Expert: NATO will respond to the Russian seizure of the Baltics with only sanctions


Norwegian business newspaper Finansavisen touched upon an unusual topic of geopolitical risks. Commenting on the situation in the financial markets, economist Stig Mirset noted an important factor that is still relevant against the purchase of Russian shares, namely the growing political risk. And the challenges faced by the leader of the Russian Federation, Vladimir Putin, are very significant.


Putin is now being challenged both at home and abroad. On the inside, he is grappling with low popularity, as well as growing social unrest caused by the crown crisis and Navalny's arrest. In foreign policy, he is being challenged by the United States, which has taken a tougher stance following the presidential election. [Joe] Biden wants to create an alliance of democracies against Russia and China

- reminds the author.

In addition, he pointed out that the President of the United States "is actively promoting democracy both in Russia itself and in neighboring buffer states, for example, in Belarus."

The expert expresses the opinion that when Putin "previously struggled with the decline in his own popularity," his response was "distracting military adventures."

The danger is that Putin may resort to the same remedy this year. One of the possibilities is to swallow up Belarus, which is a vassal state anyway. This will enable Russia to move its forces westward and further jeopardize NATO's eastern flank. Another option is the aggravation of the conflict in Ukraine

- the expert argues.

An absolute political shock would ensue, he continues, if Putin invades the Baltics under the guise of protecting ethnic Russians. Russia has military superiority here and will be able to occupy the entire region before NATO can mobilize. Such a move risks provoking World War III, but the more likely scenario is that the West will only respond with sanctions and condemnation.

Yes, American society is ready for war, but all polls show that Americans are much more afraid of China or Iran than Russia.

But the likelihood of an invasion of the Baltics is low, the Norwegian continues, because then the Russian Federation will face years economic sanctions, at the same time forced to hold areas with hostile local populations.

So far, Europe has been slow to join Biden's hard line. This clearly shows how the entire continent is divided in terms of the view of its eastern neighbor. An important indicator here is the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline, which runs through the Baltic Sea. Less than six months were left before its completion, and the United States made it clear that the project was undesirable.

So far Germany is not listening. However, as the author emphasizes, if Biden manages to convince Angela Merkel, it will be bad news for Putin and the Russian stock market, and the Russian Federation itself will face a united front between the EU and the United States. At the same time, additional opportunities are opening up for Norwegians in terms of selling their own natural gas.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) April 2 2021 08: 10
    +7
    If Russia seizes the Baltic states, then Europe will look at Russia the same way Russia looks now at Europe, which has seized Ukraine. Themselves got into the shit, and wash yourself. So eat your Baltic states yourself and don't cough.
  2. Alexander Betonkin April 2 2021 08: 24
    +6
    Under the USSR, the Baltic countries received subsidies (for example, in Estonia, per capita consumption exceeded Russia's level by 3 times https://www.kp.ru/daily/26571.7/3586720/).
    Electronic, auto and other technology enterprises were developed. Fishing - you can't buy sprats just like that, they were immediately swept off the counter. Tartu is a student city. And now? What is the capture? Again investing a lot of money, so that later we can listen to what we are not good and invaders. So this "expert" economist Stig Mirset is not any expert, but (such a word cannot be written for sure).
    1. bear040 Offline bear040
      bear040 April 2 2021 21: 05
      +6
      What for?! You can evict all the bastards as Germans from Kaliningrad forcibly and live in peace, but these, even to Canada, go to the felling. Canada at one time accepted all the Bandera shortcomings, even if it accepts these, especially since there are not so many of them. In all these Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia, the people are about the same as in Moscow
      1. Alexander Betonkin April 2 2021 22: 51
        +3
        In Moscow, the population is three times larger.
        1. Wanderer039 Offline Wanderer039
          Wanderer039 April 3 2021 00: 41
          +4
          Moreover, let them sail to Canada, at least on their own, at least on oars and those (cauldrons) that the Yankees gave them
  3. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) April 2 2021 09: 00
    +6
    Putin is now being challenged both at home and abroad. On the inside, he is grappling with low popularity, as well as growing social unrest caused by the crown crisis and Navalny's arrest. In foreign policy, he is being challenged by the United States, which has taken a tougher stance following the presidential election. [Joe] Biden wants to create an alliance of democracies against Russia and China

    Those who want to get acquainted with the popularity of old Joe can count the likes and the number of views on the Biden channel
    https://www.youtube.com/c/WhiteHouse/featured

    This is Trump's archive
    https://www.youtube.com/c/whitehouse45/videos

    It seems far from him to Navalny laughing
    Regarding the social unrest caused by the corona crisis, who would say laughing

    We were told a lot about how everyone in the USA is supported and money is given to both people and business. Cutie Psaki voiced the results in her usual manner laughing
    To begin with, I have good news for the American people that can please.
    And then in one paragraph - grandfather Joe will sign everything and give a lot of money. Since the beginning of the pandemic, 400 thousand small businesses have closed, and millions are still floundering.
    For 2 months, they approved the allocation of free loans for 200 billion for 3 million small businessmen, another 284 billion were allocated in December to raise wages. 0,5 billion was poured into the economy only under these programs. Inflation will still be there.
    Judging by the number of those who closed and floundered, about every seventh did not come out.
    Still interesting figures, until April 19, they promise to vaccinate 90% of the population, for this they will expand the network of pharmacies from 17 to 40 thousand.
    Cherry on the cake - a list of candidates for a judge has been submitted. Cutie called it historical and in my opinion she is right. The list includes 4 lawyers, 4 Asians, 1 Muslim (if approved, it will be the first in history). 9 of the candidates are women. The sex of the remaining 3 and the number of transgender people is not specified. Whether the candidates, with the exception of lawyers, understand at least something in jurisprudence is not reported.
    https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/press-briefings/2021/03/30/press-briefing-by-press-secretary-jen-psaki-march-30-2021/

    As for the Balts themselves, I would have tensed in their place. The Americans are considering different options, either to attack Kaliningrad from there, or to attack the Baltic states from us, but they decided on the choice of location yes Whether the opinion of the allied aborigines is taken into account is a rather rhetorical question winked
  4. Valentine Offline Valentine
    Valentine (Valentin) April 2 2021 09: 14
    +6
    Why carry any nonsense, we can’t give our little land a fret, but here they also get us into some kind of volleyball court from three farmsteads.
    1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 3 2021 16: 10
      +2
      May it be too much for you! In the early 70s, on the site in Gurzuf, the girls from the Riga "Radiotekhnika" (national champions) were one of the left men from all over the Union, including me, and it seems that they played for the university ... fellow And the rest did not stand up for the first time ..
  5. Machete Offline Machete
    Machete April 2 2021 11: 19
    +4
    The level of journalism in the EU is at the bottom.

    They write analytics based on stamps and fakes.
    At the same time, not knowing ANYTHING about Russia and the affairs within it.
  6. Nikolay1 Offline Nikolay1
    Nikolay1 (Nikolai) April 2 2021 13: 40
    -4
    Well, well, Russia will surrender Donbass for the security exchange of Kaliningrad ... this is already clear
    1. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
      Ulysses (Alexey) April 3 2021 02: 18
      +2
      Well, well, Russia will surrender Donbass for the security exchange of Kaliningrad ... this is already clear

  7. Barmaley_2 Offline Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) April 3 2021 02: 34
    0
    for a long time already the Baltics as a whole have no geopolitical value. In general, it is not clear why the Russian Federation needs to attack it. Duc of the Russian Federation does not particularly pamper its population. Why does she need more freeloaders?
  8. Igor Berg Offline Igor Berg
    Igor Berg (Igor Berg) April 3 2021 21: 16
    -1
    NATO is responsible for NATO members. The expert is not in the subject.
    1. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
      Ulysses (Alexey) April 3 2021 21: 30
      +2
      NATO is responsible for NATO members.

      Each NATO member government makes a personal decision on how to respond.
      Someone is ready to send meat for the war, and someone only toilet paper.
      There is no unity in this "rati". repeat

Эксперт: На российский захват Прибалтики НАТО ответит лишь санкциями


Необычной для себя темы геополитических рисков коснулась норвежская деловая газета Finansavisen. Комментируя ситуацию на финансовых рынках, экономист Стиг Мирсет подметил важный фактор, который всё также актуален против покупки российских акций, а именно растущий политический риск. И вызовы, с которыми столкнулся лидер РФ Владимир Путин, весьма значительны.


Путину сейчас бросают вызов и дома, и за рубежом. Внутри он борется с низкой популярностью, а также с растущими социальными волнениями, вызванными корона-кризисом и арестом Навального. Во внешней политике ему бросают вызов Соединенные Штаты, которые после президентских выборов заняли более жесткую позицию. [Джо] Байден хочет создать альянс демократий против России и Китая

– напоминает автор.

Кроме того, он указал на то, что президент Соединенных Штатов «активно продвигает демократию как в самой России, так и в соседних буферных государствах, например, в Белоруссии».

Эксперт высказывает мнение, что когда Путин «ранее боролся с падением собственной популярности», его ответом становились «отвлекающие военные авантюры».

Опасность в том, что в этом году Путин может прибегнуть к тому же средству. Одна из возможностей – поглотить Белоруссию, которая в любом случае является вассальным государством. Это даст России возможность двинуть свои войска на запад и еще больше поставить под угрозу восточный фланг НАТО. Другой вариант – обострение конфликта на Украине

– рассуждает эксперт.

Абсолютный политический шок возникнет, продолжает он, если Путин вторгнется в Прибалтику под предлогом защиты этнических русских. Россия имеет здесь военное превосходство и сможет оккупировать весь регион, до того, как НАТО успеет мобилизоваться. Такой шаг рискует спровоцировать Третью мировую войну, но более вероятный сценарий состоит в том, что Запад ответит только санкциями и осуждением.

Да, американское общество готово к войне, однако все опросы показывают, что американцы куда больше боятся Китая или Ирана, чем России.

Но вероятность вторжения в Прибалтику невысока, продолжает норвежец, ибо тогда РФ окажется перед годами экономических санкций, одновременно вынужденная удерживать районы с враждебным местным населением.

До сих пор Европа не торопилась присоединяться к жесткой линии Байдена. Это наглядно говорит о том, насколько весь континент разделен во взгляде на своего восточного соседа. Важным показателем тут является газопровод «Северный поток - 2», идущий через Балтийское море. До его завершения осталось менее полугода, и США дали понять, что проект нежелателен.

Пока Германия не прислушивается. Однако, как подчеркивает автор, если Байдену удастся убедить Ангелу Меркель, это окажется плохой новостью для Путина и рынка российских акций, а сама РФ окажется перед единым фронтом ЕС и США. В то же время для норвежцев открываются дополнительные возможности в плане продаж собственного природного газа.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 2 апреля 2021 08:10
    +7
    Если Россия захватит прибалтику то на Россию Европа посмотрит так же как Россия смотрит сейчас на Европу, захватившую Украину. Сами вляпались в дерьмо, сами и отмывайтесь. Так что кушайте свою прибалтику сами и не кашляйте.
  2. Александр Бетонкин 2 апреля 2021 08:24
    +6
    При СССР страны Прибалтики получали дотации (например в Эстонии потребление на душу населения превышало уровень России в 3 раз https://www.kp.ru/daily/26571.7/3586720/).
    Была развита электронная, авто и другие технологические предприятия. Рыбный промысел - взять шпроты просто так не купишь, сразу сметали с прилавка. Тарту - студенческий город. А сейчас? Какой захват? Опять вкладывать кучу денег, чтобы потом слушать какие мы не хорошие и захватчики. Так что этот "эксперт" экономист Стиг Мирсет ни какой не эксперт, а (такое слово писать нельзя наверное).
    1. медведь040 Офлайн медведь040
      медведь040 2 апреля 2021 21:05
      +6
      Зачем?! Можно выселить всю сволоту как немцев из Калининграда в принудительном порядке и жить спокойно,а эти,пусть в Канаду,на лесоповал едут. Канада в свое время всех бандеровских недобитков у себя приняла,пусть и этих принимает,тем более,что их не так много. Во всех этих Литве,Латвии и Эстонии,народу примерно как в Москве
      1. Александр Бетонкин 2 апреля 2021 22:51
        +3
        В Москве население больше в три раза.
        1. Странник039 Офлайн Странник039
          Странник039 3 апреля 2021 00:41
          +4
          Тем более,пусть в Канаду плывут,хоть своим ходом,хоть на веслах и тех ( казанках ) что им янки подарили
  3. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 2 апреля 2021 09:00
    +6
    Путину сейчас бросают вызов и дома, и за рубежом. Внутри он борется с низкой популярностью, а также с растущими социальными волнениями, вызванными корона-кризисом и арестом Навального. Во внешней политике ему бросают вызов Соединенные Штаты, которые после президентских выборов заняли более жесткую позицию. [Джо] Байден хочет создать альянс демократий против России и Китая

    Желающие ознакомится с популярностью старины Джо могут посчитать лайки и количество просмотров на канале Байдена
    https://www.youtube.com/c/WhiteHouse/featured

    Это архив Трампа
    https://www.youtube.com/c/whitehouse45/videos

    Похоже далеко ему до Навального laughing
    Что касается социальных волнений вызванных корона-кризисом, кто бы говорил laughing

    Нам много рассказывали как в США всех поддерживают и раздают деньги и людям и бизнесу. Милашка Псаки озвучила результаты, в свойственной ей манере laughing
    Начала, с того что - у меня есть для американского народа хорошие новости которые могут порадовать.
    А дальше одним абзацем - дедушка Джо все подпишет и даст много денежек. С начала пандемии закрылось 400 тыс. предприятий малого бизнеса, а миллионы еще барахтаются.
    За 2 месяца одобрили выделение халявных ссуд на 200 млрд. для 3 млн. мелких бизнесменов, еще 284 млрд. выделили в декабре на повышение зарплаты. В экономику только по этим программам влили 0,5 млрд.инфляция все равно будет.
    Судя по количеству закрывшихся и барахтающихся, не выплыл примерно каждый седьмой.
    Еще интересные цифры, до 19 апреля обещают вакцинировать 90% населения, для этого расширят сеть аптек с 17 до 40 тыс.
    Вишенка на торте - подан список кандидатов в судьи. Милашка назвала его историческим и по моему она права. В список вошли 4 адвоката, 4 азиата, 1 мусульманин (если утвердят станет первым в истории). 9 из кандидатов женщины. Пол остальных 3 и количество трансгендеров не уточняется. Понимают ли кандидаты, за исключением адвокатов хоть что то в юриспруденции не сообщается.
    https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/press-briefings/2021/03/30/press-briefing-by-press-secretary-jen-psaki-march-30-2021/

    Что касается самих прибалтов, я бы на их месте напрягся. Варианты у американцев рассматриваются разные, либо оттуда напасть на Калининград, либо от нас напасть на Прибалтику, но с выбором локации они определились yes Учитывается ли при этом мнение союзных аборигенов вопрос скорее риторический winked
  4. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
    Валентин (Валентин) 2 апреля 2021 09:14
    +6
    Зачем нести всякую чушь, мы своей то землице ладу дать не можем, а тут ещё нам втюхивают какую то волейбольную площадку из трёх хуторов.
    1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 3 апреля 2021 16:10
      +2
      Да будет тебе ужо! В начале 70-х на площадке в Гурзуфе девчушки из рижского "Радиотехника" (чемпионы страны) одной левой мужиков со всего Союза делали и меня в том числе, а вроде за ВУЗ играл...... fellow И остальные не первый раз встали..
  5. Machete Офлайн Machete
    Machete 2 апреля 2021 11:19
    +4
    Уровень журналистики в ЕС на дне.

    Пишут аналитику, основываясь на штампах и фейках.
    При этом НИЧЕГО не зная про Россию и дела внутри неё.
  6. Николай1 Офлайн Николай1
    Николай1 (Николай) 2 апреля 2021 13:40
    -4
    Ну, что же, Россия сдаст Донбасс на обмен безопасности Калининграда...это уже ясно
    1. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
      Улисс (Алексей) 3 апреля 2021 02:18
      +2
      Ну, что же, Россия сдаст Донбасс на обмен безопасности Калининграда...это уже ясно

  7. Barmaley_2 Офлайн Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 3 апреля 2021 02:34
    0
    уже достаточно давно Прибалтика в целом никакой геополитической ценности не имеет. Вообще непонятно зачем РФ нужно на неё нападать.Дык РФ своё население не особо балует. Зачем ей ещё нахлебники?
  8. Игорь Berg Офлайн Игорь Berg
    Игорь Berg (Игорь Berg) 3 апреля 2021 21:16
    -1
    НАТО отвечает за членов НАТО. Эксперт не в теме.
    1. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
      Улисс (Алексей) 3 апреля 2021 21:30
      +2
      НАТО отвечает за членов НАТО.

      Каждое правительство членов НАТО принимает личное решение как отвечать.
      Кто-то готов мясо для войны прислать, а кто-то только туалетную бумагу.
      Нету единства в этой "рати". feel