Why US sanctions never worked against Russia


A few days ago, the United States introduced another package of restrictive measures against Russia, which affected several technology companies, dozens of individuals and legal entities, as well as transactions with sovereign national debt. The Americans have warned us about the latter for a long time, calling these sanctions "hellish". However, upon closer examination, they turned out to be not so scary. Why is the Russian economy, which has been under external pressure since 2014, is still not “torn to shreds”?


The answer to this question will be very ambiguous, and certainly not everyone will like it. But let's talk about everything in order. First of all, let's say a few words about the US ban on operations with Russian federal loan bonds, which the RF Ministry of Finance uses to pay off the national government debt. At first, everyone was a little scared, but they quickly figured out that the restrictions apply only to direct purchases of securities from official Russian financial institutions (the Central Bank of the Russian Federation, the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation and the National Welfare Fund). American investors can still buy domestic OFZs through intermediaries in the secondary market, paying a commission. And these restrictions come into force only from June 14, 2021. In general, whoever needs it will buy and sell bonds.

Does this give reason to believe that we have got off easy yet? In part, this is true. First of all, certain preventive work by the RF Ministry of Finance in this direction has already been carried out in advance. Last year, there were no loans in dollars, only Eurobonds were placed, and US investors were prohibited from participating in IPOs. Today, the share of the Americans accounts for OFZs for a rather modest amount of 0,8 trillion rubles. Banks with state participation, Sberbank and VTB will be able to compensate for the departure of foreigners. However, it is clearly not worth relaxing. The trend is generally negative, which can lead to an increase in the cost of borrowing due to the departure of foreign investors from the Russian bond market. The ruble has already reacted to newssifting against the dollar.

And now let's move on to the key question, why, over the past 7 years since the beginning of the process of introducing Western sanctions, the Russian economy has not “torn to shreds”, as US President Barack Obama promised us? Perhaps the correct answer would be that in fact the United States does not set itself such a goal. Why is this happening, let's say at the very end, but for now we will try to formulate and voice the real goals of American sanctions:

At firstThe United States is extremely interested in preventing Russia's industrial recovery. Until 2014, accompanied by the cheerful chants of the systemic liberals, we confidently walked the path of gradual de-industrialization. After the Maidan, it turned out that technological Russia's dependence on Ukraine and other potential adversaries in the West is critically important, which forced the authorities to take a long and difficult path of import substitution. And what exactly are the American sanctions aimed at?

For example, they are hitting components for the promising Russian medium-haul airliner MS-21, as well as a number of other aircraft that may in the future compete with the products of American and European aircraft manufacturers. The sanctions are also hitting shipbuilding and oil companies in order to make it difficult, in the absence of technology and equipment, to develop the Arctic. Restrictive measures impede the normal development of enterprises belonging to the state corporations Roscosmos and Rosatom, as well as the military-industrial complex, etc. Western consulting companies know all the ins and outs of the domestic economy, since they freely operate in all ministries and departments, and therefore the United States has the ability to deliver targeted sanctions strikes at the most "bottlenecks."

SecondlyIn recent years, Washington's restrictive measures have begun to bear a clearly personalistic character, being directed against President Vladimir Putin and his inner circle, who owe him their fantastic success in life. Now the goal of the United States is to split the Russian "elite" in order to form an internal opposition to the head of state in its midst. In the future, this could become a precondition for the so-called "palace coup", the purpose of which would be to replace Vladimir Putin, inconvenient for the White House, with his more loyal protégé of the pro-Western liberal wing.

As a matter of fact, these are the real goals of the American sanctions; they are not included in "tearing the economy to shreds". But why? Let's think together. What could be a real disaster for the modern economic model of Russia?

It is true that the ban on the export of hydrocarbons and other raw materials abroad according to the “Iranian scenario”. If the federal budget is left without foreign exchange earnings from the sale of oil and gas abroad, Moscow will not be able to fulfill its socio-economic obligations to the population and regions. Centrifugal processes will immediately begin in the national republics, the North Caucasus, removed from allowance, will again become a big problem. Protest activity will increase. All these are prerequisites for a coup d'etat, if not a revolution at all, and a real civil war. It would seem that Washington should start dancing, but no.

Russia is a nuclear power, its uncontrolled disintegration with the possible spread of arsenals in several newly emerged "republics" is definitely not in the interests of the United States. And where are the guarantees that new Bolsheviks will not suddenly come to power, who will start building the USSR-2 without fools and then show the Americans "Kuz'k's mother"? In general, Washington definitely does not need to "tear to shreds" our economy.
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 17 2021 16: 19
    +1
    "restrictive measures" - I love this euphemism ... good
  2. Oleg Rambover Offline Oleg Rambover
    Oleg Rambover (Oleg Pitersky) April 17 2021 16: 48
    -1
    Dear Sergey can, when he wants. It is a pity that the article cannot be a plus.
  3. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) April 17 2021 17: 07
    -1
    Why US sanctions never worked against Russia

    - Well, why didn't they work ... - How did they work ... - These sanctions allowed the United States to accustom Russia to constant and unpunished strikes from the United States; and also quite meekly and meekly to teach the entire population of Russia to expect similar next blows ... - And everyone in Russia already knows and is accustomed to that ... - as soon as Russia dares to do something; then ... then ... then "punishment" will immediately follow ... - And this is already taken in Russia ... for granted ... - But Russia is a huge state, with its own thousand-year history ... ; which defeated all enemies ... - How is it and why is this so us ??? - We didn't deserve this ... - Hahah ...
    - As for ... "Vladimir Putin, inconvenient for the White House"; then why is he so "inconvenient" ???
    - Quite convenient ... - always "ready for dialogue", always "ready for meetings" ... - no special requirements for the United States ... - So what more could you want ???
    - China is a big hindrance to Americans today; Well, here too the US is going to come to an agreement with China, sacrificing Russia (and China is not against such a variant) ... - Today even Lukashenka easily and simply leads our guarantor around his finger ... - and such hardened politicians like Americans and quite a lot "for anything" ...
    - As for the fact that

    that the new Bolsheviks will not suddenly come to power, who will start building the USSR-2 without any fools and then show the Americans their "mother of Kuzka"?

    - That is hardly possible today ... - Although such an option would be the most favorable for Russia ...
  4. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) April 17 2021 17: 25
    0
    The ruble has already reacted to the news by sagging against the dollar.

    When and how much? Did I miss this big event?

    True, the ban on the export of hydrocarbons and other raw materials abroad according to the "Iranian scenario".

    For Iran, this did not become a catastrophe, and they cannot impose such restrictions. Why will this be a disaster for Russia?
    The volume of trade with them is extremely small, and even then they cannot replace Russian fuel oil because restrictions on others have already been introduced above the roof. And Europe beeps, but categorically does not want to give up our hydrocarbons. We sit and watch how the Nord Stream is being built. Yes, everyone spat on their locked.
    It’s not that they don’t want, but rather that the desires do not coincide with the possibilities.

    In general, I did not see any answer, at least sane, why this is happening and what they want.
    Well, for the empty-headed liberda it will go yes There are already clapping hands laughing
  5. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 17 2021 18: 35
    0
    Three colleagues are in place, it will work! Do not erase the pluses, I heartily ...
    What are we going to discuss purely and specifically about?
  6. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker April 17 2021 20: 22
    +1
    sanctions never worked against Russia

    Prices are constantly rising, wages are falling, everything has been said about the pension reform, demographics are getting worse, they are not even trying to correct them in words. The fact that all of our leading companies on the board of directors out of ten, eight represent NATO countries, which means that these companies are no longer Russian, is also an indisputable fact. Well, where, in what place did it not work? Or does it have 25 million jobs, as Putin promised? You upset me. There is no logic. The article looks more like a petty toadie. No wonder they say: "A bad example is contagious."
  7. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 17 2021 20: 32
    0
    And, all and so and not so at the same time.
    Vveelito mainly against military production and odious encirclement.

    Once - and Armata was left without French sights. No Armata yet.
    Two - and the machines already have to be imported from China, Chinese engines and chips for satellites to buy ...,. And they are like that ..
    Three - it’s already so easy senators and officials will not trample on to buy massive decorations, dachas, palaces, to give off official daughters for European nobility ... It’s not a feast during the plague, but a smart business lunch ...
  8. Alexzn Online Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) April 18 2021 07: 58
    -3
    Why US sanctions never worked against Russia

    It worked! How and to what extent is another matter. Russia is not a Urundi-Burundi, it is a world power. The West froze the Russian economy at the "reference" level on the 13th. So far, Russia has achieved structural progress and import substitution, but GDP (both) is marking time. Against the background of China and even just against the background of the dynamics of the world economy, it is too little.
  9. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 18 2021 11: 58
    -1
    Choto looks like a look from the 90s. Like, Omerika needs a strong whole Russia ...
  10. There will be products - there will be everything: money, clothes, salary, food, in a word - EVERYTHING!

Почему американские санкции так и не сработали против России


Несколько дней назад США ввели против России очередной пакет ограничительных мер, которые коснулись нескольких технологических компаний, десятков физических и юридических лиц, а также операций с суверенным госдолгом. О последнем американцы нас предупреждали уже давно, называя данные санкции «адскими». Однако при внимательном рассмотрении они оказались не такими уж и страшными. Отчего же российская экономика, находящаяся с 2014 года под внешним давлением, все никак не «разрывается в клочья»?


Ответ на этот вопрос будет весьма неоднозначным, и точно не всем понравится. Но давайте обо всем по порядку. Прежде всего, скажем несколько слов о запрете США на операции с российскими облигациями федерального займа, которые Минфин РФ использует для погашения национального госдолга. Вначале все немножечко испугались, но довольно быстро разобрались, что ограничения касаются только прямых покупок ценных бумаг у официальных российских финансовых институтов (ЦБ РФ, Минфина РФ и ФНБ). Через посредников на вторичном рынке американские инвесторы по-прежнему могут купить отечественные ОФЗ, заплатив при этом комиссию. И вступают в силу эти ограничения только с 14 июня 2021 года. В общем, кому надо, тот облигации и купит, и продаст.

Дает ли это основание полагать, что мы еще легко отделались? Отчасти, это действительно так. Прежде всего, определенная профилактическая работа Минфином РФ в этом направлении уже заблаговременно велась. В прошлом году займов в долларах не было, размещались только евробонды, а инвесторам из США было запрещено участвовать в первичных размещениях. На сегодняшний день на долю американцев приходится ОФЗ на довольно скромную сумму в 0,8 триллиона рублей. Уход иностранцев смогут компенсировать банки с государственным участием, Сбербанк и ВТБ. Однако расслабляться явно не стоит. Тенденция наблюдается, в целом, негативная, способная привести к росту стоимости заимствований из-за ухода зарубежных инвесторов с российского рынка облигаций. Рубль уже отреагировал на новости, просев по отношению к доллару.

А теперь перейдем к ключевому вопросу, почему же за прошедшие 7 лет с начала процесса введения западных санкций российская экономика так и не «порвалась в клочья», как нам это обещал американский президент Барак Обама? Пожалуй, правильным ответом будет то, что на самом деле США не ставят перед собой такой цели. Почему так происходит, скажем в самом конце, а пока что попытаемся сформулировать и озвучить реальные цели американских санкций:

Во-первых, США крайне заинтересованы в том, чтобы не допустить промышленного восстановления России. До 2014 года под бодрые речевки системных либералов мы уверенно шли путем постепенной деиндустриализации. После Майдана выяснилось, что технологическая зависимость России от Украины и иных потенциальных противников на Западе критически значима, что понудило власти пойти долгим и трудным путем импортозамещения. И на что же конкретно направлены американские санкции?

Например, они бьют по комплектующим для перспективного российского среднемагистрального лайнера МС-21, а также ряда других самолетов, которые могут в дальнейшем составить конкуренцию продукции американского и европейского авиастроительных концернов. Санкции также бьют по судостроительным предприятиям и нефтедобывающим компаниям с тем, чтобы затруднить в отсутствие технологий и оборудования освоение Арктики. Ограничительные меры препятствуют нормальному развитию предприятий, входящих в госкорпорации «Роскосмос» и «Росатом», а также оборонно-промышленный комплекс и т.д. Западные консалтинговые компании знают всю подноготную отечественной экономики, поскольку свободно орудуют по всех министерствах и ведомствах, и потому США имеют возможность наносить точечные санкционные удары по самым «узким местам».

Во-вторых, в последние годы ограничительные меры со стороны Вашингтона начали нести явно персоналистский характер, будучи направленными против президента Владимира Путина и его ближайшего окружения, обязанного ему своим фантастическим жизненным успехом. Теперь целью США является расколоть российскую «элиту» с тем, чтобы сформировать в ее среде внутреннюю оппозицию главе государства. Это в дальнейшем могло бы стать предпосылкой для так называемого «дворцового переворота», целью которого будет сменить неудобного Белому дому Владимира Путина на своего более лояльного ставленника прозападного либерального толка.

Собственно говоря, это и есть реальные цели американских санкций, в «разрыв экономики в клочья» в них не входит. Но почему? А давайте вместе подумаем. Что может стать реальной катастрофой для современной экономической модели России?

Верно, запрет на экспорт углеводородов и прочего сырья за рубеж по «иранскому сценарию». Если федеральный бюджет останется без поступлений валютной выручки от продажи нефти и газа за рубеж, Москва не сможет выполнять свои социально-экономические обязательства перед населением и регионами. В национальных республиках немедленно начнутся центробежные процессы, Северный Кавказ, снятый с довольствия, вновь станет большой проблемой. Усилится протестная активность. Все это предпосылки к государственному перевороту, а то и вовсе революции, и настоящей гражданской войне. Казалось бы, в Вашингтоне должны пуститься в пляс, но нет.

Россия – ядерная держава, ее неконтролируемый распад с возможным расползанием арсеналов по нескольким новоявленным «республикам» точно не в интересах США. Да и где гарантии, что к власти вдруг не придут новые большевики, которые начнут без дураков строить СССР-2 и покажут потом американцам «кузькину мать»? В общем, «рвать в клочья» нашу экономику Вашингтону точно не нужно.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 17 апреля 2021 16:19
    +1
    "ограничительных мер" - обожаю этот эвфемизм... good
  2. Oleg Rambover Офлайн Oleg Rambover
    Oleg Rambover (Олег Питерский) 17 апреля 2021 16:48
    -1
    Уважаемый Сергей может, когда хочет. Жалко что статье плюс поставить нельзя.
  3. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 17 апреля 2021 17:07
    -1
    Почему американские санкции так и не сработали против России

    -Ну почему не сработали ... - ещё как сработали... - Эти санкции позволили США приучить Россию к постоянным и безнаказанным ударам со стороны США ; а ещё довольно смирно и безропотно приучить всё население России ожидать подобных следующих ударов ... - И все уже знают и привыкли в России , что ... - как только Россия что-то осмелится сделать ; то...то...то сразу же последует "наказание"... - И это уже в России все воспринимают ...как должное... - А ведь Россия - это огромное государство , со своей тысячелетней историей ... ; которое победило всех врагов... - Как же так и за что же это нас так ??? - Мы же такого не заслужили...- Хахах...
    - Что касается ... "неудобного Белому дому Владимира Путина" ; то чем же это он так уж "неудобен" ???
    - Вполне удобен ... - всегда "готов на диалог" , всегда "готов к встречам" ... - никаких особых требований к США... - Так чего же большего-то желать ???
    - Американам сегодня здорово мешает Китай ; ну , так и здесь США собираются договориться с Китаем , принеся в жертву Россию (да и Китай не против такого вариантика)... - Сегодня даже Лукашенко легко и просто обводит нашего гаранта вокруг пальца ... - а уж такие прожжённые политиканы как американы и вовсе горазды "на всякое"...
    - А что касается того , что

    что к власти вдруг не придут новые большевики, которые начнут без дураков строить СССР-2 и покажут потом американцам «кузькину мать»?

    - То сегодня такое вряд ли возможно ... - Хотя такой вариант был бы для России самым благоприятным...
  4. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 17 апреля 2021 17:25
    0
    Рубль уже отреагировал на новости, просев по отношению к доллару.

    Когда и насколько? Я пропустил это грандиозное событие?

    Верно, запрет на экспорт углеводородов и прочего сырья за рубеж по «иранскому сценарию».

    Для Ирана это не стало катастрофой, да и ввести подобные ограничения они не в силах. Почему это станет катастрофой для России?
    Объем торговли и ними крайне мал, да и то они не могут заместить российский мазут потому что ограничений на других уже на вводили выше крыши. А Европа пищит, но отказываться от наших углеводородов категорически не хочет. Сидим и смотрим как строится Северный поток. Да плевали все на их заперты.
    Дело не в том что не хотят, скорее желания не совпадают с возможностями.

    В общем ни какого ответа, во всяком случае вменяемого, почему так происходит и чего они хотят я так и не увидел.
    Ну а для пустоголовой либерды пойдет yes Вон уже в ладошки хлопают laughing
  5. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 17 апреля 2021 18:35
    0
    Трое коллег на месте, дело пойдёт! Плюсы не стирайте, я от души...
    Об чём чисто-конкретно подискутируем?
  6. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 17 апреля 2021 20:22
    +1
    санкции так и не сработали против России

    Цены постоянно растут, зарплата падает, про пенсионную реформу уже всё сказано, демография всё хуже, уже даже не пытаются на словах исправить. То что у всех наших ведущих компаний в совете директоров из десяти восемь представляют страны НАТО, а значит эти компании уже не российские, тоже факт неоспоримый. Ну и где, в каком месте не сработали? Или у на появились 25 млн. рабочих мест, как Путин обещал? Расстраиваете вы меня. Логики нет. Статья больше на мелкий подхалимаж смахивает. Не зря говорят: "Дурной пример заразителен."
  7. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 17 апреля 2021 20:32
    0
    А ,все и так и не так одновременно.
    Ввеелито в основном против военных производств и одиозного окружения.

    Раз - и Армата осталась без французских прицелов. Нет Арматы пока.
    Два - и станки уже приходится китайские завозить, китайские двигатели и чипы для спутников покупать...,. А они такие..
    Три - уже так просто сенаторы и чиновники не попрутся скупать массого украшения, дачи, дворцы, выдавать офицально дочек за европЭйскую знать.... Уже не пир во время чумы, а так, деловой шикарный обед...
  8. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 18 апреля 2021 07:58
    -3
    Почему американские санкции так и не сработали против России

    Сработали! Другое дело как и до какой степени. Россия - не урунди-бурунди, это мировая держава. Запад заморозил экономику РФ на уровне "эталонного" 13-го. Пока Россия добилась структурных подвижек и импортозамещения, но ВВП (оба) топчатся на месте. На фоне Китая и даже просто на фоне динамики мировой экономики - слишком мало.
  9. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 18 апреля 2021 11:58
    -1
    Чото похоже на взгляд из 90х. Типа , Омерике нужна сильная целая Россия ....
  10. Будет продукция - будет все: бабки, шмотки, зарплата, жратва, словом - ВСЕ!