Estonian President: Afghanistan is very important to us


On April 22, 2021, President of Estonia Kersti Kaljulaid met with members of the Estonian Defense Forces (Eesti kaitsejõud) in Afghanistan. The head of state thanked them for their service and said that the Afghan mission of Tallinn had secured Estonia and strengthened its relations with allies, the website of the Estonian Defense Ministry said.


Kaljulaid noted that Estonia began its participation in this mission when only 10 years have passed since gaining independence and the country was not a member of either the European Union or NATO. By that time, Tallinn was already making a "peacekeeping contribution" in the Balkans, but he had no experience in operations "where peace must first be established."

Over the past two decades, we have evolved as a country to such an extent that, in addition to being able to contribute to military missions, we have the skills, capabilities and willingness to contribute at the highest diplomatic level in the world. In the UN Security Council and at the decisive moments of this mission, we are also Afghans, sitting at the most difficult negotiating table on the planet.

- she added.

Thus, Afghanistan is very important to us and we are contributing in many different ways. The Estonian Defense Forces, currently in Afghanistan, are the last Estonian unit to serve here. Every day when the military goes on missions makes Estonia safer and better. And the world too. Not a single day of service of our Defense Forces, and before that of rescue engineers, was not wasted here.

She emphasized.

Kaljulaid recalled that 9 Estonians were killed in Afghanistan, and another 139 were injured of varying severity. She clarified that when she is in the city of Paldiski (Estonia), she always visits the monument dedicated to the fallen in peacekeeping missions.

Estonia came to Afghanistan for two decades to stand side by side with our allies. We came to show that you can rely on us in difficult times. We did it because the Allies are busy with it and this is the only way to be sure that they will come to our aid when needed. But this was not just a pragmatic and selfish decision. It was a valuable decision. We came here because we believe in democracy and human rights, we believe in the rights of women and children to participate in society and receive education, we believe in the right of people to live without the government of fear. We came because we believe in freedom

She announced.

We have not achieved all that we set out to achieve with our allies. But Afghanistan today is definitely a better country and a better society than it was 20 years ago. We will probably see some setbacks here after the Allies leave, but even more so we must work to ensure that the concerns and hopefully the joys of Afghanistan and the Afghan people remain in the focus of international democracy and human rights. Thanks again to all the members of the Estonian Defense Forces. You put your life at risk every day so that we can sleep more peacefully in our homes every day

- summed up Kaljulaid.

Note that the Estonian Defense Forces have been in Afghanistan since 2003. Currently, more than 40 Estonian military personnel remain there. The working visit of the President of Estonia to Afghanistan began on April 21. During the voyage, Kaljulaid is to meet with the Afghan leadership, heads of NATO and UN missions, as well as with non-governmental organizations.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of Estonia
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) April 24 2021 16: 46
    +3
    also indulge in Afghan drugs? winked
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 24 2021 17: 55
    0
    Our Kersti Kaljulaid is great.
    He builds the job correctly!
    After all, Brussels, unlike Rostov, is really rubber.
    The place is always and for life with a huge salary and a very good pension.
    Ask Donald Tusk, he won't lie ... wink
  3. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) April 24 2021 18: 00
    +7
    You can see from their faces that they do not understand what this strange woman is talking about in high heels and without a helmet. laughing
    They sit in the Afghan mountains so that Kersti could sleep peacefully belay This is a great goal fellow Your sacrifices are not in vain good He knows how to explain everything lol
    By the way, is 40 Estonian military personnel more than half of the Estonian army or not? Who, then, is holding back the hordes of Russian Akhresors at the border? Does this prevent them from sleeping?
    The people of Afghanistan will certainly liberate their land groaning under the boots of the Estonian invaders. Punishers who did not have time to dump in time will hang on the wonderful trees shown in the photo.
  4. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
    zzdimk April 24 2021 20: 06
    0
    Hairpins are cool. Without them, there is no way in the EU army. Why are camouflage riffraffs without pins? Sexism? Yes, they must now be dragged to the courts.

Президент Эстонии: Афганистан очень важен для нас


22 апреля 2021 года президент Эстонии Керсти Кальюлайд встретилась с военнослужащими Сил обороны Эстонии (Eesti kaitsejõud), находящимися в Афганистане. Глава государства поблагодарила их за службу и сообщила, что афганская миссия Таллина обезопасила Эстонию и укрепила её отношения с союзниками, говорится на сайте Минобороны Эстонии.


Кальюлайд отметила, что Эстония начала свое участие в этой миссии, когда прошло всего 10 лет с момента обретения независимости и страна не входила ни в Евросоюз, ни в НАТО. К тому моменту Таллин уже вносил «миротворческую лепту» на Балканах, но у него не было опыта в операциях, «где сначала нужно установить мир».

За прошедшие два десятилетия мы развивались как страна до такой степени, что, помимо способности вносить вклад в военные миссии, мы обладаем навыками, возможностями и готовностью вносить свой вклад на самом высоком дипломатическом уровне в мире. В СБ ООН и в решающие моменты этой миссии мы также являемся афганцами, находясь за самым сложным переговорным столом планеты

– добавила она.

Таким образом, Афганистан очень важен для нас, и мы вносим свой вклад самым разным способом. Силы обороны Эстонии, находящиеся в настоящее время в Афганистане, – последнее эстонское подразделение, которое здесь служит. Каждый день, когда военные уходят на задания, делают Эстонию безопаснее и лучше. И мир тоже. Ни один день службы наших Сил обороны, а до этого и спасателей-саперов, здесь не прошел напрасно

– подчеркнула она.

Кальюлайд напомнила, что в Афганистане погибло 9 эстонцев, ещё 139 получили ранения различной степени тяжести. Она уточнила, что когда бывает в городе Палдиски (Эстония), всегда посещает памятник, посвященный павшим на миротворческих миссиях.

Эстония пришла в Афганистан два десятилетия чтобы встать бок о бок с нашими союзниками. Мы пришли показать, что на нас можно положиться в трудное время. Мы сделали это, потому что этим заняты союзники и это единственный способ быть уверенным в том, что к нам придут на помощь, когда понадобится. Но это было не просто прагматичное и эгоистичное решение. Это было ценное решение. Мы пришли сюда, потому что верим в демократию и права человека, мы верим в права женщин и детей участвовать в жизни общества и получать образование, мы верим в право людей жить без правительства страха. Мы пришли, потому что верим в свободу

– объявила она.

Мы не достигли всего, что намеревались достичь с нашими союзниками. Но сегодня Афганистан, безусловно, лучшая страна и лучшее общество, чем 20 лет назад. Мы, вероятно, увидим здесь некоторые неудачи после ухода союзников, но тем более мы должны работать над тем, чтобы заботы и, надеюсь, радости Афганистана и афганского народа оставались в поле зрения международной демократии и прав человека. Еще раз спасибо и всем военнослужащим Сил обороны Эстонии. Вы каждый день подвергаете свою жизнь риску, чтобы мы могли спать более спокойно в наших домах каждый день

– подытожила Кальюлайд.

Заметим, что Силы обороны Эстонии находятся в Афганистане с 2003 года. В настоящее время там остается более 40 эстонских военнослужащих. Рабочий визит президента Эстонии в Афганистан начался 21 апреля. В ходе вояжа Кальюлайд должна встретиться с афганским руководством, главами миссий НАТО и ООН, а также с неправительственными организациями.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны Эстонии
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 24 апреля 2021 16:46
    +3
    тоже афганской наркотой балуются? winked
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 24 апреля 2021 17:55
    0
    Керсти наша Кальюлайд молодец.
    Работу строит правильно!
    Брюссель ведь, в отличие от Ростова, реально резиновый.
    Местечко всегда и пожизненно с огромной зарплатой и очень хорошей пенсией.
    У Дональда Туска спроси, он врать не станет... wink
  3. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 24 апреля 2021 18:00
    +7
    По лицам видно, они не понимают о чем говорит эта странная женщина на шпильках и без каски laughing
    Они сидят в афганских горах что бы Керсти могла спокойно спать belay Это великая цель fellow Ваши жертвы не напрасны good Умеет же все объяснить lol
    Кстати, 40 эстонских военнослужащих это больше половины эстонской армии или нет? Кто тогда сдерживает орды русских аХресоров на границе? Это им спать не мешает?
    Народ Афганистана непременно освободит свою землю стонущую под сапогом эстонских оккупантов. Каратели не успевшие вовремя свалить будут висеть на замечательных деревьях изображенных на фото.
  4. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
    zzdimk 24 апреля 2021 20:06
    0
    Шпильки - круто. Без них никак в армии ЕС. Почему без шпилек обормоты в камуфляже? Сeксизм? Да их по судам теперь затаскивать надо.