British-French dispute over an island in the English Channel: London directs a battle fleet


London will send two Royal Navy patrol ships to Jersey in the English Channel following threats from Paris to leave it without electricity. This was announced on the evening of May 5, 2021 by the office of British Prime Minister Boris Johnson after his telephone conversation with the leaders of the said territory.


The communique clarifies that Johnson talked about the prospects for the energy blockade of Jersey with the chief minister of the island, John Le Fondre, and the head of the local department of external relations, Ian Gorst.

Prime Minister and Chief Minister highlighted the urgent need to ease tensions and establish a dialogue between Jersey and France on fisheries

- emphasized in the statement.

Johnson expressed "unwavering support" for Jersey and called France's actions "completely unwarranted." He promised that Britain would send a combat fleet to "monitor the situation."


It should be noted that Jersey is part of the Channel Islands group (population 105 thousand people, the capital is St. Helier). This is the Crown Possession of the British Crown (i.e., it actually belongs to the monarch), but it is not officially part of the UK, but is its overseas and allegedly independently administered territory. Jersey protection is the responsibility of the United Kingdom. Jersey has never been a colony and has its own parliament - the States of Jersey (form of government - constitutional monarchy). In the 9th century, thousands of French Huguenots found refuge on the island, who were literally exterminated in France. On May 1945, the island celebrates the Day of the Liberation of Jersey from the German occupation in XNUMX.

Note that the disagreements between London and Paris began due to the unresolved British-French dispute in the field of fisheries, which arose after the UK left the European Union. On May 5, the French accused the British of setting a limit on catching fish in the coastal waters of Jersey, thereby violating the Brexit agreement. The head of the French Ministry of Maritime Affairs, Annick Girardin, said that the French are ready for retaliatory measures. He bluntly said that the submarine cable, through which electricity comes to Jersey from France, could be de-energized.
  • Photos used: https://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/ and Chipmunkdavis / wikimedia.org
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 6 May 2021 16: 59
    +5
    Civilized, modern, with concern for the rights of the anxious, burdened, reading the natations to everyone, but in fact - savages, almost at once.
    A beautifully wrapped chewing gum does not turn into a person ...
  2. Pishenkov Offline Pishenkov
    Pishenkov (Alexey) 6 May 2021 17: 05
    +3
    Good news!
    Turkey-Greece, USA-Denmark, Britain-France, soon the Germans and the Poles will grab SP-2 ... Long live the unity of NATO! wink
  3. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 6 May 2021 17: 17
    +1
    Why do the Gughunots need atomic electricity? The two Royal Navy patrol ships will surely carry windmills, put them all over the coast, and live happily ever after. And the queen-mother will not abandon her patrimony in trouble, she will give each inhabitant a solar panel. It's a pity they dragged Rusal to Russia, so Deripaska would definitely help his own.
  4. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 6 May 2021 18: 16
    0
    Oh! And this is the only land of the WB, which during the Second World War was captured by the German Nazis? They seemed to live, did not grieve ... Our own ...
  5. George W. Bush - medium (George Bush - average) 7 May 2021 13: 01
    +1
    Russia can also make a calculation and present, for example, to France, so that she would pay an indemnity for the war of 1812, let Poland pay for two False Dmitrys and 1612, the Czech Republic and Japan will return the gold reserves of the Russian Empire, America until 1922 occupied the far east of Russia and took out a lot minerals, including manganese. Interventions in 1918-1920 by the Entente at the head of England in Arkhangelsk and there made the first concentration camp in Russia for the local population.
    You can go on for a very long time, historians to help our politicians.
  6. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 7 May 2021 13: 50
    -3
    British-French dispute over an island in the English Channel: London directs a battle fleet

    - Yeah ... - New "Falklands" still won't work ... - so the kitchen household Anglo-French scandal ...

    The communique clarifies that Johnson talked about the prospects for the energy blockade of Jersey with the chief minister of the island, John Le Fondre, and the head of the local department of external relations, Ian Gorst.

    - Wow ... - "Ian Gorst" ... - what a "correspondence" ... - also "horst" ... - "direct link" to the island territory ... - For "the head of the local department of external relations islands "such a name ... - very suitable ... - Hahah ...
    - And with Ivan the Terrible at one time, England somehow avoided "direct communication" ... - they did not send Ivan the Terrible then a Glytsky bride ... - it can be seen even then on the island of Great Britain the local "Iena Horst" on everything "saved "... - Hahah ...
  7. alexey alexeyev_2 (Alexey Alekseev) 8 May 2021 11: 26
    0
    Here it is European unity. A little that immediately strive to grab each other's throats. Friendship is friendship, tobacco apart
  8. Wanderer039 Offline Wanderer039
    Wanderer039 8 May 2021 13: 02
    +3
    The British Navy is already inferior to the French, the French Air Force is also stronger than the British, and if we take into account the territorial sport of Great Britain with Spain for Gibraltar, then England has no chance of success in the event of a conflict.

Британо-французский спор за остров в Ла-Манше: Лондон направляет боевой флот


Лондон направит два сторожевых корабля Королевских ВМС к острову Джерси в проливе Ла-Манш после угроз со стороны Парижа оставить его без электричества. Об этом вечером 5 мая 2021 года сообщила канцелярия премьер-министра Великобритании Бориса Джонсона после его общения по телефону с руководителями указанной территории.


В коммюнике уточняется, что Джонсон переговорил о перспективах энергетической блокады Джерси с главным министром острова Джоном Ле Фондре и главой местного департамента внешних связей Иэном Горстом.

Премьер-министр и главный министр указали на срочную необходимость снизить напряженность и установить диалог между Джерси и Францией по рыболовству

– подчеркивается в заявлении.

Джонсон выразил «непоколебимую поддержку» Джерси и назвал действия Франции «абсолютно не обоснованными». Он пообещал, что Великобритания направит боевой флот для «мониторинга обстановки».


Нужно отметить, что Джерси входит в группу Нормандских островов (население 105 тыс. человек, столица Сент-Хелиер). Это Коронное владение Британской короны (т.е. фактически принадлежит монарху), однако оно официально не входит в состав Великобритании, а является её заморской и якобы самостоятельно управляемой территорией. Защита Джерси – обязанность Соединенного Королевства. Джерси никогда не был колонией и имеет собственный парламент – Штаты Джерси (форма правления – конституционная монархия). В XVII веке на острове нашли прибежище тысячи французов-гугенотов, которых буквально истребляли во Франции. 9 мая на острове отмечают День Освобождения Джерси от оккупации Германии в 1945 году.

Заметим, что разногласия между Лондоном и Парижем начались из-за неурегулированности британо-французского спора в сфере рыболовства, возникшего после выхода Великобритании из состава Евросоюза. 5 мая французы обвинили британцев, что те установили лимит на вылов рыбы в прибрежной акватории Джерси, чем нарушили договоренности о Brexit. Глава министерства по делам моря Франции Анник Жирарден заявил, что французы готовы к ответным мерам. Он прямо сказал, что подводный кабель, по которому электричество поступает на Джерси из Франции, может быть обесточен.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/ и Chipmunkdavis/wikimedia.org
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 6 мая 2021 16:59
    +5
    Цивилизованные, современные, с заботой о правах озабоченнных обремененные, натации всем читающие, а по факту - дикари, чуть что, сразу за палку.
    Красиво обернутая жувачка в человека не превращает...
  2. Пишенков Офлайн Пишенков
    Пишенков (Алексей) 6 мая 2021 17:05
    +3
    Хорошие новости!
    Турция-Греция, США-Дания, Британия-Франция, скоро ещё немцы с поляками за СП-2 схватятся... Да здравствует единство НАТО! wink
  3. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 6 мая 2021 17:17
    +1
    Зачем гугунотам атомное электричество? Два сторожевых корабля Королевских ВМС наверняка везут ветряки, поставят по всему побережью и заживут счастливо. Да и королева-матушка не бросит в беде свою вотчину, подарит каждому жителю по солнечной панели. Жалко Русал в Россию перетащили, так бы Дерипаска своим обязательно помог.
  4. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 6 мая 2021 18:16
    0
    Ой! А это та единственная землица ВБ, которая во время Второй Мировой была нацистами немецкими захвачена? Вроде жили, не тужили... Свои...
  5. Джордж Буш - средний (Джордж Буш - средний) 7 мая 2021 13:01
    +1
    Россия может также подсчёт произвести и предъявить например Франции, чтобы она заплатила контрибуцию за войну 1812 года, Польша пусть выплатит за двух Лжедмитриев и 1612 год, Чехия и Япония вернут золотой запас российской империи, Америка до 1922 года осуществляла оккупацию дальнего востока России и вывезла много полезных ископаемых, в том числе марганец. Интервенции в 1918-1920 антантой во главе Англии в Архангельск и там сделала первый в России концентрационный лагерь для местного населения.
    Продолжать можно очень долго, историки в помощь нашим политикам.
  6. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 7 мая 2021 13:50
    -3
    Британо-французский спор за остров в Ла-Манше: Лондон направляет боевой флот

    - Да уж... - Новых "Фолклендов" всё равно не получится... - так кухонный бытовой англо-французский скандальчик...

    В коммюнике уточняется, что Джонсон переговорил о перспективах энергетической блокады Джерси с главным министром острова Джоном Ле Фондре и главой местного департамента внешних связей Иэном Горстом.

    - Надо же ... - "Иэном Горстом" ... - какое "соответствие" ...-ещё и "горст" ... - "прямая привязочка" к островной территории... - Для "главы местного департамента внешних связей острова" такая фамилия... - very suitable (очень подходит)... - Хахах...
    - А с Иваном Грозным в своё время Англия как-то избегала "прямых общений"... - так и не прислали Ивану Грозному тогда аГлиЦкую невесту... - видно уже тогда на острове Great Britain местные "Иэны Горсты" на всём "экономили" ... - Хахах...
  7. алексей алексеев_2 (алексей алексеев) 8 мая 2021 11:26
    0
    Вот оно евроединство.Чуть что сразу норовят в глотку друг дружке вцепиться.Дружба дружбой табачок врозь
  8. Странник039 Офлайн Странник039
    Странник039 8 мая 2021 13:02
    +3
    Британский флот уже сегодня уступает французскому,ВВС Франции тоже сильнее британских,а если учесть еще территориальный спорт Великобритании с Испанией за Гибралтар,то Англия в случае конфликта шансов на успех не имеет.