FAZ: NATO tanks get stuck in tunnels on the way to the Baltics


Troop mobility is the main factor in effectively deterring the enemy. However, if NATO is required to carry out a large-scale redeployment of its troops in the Baltics, then the Alliance may face incredible problems. The German newspaper Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung writes about this, referring to the opinion of the ex-commander of the US Army in Europe, retired Lieutenant General Ben Hodges.


After the “annexation” of Crimea in 2014, the military leader had to train his units vigorously so that they could get to NATO's eastern flank as quickly as possible if necessary. The general's details make her hair stand on end.

It took forever to fill out customs forms. Roads and bridges were not designed for heavy travel equipment... In some places there were no railroad tracks, and once a general with his tanks got stuck in a tunnel, the publication specifies the essence of the problem.

The Baltics are NATO's Achilles' heel. This region is extremely difficult to defend from the huge Russia looming over it. After the start of the offensive, in 60 hours the Russians will take control of three countries, which was proven back in 2016 by modeling the Rand Corporation.

Therefore, the Alliance needs speed in the transfer of troops. If, of course, NATO begins to defend the Baltics at all. Over the past years, the bloc has managed to create a "fist" of 5 thousand bayonets, which, together with equipment, can be deployed to the region in a few days. Now the military is trying to create a group of 50 thousand people so that it can be in the region within 30 days. They even simulated 2 routes for the transfer of troops to the Baltic States.

The first is the transportation of troops from the port of Oslo (Norway) through Sweden and the Baltic Sea to Estonia. At the same time, a delay of 3-4 weeks may occur due to the low throughput capacity of the region, where there are practically no platform wagons for tracked vehicles. Probably, because of this, you will have to use lighter wheeled armored vehicles.

The second one passes overland from Germany through Poland to Lithuania. At the same time, the troops will have to pass through the narrow "Suwalki corridor", the width of which does not exceed 60 km and is completely shot through. Getting stuck in this place is deadly. Therefore, for each unit, you need to work out a route.

Providing troops is also becoming a huge problem. During the Cold War, each division had full autonomy for a week. That is, for seven days it did not depend on the delivery of food, water, fuels and lubricants, ammunition and various property. There is nothing of the kind today. Therefore, at least on the territory of Poland, it is necessary to revive the former Soviet military facilities and adapt them to something useful, for example, the storage of ammunition. As for Lithuania, everything is much more complicated there, since the infrastructure is often owned by local Russians, summed up the FAZ.
  • Photos used: Photo by Sgt. Thomas Mort 358th Public Affairs Detachment
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 30 March 2021 17: 28
    +3

    hair on end or rather wool? laughing
    1. Alexndr p Offline Alexndr p
      Alexndr p (Alexander) 30 March 2021 17: 46
      +1
      Therefore, at least on the territory of Poland, it is necessary to revive the former Soviet military facilities and adapt them to something useful, for example, storing ammunition.

      yes it is again the Poles before the partition are trolled by the Germans
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 30 March 2021 19: 26
    -1
    Rail Way Baltica with euro track. Platforms for tanks, etc. to buy in Tver. There is a deeper tunnel under the Suwalki corridor. And in order not to walk the Tallinn-Helsinki tunnel twice. Isn't it an option?

FAZ: Танки НАТО застревают в туннелях на пути в Прибалтику


Мобильность войск является основным фактором в эффективном сдерживании противника. Однако если НАТО понадобится осуществить крупномасштабную передислокацию своих войск в Прибалтику, то Альянс может столкнуться с невероятными проблемами. Об этом пишет немецкая газета Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, ссылаясь на мнение экс-командующего армией США в Европе генерал-лейтенанта в отставке Бена Ходжеса.


После «аннексии» Крыма в 2014 году военачальнику пришлось усиленно тренировать свои подразделения, чтобы они могли как можно быстрей попасть на восточный фланг НАТО в случае необходимости. От подробностей, рассказанных генералом, волосы встают дыбом.

Заполнение таможенных форм длилось целую вечность. Дороги и мосты не были предназначены для проезда тяжелой техники. Местами отсутствовали железнодорожные пути, а однажды генерал со своими танками застрял в туннеле, уточняет издание суть проблематики.

Прибалтика – ахиллесова пята НАТО. Этот регион крайне сложно защитить от нависающей над ним огромной Россией. После начала наступления, за 60 часов русские возьмут под контроль три страны, что было доказано ещё в 2016 году моделированием Rand Corporation.

Поэтому Альянсу и нужна скорость в переброске войск. Если, конечно, НАТО вообще станет защищать Прибалтику. За прошедшие годы блоку удалось создать «кулак» в 5 тыс. штыков, которые вместе с техникой можно перебросить в регион за несколько дней. Сейчас военные стараются создать группировку в 50 тыс. человек, чтобы она была способна оказаться в регионе в течение 30 суток. Смоделировали даже 2 пути по переброске войск в Прибалтику.

Первый – транспортировка войск из порта Осло (Норвегия) через Швецию и Балтийское море в Эстонию. При этом может возникнуть задержка, продолжительностью в 3-4 недели, из-за низкой пропускной способности региона, где практически отсутствуют вагоны-платформы для гусеничной техники. Вероятно, из-за этого придется использовать более легкую колесную бронетехнику.

Второй – проходит по суше из Германии через Польшу в Литву. При этом войскам придется проходить через узкий «сувалкский коридор», ширина которого не превышает 60 км и полностью простреливается. Застрять в этом месте – смертельно опасно. Поэтому для каждого подразделения нужно проработать маршрут.

В огромную проблему также превращается обеспечение войск. Во время «холодной войны» каждая дивизия имела полную автономность на неделю. То есть семь дней она не зависела от подвоза продовольствия, воды, ГСМ, боеприпасов и различного имущества. Сегодня ничего подобного нет. Поэтому хотя бы на территории Польши нужно реанимировать бывшие советские военные объекты и приспособить их к чему-то полезному, например, хранению боеприпасов. Что касается Литвы, то там все гораздо сложней, так как часто инфраструктура оказывается в собственности местных русских, подытожила FAZ.
  • Использованы фотографии: Photo by Sgt. Thomas Mort 358th Public Affairs Detachment
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 30 марта 2021 17:28
    +3

    волосы дыбом или скорее шерсть? laughing
    1. Алексндр П Офлайн Алексндр П
      Алексндр П (Александр) 30 марта 2021 17:46
      +1
      Поэтому хотя бы на территории Польши нужно реанимировать бывшие советские военные объекты и приспособить их к чему-то полезному, например, хранению боеприпасов.

      да это опять поляков перед разделом тролят немцы
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 30 марта 2021 19:26
    -1
    Rail Way Baltica c евро колеёй. Платформы для танков и тп. в Твери прикупить. Под Сувалкским коридором туннель поглубже. А чтобы два раза не ходить туннель Таллин-Хельсинки. Чем не вариант?