Rolls-Royce develops the world's largest aircraft engine


Rolls-Royce has begun developing a new aircraft power plant. A turbofan engine called UltraFan should replace the Rolls-Royce Trent. The latter has been in operation for over 30 years and is installed on the aircraft of Airbus (A330, A340 and A380), as well as Boeing (777 and 787 Dreamliner).


According to company representatives, the new unit will produce technological revolution in the field of passenger air transportation. Firstly, due to the economy, the engine resource will increase by a quarter. Second, UltraFan will run on gas in line with Rolls-Royce's commitment to zero greenhouse gas emissions from its products by 2030, making it one of the greenest engines in the world.

Another design feature is its size. The new UltraFan will be the largest turbofan gas turbine engine ever. The diameter of its propellers will be 3,35 meters.

At the same time, the weight of the unit will decrease by 680 kg compared to the Trent. This result will be achieved through the use of ceramic matrix composite parts, titanium carbide blades, as well as thoughtful modern design.

Rolls-Royce plans to assemble the first experienced UltraFan by the end of this year. Engineers equipped the new engine with "advanced" software and a large number of sensors, which will accurately predict its performance during operation.
  • Photos used: https://www.rolls-royce.com/
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) April 5 2021 12: 32
    -12%
    Developed? When will it be real? In the Russian Federation, drooling is already a river. Steal, Lick. But THERE, what they said they DO, in contrast to Russia. Well this is necessary !!! And You We! Will do it in 2025mmmm, or even further in 27mmm we will do it. Do it. But Really !! Chatting is not harmful, the muscles of the tongue develop.
    1. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) April 5 2021 13: 55
      +7
      Did you yourself understand why you are so happy around? Not a single characteristic was named. Some slogans like: "For everything good, against everything bad."
      In fact (you don't seem to be in the know, as always) Rolls-Royce Trent is not an engine, but a line of engines. In the old version - from 24 tons to 42 tons of thrust. Which one they want to collect is unknown. What will be the characteristics - no one knows.
      That is, they act as a catch-up. With a lag of several years.
      Our PD engines have been flying for a long time. PD 14 at the beginning of February was certified by ICAO with the possibility of installation on aircraft carrying out international flights without restrictions.
      The engine parameters are the best in the West today. And efficiency and noise and environmental friendliness. Whether Rolls-Royce UltraFan will be able to at least catch up with PD is an open question. For they have no numbers. Even theoretical. And we have the real characteristics of real-life engines.
      Line from PD-8 to PD-35. Covers all the future needs of aviation. Ours and not only.
      1. Fourth Horseman Offline Fourth Horseman
        Fourth Horseman (Fourth Horseman) April 5 2021 14: 44
        +6
        And among the Piston farmers, the cargo cult is held in high esteem.
        To be proud of someone else's genitals, this is already in their subconsciousness.
        In view of their own petty and worthlessness.
  3. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker April 5 2021 13: 10
    +3
    Rolls-Royce has begun developing a new aircraft power plant.

    That's when they begin to test, then the countdown can begin. And so, the "muscles of the tongue" develop.
    1. Alexey Sergeev Offline Alexey Sergeev
      Alexey Sergeev (Alexey Sergeev) April 6 2021 05: 04
      0
      What about engines on the same A-380?
      Or a Boeing 777?
      They have been serially produced for a long time, they have a thrust of 34/33 tons.
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 5 2021 13: 35
    -3
    And recently there was an article about our "new" 4-engine passenger Ile ....
  5. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) April 5 2021 13: 56
    +7
    UltraFan will run on gas in line with Rolls-Royce's commitment to zero greenhouse gas emissions from its products by 2030, making it one of the greenest engines in the world.

    How interesting good It turns out that gas engines are environmentally friendly and with them you can reduce greenhouse emissions to zero. belay But what about the elves' plans to tax every ton of oil and gas? So they plan to use the engine only until 2030, or will it stop emitting carbon dioxide during operation by that time?
    Now we transfer the situation to the sinful earth. What is it, cars, diesel locomotives, ships using gas as fuel are quite environmentally friendly? But what about the hysteria about the immediate switch to electric cars, wind turbines and solar panels?

    As for the engine itself, it is great if it is assembled before the new year, and most likely next year, in any case, we will not know the details earlier. Russian developers will be able to compare its characteristics with the PD-35. It is still clear that the diameter of the English one is 3,35 m, the Russian one is 3,1 m. We will see what they get at the output, Russian developers will be able to compare and possibly make adjustments to improve the characteristics of their engine.
    I decided to see what kind of Trent engine it is, there are several modifications of them Trent 500, Trent 700, Trent 800, Trent 900, Trent 1000. Curious facts are written about the latter in the bourgeois Wikipedia.
    Cases of destruction of the heat-insulating coating of turbine blades caused by

    high sulfur content in the atmosphere due to polluting industries in large cities in the Asia-Pacific region

    So that's it, no more, no less. English engines are too gentle for the smog of Asian metropolises.
    If I understood correctly, problems were found on 62% of the engines. Microcracks formed on the blades, as a result, the engine life was reduced, work began on improvement, it was supposed to use new materials. In 2020, it was planned to make 10 aircraft with modernized engines. But something went wrong.

    After evaluating the design of the high pressure turbine for early 2020, the redesigned Trent 1000 TEN HP blade was not as durable as expected and its implementation was delayed until the first half of 2021, the last required modification.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolls-Royce_Trent_1000#Mitigation

    Apparently, the British engineers did not manage to solve the problem or they realized the futility of modernization, as a result, a new engine is being developed.
    How new it is is still a mystery, if they could not fix the problem on the old engine, then the ability to develop a new engine in a year raises serious doubts, they worked with cracked blades for 2 years and did nothing .. I have three options:
    1) The development of a new engine has been going on for a long time.
    2) The engine is actually not new, but a modification of the same Trent and this is a "rebranding" because it is fantastic to develop the engine in a year. work on "fixing the deficiencies" will be announced as a new engine.
    3) In a year we will not see any new engine, the dates will be shifted to the right.
    Well, in my opinion, the British engine builders have a problem, at least in this "weight category". Messrs. Journalists learn to make positive news from reporting problems and failures. laughing This is a good example.
  6. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) April 5 2021 14: 22
    +4
    Secondly, UltraFan will run on gas

    In addition to passengers, will there be a huge bottle of liquefied gas on the plane? It is interesting to fly on a gas cylinder. I remember the Germans flew on the Hindenburg Zeppelin ...
    1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
      Just a cat (Bayun) April 6 2021 09: 35
      +1
      but did not bother with the identification of corpses laughing

Rolls-Royce разрабатывает крупнейший в мире авиационный двигатель


Компания Rolls-Royce приступила к разработке новой авиационной силовой установки. Турбовентиляторный двигатель под названием UltraFan должен прийти на смену Rolls-Royce Trent. Последний эксплуатируется более 30 лет и устанавливается на самолеты компаний Airbus (A330, A340 и A380), а также Boeing (777 и 787 Dreamliner).


Со слов представителей компании, новый агрегат произведет технологическую революцию в сфере пассажирских авиаперевозок. Во-первых, благодаря экономичности ресурс двигателя повысится на четверть. Во-вторых, UltraFan будет работать на газе в соответствии с обязательствами компании Rolls-Royce свести к нулю парниковые выбросы от своих продуктов к 2030 году, что сделает его одним из самых «экологичных» двигателей в мире.

Еще одной особенностью разработки является ее размер. Новый UltraFan станет самым большим газотурбинным турбовентиляторным двигателем. Диаметр его винтов составит 3,35 метра.

При этом вес агрегата уменьшится на 680 кг по сравнению с Trent. Данный результат будет достигнут благодаря применению керамических матричных композитных деталей, лопастей из карбида титана, а также продуманному современному дизайну.

Первый опытный UltraFan в Rolls-Royce планируют собрать уже к концу текущего года. Инженеры снабдили новый двигатель «продвинутым» ПО и большим количеством датчиков, что позволит точно спрогнозировать его производительность в процессе эксплуатации.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.rolls-royce.com/
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 5 апреля 2021 12:32
    -12
    Разработал ? Когда будет реально ? В РФ слюни уже рекой. Украсть, Слизать. Но ТАМ , то что заявили ДЕЛАЮТ, в отличии от России. Это ж надо !!! А Вы Мы !это в 2025мммм , или еще дальше в 27ммм сделаем. Делайте. Но Реально !! Болтать не вредно, мускулы языка развиваются.
    1. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 5 апреля 2021 13:55
      +7
      А вы сами то поняли, вокруг чего так радуетесь? Не названо ни одной характеристики. Одни лозунги типа: "За всё хорошее, против всего плохого".
      На самом деле (похоже, вы не в курсе, как всегда) Rolls-Royce Trent это не двигатель, а линейка двигателей. В старом варианте - от 24т до 42т тяги. Какой из них они хотят собирать - неизвестно. Какие будут характеристики - неведомо никому.
      То есть, они выступают в роли догоняющего. С отставанием в несколько лет.
      Наши двигатели линейки ПД уже давно летают. ПД 14 в начале февраля прошёл сертификацию ИКАО с возможностью установки на воздушные суда, осуществляющие международные полёты без ограничений.
      Параметры двигателя лучше всех, ныне существующих на Западе. И экономичность и шумность и экологичность. Сумеет ли Rolls-Royce UltraFan хотя бы догнать ПД - вопрос открытый. Ибо никаких цифр у них нет. Даже теоретических. А у нас - реальные характеристики реально существующих двигателей.
      Линейка от ПД-8 до ПД-35. Перекрывает все перспективные потребности авиации. Нашей и не только.
      1. Четвертый Всадник (Четвертый Всадник) 5 апреля 2021 14:44
        +6
        А у пистонских хуторян, культ карго в почёте.
        Гордиться чужим половыми органами, это у них уже в подсознании.
        Ввиду собственной мелкоты и никчемности.
  3. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 5 апреля 2021 13:10
    +3
    Компания Rolls-Royce приступила к разработке новой авиационной силовой установки.

    Вот когда испытывать начнут, тогда и отсчёт можно начинать. А так, "мускулы языка" развивают.
    1. Алексей Сергеев (Алексей Сергеев) 6 апреля 2021 05:04
      0
      Что насчёт двигателей на том же А-380?
      Или Боинг-777?
      Они давно серийно производятся, имеют тягу 34/33 тонны.
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 апреля 2021 13:35
    -3
    А недавно ведь была статья о нашем "новом" 4х моторном пасажирскоом Иле....
  5. 123 Онлайн 123
    123 (123) 5 апреля 2021 13:56
    +7
    UltraFan будет работать на газе в соответствии с обязательствами компании Rolls-Royce свести к нулю парниковые выбросы от своих продуктов к 2030 году, что сделает его одним из самых «экологичных» двигателей в мире.

    Как интересно good Оказывается двигатели на газе экологичны и с ними можно свести парниковые выбросы к нулю belay А как же планы эльфов обкладывать пошлиной каждую тонну нефти и газа? Так двигатель планируют использовать только до 2030 года или к этому сроку он перестанет выделять при работе углекислый газ?
    Теперь переносим ситуацию на грешную землю. Это что же получается, автомобили, тепловозы, суда использующие газ в качестве топлива вполне себе экологичны? А как же истерики о немедленном переходе на электромобили, ветряки и солнечные панели?

    Что касается самого двигателя, это замечательно если его соберут до нового года, а скорее всего в следующем, во всяком случае подробности мы раньше не узнаем. Российские разработчики будут иметь возможность сравнить его характеристики с ПД-35. Пока ясно - диаметр английского - 3,35 м., российского - 3,1 м. Что у них получится на выходе посмотрим, российские разработчики будут иметь возможность сравнивать и возможно вносить коррективы для улучшения характеристик своего двигателя.
    Решил посмотреть что это за двигатель Trent, там их несколько модификаций Trent 500, Trent 700, Trent 800, Trent 900, Trent 1000. О последнем в буржуйской Википедии написаны любопытные факты.
    Отмечены случаи разрушения теплоизолирующего покрытия лопаток турбин вызванного

    высоким содержанием серы в атмосфере из-за загрязняющих производств в крупных городах Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона

    Вот так вот, ни больше не меньше. Английские двигатели слишком нежные для смога азиатских мегаполисов .
    Если правильно понял, проблемы были обнаружены на 62% двигателей. На лопатках образуются микротрещины, в итоге ресурс двигателей снизили, начали работать над улучшением, предполагалось использовать новые материалы. В 2020 году планировали сделать 10 самолетов с модернизированными двигателями. Но что то пошло не так.

    После оценки конструкции турбины высокого давления, предназначенной для начала 2020 года, модернизированная лопасть Trent 1000 TEN HP оказалась не такой долговечной, как ожидалось, и ее внедрение было отложено до первой половины 2021 года, последней требуемой модификации.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolls-Royce_Trent_1000#Mitigation

    Видимо британским инженерам так и не удалось решить проблему или оно поняли бесперспективность модернизации, в итоге идет разработка нового двигателя.
    Насколько он новый пока загадка, если они не могли устранить проблему на старом двигателе, то способность разработать за год новый двигатель вызывает большие сомнения, они с трещинами лопаток 2 года работали и ничего не сделали.. У меня три варианта:
    1) Разработка нового двигателя ведется давно.
    2) Двигатель на самом деле не новый, а модификация того же Trent и это "ребрендинг" ибо за год разработать двигатель фантастика. работа по "устранению недостатков" будет объявлена новым двигателем.
    3) Через год мы не увидим ни какого нового двигателя, сроки будут сдвинуты вправо.
    Ну и по моему у британских двигателестроителей проблема, во всяком случае в этой "весовой категории". Господа журналисты учитесь делать позитивные новости из сообщений о проблемах и провалах laughing Это наглядный пример.
  6. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 5 апреля 2021 14:22
    +4
    Во-вторых, UltraFan будет работать на газе

    Это в самолете кроме пассажиров будет еще и огромный баллон сжиженного газа? Интересно на газовом баллоне полетать. Помнится, немцы на цеппелине Гинденбург летали...
    1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
      Просто Кот (Баюн) 6 апреля 2021 09:35
      +1
      зато с опознанием трупов не заморачивались laughing