Russian "Terminator 2" will change the tactics of urban battles


Modern local conflicts are increasingly being transferred to urban areas, where tanks are becoming "easy prey" for infantry armed with grenade launchers. Unlike NATO countries, where reinforced armored personnel carriers are used to support tanks, Russian engineers chose a different path.


According to our experts, even a very heavy infantry fighting vehicle has little chance of survival in urban combat. Therefore, domestic designers have created a fundamentally new car.

So, reinforced armor was installed on the time-tested and modified chassis of the T-72 tank. In turn, the turret was replaced with a remote-controlled uninhabited module. All of this was "hung" with a 30A2 42-mm cannon, a PKTM machine gun, two AG-17D automatic grenade launchers and four Kornet missile systems. The car was named "Frame-99", but later the nickname "Terminator" became attached to it.

During the first field tests in 2006, the correctness of the concept of the technical appearance was confirmed, but there were many comments. In particular, the vulnerability of weapons.

As a result, after revision, "Terminator-2" was born. The new vehicle received a second cannon, and the Kornets were replaced by Ataka-T complexes.

The second version of the "Terminator" went to Syria for testing, after which it received orders from Kazakhstan and Algeria, where it was considered that one such machine was capable of surpassing two motorized rifle platoons in terms of its firepower.

At the moment, the Russian army is determining the optimal scheme for the tactical use of the Terminators. For this purpose, an experimental company has already been created in the 90th Panzer Division.

At the same time, Israel decided to choose a similar approach, having created a similar machine on the chassis of its Merkava tank, which, despite the "skepticism" on the part of NATO, confirms the promise of the solution implemented by domestic designers.

Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 22 2021 13: 54
    0
    20 year old PR and peremoga.
    They wrote that the Army has so far refused large purchases. 20 years, 2-3 generations have been traveling, and only a small batch is being exploited.

    Algeria and Kazakhstan, and that's not bad. What tactics of city battles are going to be pumped up. Like in the video ...
    1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) April 22 2021 15: 27
    0
    The author of this text made a significant inaccuracy. Israeli heavy armored personnel carrier "Namer" was developed and tested back in 2004-2006, since 2008. produced in series, more than 500 units have been produced to date. And most importantly, it is not in any way a combat vehicle for supporting tanks, it is an armored personnel carrier, three crew members and nine seats in the troop compartment, and the armament is completely different from that of the Russian "Terminator-2"

Российский «Терминатор-2» изменит тактику городских боев


Современные локальные конфликты все чаще переносятся в городскую застройку, где танки становятся «легкой добычей» для пехоты, вооруженной гранатометами. В отличие от стран НАТО, где для поддержки танков используют усиленные бронетранспортеры, российские инженеры пошли другим путем.


По мнению наших специалистов, даже очень тяжелая БМП имеет мало шансов на выживание в городском бою. Поэтому отечественные конструкторы создали принципиально новую машину.

Так, на испытанное временем и доработанное шасси танка Т-72 установили усиленную броню. В свою очередь, башню заменили необитаемым модулем с дистанционным управлением. На все это «навесили» 30-мм пушку 2А42, пулемёт ПКТМ, два автоматических гранатомета АГ-17Д и четыре ракетных комплекса «Корнет». Машину назвали «Рамка-99», но позднее к ней «привязалось» прозвище «Терминатор».

В ходе первых полевых испытаний в 2006 году подтвердилась правильность концепции технического облика, но было множество замечаний. В частности, к уязвимости оружия.

В итоге после доработки на свет появился «Терминатор-2». Новая машина получила вторую пушку, а «Корнеты» заменили комплексами «Атака-Т».

Вторая версия «Терминатора» отправилась на испытания в Сирию, после чего на нее поступили заказы из Казахстана и Алжира, где посчитали, что одна такая машина по своей огневой мощи способна превзойти два мотострелковых взвода.

На данный момент в Российской армии определяются с оптимальной схемой тактического применения «Терминаторов». С этой целью в 90-й танковой дивизии уже создана экспериментальная рота.

В то же время аналогичный подход решил выбрать и Израиль, создав подобную машину на шасси своего танка «Меркава», что, несмотря на «скепсис» со стороны НАТО, подтверждает перспективность решения, реализованного отечественными конструкторами.

Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 22 апреля 2021 13:54
    0
    20 летний пиар и перемога.
    Писали, Армия пока отказалась от крупных закупок. 20 лет, уже 2-3 поколение ездит, и только малая партия эксплуатируется.

    Алжир и Казахстан, и то неплохо. Уж какие уж там тактики городских боев будут, закачаться. Наверно, как на видео...
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 22 апреля 2021 15:27
    0
    Автор данного текста допустил существенную неточность. Израильский тяжелый бронетранспортер "Намер" был разработан и испытан еще в 2004-2006гг., с 2008г. производится серийно, на сегодняшний день произведено более 500 единиц. А самое главное - он никак не является боевой машиной поддержки танков, это именно БТР, три члена экипажа и девять мест в десантном отделении да и вооружение совершенно иное чем у российского "Терминатора-2"