"It's better not to repeat this with Russia": the expert explained the consequences of disconnecting the country from SWIFT


At the end of April 2021, a serious debate unfolded within the walls of the European Parliament about the "punishment" of Moscow for "bad" behavior. Russophobic MEPs suggested stopping the construction of Nord Stream 2, imposing sanctions on "oligarchs close to the Kremlin" and disconnecting Russia from the international SWIFT payment system. They cited the “Navalny case”, “tension on the Ukrainian border” and “explosions in the Czech Republic in 2014” as “arguments”. However, it is surprising that they limited themselves to only this.


Expert community reacted and commented on what was happening. According to Ivan Timofeev, program director of the Russian International Affairs Council and the Valdai Club, there is no real reason to worry about the rampage of Russophobes in the EP. The point is not even that the EP resolutions are advisory in nature, but the very requirements set forth in the draft of the agreed document are associated with great risks and likely sad consequences for the European Union itself.

Disconnecting Russia from SWIFT will lead to very serious movements in the financial markets. No political the initiators have not achieved their goals, and the damage will be colossal - primarily for relations between Russia and the EU, with its significant trade turnover. If such sanctions against Iran got away with it, then it is better not to repeat this trick with Russia - because of the damage and political consequences, which will be much more serious than in the case of Tehran.

- Timofeev told the newspaper "News" 28 April.

In turn, political scientist Alexander Rahr from Germany believes that no one and nothing is now able to stop the completion of the SP-2. Brussels will not agree to sever relations with Moscow. In addition, he called the possibility of such a thing because of the "Navalny case" absurd.

At the same time, Konstantin Kosachev, vice-speaker of the Federation Council of the Russian Federation, explained that such resolutions usually reflect the ambitions of their authors, and do not contain specifics on real problems. He added that Russia pays attention precisely to such “documents”.

On the same day, the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Josep Borrell made a speech at the plenary session of the EP. He explained to the parliamentarians that Brussels is limited in its means of influencing Moscow. The chief diplomat clarified that SWIFT is a private international organization that the EU cannot put pressure on. The Nord Stream 2 gas transmission project, although controversial, also belongs to private business and the EU cannot close it. He called on the member states of the association to maintain unity, without which there simply would be no common European policy. He summed up that relations with Moscow will face a long period of confrontation, for which Brussels “must be ready”.

Voting on this resolution should take place in the afternoon of April 29.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. zz810 Offline zz810
    zz810 (zz810) April 29 2021 19: 24
    +2
    ogoy, Mr. Tolstoy, have you applied to get out of this damn basket?
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) April 29 2021 19: 45
    -3
    Who remembers from work, in what year the Union began to make and receive payments through SWIFT?
    1. goncharov.62 Offline goncharov.62
      goncharov.62 (Andrei) April 29 2021 20: 20
      +2
      1989. But I would go to meet them. We will survive. And let them not cherish the hope to pay for resources with cut green paper. Gold rules their world! (And not only theirs ...)
  3. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF April 30 2021 07: 40
    -1
    SWIFT is private

    They lead to the fact that the collective does not have the right to influence the individual, especially some ...
    1. Monster_Fat Offline Monster_Fat
      Monster_Fat (What's the difference) April 30 2021 09: 24
      +1
      Disconnecting from SWIFT will not stop large trades, it will just slow them down. Another thing is that teletype confirmation of large trade transactions is one thing, and verification of electronic cards is quite another. In the case of electronic cards, verification will become impossible. Thus, when disconnecting from SWIFT, large trade contracts will not suffer, but it will become impossible to pay with electronic Visa, MasterCard- cards. That is, ordinary people from Russia will have to forget about using these cards in general, and thus, they will have to pay abroad only in cash, and within Russia switch to the Mir.
      1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
        Bulanov (Vladimir) April 30 2021 10: 06
        -1
        That is, ordinary people from Russia will have to forget about using these cards in general, and thus, they will have to pay abroad only in cash,

        Ordinary citizens do not travel abroad - there is no money. Only about 10% of the population leaves. And those who leave when the Visa and MasterCard are turned off will take out less currency and bring less infections.
        1. Monster_Fat Offline Monster_Fat
          Monster_Fat (What's the difference) April 30 2021 10: 24
          +1
          Why will they take out less currency? They will take out cash and pay in cash, as before. Paying by card is just more convenient and nothing more. Well, in some countries there are also restrictions on the amount of payment in the cache, although the Italians have already said in this regard that they will remove any restrictions on payment in cash for Russians if Russia is disconnected from SWIFT.
          1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
            Bulanov (Vladimir) April 30 2021 15: 02
            -1
            And from that less they will take out, that they themselves will go out less!
        2. Motorhead Offline Motorhead
          Motorhead (Alex) April 30 2021 15: 30
          +2
          Yeah, and they don't take a taxi to the bakery. We have already passed this, thank you not nada. Let the government hunchback with the deputies for the pieces of wood.
      2. GRF Offline GRF
        GRF April 30 2021 10: 09
        -1
        Karl Marx did not come up with the 300% capital gain himself.
        It was he who quoted Thomas Dunning as protesting against the slave trade in the United States.

        “Capital… avoids noise and abuse and has a fearful nature. This is true, but it is not the whole truth. Capital fears a lack of profit or too little profit, as nature fears emptiness. But once there is enough profit, capital becomes bold. Provide 10 percent, and capital agrees to any application, at 20 percent it becomes animated, at 50 percent it is positively ready to break its head, at 100 percent it violates all human laws, at 300 percent there is no crime that it would not risk, at least on pain of the gallows. If noise and abuse are profitable, capital will contribute to both. Proof: smuggling and slave trade. "

        These individuals, they will gnaw at any collective, even a deputy, and will not choke, so there will be no disconnection, they will rather raise the percentage for acquiring ...
  4. Jarilo Online Jarilo
    Jarilo (Sergei) April 30 2021 11: 31
    0
    Be afraid of your desires - they can come true.

«С Россией такое лучше не повторять»: эксперт объяснил последствия отключения страны от SWIFT


В конце апреля 2021 года в стенах Европарламента развернулись нешуточные дебаты по поводу «наказания» Москвы за «плохое» поведение. Евродепутаты-русофобы предложили остановить строительство «Северного потока-2», обложить санкциями «олигархов близких к Кремлю» и отключить Россию от международной системы платежей SWIFT. В качестве «аргументов» они привели «дело Навального», «напряженность на границе Украины» и «взрывы в Чехии 2014 года». Впрочем, удивительно, что они ограничились лишь этим.


Экспертное сообщество отреагировало и прокомментировало происходящее. По мнению программного директора Российского совета по международным делам и клуба «Валдай» Ивана Тимофеева, нет реальных причин волноваться из-за буйства русофобов в ЕП. Дело даже не в том, что резолюции ЕП носят рекомендательный характер, а сами требования, изложенные в проекте оговоренного документа, связаны с большими рисками и вероятными печальными последствиями для самого Евросоюза.

Отключение России от SWIFT приведет к очень серьезным движениям на финансовых рынках. Никаких политических целей инициаторы не достигнут, а ущерб будет колоссальный – прежде всего для отношений России и ЕС с его значительным товарооборотом. Если такие санкции против Ирана сошли с рук, то с Россией этот трюк лучше не повторять – из-за ущерба и политических последствий, которые будут гораздо серьезнее, чем в случае с Тегераном

– сообщил Тимофеев газете «Известия» 28 апреля.

В свою очередь, политолог Александр Рар из Германии считает, что никто и ничто сейчас не в силах остановить достройку СП-2. Брюссель не пойдет на разрыв отношений с Москвой. Кроме того, он назвал абсурдом возможность подобного из-за «дела Навального».

При этом вице-спикер Совфеда РФ Константин Косачев пояснил, что подобные резолюции обычно отражают амбиции их авторов, а не содержат конкретику по реальным проблемам. Он добавил, что Россия обращает внимание именно на такие «документы».

В этот же день на пленарном заседании ЕП выступил Верховный представитель ЕС по иностранным делам и политике безопасности Жозеп Боррель. Он объяснил парламентариям, что Брюссель ограничен в средствах воздействия на Москву. Главный дипломат уточнил, что SWIFT является частной международной организацией, на которую ЕС не может давить. Газотранспортный проект «Северный поток-2», хоть противоречив, но также принадлежит частному бизнесу и ЕС не может его закрыть. Он призвал страны-участницы объединения сохранять единство, без которого просто не будет общеевропейской политики. Он подытожил, что в отношениях с Москвой предстоит долгий период противостояния, к которому Брюссель «должен быть готов».

Голосование по указанной резолюции должно состояться во второй половине дня 29 апреля.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. zz810 Офлайн zz810
    zz810 (zz810) 29 апреля 2021 19:24
    +2
    огой, господин Толстой, вы подали заявку на выход из этой чёртовой корзинки ?
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 29 апреля 2021 19:45
    -3
    Кто помнит по работе, в каком году Союз начал через SWIFТ платежи осуществлять-получать?
    1. goncharov.62 Офлайн goncharov.62
      goncharov.62 (Андрей) 29 апреля 2021 20:20
      +2
      1989. Но я бы им пошел навстречу. Мы-переживем. А они пусть не лелеют надежду рассчитываются за ресурсы резаной зеленой бумагой. Золото правит ихним миром! (И не только ихним...)
  3. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 30 апреля 2021 07:40
    -1
    SWIFT является частной

    Подводят к тому, что коллектив - не имеет право воздействовать на индивидуума, особенно некоторого...
    1. Monster_Fat Офлайн Monster_Fat
      Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 30 апреля 2021 09:24
      +1
      Отключение от SWIFT не прекратит крупные торговые операции, просто их замедлит. Другое дело, что телетайп подтверждение крупных торговых сделок это одно, а верификация электронных карт - совсем другое. В случае с электронными картами, верификация станет невозможной. Таким образом, при отключении от SWIFT крупные торговые контракты не пострадают, а вот расплачиваться электронными картами Visa, MasterCard- станет невозможно. То есть простым людям из России придется забыть об использовании этих карт вообще и таким образом, расплачиваться за границей придется только наличной валютой, а внутри России перейти на карту "Мир.
      1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
        Буланов (Владимир) 30 апреля 2021 10:06
        -1
        То есть простым людям из России придется забыть об использовании этих карт вообще и таким образом, расплачиваться за границей придется только наличной валютой,

        Простые граждане за границу не ездят - денег нет. Выезжает всего около 10% населения. И эти выезжающие при отключении Визы и МастерКард меньше вывезут валюты и меньше завезут заразы.
        1. Monster_Fat Офлайн Monster_Fat
          Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 30 апреля 2021 10:24
          +1
          С чего это они меньше валюты вывезут? Будут вывозить наличку, и платить наличными, как и раньше было. Платить картой просто удобнее и только. Ну и есть еще в некоторых странах ограничения по суммам оплаты в кэше, хотя по этому поводу итальяшки уже выссказались, что снимут любые ограничения по оплате наличными для россиян, в случае отключения России от SWIFT.
          1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
            Буланов (Владимир) 30 апреля 2021 15:02
            -1
            Да с того меньше вывезут, что их самих меньше выедет!
        2. Motorhead Офлайн Motorhead
          Motorhead (Alex) 30 апреля 2021 15:30
          +2
          Ага и в булочную на такси не ездят. Это мы уже проходили, спасиба не нада. За деревяшки пусть правительство с депутатишками горбатится.
      2. GRF Офлайн GRF
        GRF 30 апреля 2021 10:09
        -1
        Карл Маркс не сам придумал про 300% прибыли капитала.
        Это он процитировал Томаса Даннинга, протестующего против работорговли в США.

        "Капитал … избегает шума и брани и отличается боязливой натурой. Это правда, но это ещё не вся правда. Капитал боится отсутствия прибыли или слишком маленькой прибыли, как природа боится пустоты. Но раз имеется в наличии достаточная прибыль, капитал становится смелым. Обеспечьте 10 процентов, и капитал согласен на всякое применение, при 20 процентах он становится оживлённым, при 50 процентах положительно готов сломать себе голову, при 100 процентах он попирает все человеческие законы, при 300 процентах нет такого преступления, на которое он не рискнул бы, хотя бы под страхом виселицы. Если шум и брань приносят прибыль, капитал станет способствовать тому и другому. Доказательство: контрабанда и торговля рабами."

        Эти частные лица, загрызут любой коллектив, даже депутатский, и не подавятся, поэтому никого отключения не будет, они скорее процент за эквайринг поднимут...
  4. Jarilo Офлайн Jarilo
    Jarilo (Сергей) 30 апреля 2021 11:31
    0
    Бойтесь своих желаний - они могут сбыться.