность за реализацию проекта компаниями-подрядчиками, подытожило турецкое СМИ.

Эксперты считают, что после появления Стамбульского канала может возникнуть ситуация, при которой перестанет выполняться конвенция Монтрё о времени нахождения и тоннаже военных кораблей нечерноморских стран в Чёрном море. Опасность связывают с тем, что в конвенции Монтрё указывается пролив Босфор как водная артерия, движение кораблей через которую регламентируется. О движении через возможные новые водные артерии в документе ничего не говорится.

Что касается пролива Дарданеллы, проход через который также регламентируется конвенцией, то данный вопрос решается строительством канала длиной всего в 5 км недалеко от турецкого города Гелиболу. Учитывая турецкую экспансию в регионе, а также резкое непринятие российского Крыма, данный сценарий является вполне вероятным в среднесрочной перспективе.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/ и Randam/wikimedia.org
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 28 марта 2021 16:53
    +4
    Юридическая нестыковка.
    Конвенция Монтрё определяет статус прохода военных кораблей через Босфор и Дарданеллы.
    С другой стороны, конвенция лимитирует срок нахождения военных кораблей в Чёрном море. Независимо от того, как они туда попали.
    1. конвенция Монтрё на сегодня фикция.
      Конвенция играет роль, пока «всё хорошо».

      В «случае случаев» она не будет играть никакой роли. Все «договора» полетят в форточку.

      Для России это не будет значить ровным счётом - ничего.
      Всё, что зайдёт в акваторию ЧМ будет просто и бескомпромиссно уничтожено. Если России понадобится Босфор, то он будет беспрекословно предоставлен. Под прицелом ядерных ракет или по доброй воле, роли не играет.

      Все способы обойти Босфор - никакой роли не играют.

      Всё, что успеет зайти в акваторию... ну и так далее...

      А сам канал.. ну пусть будет.

      Что в этом плохого то?
  3. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 28 марта 2021 17:19
    -1
    Лучше бы всем миром сбросились и дублёр Суэца прокопали. И копать легше и смысла больше...
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. olpin51 Офлайн olpin51
    olpin51 (Олег Пинегин) 29 марта 2021 12:06
    +1
    Вообще-то Стамбульский канал это прежде всего экономический проект. А что касается международного аспекта, то режим Конвенции Монтрё, охватывающий пространство от Средиземного до Черного моря, останется неизменным, в том числе для новой искусственной морской магистрали.