US media: Russia uses the problem in the Suez Canal to advertise the Northern Sea Route


While international trade is feeling the impact of the "blockage" of the Suez Canal and many ships are forced to go around Africa, Russia is taking advantage of the situation and actively promoting its Northern Sea Route (NSR), writes the American edition of The Maritime Executive.


For many years, Russian leader Vladimir Putin has been proposing the NSR, which runs along the Russian Arctic coast, as an alternative to the Suez. Now, when the shipping artery in Egypt is blocked, Moscow is using this opportunity to once again remind mankind about the NSR.

Russian energy giant Rosatom recently tweeted the public about three reasons why the NSR should be considered as an equivalent replacement for the channel. We remind you that Rosatom is the official infrastructure operator of SPM, having a fleet of nuclear icebreakers at its disposal.

The first reason is “much more room to paint quirky pictures with your giant ships” (content not for all age groups).

The second reason is "if you get stuck in the ice, we have icebreakers that can break them."

As a third reason, Rosatom posted a GIF made from footage of the Austin Powers series, in which the protagonist got stuck in a shuttle car going back and forth through a narrow tunnel. At the same time, they superimposed on the car a picture of the giant container ship Ever Given, which blocked the Suez Canal on March 23, 2021.

On March 25, Roshydromet reported that in some years the NSR will be almost completely ice-free in the summer months, as happened in 2020. Due to climate change, Russia wants to use this route to export oil and gas to the world market, summed up the media from the United States.

Note that on both sides of the Suez Canal, more than 320 different vessels with various cargoes have already accumulated. The culprit of the incident is clearly visible from the International Space Station and Russian cosmonaut Sergei Kud-Sverchkov took photographs.



The pictures show that the bow of the 400-meter vessel has been moved. However, there is still plenty of work ahead. The container ship needs to be fully deployed to unblock shipping along the trade artery, which accounts for 10-12% of international freight traffic.
  • Used photographs: Russian cosmonaut Sergei Kud-Sverchkov from the ISS
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. beeper Offline beeper
    beeper 28 March 2021 22: 16
    +3
    And what does the “free American publication” see as “bad” in this “commercial advertisement” of the Russian authorities (or is it just a statement of an example of competent “actualization”, for international traders and entrepreneurs, alternatives to the Northern Sea Route ?!) ?! winked
    Would the American authorities have missed a similar opportunity to advertise their own commercial projects ??! what
  2. trampoline instructor (Bazil Bazil) 29 March 2021 09: 14
    +1
    This idea has lost its relevance - a container ship in the Suez Canal has been removed from the shallows, shipping is being restored, the price of oil is slowly falling.
    Therefore, leave the Northern Sea Route to the polar bears.
  3. zz811 Offline zz811
    zz811 (Vlad Pervovich) 30 March 2021 07: 42
    +1
    Quote: pishchak
    And what does the “free American publication” see as “bad” in this “commercial advertisement” of the Russian authorities (or is it just a statement of an example of competent “actualization”, for international traders and entrepreneurs, alternatives to the Northern Sea Route ?!) ?! winked
    Would the American authorities have missed a similar opportunity to advertise their own commercial projects ??! what

    Well, yes, the US war with Nord Stream 2 comes to mind (it needs to be broken, banned, so that gas to Europe goes from the US)

СМИ США: Россия пользуется проблемой в Суэцком канале, чтобы разрекламировать Северный морской путь


Пока международная торговля ощущает на себе воздействие «закупорки» Суэцкого канала и множество судов вынуждены огибать Африку, Россия пользуется возникшей ситуацией и активно рекламирует свой Северный морской путь (СМП), пишет американское издание The Maritime Executive.


Российский лидер Владимир Путин много лет предлагает СМП, пролегающий вдоль арктического побережья РФ, в качестве альтернативы Суэцу. Сейчас, когда судоходная артерия в Египте оказалась заблокированной, Москва использует подвернувшуюся возможность, чтобы ещё раз напомнить человечеству про СМП.

Российский энергетический гигант «Росатом» недавно проинформировал общественность в Twitter-аккаунте о трех причинах, по которым СМП стоит рассмотреть в качестве равноценной замены указанному каналу. Напоминаем, что «Росатом» является официальным инфраструктурным оператором СПМ, имея в своем распоряжении целый флот атомных ледоколов.

Первая причина – «гораздо больше места для рисования своеобразных картинок с помощью ваших гигантских кораблей» (контент не для всех возрастных групп).

Вторая причина – «если вы застрянете во льдах, у нас есть ледоколы, способные их сломать».

В качестве третьей причины, «Росатом» опубликовал гифку, сделанную из кадров сериала «Остин Пауэрс», в которой главный герой застрял в вагоне-шаттле, ходящем туда-сюда по узкому туннелю. При этом они наложили на вагон картинку гигантского контейнеровоза Ever Given, перегородившего Суэцкий канал 23 марта 2021 года.

25 марта Росгидромет сообщил, что в некоторые годы СМП будет практически полностью очищен ото льда в летние месяцы, как это случилось в 2020 году. Из-за климатических изменений Россия хочет использовать этот путь для экспорта нефти и газа на мировой рынок, подытожило СМИ из США.

Заметим, что с обеих сторон Суэцкого канала уже скопилось более 320 различных судов с разнообразными грузами. Виновник инцидента хорошо виден с Международной космической станции и российский космонавт Сергей Кудь-Сверчков сделал фотографии.



Снимки показывают, что носовую часть 400-метрового судна удалось сдвинуть. Однако впереди ещё достаточно работы. Нужно полностью развернуть контейнеровоз, чтобы разблокировать судоходство по торговой артерии, на которую приходится 10-12% международных грузоперевозок.
  • Использованы фотографии: Российского космонавта Сергея Кудь-Сверчкова с МКС
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. пищак Офлайн пищак
    пищак 28 марта 2021 22:16
    +3
    И что в этой "коммерческой рекламе" российских властей "плохого" усматривает "свободное американское издание"( или это лишь констатация примера грамотной "актуализации", для международных торговцев и предпринимателей, альтернатив Северного Морского Пути?!)?! winked
    Неужели же американские власти упустили бы подобный случай для рекламы собственных коммерческих проектов??! what
  2. инструктор батутной зоны (Bazil Bazil) 29 марта 2021 09:14
    +1
    Эта идея потеряла актуальность - контейнеровоз в Суэцком канале сняли с мели, судоходство восстанавливается, цена на нефть потихоньку падает.
    Поэтому оставьте Севморпуть полярным медведям.
  3. zz811 Офлайн zz811
    zz811 (Vlad Pervovich) 30 марта 2021 07:42
    +1
    Цитата: пищак
    И что в этой "коммерческой рекламе" российских властей "плохого" усматривает "свободное американское издание"( или это лишь констатация примера грамотной "актуализации", для международных торговцев и предпринимателей, альтернатив Северного Морского Пути?!)?! winked
    Неужели же американские власти упустили бы подобный случай для рекламы собственных коммерческих проектов??! what

    ну да, в голову приходит война США с Северным потоком 2 (надо его сломать, запретить, чтобы газ в Европу шёл из США)