Why Turkey hesitates to support warlike Ukraine


In preparation for a military revenge in Donbass, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy went on a tour to the Middle East, where he visited Turkey and its closest ally in the Qatar region. However, the results of his visit to Istanbul were not as brilliant and unambiguous as official Kiev might have expected. As a result, "Sultan" Recep First made several rather peaceful statements in spite of the militant sentiments of his Ukrainian colleague. What could have influenced the mood of President Erdogan?


The Turkish voyage of Vladimir Zelensky is now compared to the attempts of the Zaporozhye Cossacks to find patronage at the Great Port. The enemy of my enemy is my friend, apparently, this is how the Ukrainian leader reasoned. If Ankara and Moscow are waging a "hybrid war" among themselves in several directions at once, then Kiev will be able to use the neo-Ottoman ambitions of President Erdogan against Russia. However, in reality, everything turned out to be somewhat more complicated than it seemed. Volodymyr Aleksandrovich did not take into account that Turkey would defend not Ukrainian, but only its own national interests.

On the one hand, Ankara formally supported the idea of ​​the Independence joining the NATO bloc. What makes this a formality is that such large European powers as Germany and France are opposed to them, which do not need such problematic "allies" like modern Ukraine in the camp of the North Atlantic Alliance. The bottom line is that this support from Turkey is not worth a damn. The decision will still be made by others.
Another important point was Ankara's position on the legal status of Crimea, which, according to President Erdogan, remains unchanged:

Our principled position is non-recognition of the annexation of Crimea. We have confirmed our support for the Crimean Platform, which is designed to unite the lands of Ukraine. We wish this platform to become a solution for the Crimean Tatars and Ukraine.

This is already more serious. The "Crimean Platform" is a kind of international association, the purpose of which is to put pressure on Russia so that, in the end, it will return the peninsula itself to the Independent. Frankly speaking, it is impossible to imagine how Moscow does it voluntarily.

On the other hand, the Turkish president, at a meeting with his Ukrainian counterpart, made a number of openly conciliatory statements:

First, he considers it necessary to resolve the armed conflict in Donbass peacefully. Nothing belligerent, like how Ankara supported Baku before the start of the war in Nagorno-Karabakh, was not said.

Secondly, I would like to separately touch upon the supply of Turkish-made strike drones to Ukraine. "Sultan" Erdogan stressed that this is a militarytechnical cooperation is not directed against some "third party". Apparently, it was about Russia. Information came to the Internet that Ankara refused to offer to localize the production of Bayraktars in Nezalezhnaya, preferring to supply only ready-made UAVs at $ 70 million apiece in the minimum configuration. Moreover, there is one important condition, which we will discuss below.

Thirdly, Turkey spoke in favor of maintaining peace and tranquility in the Black Sea, clearly implying the intensified military exercises of the NATO bloc and our Black Sea Fleet. The Russian Defense Ministry is deploying ever more powerful weapons in Crimea and on the sea coast, the presence of which in the neighborhood clearly irritates Ankara.

And now it is necessary to say a few words about why President Erdogan did not immediately rush into the arms of Vladimir Zelensky. The fact is that the "sultan" expects something in return, and quite a lot.

First of all, Turkey would like to achieve the provision of political subjectivity to the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatars. Previously, this organization, banned in the Russian Federation, was the main conductor of Ankara's interests in Crimea, but after the reunification of the peninsula with our country, it lost its positions there. Now "Sultan" Redzhep First is seeking territorial autonomy of the Crimean Tatars in the Kherson region. And then President Volodymyr Zelenskyy finds himself immediately between two fires, because on the other hand, Ukrainian nationalists are putting pressure on him, for which it costs nothing to raise him to the pitchfork.

Further, President Erdogan continues to settle scores with his longtime adversary Fethullah Gulen, who is believed to be the organizer of the failed coup d'état in Turkey several years ago. Some of his supporters have found refuge in Ukraine, where religious sects and preachers of all stripes feel extremely at ease. There is evidence that Ankara links the continuation of cooperation on the supply of Bayraktar with the surrender of Gulen's supporters to Turkey. Perhaps Kiev would have met her halfway, but such a political act would cause misunderstanding in the countries of the European Union. Another dilemma.

And finally, Turkey is clearly expecting a breakthrough from Ukraine in signing an agreement on a free trade zone. Negotiations have been going on for a long time and it is very difficult, no one wants to compromise their benefits. But Kiev, apparently, will have to do this if it wants to get more active support from the "Sultan" in its confrontation with Russia.
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Eskimo Offline Eskimo
    Eskimo (Gera) April 13 2021 07: 01
    +3
    Turkey wants Crimea for itself. Those in the west of Ukraine say that if Crimea is not to be Ukrainian, let it be Turkish than Russian. A Turkish Crimea would also be NATO Crimea, but a Ukrainian Crimea will not be a NATO Crimea; NATO does not want Ukraine to be a member. NEO-OTTOMANISM HELPS NATO GREATLY. But, for these services of Erdogan to NATO, he wants in exchange the control of the Aegean and east-Mediterranean. His move towards Ukraine in order to get finally Crimea for himself, depends first on the satisfaction of his maritime ambitions. That's why he did not endorse fully Zelensky's thesis. It is like saying to NATO: Give me first the seas I want and I will do you the favor to obtain in my name the land you so much want.
  2. Oder Offline Oder
    Oder (Wojciech) April 13 2021 15: 20
    0
    It's amazing how Turkey has become a strong player in the region in recent years. Erdogan, of course, wants to go to Crimea. He acts as the third dog in the yard with one bone. The largest took the bone from the smallest, he, like an average dog, works with the small one, how to select the bone from the largest and, finally, eat the bone himself.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 14 2021 09: 20
    0
    All bullshit. Shoigu said: a strategic partner. VVP offered to sell SU57.
    Well, how can we directly support Ukraine when such an alignment, and we, as we wrote, are pumping gas to Europe through them and through them.

    Only to trade, and to look after YOUR interests, spitting on all sorts of shot down planes, accusations of terrorism, and so on ..

Почему Турция не решается оказать поддержку воинственной Украине


В рамках подготовки к военному реваншу на Донбассе украинский президент Владимир Зеленский направился в турне на Ближний Восток, где посетил Турцию и ее ближайшего союзника в регионе Катар. Однако результаты его визита в Стамбул оказались не столь блестящими и однозначными, как мог бы ожидать официальный Киев. По итогам «султан» Реджэп Первый сделал несколько довольно миролюбивых заявлений в пику воинственным настроениям украинского коллеги. Что же могло повлиять на настроение президента Эрдогана?


Турецкий вояж Владимира Зеленского нынче сравнивают с попытками запорожских казаков найти покровительство у Великой Порты. Враг моего врага – мой друг, видимо, так рассуждал украинский лидер. Если Анкара и Москва ведут между собой «гибридную войну» сразу на нескольких направлениях, то и Киев сумеет использовать неоосманские амбиции президента Эрдогана против России. Однако в действительности все оказалось несколько сложнее, чем представлялось. Владимир Александрович не учел, что Турция будет отстаивать не украинские, а только собственные национальные интересы.

С одной стороны, Анкара формально поддержала идею присоединения Незалежной к блоку НАТО. Формальностью это делает то, что против выступают такие крупные европейские державы, как Германия и Франция, которым подобные проблемные «союзнички», вроде современной Украины, в стане Североатлантического альянса не нужны. В сухом остатке получается, что эта поддержка со стороны Турции не стоит и выеденного яйца. Решение все равно будут принимать другие.
Также важным моментом была позиция Анкары по поводу правового статуса Крыма, которая, по словам президента Эрдогана, остается неизменной:

Наша принципиальная позиция – непризнание аннексии Крыма. Мы подтвердили поддержку «Крымской платформы», которая призвана объединить земли Украины. Желаем, чтобы эта платформа стала решением для крымских татар и Украины.

Это уже серьезнее. «Крымская платформа» – это некое международное объединение, целью которой является оказание давления на Россию с тем, чтобы она в конечно итоге сама вернула полуостров в состав Незалежной. Честно говоря, представить, как Москва добровольно сама это делает, не получается.

С другой стороны, турецкий президент на встрече с украинским коллегой сделал целый ряд откровенно примирительных заявлений:

Во-первых, он считает необходимым урегулирование вооруженного конфликта на Донбассе мирным путем. Ничего воинственного, наподобие того, как Анкара поддерживала Баку перед началом войны в Нагорном Карабахе, сказано не было.

Во-вторых, отдельно хотелось бы коснуться темы поставки ударных беспилотников турецкого производства на Украину. «Султан» Эрдоган подчеркнул, что это военно-техническое сотрудничество не направлено против некой «третьей стороны». Видимо, речь шла о России. В Сеть попала информация о том, что Анкара отказалась от предложения по локализации производства «Байрактаров» в Незалежной, отдав предпочтение поставкам только готовых БПЛА по 70 миллионов долларов за штуку в минимальной комплектации. Причем есть одно важное условие, о котором мы скажем далее.

В-третьих, Турция высказалась за сохранение мира и спокойствия на Черном море, явно подразумевая активизировавшиеся военные учения блока НАТО и нашего Черноморского флота. Минобороны РФ размещает в Крыму и на морском побережье все более мощные вооружения, наличие которых по соседству явно нервирует Анкару.

А теперь необходимо сказать несколько слов о том, почему президент Эрдоган не бросился сразу в объятия Владимира Зеленского. Дело в том, что «султан» ждет кое-чего в ответ, и весьма немало.

Прежде всего, Турция хотела бы добиться предоставления политической субъектности Меджлису крымских татар. Раньше эта запрещенная в Российской Федерации организация являлась главным проводником интересов Анкары в Крыму, но после воссоединения полуострова с нашей страной она потеряла там свои позиции. Теперь «султан» Реджэп Первый добивается территориальной автономии крымских татар уже в Херсонской области. И тут президент Владимир Зеленский оказывается сразу между двух огней, поскольку с другой стороны на него давят украинские националисты, которым ничего не стоит поднять на вилы уже его самого.

Далее, президент Эрдоган продолжает сводить счеты со своим давним противником Фетхуллахом Гюленом, который считается организатором неудавшегося государственного переворота в Турции несколько лет назад. Часть сторонников того нашла пристанище на Украине, где религиозные секты и проповедники всех мастей чувствуют себя крайне вольготно. Есть данные, что Анкара увязывает продолжение сотрудничества по поставкам «Байрактаров» с выдачей Турции сторонников Гюлена. Возможно, Киев и пошел бы ей навстречу, однако подобный политический акт вызовет непонимание уже в странах Европейского союза. Еще одна дилемма.

Ну и, наконец, Турция явно ждет от Украины прорыва в подписании соглашения о зоне свободной торговли. Переговоры идут давно и очень тяжело, никто не хочет поступаться своей выгодой. Но Киеву, судя по всему, придется это сделать, если он хочет получить от «султана» более активную поддержку в противостоянии с Россией.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. eskimo Офлайн eskimo
    eskimo (Gera) 13 апреля 2021 07:01
    +3
    Turkey wants Crimea for itself. Those in the west of Ukraine say that if Crimea is not to be Ukrainian, let it be Turkish than Russian. A Turkish Crimea would also be NATO Crimea, but a Ukrainian Crimea will not be a NATO Crimea; NATO does not want Ukraine to be a member. NEO-OTTOMANISM HELPS NATO GREATLY. But, for these services of Erdogan to NATO, he wants in exchange the control of the Aegean and east-Mediterranean. His move towards Ukraine in order to get finally Crimea for himself, depends first on the satisfaction of his maritime ambitions. That’s why he did not endorse fully Zelensky’s thesis. It is like saying to NATO: Give me first the seas I want and I will do you the favor to obtain in my name the land you so much want.
  2. Odra Офлайн Odra
    Odra (Войцех) 13 апреля 2021 15:20
    0
    Удивительно, как в последние годы Турция стала сильным игроком в регионе. Эрдоган, конечно, хочет поехать в Крым. Он действует как третья собака во дворе с одной костью. Самый большой взял кость от самой маленькой, он, как средний пес, работает с маленькой, как отобрать кость от самой большой и, наконец, съесть кость сам.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 14 апреля 2021 09:20
    0
    Все фигня. Шойгу же сказал: стратегический партнер. ВВП предложил продать СУ57.
    Ну как тут прямо поддерживать Украину, когда такой расклад, и мы, писали, качаем им и через них газ в Европу.

    Только торговать, и блюсти СВОИ интересы, плюя на всякие сбитые самолеты, обвинения в терроризме и прочем..