"At risk of spilling over into the Cuban missile crisis 2.0": Die Welt on the situation on the Russian-Ukrainian border


Aggravation on the Ukrainian-Russian border could turn into a confrontation between the two largest nuclear powers on the planet. The situation does not inspire optimism and runs the risk of spilling over into the Cuban Missile Crisis 2.0. Only major events will develop in Ukraine, i.e. on the eastern border of the EU, writes the German newspaper Die Welt.


Russian leader Vladimir Putin took this risk to bolster Moscow's position in the international arena by showing Washington the price he would have to pay for further NATO enlargement. At the same time, US President Joe Biden is determined to further promote democracy in the world.

The American leader appointed Linda Thomas-Greenfield as UN Ambassador, and this showed the seriousness of his intentions. Biden will use the UN as a platform for addressing issues of concern: disarmament, countering climate change, maintaining the existing world order and competition between democracy and autocracy. He considers the latter to be the most important thing in the entire XNUMXst century. The US administration is about to hold a global summit for democracy and create new militarypolitical alliances.

I predict to you that your children and grandchildren will defend their doctoral dissertation on what has succeeded - autocracy or democracy? It's not just about China

Biden said at his first briefing as head of state.

The Russian Federation and the PRC jointly reacted to this. Moscow and Beijing have declared that they are ready to defend against the destructive intentions of Washington, contrary to the UN Charter. Now Russia, in violation of the same UN Charter, is going to attack Ukraine so that it does not join NATO, while China simultaneously intensified its military activity near Taiwan. At the same time, China is no longer inferior in military power to the United States, the guarantor of Taiwan's independence. In turn, Washington intends to force Pyongyang and Tehran to abandon their nuclear ambitions and conclude an alliance with India and Japan, the newspaper describes the geopolitical situation.

Putin considers the collapse of the USSR to be a huge tragedy and is going to restore its semblance. According to his arguments, Russia did in Ukraine what the West did in Serbia. However, the secession of Kosovo occurred as a result of a vote in the UN, and issues with Crimea and Donbass did not go through a similar procedure.

The United States and Russia are very serious. Putin and Biden are confident that every step determines the future for decades to come. Putin seeks conflict exactly where Biden is most sensitive. On April 20, 2021, Putin's annual message to the Federal Assembly will take place. A week after that, Biden, in his first address to the US Congress, will be able to tell Putin what price he will have to pay. According to Biden, the West is now defending itself not on the Hindu Kush, but on the Dnieper, summed up the media from Germany.
  • Photos used: Facebook / JOS (Joint Forces Operation)
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 18 2021 17: 25
    0
    The West is now defending itself not on the Hindu Kush, but on the Dnieper

    This is strong, the author of Die Welt clearly respects Bavarian, it seems with vodka.
    By the way, colleagues, Icebine goes really into the bone with any good beer. In a friendly way I recommend trying ...
    Better, of course, if you are in Germany ... drinks
    1. Mantrid Machina Offline Mantrid Machina
      Mantrid Machina (Mantrid Machina) April 18 2021 19: 26
      0
      Duc of Bavarian its varieties a lot, here King Ludwig comes to me and Shovel with Tyrolean sausages wassat
  2. Alexander Betonkin April 18 2021 17: 40
    0
    "Veld" wrote nonsense. Caribbean crisis - the USSR brought missiles to the border with the United States. And here? Here more Georgia 2008. Zelensky can only chew on a tie, or maybe not just a tie.
    1. aries2200 Offline aries2200
      aries2200 (aries) April 18 2021 22: 49
      +2
      Cuban Missile Crisis - the USSR brought missiles to the border with the United States and since 1952, US missiles have been stationed under Mount Ararat, 120 km from the USSR border.
    2. gore Offline gore
      gore (Alexander) April 19 2021 05: 43
      0
      Alexander Betonkin, he will chew a tie from his pants ...
  3. I don't even remember that the UN voted for the dump of Kosovo, but by the way - do not care!
  4. Redfox3k Offline Redfox3k
    Redfox3k (Vladislav) April 18 2021 18: 28
    +3
    Quote: Alexander Betonkin
    Caribbean crisis - the USSR brought missiles to the border with the United States.

    The origins of the Cuban missile crisis are American missiles in Turkey. The USSR answered.
  5. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 18 2021 20: 14
    0
    Sunday evening, the issues of world politics somehow clearly do not go.
    Well, guys, let's talk about beer, well, to support the twig.
    Pilsen Prazdroj was in the Pilsen bar, in the Central Park. Kegs aluminum with a pump, lovely.
    With small shrimps, in the famous Brazilian TV series, babes dreamed of such.
    All the tests are exams, well, only after that ...
    I remember my student years with such nostalgia ..
    drinks
  6. aries2200 Offline aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) April 18 2021 22: 51
    0
    only the main events will develop in Ukraine, i.e. on the eastern border of the EU, writes the German newspaper Die Welt. the main events will be on the territory of the us base ramstein, which in krmania
  7. Yuri Nemov Offline Yuri Nemov
    Yuri Nemov (Yuri Nemov) April 19 2021 09: 29
    0
    In the UN vote on Kosovo, the Kosovo Albanian community was only offered a genuine political process and the prospect of gaining a greater degree of autonomy and self-government. And then NATO invaded Yugoslavia, bombed the country and forcibly separated Kosovo. At the same time, a large number of civilians died. In Crimea, a nationwide referendum was held, at which the inhabitants of Crimea themselves decided their fate, while not a single civilian resident of Crimea was injured. Do you feel the difference by the author?
  8. Yuri Nemov Offline Yuri Nemov
    Yuri Nemov (Yuri Nemov) April 19 2021 09: 31
    +1
    And who told you that Russia is going to attack Ukraine? Where did you read such nonsense?

«Рискует вылиться в Карибский кризис 2.0»: Die Welt о ситуации на российско-украинской границе


Обострение на украинско-российской границе может превратиться в противостояние двух крупнейших ядерных держав на планете. Ситуация не внушает оптимизма и рискует вылиться в Карибский кризис 2.0. Только основные события будут развиваться на Украине, т.е. на восточной границе ЕС, пишет немецкая газета Die Welt.


Российский лидер Владимир Путин пошел на этот риск, чтобы укрепить положение Москвы на международной арене, показав Вашингтону, какую ему придется заплатить цену за дальнейшее расширение НАТО. При этом президент США Джо Байден настроен на дальнейшее продвижение демократии в мире.

Американский лидер назначил представителем при ООН Линду Томас-Гринфилд и этим показал серьезность своих намерений. Байден будет использовать ООН как площадку для решения волнующих вопросов: разоружения, противодействия климатическим изменениям, поддержке существующего мирового порядка и конкуренции между демократией и автократией. Последнее он считает самым главным делом всего XXI века. Администрация США собирается провести глобальный саммит за демократию и создать новые военно-политические альянсы.

Я предсказываю вам, что ваши дети и внуки будут защищать докторскую диссертацию по тому, что преуспело – автократия или демократия? Речь идет не только о Китае

– произнес Байден на своем первом брифинге в качестве главы государства.

РФ и КНР сообща отреагировали на это. Москва и Пекин заявили, что готовы защищаться от деструктивных намерений Вашингтона, противоречащих Уставу ООН. Теперь Россия, в нарушение того же Устава ООН, собирается напасть на Украину, чтобы та не вступила в НАТО, а Китай одновременно усилил свою военную активность возле Тайваня. При этом Китай уже практически не уступает в военной мощи США, гаранту независимости Тайваня. В свою очередь, Вашингтон намерен заставить Пхеньян и Тегеран отказаться от ядерных амбиций, и заключить союз с Индией и Японией, описывает геополитическую ситуацию издание.

Путин считает развал СССР огромной трагедией и собирается восстановить его подобие. Согласно его аргументам, Россия сделала на Украине то, что проделал в свое время Запад в Сербии. Однако отделение Косово произошло в результате голосования в ООН, а вопросы с Крымом и Донбассом не проходили подобной процедуры.

США и Россия настроены весьма серьезно. Путин и Байден уверены, что каждый шаг предопределяет будущее на десятилетия вперед. Путин ищет конфликта именно там, где Байден наиболее чувствителен. 20 апреля 2021 года состоится ежегодное послание Путина Федеральному собранию. Через неделю после этого Байден, в своем первом обращении к Конгрессу США, сможет сообщить Путину, какую ему придется заплатить цену. По мнению Байдена, Запад сейчас защищается не на Гиндукуше, а на Днепре, подытожило СМИ из Германии.
  • Использованы фотографии: Фейсбук/ООС (Операция объединённых сил)
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 18 апреля 2021 17:25
    0
    Запад сейчас защищается не на Гиндукуше, а на Днепре

    Это сильно, автор Die Welt явно баварское уважает, похоже с водочкой.
    Кстати, коллеги, Айсбайн к любому хорошему пиву идёт реально в кость. Дружески рекомендую попробовать...
    Лучше, конечно, если будете в Германии... drinks
    1. Mantrid Machina Офлайн Mantrid Machina
      Mantrid Machina (Mantrid Machina) 18 апреля 2021 19:26
      0
      дык баварского его сортов уйма, мне вот Король Людвиг заходит и Лопата с тирольскими колбасками wassat
  2. Александр Бетонкин 18 апреля 2021 17:40
    0
    "Вельд" глупость написала. Карибский кризис - СССР ракеты привезла на границу с США. А здесь? Здесь больше Грузия 2008 год. Только галстук поддеться жевать Зеленскому, а может не только галстук.
    1. aries2200 Офлайн aries2200
      aries2200 (aries) 18 апреля 2021 22:49
      +2
      Карибский кризис - СССР ракеты привезла на границу с США а с 1952 года ракеты сша стояли под горой арарат в 120 км от границы СССР историю на 2 знаете александр
    2. gore Офлайн gore
      gore (Александр) 19 апреля 2021 05:43
      0
      Александр Бетонкин,галстук из штанов он будет жевать...
  3. чета не помню, чтобы ООН голосовала за отвал Косова, а впрочем - плевать!
  4. Redfox3k Офлайн Redfox3k
    Redfox3k (Владислав) 18 апреля 2021 18:28
    +3
    Цитата: Александр Бетонкин
    Карибский кризис - СССР ракеты привезла на границу с США.

    Истоки Карибского кризиса - американские ракеты в Турции. СССР отвечал.
  5. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 18 апреля 2021 20:14
    0
    Воскресенье, вечер, вопросы мировой политики как-то явно не идут.
    Ну так давайте ребята, про пиво, ну чтобы веточку поддержать.
    Пильзенский Праздрой был в баре Пильзень, в ЦПКо. Кеги алюминиевые с насосом, прелесть.
    С маленькими креветками, в известном бразильском сериале бабёшки о таких мечтали.
    Все зачёты-экзамены, ну после только там...
    Студенческие годы вспоминаю с такой ностальгией..
    drinks
  6. aries2200 Офлайн aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) 18 апреля 2021 22:51
    0
    только основные события будут развиваться на Украине, т.е. на восточной границе ЕС, пишет немецкая газета Die Welt. основные события будут на территории базы сша рамштайн,что в хкрмании
  7. Юрий Немов Офлайн Юрий Немов
    Юрий Немов (Юрий Немов) 19 апреля 2021 09:29
    0
    На голосовании в ООН по Косово, был лишь предложен албанской общине Косово подлинный политический процесс и перспективы получения большей степени автономии и самоуправления. А затем НАТО вторглось в Югославию, подвергло страну бомбовым ударам и насильно отделило Косово. При этом погибло большое число мирных жителей. В Крыму же прошел всенародный референдум, на котором сами жители Крыма решили свою судьбу, при этом не пострадал ни один мирный житель Крыма. Чувствуете разницу автор?
  8. Юрий Немов Офлайн Юрий Немов
    Юрий Немов (Юрий Немов) 19 апреля 2021 09:31
    +1
    А кто вам сказал что Россия собирается нападать на Украину? Где вы такой бред вычитали?