Nikkei: China may attack Taiwan and Japan at the same time


China can attack Japan at the same time as it invades Taiwan. This idea is reflected in a new article by the authoritative Nikkei Asia website.


The text argues that the United States has recently exerted significant pressure on Japan to enact a counterpart to the US Taiwan Relations Act, which would allow weapons to be transferred to the island despite the absence of direct diplomatic relations.

When the Japanese side declared their unwillingness to pass any laws concerning Taiwan, reports began to appear in the American media that Tokyo, therefore, did not want to destroy its relations with Beijing.

Before Prime Minister Yoshihide Sugi and his team, the need arose to refute such speculation. So, at a recent meeting in the Oval Office, he himself raised the issue of China before the administration of President Joe Biden, mentioning the actions of the PRC coast guard near the Senkaku Islands. Yoshihide Suga said his country "needs to strengthen its military capabilities."

The Japanese-ruled Senkaku Island chain, also claimed by China as the "Diaoyu", is located just 170 kilometers from Taiwan.

Although the United States has repeatedly reiterated that its security treaty obligations extend to Senkaku, Japan fears that China may try to take over the islands during the invasion of Taiwan.

- noted in the text.

Earlier, other regional media reported that Japan does not plan to directly participate in a possible military conflict between China and Taiwan, even if the United States directly intervenes for the latter. However, opinions were also expressed that the absence of direct involvement in the conflict would not prevent Tokyo from providing Taipei with a wide variety of assistance in the event of an escalation - such a practice is not something new.

The 1960 Tokyo-Washington Security Treaty provides for joint defense action in only two cases. The first is aggression against Japan itself, the second is an attack on American forces on Japanese soil. The Ryukyu Islands (together with Okinawa), which at that time were under American occupation, did not fall under the treaty at that time. However, before the return of the aforementioned territories to Japanese sovereignty, which happened in 1972, both sides agreed that in case of military aggression by a third power against the archipelago, they would act together to defend it.

In March 2021, some media reported that a similar scheme could be used for Taiwan, but this was later refuted.
  • Used photographs: Ministry of Defense of the People's Republic of China
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) April 28 2021 11: 30
    +4
    I don’t think there are as stupid people in the general staff of China as the authors of this article. It is always better to hit the enemy in parts, so China will not fight Japan and Taiwan at the same time, unless they themselves attack China first by joining forces.
  2. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) April 28 2021 12: 48
    +3
    Not just nonsense, provocation.
  3. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 29 2021 18: 02
    +5
    China may attack Taiwan and Japan at the same time

    The probability is exactly the same as meeting a dinosaur on the pedestrian Arbat ...

Nikkei: Китай может напасть одновременно на Тайвань и Японию


Китай может атаковать Японию одновременно с вторжением на Тайвань. Такая мысль отражена в новой статье авторитетного сайта Nikkei Asia.


В тексте утверждается, что Соединенные Штаты с недавнего времени оказывают значительное давление на Японию, чтобы Токио принял аналог американского Закона об отношениях с Тайванем (Taiwan Relations Act), который позволил бы передавать острову вооружения, несмотря на отсутствие непосредственных дипотношений.

Когда японская сторона заявила о своем нежелании принимать какие-либо законы, касающиеся Тайваня, в американских СМИ стали появляться сообщения о том, что Токио, таким образом, не хочет разрушать свои отношения с Пекином.

Перед премьер-министром Ёсихидэ Суги и его командой возникла необходимость опровергнуть подобные домыслы. Так, на недавней встрече в Овальном кабинете он сам поднял перед администрацией президента Джо Байдена вопрос о Китае, упомянув о действиях береговой охраны КНР возле островов Сэнкаку. Ёсихидэ Суга сказал, что его стране «необходимо укрепить свои военные возможности».

Находящаяся под управлением Японии цепочка островов Сенкаку, на которую также претендует Китай, называя её «Дяоюйдао», расположена всего лишь в 170 км от Тайваня.

Хотя США неоднократно подтверждали, что их обязательства в соответствии с договором о безопасности распространяется и на Сэнкаку, Япония опасается, что Китай может попытаться захватить острова во время вторжения на Тайвань

– отмечается в тексте.

Ранее другие региональные СМИ сообщали, что Япония не планирует напрямую участвовать в возможном военном конфликте Китая и Тайваня, даже если за последний напрямую вступятся Соединённые Штаты. Однако высказывались и мнения, что отсутствие прямой вовлеченности в конфликт не помешает Токио в случае эскалации оказывать Тайбэю самую разнообразную помощь – подобная практика не является чем-то новым.

Договор о безопасности между Токио и Вашингтоном от 1960 года предусматривает совместные действия по обороне только в двух случаях. Первый – агрессия против самой Японии, второй – атака на американские силы на японской территории. Под действие договора на тот момент не попадали острова Рюкю (вместе с Окинавой), которые на тот момент находились под американской оккупацией. Однако до возвращения вышеназванных территорий под японский суверенитет, что произошло в 1972 году, обе стороны условились, что при военной агрессии третей державы против архипелага выступят совместно для его защиты.

В марте 2021 года некоторые СМИ сообщали, что подобная схема может быть использована и для Тайваня, однако позже это было опровергнуто.
  • Использованы фотографии: Министерство обороны КНР
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 28 апреля 2021 11:30
    +4
    Не думаю,что в генеральном штабе Китая такие же глупые люди,как авторы этой статьи. Врага всегда лучше бить по частям,поэтому Китай не станет одновременно воевать с Японией и Тайванем,если они сами не нападут на Китай первыми, объединив свои силы.
  2. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 28 апреля 2021 12:48
    +3
    Не просто чушь, провокация.
  3. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 29 апреля 2021 18:02
    +5
    Китай может напасть одновременно на Тайвань и Японию

    Вероятность точно такая же, как встретить динозавра на пешеходном Арбате...