Russia can offer several alternatives to the Suez Canal at once


The recent incident on the Suez Canal raised the question of the need for some adequate alternative to it. Much has been said that in the future it may become our Northern Sea Route. Now I would like to talk about the economic potential of Russia as a transit country, in general, and what opportunities for growth this gives us.


A huge and inalienable competitive advantage of the Russian Federation is its geographical position, which objectively makes it the center of Eurasia, a crossroads of trade routes from Europe to Asia, from North to South. With a rational approach, it can turn into the largest transit hub, offering picky customers several routes at once. However, when planning, it should be borne in mind that different product groups have different requirements for trade routes. So, coal and other minerals cannot be transported by road; transportation of perishable foodstuffs is more suitable for it. Oil and LNG are better delivered by tankers, while containers can be transported by sea and rail. And we can offer a full line of logistics services.

For example, the Northern Sea Route has been in operation since the thirties of the last century. Today it is actively used to export Russian hydrocarbons. Powerful icebreakers are required to safely navigate ships, but as the polar ice melts, the convenience of navigation and the demand for this promising waterway will only grow. However, first it is necessary to make capital investments in the construction of coastal port infrastructure on the Arctic Ocean and the creation of an entire fleet of ice-class vessels. In general, the potential is great, but its full disclosure will take more than a dozen years.

Meanwhile, against the background of the formation of a "blood clot" in the Suez Canal, transit carriers' interest in the Russian Trans-Siberian Railway, which connects the capital of our country with the largest cities of Eastern Siberia and the Far East, soared. The speed of movement of freight containers on this Eurasian railway is on average 1100-1200 kilometers per day. This is much faster than by sea, and in some respects it is even comparable to aviation. Over the past year, Russian Railways has noted an increase in demand for Transsib services on the China-Europe-China route. Container traffic increased from half a million TEUS (symbol for a 20-foot container) to 1 million. This is a great success.

Unfortunately, this railway has its own "bottlenecks" in every sense of the word, which hinder the full disclosure of its potential. The recently famous Russian billionaire Oleg Deripaska drew attention to the problems of the Trans-Siberian Railway, who proposed to reconstruct it to increase the speed of transportation and even rename it:

Along the entire length of this route, it is necessary to create at least 5-6 large logistics centers, where the processing of industrial goods for export should be concentrated. You can call this route "Cedar tract" - in spite of the Chinese "Silk Road".


Well, the idea is good (it's not about the name), but not new at all. Russian Railways and the Ministry of Transport of the Russian Federation have already prepared a plan for the accelerated modernization of the Trans-Siberian and the Baikal-Amur Mainline, within the framework of which new tracks will be built and stations expanded to increase the throughput of railways. You can think a little more about the new name, or even leave the old one altogether.

Also, work is underway on the construction of a large-scale road transport corridor, which should connect with a four-lane highway passing through our country, Northern Europe and Western China. The rest of this route will pass through the territory of Kazakhstan and China. The new highway will link Europe and Asia and will significantly increase transport connectivity between regions within Russia itself.

But not only China should grow our economy... International transport corridor "North-South" should connect India and Northern Europe, passing through Iran and Russia. Its total length is 7,2 thousand kilometers. Despite a number of difficulties, this project is still very promising and attractive for potential customers. For Russia, "North-South" is important because its full-fledged commissioning will reduce by 20% the volume of external transit through Turkey, with which we have difficult relations. Also, this infrastructure project began to play in completely new colors after the Iranian authorities publicly expressed their desire to join the Eurasian Union. Undoubtedly, this would increase transport connectivity within the united economic space.

Thus, we can conclude that Russia has a huge transit potential, the disclosure of which will diversify the domestic economy and significantly reduce the risks associated with dependence on the export of hydrocarbons.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 4 2021 17: 46
    +1
    I transported lumber from the Maklakovsky combine (Lesosibirsk) to Iran through Astrakhan. Destination ports are Anzeli and Nouchar. Interestingly, the freight for the Astrakhan shipping companies was always paid on their offshore companies. Now the Olya container port has been added to Astrakhan.
  2. Kofesan Offline Kofesan
    Kofesan (Valery) April 4 2021 20: 23
    +2
    80 conventional wagons consisting of forty-four 80-foot platforms with a full load (eighty-eight 40-foot containers) is a railway train. The vessel with 20 000-foot containers is a sea container ship.

    Yes, it is necessary to transport and make money on it. Questions to those who propose to expand and modernize the BAM and Transsib at the state expense - where and to whom will the money go? This time. What is the profitability and payback period. It's two!

    And are there any fresh (or newest) schemes for withdrawing money from the budget? It used to be like this. Signed an overpriced contract, got a kickback. For this they are already imprisoned. It seems to be.
    Now - I have achieved financing (better not direct) from the project budget, reduced the cost for the state account, made a profit - presented a non-dusty position to my son (daughter, wife, grandson, matchmaker, brother ...). It rolls easily.

    Such projects are not resolved with a tip and a public report and justification. More precisely, they should not be resolved, especially only at the level of "patriotism." And just don't blame me for his absence

  3. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
    Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) April 4 2021 20: 54
    0
    “No one is going anywhere anymore.” The traffic jam has completely resolved, the channel is functioning as usual. So dreams remain dreams.
  4. Igor Berg Offline Igor Berg
    Igor Berg (Igor Berg) April 4 2021 22: 05
    -1
    Alternatives from flat-earthers?
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 4 2021 23: 19
    +2
    Thus, we can conclude that Russia has a huge transit potential,

    which has been discussed for 30 years, 9 years under Boris, and 21 years under Vladimir ...

    And the Suez Canal was uncorked in a week ... or in 2we?
  6. Valentine Offline Valentine
    Valentine (Valentin) April 5 2021 07: 21
    0
    And what, the most alternative channel named after Gromyko can be done between Mexico and Canada.
    1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) April 5 2021 07: 54
      -2
      Do not repeat fakes, Gromyko never said anything like that.
      1. Valentine Offline Valentine
        Valentine (Valentin) April 5 2021 10: 19
        +1
        Well, yes, you have a sea of ​​such "fakes" - that our unforgettable Nikita Sergeevich did not knock "Kuzka's mother" on the UN rostrum, and that we were the first to attack Europe in 1939, and Germany was only defending itself, reaching almost to Moscow, and you have a million large carriages and many small carts of such "fakes".
        1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
          Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) April 5 2021 13: 57
          -1
          Don't talk nonsense. The fact that Gromyko did not say anything like this is known to everyone who knows history. The same is with the rest of the fake quotes from Bismarck, Churchill and Stalin.
          1. isofat Offline isofat
            isofat (isofat) April 5 2021 14: 50
            0
            Natan bruk, it doesn't matter who said it, we have a lot of smart people.

            1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
              Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) April 5 2021 17: 56
              -1
              Nobody ever said that, and it is just stupid people who give out such fakes, and there are just a lot of them.
              1. isofat Offline isofat
                isofat (isofat) April 5 2021 18: 01
                0
                Quote: Natan Bruk
                Nobody ever said that.

                Natan bruk, since no one spoke, then this phrase appeared by itself. yes
  7. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) April 5 2021 14: 11
    -1
    And apple trees will bloom on Mars ...
    In fact, an alternative to the traffic jam in Suez will be a second parallel channel, like the second Turkish Gibraltar.

Россия может предложить сразу несколько альтернатив Суэцкому каналу


Недавнее происшествие на Суэцком канале поставило вопрос о необходимости наличия некой адекватной ему альтернативы. О том, что в перспективе ею может стать наш Северный морской путь, сказано очень много. Теперь хотелось бы поговорить об экономическом потенциале России как страны-транзитера, в целом, и том, какие возможности для роста это нам дает.


Огромным и неотъемлемым конкурентным преимуществом Российской Федерации является ее географическое положение, которое объективно делает ее центром Евразии, перекрестком торговых маршрутов из Европы в Азию, с Севера на Юг. При рациональном подходе она может превратиться в крупнейших транзитный хаб, предложив придирчивым заказчикам сразу несколько маршрутов. Однако при планировании следует учитывать, что разные товарные группы предъявляют различные требования к торговым путям. Так, уголь и иные полезные ископаемые автотранспортом не повезешь, для него больше подходит перевозка скоропортящихся продуктов питания. Нефть и СПГ лучше доставлять танкерами, а контейнеры можно возить и морем, и железнодорожным транспортом. И мы можем предложить всю линейку логистических услуг.

Например, Северный морской путь эксплуатируется с тридцатых годов прошлого века. Сегодня он активно используется для вывоза на экспорт российских углеводородов. Для безопасной проводки судов требуются мощные ледоколы, но по мере таяния полярных льдов удобство навигации и востребованность данной перспективной водной артерии будут только расти. Однако сперва необходимо капитально вложиться в строительство береговой портовой инфраструктуры на Северной Ледовитом океане и создание целого флота судов ледового класса. В общем, потенциал большой, но полноценное раскрытие его займет не один десяток лет.

Между тем, на фоне образования «тромба» в Суэцком канале у транзитных перевозчиков подскочил интерес к российской Транссибирской магистрали, соединяющей столицу нашей страны с крупнейшими городами Восточной Сибири и Дальнего Востока. Скорость перемещения грузовых контейнеров по этой евразийской железной дороге составляет в среднем 1100-1200 километров в сутки. Это значительно быстрее, чем морем, и по некоторым параметрам сопоставимо даже с авиацией. Весь последний год РЖД отмечает рост спроса на услуги Транссиба по маршруту Китай-Европа-Китай. Объем контейнерных перевозок увеличился с полумиллиона TEUS (условное обозначение 20-футового контейнера) до 1 миллиона. Это большой успех.

К сожалению, у данной железнодорожной магистрали есть свои «узкие места» во всех смыслах этого слова, которые препятствуют полноценному раскрытию ее потенциала. Внимание к проблемам Транссиба привлек недавно известный российский миллиардер Олег Дерипаска, который предложил произвести ее реконструкцию для повышения скорости перевозки и даже переименовать:

По всей протяжённости этого маршрута нужно создать не менее 5–6 крупных логистических центров, где и сосредоточить переработку промышленных товаров на экспорт. Можно назвать этот маршрут «Кедровым трактом» – в пику китайскому «Шёлковому пути».


Что ж, идея хорошая (это не про название), но совсем не новая. РЖД и Минтранс РФ уже подготовили план ускоренной модернизации Транссиба и Байкало-Амурской магистрали, в рамках которого будут построены новые пути и расширены станции для увеличения пропускной способности железных дорог. Над новым названием можно еще немного подумать, а то и вовсе оставить прежнее.

Также ведется работа над строительством масштабного автотранспортного коридора, который должен соединить четырехполосной магистралью, проходящей через нашу страну, Северную Европу и Западный Китай. Оставшаяся часть данного маршрута пройдет через территорию Казахстана и КНР. Новая автомобильная дорога свяжет Европу и Азию, а также значительно увеличит транспортную связность между регионами внутри самой России.

Но не одним Китаем должна прирастать наша экономика. Международный транспортный коридор «Север-Юг» должен связать Индию и Северную Европу, пройдя через Иран и Россию. Общая его длина составляет 7,2 тысячи километров. Несмотря на ряд сложностей, данный проект по-прежнему остается весьма перспективным и привлекательным для потенциальных заказчиков. Для России «Север-Юг» важен тем, что полноценный запуск его в строй снизит на 20% объемы внешнего транзита через Турцию, с которой у нас непростые отношения. Также совсем новыми красками этот инфраструктурный проект заиграл после того, как власти Ирана публично выразили желание присоединиться к Евразийскому союзу. Несомненно, это увеличило бы транспортную связность внутри объединенного экономического пространства.

Таким образом, можно заключить, что Россия обладает огромным транзитным потенциалом, раскрытие которого позволит диверсифицировать отечественную экономику и существенно снизить риски, связанные с зависимостью от экспорта углеводородного сырья.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 4 апреля 2021 17:46
    +1
    Пиломатериалы с Маклаковского комбината (Лесосибирск) возил в Иран через Астрахань. Порты назначения - Анзели и Ноушар. Что интересно, фрахт астраханским пароходным компаниям платился всегда на их офшоры. Сейчас к Астрахани прибавился контейнерный порт ОлЯ.
  2. Kofesan Офлайн Kofesan
    Kofesan (Валерий) 4 апреля 2021 20:23
    +2
    80 условных вагонов в составе сорока четырех 80-футовых платформ с полной загрузкой (восемьдесят восемь 40-футовых контейнеров) - это ЖД состав. Судно с 20 000 40 футовых контейнеров - это морской контейнеровоз.

    Да, перевозить надо и зарабатывать на этом надо. Вопросы к тем, кто предлагает расширять и модернизировать за государственный счёт БАМ и Транссиб - куда и кому пойдут деньги? Это раз. Какова рентабельность и сроки окупаемости. Это два!

    И нет ли здесь свежих (или новейших) схем по отъему денег из бюджета. Раньше было так. Заключил контракт с завышенными ценами, получил откат. За это уже сажают. Вроде бы.
    Теперь - добился финансирования (лучше не прямого) из бюджета проекта, снизил себестоимость за госсчет, получил прибыль - подарил непыльную должность сыну (дочери, жене, внуку, свату, брату ...). Это легко прокатывает.

    Такие проекты с кондачка и публичного отчета и обоснования не решаются. Точнее не должны решаться, тем более только на уровне "патриотизма". И вот только не надо меня обвинять в его отсутствии

  3. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
    Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 4 апреля 2021 20:54
    0
    «Уже никто никуда не идёт».Пробка полностью рассосалась,канал функционирует в обычном режиме.Так что мечты так и остаются мечтами.
  4. Игорь Berg Офлайн Игорь Berg
    Игорь Berg (Игорь Berg) 4 апреля 2021 22:05
    -1
    Альтернативы от плоскоземельников?
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 4 апреля 2021 23:19
    +2
    Таким образом, можно заключить, что Россия обладает огромным транзитным потенциалом,

    который обсуждают уже 30 лет, 9 лет при Борисе, и 21 год при Владимире...

    А Суэцкий канал раскупорили за неделю.... или за 2ве?
  6. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
    Валентин (Валентин) 5 апреля 2021 07:21
    0
    А что, самый альтернативный канал имени Громыко можно сделать между Мексикой и Канадой.
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 5 апреля 2021 07:54
      -2
      Не повторяйте фейки,не говорил Громыко ничего подобного.
      1. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
        Валентин (Валентин) 5 апреля 2021 10:19
        +1
        Ну, да, у вас море таких "фейков"- что и наш незабвенный Никита Сергеевич не стучал "кузькиной матерью" по трибуне ООН, и что это мы первыми напали на Европу в 1939 году, а Германия только защищалась, дойдя чуть ли не до Москвы, и таких "фейков" у вас миллион больших вагонов и множество маленьких тележек.
        1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
          Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 5 апреля 2021 13:57
          -1
          Не несите чушь.То что Громыко не говорил ничего подобного известно каждому кто знает историю.То же и с остальными фейковыми цитатами от Бисмарка,Черчилля и Сталина.
          1. isofat Офлайн isofat
            isofat (isofat) 5 апреля 2021 14:50
            0
            Natan Bruk, не так важно кто это сказал, у нас много умных людей.

            1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
              Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 5 апреля 2021 17:56
              -1
              Такого вообще никто никогда не говорил.А выдают такие фейки как раз неумные люди,и их как раз очень многие.
              1. isofat Офлайн isofat
                isofat (isofat) 5 апреля 2021 18:01
                0
                Цитата: Natan Bruk
                Такого вообще никто никогда не говорил.

                Natan Bruk, раз никто не говорил, значит, эта фраза появилась сама по себе. yes
  7. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 5 апреля 2021 14:11
    -1
    И на Марсе будут яблони цвести...
    По факту альтернативой пробке в Суэце будет второй параллельный канал как и второй турецкий Гибралтар.