How Russia will play on the deterioration of US-Turkish relations


The day before, President Joe Biden took an important step towards his strategic NATO ally, Turkey. At the level of the White House, the United States finally recognized the fact of the genocide of the Armenian people by the Ottoman Empire at the beginning of the last century. The move is strong and, to put it mildly, unfriendly. How will relations between Washington and Ankara change now, and will the Kremlin now be able to win over the disgraced "Sultan" Erdogan to its side?


The historical truth, inconvenient for Turkey, is that since 1915, almost half of the 2,5 million Armenian population has been destroyed on its territory. Deportations, concentration camps, pogroms and just massacres - all this happened. Orthodox Greeks-Pontians and Christians-Assyrians also suffered from Turkish repression. By the way, speaking of historical responsibility, it is worth mentioning that all this happened in front of the British and French, and for some reason the enlightened Europeans did not try to prevent or stop the massacre. The fact of genocide is officially recognized by three dozen countries, including Russia, as well as by almost all American states, but not at the federal level. Turkey's position is that there was no genocide, and the scale of the repression was greatly exaggerated. For Ankara, this is an extremely painful topic, since in the future it may face the question of paying compensation to the millions of descendants of victims, as well as restitution of property. So why did the most "democratic" President Joe Biden aggravate relations with his most important ally in the North Atlantic Alliance?

Apparently, Washington wanted to kill several birds with one stone.

At first, "Globalists" in the person of the Democratic Party are beginning to actively revise the "legacy of Trump." During the 4-year rule of the Republican President, the United States carried out policies isolationism, focusing on solving internal problems. For some reason, many considered it America's weakness and tried to take advantage of the opening window of opportunity. President Erdogan has been the most successful at this. Under him, Turkey actually cut off part of its northern territories from Syria and came to Libya, where the Government of National Accord Faiz Saraj made great concessions on the issue of revising the boundaries of the continental shelf in exchange for military support for Tripoli. Turkish warships "chase" Greek ships in the Eastern Mediterranean and are openly insolent to the French allies in the NATO bloc. Ankara also helped Baku to resolve the issue of Nagorno-Karabakh by military force, receiving in return a land corridor to the Caspian Sea and access to Central Asia.

With all this, the Azerbaijanis and Turks did without the advice and help of the Americans, which, apparently, was the last straw. The fact is that "Sultan" Erdogan is promoting his own integration project of Great Turan with the united army of the Turkic-speaking countries. Taken together, this could become a kind of "logistic superpower" standing on the Middle Corridor of the "New Silk Road", along which transit cargo flows will go from China to Europe. On the basis of this economic union of the Central Asian countries, led by Turkey, in the future, a kind of regional semblance of NATO may be formed. Needless to say that such independent infrastructure projects for cooperation with China, which are being promoted bypassing the United States, are completely unnecessary for Washington? Recognizing the fact of the Armenian genocide, the White House issued a warning to Turkey, which is playing for independence, and its potential partners.

Secondly, this step can be fully regarded as a "black mark" for President Erdogan personally. Too much "sultan" became independent, trying to create a new macro-regional militaryeconomic unification without the knowledge of Washington. Recall that the main political opponent of the Turkish president, preacher Gulen, who is considered the organizer and inspirer of the failed coup attempt a few years ago, is hiding in the United States. Having officially recognized the fact of the Armenian genocide during the reign of Recep Erdogan, the White House makes it clear to the Turkish elites that there is a certain cause-and-effect relationship. And this may only be the beginning.

Thirdly, with the same single shot, Washington hit Russia, or rather, its interests in the Transcaucasus. At present, relations between Yerevan and Moscow are not in the best condition after the military defeat of Armenia in Nagorno-Karabakh. The Kremlin, under a plausible pretext, avoided direct assistance to its ally in the CSTO, which led to the inevitable defeat of the unrecognized republic against the alliance of Azerbaijan and Turkey. The long-term consequences of this event have yet to be grasped, but the United States acted ahead of the curve, effectively taking the side of the losing Armenia. The disgraced Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan, who has a pronounced pro-Western position, will now be able to use the recognition of the Armenian genocide to his advantage in the ongoing political struggle for power.

Now the question must be asked whether Russia will be able to benefit from the deterioration of US-Turkish relations. For example, wait for the withdrawal of the US Air Force from Incirlik airbase, or even for Turkey to leave NATO? The Turkish Foreign Ministry commented on Joe Biden's decision as follows:

This statement by the United States, which distorts historical facts, will never be accepted by the Turkish people and will open a deep wound that will damage our mutual trust and friendship.

The answer is rather negative. Ankara is too dependent on the United States and the collective West, in general, in terms of economic, technological and military cooperation. The Turks cannot even make their own "national tank" on their own, and their vaunted "Bayraktars" are assembled from imported components. The Turkish elite is predominantly secular and trained in the West, with which it is closely associated. The severing of relations with the United States and its allies and the expulsion of the American military will have extremely serious consequences for Ankara.

In fact, what are the alternatives? Integration of Turkey with the Eurasian Economic Union or with China? This sounds good only in words, but in reality it will result in tough sectoral sanctions and restriction of Turkish companies' access to Western markets. Lyra has already sagged, and restrictive measures will lead to the fact that she will finally "break through the bottom" with all the ensuing consequences in the form of socio-economic tension in society. But these are not all the problems that will loom then on the horizon. For example, the United States can step up support for the Kurds not only at the borders, but also in Turkey itself, which will call into question its territorial integrity.

In general, it is not Senka's hat to compete with President Erdogan with Washington. "Sultan" is daring, but small.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) April 26 2021 13: 58
    0
    The disgraced Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan, who has a pronounced pro-Western stance,

    So it seems that Nichol resigned, he is going to the polls.

    but in reality it will result in tough sectoral sanctions and restriction of Turkish companies' access to Western markets. Lyra has already sagged

    And living in a raskoryachka, as Ukraine tried to do before, will not work. With a big nix, you need to choose - Western markets or the markets of the CIS and China ...
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 26 2021 14: 29
    -1
    The respected author does not like Turkey, oh he does not like ... request
  3. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) April 26 2021 14: 34
    -2
    Does the US decide to exclude the second largest army from NATO? doubtful. for Karabakh, the Americans threatened the Turks with sanctions, and where are they? Biden threw a bone to the Armenian diaspora who voted for the Democrats. The Armenians themselves do not care about Armenia, not a single one volunteered. There will be no real consequences. Erdogan was pricked, the Armenians are jumping with happiness. Biden called Putin a murderer. Ukrainians have already ejaculated from happiness, so what? Nothing...
  4. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) April 26 2021 15: 22
    -2
    Russia and Turkey in 2017 signed a contract for the supply of S-400 complexes by Moscow to Ankara. Turkey was the first NATO country to acquire these systems from the Russian Federation. Ankara's decision provoked a sharply negative reaction from Washington and the alliance as a whole. The United States does not stop trying to get Turkey to abandon Russian air defense systems. Erdogan said that Ankara does not intend to abandon the S-400, despite pressure from Washington. He also rejected threats of sanctions and suggested that the US try to impose them in reality.

    The United States retaliated by excluding Turkey from its F-35 aircraft production program. "Our position has not changed. The S-400s are incompatible with the F-35s and Turkey's participation in the (production) program has been discontinued. We continue to move forward with the process of formally excluding Turkey from the F-35 partnership, as announced in July 2019." - said a spokesman for the Pentagon.

    Earlier, Turkey committed itself to buy 100 F-35 aircraft. She has also been involved in the production of over 1000 components for them. As the Minister of Industry and Technology of the Republic Mustafa Varank told RIA Novosti earlier, Turkey continues to produce these components, despite the fact that the United States excluded it from this project.

    This is why Biden negotiated with Erdogan the day before the "genocide" was announced. That is why I uttered this word - and no matter how celebrated in Armenia, the euphoria from Biden's words will pass in a couple of days, and when it passes, an epiphany will come: the reality is that Armenia is not interesting as an independent player in international politics to literally any of the world's centers of power ...

    Armenia and Armenians were banally used - as they have done it many times: as French President Macron did it to put pressure on Turkey, as the Greek authorities do - this list can be continued for a long time. Armenia is not an independent unit - it is just a pawn country in other people's chess games. And Joe Biden is far from the first who used the Armenians for his own purposes.

    And obviously not the last one.
  5. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) April 26 2021 15: 37
    -2
    since 1915, almost half of the 2,5 million Armenian population has been destroyed on its territory. Deportations, concentration camps, pogroms and just massacres - all this happened.

    By the way, speaking of historical responsibility, it is worth mentioning that all this happened in front of the British and French, and for some reason the enlightened Europeans did not try to prevent or stop the massacre.

    Just a tip. Don't repeat myths and learn history.
    1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
      Just a cat (Bayun) April 26 2021 15: 50
      -2
      Note that earlier Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan stated that there was no genocide against Armenians in the history of Turkey, and the events of 1915 need investigation.

      Turkey urged Armenia to open the archives of 1915 and create a joint commission to investigate the events. However, Armenia has not yet responded to Turkey's proposal.
      "The term 'genocide' itself is not legitimately used in relation to the events of those years, since the term 'genocide' was first coined in 1943 by a Polish lawyer of Jewish origin Rafael Lemkin, and it received international legal status after World War II in December 1948 . Entitled
      'Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide' as a concept defining the gravest crime against humanity.

      Therefore, from a legal and logical point of view, the use of this term is considered illegal in relation to the events before 1948. "
  6. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) April 30 2021 13: 01
    0
    Quote: Bakht
    Just a tip. Don't repeat myths and learn history.

    I can do without your advice and the Azerbaijani-Turkish version of history hi
  7. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) April 30 2021 13: 04
    +2
    Quote: Petr Vladimirovich
    The respected author does not like Turkey, oh he does not like ... request

    Why is that? Beautiful beaches and sea, delicious fruits.
    But why should I love Turkish foreign policy against my country?

Как Россия сыграет на ухудшении американо-турецких отношений


Накануне президент Джо Байден сделал важный шаг в отношении своего стратегического союзника по НАТО, Турции. США на уровне Белого дома, наконец, признали факт геноцида армянского народа Османской империей в начале прошлого века. Ход сильный и, мягко говоря, недружественный. Как же изменятся теперь отношения Вашингтона и Анкары, и сможет ли Кремль теперь перетянуть опального «султана» Эрдогана на свою сторону?


Неудобная для Турции историческая правда заключается в том, что начиная с 1915 года на ее территории была уничтожена почти половина от 2,5-миллионного армянского населения. Депортации, концлагеря, погромы и просто резня – все это было. Также от турецких репрессий пострадали православные греки-понтийцы и христиане-ассирийцы. К слову, говоря про историческую ответственность, стоит упомянуть, что все это происходило на глазах у англичан и французов, и просвещенные европейцы почему-то не попытались предотвратить или остановить массовую резню. Факт геноцида официально признан тремя десятками стран, включая Россию, а также почти всеми американскими штатами, но не на федеральном уровне. Позиция Турции состоит в том, что никакого геноцида не было, а масштаб репрессий сильно преувеличен. Для Анкары это крайне болезненная тема, поскольку в перспективе перед ней может встать вопрос о выплате компенсаций миллионам потомков потерпевших, а также о реституции собственности. Так почему же самый «демократичный» президент Джо Байден пошел на обострение отношений со своим важнейшим союзником по Североатлантическому альянсу?

Судя по всему, Вашингтон захотел одним выстрелом убить сразу несколько зайцев.

Во-первых, «глобалисты» в лице Демократической партии начинают активно пересматривать «наследие Трампа». В период 4-летнего правления президента-республиканца США проводили выраженную политику изоляционизма, сосредоточившись на решении внутренних проблем. Многие почему-то сочли это слабостью Америки и попытались воспользоваться открывшимся окном возможностей. Больше всего преуспел в этом президент Эрдоган. При нем Турция фактически отторгла от Сирии часть ее северных территорий и пришла в Ливию, где Правительство национального согласия Фаиза Сараджа сделало большие уступки в вопросе пересмотра границ континентального шельфа в обмен на военную поддержку Триполи. Турецкие военные корабли «гоняют» в Восточном Средиземноморье греческие суда и откровенно дерзят французским союзникам по блоку НАТО. Также Анкара помогла Баку военной силой решить вопрос с Нагорным Карабахом, получив взамен сухопутный коридор к Каспийскому морю и выход в Среднюю Азию.

При всем этом азербайджанцы и турки обошлись без советов и помощи американцев, что, видимо, и стало последней каплей. Дело в том, что «султан» Эрдоган продвигает собственный интеграционный проект Великого Турана с объединенной армией тюркоязычных стран. В совокупности это может стать некой «логистической супердержавой», стоящей на Среднем коридоре «Нового шелкового пути», по которому транзитные грузопотоки пойдут из Китая в Европу. На основе этого экономического объединения среднеазиатских стран во главе с Турцией в перспективе может сформироваться некое региональное подобие НАТО. Стоит ли говорить, что подобные самостийные инфраструктурные проекты по сотрудничеству с Китаем, продвигаемые в обход США, Вашингтону совершенно не нужны? Признав факт геноцида армян, Белый дом сделал предупреждение заигравшейся в независимость Турции и ее потенциальным партнерам.

Во-вторых, этот шаг вполне можно расценить как «черную метку» лично президенту Эрдогану. Слишком уж «султан» стал самостоятелен, пытаясь создать новое макрорегиональное военно-экономическое объединение без ведома Вашингтона. Напомним, что в США укрывается главный политический оппонент турецкого президента проповедник Гюлен, который считается организатором и вдохновителем неудавшейся попытки государственного переворота несколько лет назад. Признав на официальном уровне факт геноцида армян в период правления Реджэпа Эрдогана, Белый дом недвусмысленно дает понять турецким элитам, что определенная причинно-следственная связь есть. И это может быть только началом.

В-третьих, все тем же единственным выстрелом Вашингтон попал и в Россию, вернее, в ее интересы в Закавказье. В настоящее время отношения между Ереваном и Москвой находятся не в самом лучшем состоянии после военного разгрома Армении в Нагорном Карабахе. Кремль под благовидным предлогом уклонился от прямой помощи своему союзнику по ОДКБ, что привело к неизбежному поражению непризнанной республики против альянса Азербайджана и Турции. Долгосрочные последствия этого события еще только предстоит осознать, но США сработали на опережение, фактически выступив на стороне проигравшей Армении. Опальный премьер-министр Никол Пашинян, занимающий выраженную прозападную позицию, теперь сможет использовать признание геноцида армян в свою пользу в идущей политической борьбе за власть.

А теперь необходимо задаться вопросом, сможет ли Россия извлечь какую-то пользу из ухудшения американо-турецких отношений. Например, дождаться вывода ВВС США из авиабазы Инджирлик, а то и вовсе выхода Турции из НАТО? Турецкий МИД прокомментировал решение Джо Байдена следующим образом:

Это заявление США, которое искажает исторические факты, никогда не будет принято турецким народом и откроет глубокую рану, которая нанесёт урон нашему взаимному доверию и дружбе.

Ответ будет, скорее, отрицательным. Анкара слишком зависима от США и коллективного Запада, в целом, в вопросе экономического, технологического и военного сотрудничества. Турки даже свой «национальный танк» самостоятельно сделать не могут, а их хваленые «Байрактары» собираются из импортных комплектующих. Турецкая элита преимущественно светского толка и прошла обучение на Западе, с которым тесно связана. Разрыв отношений с США и их союзниками и выдворение американских военных будут иметь для Анкары крайне серьезные последствия.

Собственно говоря, а каковы альтернативы? Интеграция Турции с Евразийским экономическим союзом или с Китаем? Это хорошо звучит только на словах, а на деле обернется жесткими секторальными санкциями и ограничением доступа турецким компаниям на западные рынки. Лира и так просела, а ограничительные меры приведут к тому, что она окончательно «пробьет дно» со всеми вытекающими пследствиями в виде социально-экономического напряжения в обществе. Но и это не все проблемы, что замаячат тогда на горизонте. Например, США могут активизировать поддержку курдов не только на границах, но и в самой Турции, что поставит под вопрос ее территориальную целостность.

В общем, не по Сеньке шапка тягаться президенту Эрдогану с Вашингтоном. «Султан» удал, да мал.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 26 апреля 2021 13:58
    0
    Опальный премьер-министр Никол Пашинян, занимающий выраженную прозападную позицию,

    Так вроде в отставку подал Никол, на выборы идёт.

    а на деле обернется жесткими секторальными санкциями и ограничением доступа турецким компаниям на западные рынки. Лира и так просела

    А жить в раскорячку, как пыталась сделать раньше Украина - не получится. При большом шухере нужно выбирать - западные рынки или рынки СНГ и Китая...
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 26 апреля 2021 14:29
    -1
    Не любит уважаемый автор Турцию, ой не любит... request
  3. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 26 апреля 2021 14:34
    -2
    США решили исключить из НАТО вторую по величине армию? сомнительно. за карабах американцы грозились туркам санкциями и где они? Байден кинул кость армянской диаспоре, голосовавшей за демократов. Армянам самим плевать на армению, ни один добровольцем не поехал. Реальных последствий не будет. Эрдогана укололи, армяне скачут от счастья. Путина байден назвал убийцей. у хохлов аж семяизвержение от счастья произошло и что? Ничего...
  4. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 26 апреля 2021 15:22
    -2
    Россия и Турция в 2017 году заключили контракт на поставку Москвой Анкаре комплексов С-400. Турция первой из стран НАТО приобрела у РФ эти системы. Решение Анкары вызвало резко негативную реакцию Вашингтона и альянса в целом. США не прекращают попытки добиться от Турции отказа от российских ЗРС. Эрдоган заявил, что Анкара не намерена отказываться от С-400, несмотря на давление со стороны Вашингтона. Он также отверг угрозы применения санкций и предложил США попробовать ввести их в действительности.

    США в качестве ответной меры исключили Турцию из программы производства самолетов F-35. "Наша позиция не изменилась. С-400 несовместимы с F-35, и участие Турции в программе (производства) было прекращено. Мы продолжаем продвигаться с процессом формального исключения Турции из партнерства по F-35, как и было объявлено в июле 2019 года", - сказал представитель Пентагона.

    Ранее Турция брала на себя обязательство купить 100 самолетов F-35. Она также участвовала в производстве более 1000 компонентов для них. Как ранее заявил РИА Новости министр промышленности и технологий республики Мустафа Варанк, Турция продолжает производство этих компонентов, несмотря на то, что США исключили ее из этого проекта.

    Вот почему Байден вел переговоры с Эрдоганом за день до слов о "геноциде". Вот почему произнес это слово - и как бы ни праздновали это в Армении, эйфория от слов Байдена пройдет через пару дней, а когда она пройдет, наступит прозрение: реальность такова, что Армения неинтересна в качестве самостоятельного игрока международной политики буквально никому из мировых центров силы.

    Армению и армян банально использовали - как уже делали это неоднократно: как делал это президент Франции Макрон, чтобы надавить на Турцию, как делают власти Греции - этот список можно продолжать еще долго. Армения не является самостоятельной единицей - это просто страна-пешка в чужих шахматных партиях. А Джо Байден - далеко не первый, кто воспользовался армянами в своих целях.

    И очевидно, не последний.
  5. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 26 апреля 2021 15:37
    -2
    начиная с 1915 года на ее территории была уничтожена почти половина от 2,5-миллионного армянского населения. Депортации, концлагеря, погромы и просто резня – все это было.

    К слову, говоря про историческую ответственность, стоит упомянуть, что все это происходило на глазах у англичан и французов, и просвещенные европейцы почему-то не попытались предотвратить или остановить массовую резню.

    Просто совет. Не повторяйте мифы и учите историю.
    1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
      Просто Кот (Баюн) 26 апреля 2021 15:50
      -2
      Отметим, что ранее президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган заявил, что в истории Турции не было никакого геноцида против армян, а события 1915 года нуждаются в расследовании.

      Турция призвала Армению открыть архивы 1915 года и создать совместную комиссию по расследованию событий. Однако Армения до сих пор не отреагировала на предложение Турции.
      "Сам термин 'геноцид' не правомерно используется в отношении событий тех лет, так как термин 'геноцид' был впервые введён в обиход в 1943 году польским юристом еврейского происхождения Рафаэлем Лемкиным, а международный правовой статус он получил после Второй мировой войны в декабре 1948 года. Под названием
      'Конвенция о предупреждении преступления геноцида и наказании за него' как понятие, определяющее тягчайшее преступление против человечества.

      Поэтому с юридической и логической точки зрения применение данного термина считается не правомерным по отношению к событиям до 1948 года."
  6. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 30 апреля 2021 13:01
    0
    Цитата: Bakht
    Просто совет. Не повторяйте мифы и учите историю.

    Обойдусь без ваших советов и азербайджано-турецкой версии истории hi
  7. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 30 апреля 2021 13:04
    +2
    Цитата: Петр Владимирович
    Не любит уважаемый автор Турцию, ой не любит... request

    Почему же? Прекрасные пляжи и море, вкусные фрукты.
    Но почему я должен любить турецкую внешнюю политику, направленную против моей страны?