Pentagon Logic: We Will Strengthen Our Military Presence In Afghanistan Before Withdrawing For Security


The US Department of Defense announced that it is strengthening its presence in Afghanistan ahead of the start of the withdrawal of troops from this country, which is to begin on May 1, 2021. This was announced to reporters by the Pentagon spokesman John Kirby, writes the American edition Politico.


The functionary noted that the head of the military department Lloyd Austin approved the sending of an additional number of Boeing B-52 Stratofortress strategic bombers to the region (two of them have already arrived there) and kept the USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN-69) aircraft carrier in the Persian Gulf. In addition, the Pentagon may temporarily send additional ground units to Afghanistan for materialtechnical support and protection of the forces available there. He clarified that this is done for safety.

It would be reckless and imprudent not to assume that resistance and opposition could arise from the Taliban (a terrorist organization banned in Russia - ed.). We are going to take a responsible approach to the issue and make the withdrawal of troops safe and orderly.

- he said, explaining the logic of the ministry.

The announcement came after President Biden announced on April 13 that Washington would end its military presence in Afghanistan by September 11, 20 years after the terrorist attacks that started the longest US war. Additional troops should keep the Taliban from renewing attacks on US troops, which have largely ceased since the February 2020 ceasefire with the Trump administration. But there are fears that if the United States misses the deadline for the start of the withdrawal, stipulated in the deal, the Taliban will resume attacks.

On April 22, the commander of US Central Command, General Frank Mackenzie, explained that a small number of US troops would remain in Afghanistan anyway to guard the embassy in Kabul. Moreover, the military leader intends to maintain the counter-terrorism potential in the region. The United States wants to deploy its forces in neighboring countries (Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Kazakhstan), but for this it is necessary to conclude appropriate agreements with them.

These operations will be more difficult, but not impossible. We are committed to maintaining pressure on any potential terrorist threat emanating from Afghanistan

- summed up Mackenzie.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF April 24 2021 12: 08
    +2
    Afraid of getting kicked to speed up?
    Well, well ... they are leaving so that neighboring countries risk falling under occupation ...
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 24 2021 12: 35
    +3
    The logic, of course, is amazing ...
  3. Dukhskrepny Offline Dukhskrepny
    Dukhskrepny (Vasya) April 24 2021 15: 27
    +1
    Biden's split personality
  4. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) April 24 2021 15: 42
    +1
    For 20 years, presidents have been changing, and each one deduces and enters, deduces and enters. Fairy tales for adults, favorite American folk fun.

Логика Пентагона: Мы усилим своё военное присутствие в Афганистане перед отводом войск в целях безопасности


Минобороны США проинформировало, что усиливает свое присутствие в Афганистане перед началом вывода войск из этой страны, который должен начаться 1 мая 2021 года. Об этом сообщил журналистам пресс-секретарь Пентагона Джон Кирби, пишет американское издание Politico.


Функционер отметил, что глава военного ведомства Ллойд Остин одобрил отправку в регион дополнительного количества стратегических бомбардировщиков Boeing B-52 Stratofortress (два из них уже прибыли туда) и сохранил нахождение авианосца USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN-69) в Персидском заливе. Кроме того, Пентагон может временно отправить в Афганистан дополнительные сухопутные части для материально-технической поддержки и защиты имеющихся там сил. Он уточнил, что это делается для безопасности.

Было бы безрассудно и неосмотрительно не предполагать, что со стороны Талибана (террористическая организация, запрещенная в России – ред.) может возникнуть сопротивление и противодействие. Мы собираемся ответственно подойти к вопросу и сделать вывод войск безопасным и планомерным

– сказал он, объяснив логику министерства.

Данное объявление было сделано после того, как 13 апреля президент Байден заявил, что Вашингтон прекратит свое военное присутствие в Афганистане к 11 сентября, через 20 лет после террористических атак, которые положили начало самой продолжительной войне США. Дополнительные войска должны удержать движение Талибан от возобновления атак на американские войска, которые в основном прекратились после заключения перемирия с администрацией Трампа в феврале 2020 года. Но есть опасения, что если США пропустят срок начала вывода войск, оговоренный в рамках сделки, Талибан возобновит атаки.

22 апреля командующий Центральным командованием США генерал Фрэнк Маккензи пояснил, что небольшое количество американских военных в любом случае останется в Афганистане для охраны посольства в Кабуле. Более того, военачальник намерен поддерживать контртеррористический потенциал в регионе. США хотят разместить свои силы в соседних странах (Таджикистан, Узбекистан, Туркменистан и Казахстан), но для этого нужно заключить соответствующие договора с ними.

Эти операции будут сложнее, но не невозможны. Мы привержены сохранению давления на любую потенциальную террористическую угрозу, исходящую из Афганистана

– подытожил Маккензи.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 24 апреля 2021 12:08
    +2
    Боятся пинка для ускорения?
    Ну,ну... так уходят, что соседние страны рискуют под оккупацию угодить...
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 24 апреля 2021 12:35
    +3
    Логика, конечно потрясающая...
  3. Духоскрепный (Вася) 24 апреля 2021 15:27
    +1
    Раздвоение личности Байдена
  4. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 24 апреля 2021 15:42
    +1
    20 лет президенты меняются и каждый выводит и вводит, выводит и вводит. Сказки для взрослых, любимая американская народная забава.