The Turkish fleet drove the Greek and French ships from "their territorial waters"


The eastern Mediterranean has long been a subject of territorialeconomic disputes between Greeks and Turks. Last week, south of Crete, there was an incident involving ships from Greece, France and Turkey, during which Ankara once again reminded Athens of "its territorial waters" and the inadmissibility of visiting them by foreign ships.


On Thursday, April 15, during a visit by Greek Foreign Minister Nikos Dendias to the Turkish capital, Athens, a three-day NAVTEX regime was announced - notification of the activity of its ships, as well as the French research ship L'Atalante south of Crete and near Rhodes.

In response, Ankara, which considers this region its territorial waters, declared anti-NAVTEX and called on Athens to respect Turkey's rights to the continental shelf south of Crete. But despite warnings from the Turkish authorities, L'Atalante entered the area, accompanied by the Greek frigate Elli. The Turkish edition of the Hürriyet Daily News wrote about the incident on Monday 19 April.

Two ships of the Turkish fleet moved to the region where the ships of Greece and France were located, urging the Greeks and French to leave this part of the Mediterranean. French sailors, in turn, declared their right to stay in the region, since these waters have international status, which eliminates the need to obtain a special navigation permit. Nevertheless, the Greek frigate and the French ship were soon forced to retreat.
  • Photos used: http://www.defenseimagery.mil/
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Dukhskrepny Offline Dukhskrepny
    Dukhskrepny (Vasya) April 19 2021 16: 22
    -2
    Non-state Greece
    1. dinos Offline dinos
      dinos (Dinos) April 19 2021 22: 09
      0
      Cynical statements in relation to other peoples and states, in this case to Greece and its people, show a complete lack of knowledge of world history and, ultimately, lack of knowledge of history and its people, in the history of which Greece and its people played an important role.
      1. Kofesan Offline Kofesan
        Kofesan (Valery) April 20 2021 07: 01
        -1
        The current descendants of the once great Greeks are not worthy of memory. Are there examples of the opposite in the newest role of NATO litter?
  2. andrew42 Offline andrew42
    andrew42 (Andrei) April 19 2021 16: 27
    +1
    Gee, NATO allies ... Well, just brothers in arms!
  3. dinos Offline dinos
    dinos (Dinos) April 19 2021 21: 45
    +2
    Turkish territorial waters south of about. Crete cannot be by definition, because their width cannot exceed 12 nautical miles. And the nearest distance from the eastern end of the island. Crete is more than 90 NM (175 km) to the Turkish coast and in addition there are the Greek islands of Kos, Karpathos and Rhodes between them. This is the first thing.
    And secondly, this Turkish desire to appropriate maritime territories, contrary to the 1982 Convention on the Law of the Sea (which Turkey did not sign and does not recognize, but this Convention was ratified by 160 states) and, moreover, puts forward absurd theories that the island is not may have an EEZ (exclusive economic zone). Apparently the Turks forgot to ask the opinion on this issue from Great Britain, Ireland, Indonesia, New Zealand and further down the list from all the island states of the world.
    As for the incident, the Turks sent one frigate of their navy, which monitored this vessel from a long distance, saying that it was violating the Turkish continental shelf, having received a response about the legality of marine research, according to NAVTEX, whose maritime area of ​​responsibility is Greece. After which the Turks got away, and the French ship continued its work. Well, to raise the national level, the Turks launched this fake about the run of the French ship.
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 22 2021 18: 58
    +1
    Inspired by the film "Ships storm the bastions". Ushak Pasha, together with the Turks, stormed the French garrison on the Greek island of Corfu ...
    Funny ...

Турецкий флот прогнал греческий и французский корабли из «своих территориальных вод»


Восточная часть Средиземного моря уже долгое время является предметом территориально-экономических споров между греками и турками. На прошлой неделе южнее Крита произошел инцидент с участием кораблей Греции, Франции и Турции, в ходе которого Анкара вновь напомнила Афинам о «своих территориальных водах» и о недопустимости их посещения иностранными кораблями.


В четверг 15 апреля во время визита главы внешнеполитического ведомства Греции Никоса Дендиаса в турецкую столицу Афины объявили трехдневный режим NAVTEX – уведомление об активности своих судов, а также французского исследовательского корабля L’Atalante к югу от Крита и недалеко от Родоса.

В ответ на это Анкара, считающая этот регион своими территориальными водами, объявила анти-NAVTEX и призвала Афины уважать права Турции на континентальный шельф южнее острова Крит. Но несмотря на предупреждения турецких властей, в эту зону вошел L’Atalante в сопровождении греческого фрегата Elli. Об инциденте в понедельник 19 апреля написало турецкое издание Hürriyet Daily News.

В регион нахождения судов Греции и Франции выдвинулись два корабля турецкого флота, призвавшие греков и французов покинуть этот участок Средиземноморья. Французские моряки свою очередь заявили о своем праве нахождения в регионе, поскольку эти воды имеют статус международных, что исключает необходимость получать специальное разрешение на плавание. Тем не менее вскоре греческий фрегат и французское судно были вынуждена ретироваться.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://www.defenseimagery.mil/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Духоскрепный (Вася) 19 апреля 2021 16:22
    -2
    Недогосударство Греция
    1. dinos Офлайн dinos
      dinos (Dinos) 19 апреля 2021 22:09
      0
      Циничные высказывания по отношению к другим народам и государствам, в данном случае к Греции и ее народу , показывает полное не знание мировой истории и в конечном итоге не знание истории и своего народа , в истории которого Греция и ее народ сыграли не последнюю роль.
      1. Kofesan Офлайн Kofesan
        Kofesan (Валерий) 20 апреля 2021 07:01
        -1
        Нынешние потомки когда то великих греков не достойны памяти. Разве есть примеры обратного в новейшей роли НАТОвской подстилки?
  2. andrew42 Офлайн andrew42
    andrew42 (Андрей) 19 апреля 2021 16:27
    +1
    Гы, союзники по НАТО... Ну просто братья по оружию!
  3. dinos Офлайн dinos
    dinos (Dinos) 19 апреля 2021 21:45
    +2
    Турецких терроториальных вод южнее о. Крит не может быть по определению , т.к. их ширина не может преывышать 12 морских миль. А ближайшее расстояние от восточной оконечности о. Крит до турецких берегов составляет более 90 м. миль (175 км ) и помимо этого между ними расположенны греческие острова Кос , Карпатос и Родос. Это во-первых .
    А во-вторых , это турецкое стремление присвоить морские территории , вопреки Конвенции по морскому праву 1982 г. ,( которую Турция не подписала и не признает, но эту Конвенцию ратифицировали 160 государств ) и к тому же выдвигает абсурдные теории о том , что острава не могут иметь ИЭЗ ( исключительную экономическую зону) . Видимо турки забыли спросить мнение по этому вопросу у Великобритании , Ирландии , Индонезии , Новой Зеландии и далее по списку у всех островных государств мира.
    Что касается инцидента - турки послали один фрегат своих ВМС , который с большого расстояния следил за этим судном , вещая , что оно нарушает турецкий континентальный шельф , получив ответ о правомерности морских исследований , согласно NAVTEX , морской зоной ответственности которой является Греция. После чего турки убрались восвояси , а французское судно продолжило свою работу. Ну а для поднятия национального градуса , турки и запустили этот фейк о прогоне французского судна.
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 22 апреля 2021 18:58
    +1
    Навеяло фильм "Корабли штурмуют бастионы". Ушак-паша вместе с турками штурмовал французский гарнизон на греческом острове Корфу...
    Забавно...