US may give up Russian uranium


The United States is intensifying its confrontation with Russia in the trade and energy field. Thus, the Department of Energy and Congress spoke in favor of a gradual reduction and subsequent refusal to purchase Russian uranium.


At the same time, the Americans plan to increase their uranium production capacities, and so far this has not happened, to increase purchases of this radioactive metal in Kazakhstan. That the United States energy department, in cooperation with the legislature, is ready to move in this direction, was announced on Thursday, May 6, by the head of the ministry Jennifer Granholm.

According to a number of congressmen, the Centrus corporation, which earlier concluded an agreement with the Department of Energy on the construction of centrifuges for uranium enrichment for modern reactors (the enrichment level is from 5 to 20 percent), can increase productivity. Until the required level of production of fuel with a high content of low-enriched uranium is reached, it is possible to increase the export of metal from Kazakhstan and, in the future, stop supplying it from Russia.

Earlier, the US trade department and Rosatom signed an agreement on the gradual reduction of quotas for purchases of Russian uranium by the American side from 24 percent of demand this year to 15 percent - from 2028 to 2040. Canada remains in first place in terms of uranium supplies to the United States (21 percent of all exports), followed by Australia and Kazakhstan (18 percent each), Russia (15 percent) and Uzbekistan (9 percent).
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kofesan Online Kofesan
    Kofesan (Valery) 7 May 2021 14: 36
    +2
    Kazakhstan does not need uranium. So is Australia. As well as nuclear power plants processing this uranium.
    But to us - desperately ... Besides us, Australia and Canada may not sell it to us.
    So there is a silver lining. Or - it's all for the best.
  2. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 7 May 2021 15: 45
    +2
    The desire for import substitution is commendable, we will see how it will turn out to get rid of dependence on Russia.

    Canada remains in first place in terms of uranium supplies to the United States (21 percent of all exports), followed by Australia and Kazakhstan (18 percent each), Russia (15 percent) and Uzbekistan (9 percent).

    In addition to deliveries from Russia, there is also a subsidiary of Rosatom Uranium One, the company operates in the United States and Canada.
    https://uranium1.com/ru/about-us/

    Kazakhstan is the world's leading uranium producer, accounting for nearly 40 percent of global uranium production (24 tonnes of uranium in 690).

    Uranium One accounts for about 20% of these.
    In 2016, Uranium One's share in the production of six joint ventures in Kazakhstan amounted to 12,73 million pounds. U 3 O 8 (4896 tons of uranium).

    It is not clear with Australia, it produces about 6,5 thousand tons, about 12% of world production.
    Uzbekistan annually produces about 3,5 thousand tons of uranium, about 6,5% of world production).


    The demand for uranium is huge, there are 93 rectors in the country, if I understand correctly, 40 of them have been stopped. They account for 19,7% of the generated energy (as in Russia). The youngest commissioned in 1993, all available legacy from the dark era of the Cold War. Since the time of Gorbachav, not a single reactor has been built, since 2013, with varying degrees of success, attempts have been made to complete two reactors, they have not been put into operation.
    https://pris.iaea.org/pris/CountryStatistics/CountryDetails.aspx?current=US

    The United States was the world's leading uranium producer from 1953 to 1980, when US production peaked at 16 tons of uranium per year. Until the early 810s, uranium mines operated in Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. In 1980, the United States produced 2015 tonnes of uranium concentrate

    https://uranium1.com/our-operations/#kazakhstan

    Sounds like a problem approach. A dark shadow of degradation has covered the nuclear industry. Reactors are aging, they will inevitably be decommissioned, nothing is being built to replace them, with oil and gas, too, somehow it is not set. Remains the last hope to cover up the collapse, to pretend that all this is not interesting and in general yesterday. All together we are switching to green energy fellow
    1. shadow Offline shadow
      shadow 8 May 2021 15: 11
      -1
      See what you found.
      https://topcor.ru/19022-megavatt-ne-budet-zhdite-megatonny-rossija-otkazalas-postavljat-uran-v-ssha.html
      1. 123 Online 123
        123 (123) 8 May 2021 17: 15
        +1
        See what you found.

        There they are talking about the supply of "weapons-grade" uranium, it was "mined" from warheads. Here is about mining and production. hi
        1. shadow Offline shadow
          shadow 8 May 2021 17: 31
          +1
          But what is the title of this article? what

          US may give up Russian uranium

          And in that article that Russia will stop supplying the United States with uranium. Do you feel the difference?
          1. 123 Online 123
            123 (123) 8 May 2021 18: 34
            0
            I see no contradictions. They refused to supply weapons-grade uranium, Russia no longer needs to do this. They have ruined their own production. Now they want to start import substitution and restore everything. Here we are talking about ore mining and beneficiation.
  3. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 7 May 2021 21: 20
    -1
    Oh! Our first Obninsk NPP is 15 kilometers from SNT.
    It's okay ... Hedgehogs, however, have disappeared somewhere, before there were a lot of them, they were just bad ... The dog is bored ...
  4. Wanderer039 Offline Wanderer039
    Wanderer039 8 May 2021 11: 26
    +2
    For a long time, the United States received Uranium from the Russian Federation almost for free, according to the agreements of the times of Judushka Gorbachev and Alkanavt Yeltsin, unprofitable for the Russian Federation, now the Yankees will have to buy Uranium at market value, which will be significantly more expensive for them
    1. The comment was deleted.
  5. alex5450 Offline alex5450
    alex5450 (Alex L) 8 May 2021 23: 03
    -2
    They will reduce our fuel purchases while reducing the share of nuclear power. The process will drag on for 10 years.

США могут отказаться от российского урана


США усиливают противостояние с Россией в торгово-энергетической области. Так, в Министерстве энергетики и в Конгрессе высказались за постепенное сокращение и последующий отказ от приобретения российского урана.


При этом американцы планируют нарастить свои мощности по производству урана, а пока этого не произошло, увеличить закупки этого радиоактивного металла в Казахстане. О том, что энергетическое ведомство Соединенных Штатов в кооперации с законодательным органом готово двигаться в этом направлении, сообщила в четверг 6 мая руководитель министерства Дженнифер Грэнхолм.

По мнению ряда конгрессменов, корпорация Centrus, заключившая ранее договор с Министерством энергетики о строительстве центрифуг по обогащению урана для современных реакторов (уровень обогащения – от 5 до 20 процентов), может увеличить производительность. До достижения необходимого уровня выработки топлива с высоким содержанием низкообогащенного урана можно нарастить экспорт металла из Казахстана и в перспективе прекратить поставлять его из России.

Ранее торговое ведомство США и «Росатом» заключили соглашение о постепенном уменьшении квот на закупки российского урана американской стороной с 24 процентов спроса в этом году до 15 процентов – с 2028 по 2040 год. На первом месте по объемам поставок урана в Соединенные Штаты остается Канада (21 процент всего экспорта), затем следуют Австралия и Казахстан (по 18 процентов), Россия (15 процентов) и Узбекистан (9 процентов).
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Kofesan Онлайн Kofesan
    Kofesan (Валерий) 7 мая 2021 14:36
    +2
    Казахстану уран не нужен. Как и Австралии. Как и атомные станции, перерабатывающие этот уран.
    А вот нам - позарез... Кроме нас, нам его Австралия и Канада могут и не продать.
    Так что нет худа без добра. Или - всё к лучшему.
  2. 123 Онлайн 123
    123 (123) 7 мая 2021 15:45
    +2
    Стремление к импортозамещению похвально, как получится избавится от зависимости от России посмотрим.

    На первом месте по объемам поставок урана в Соединенные Штаты остается Канада (21 процент всего экспорта), затем следуют Австралия и Казахстан (по 18 процентов), Россия (15 процентов) и Узбекистан (9 процентов).

    Кроме поставок из России есть еще дочка Росатома Uranium One, компания работает в США и Канаде.
    https://uranium1.com/ru/about-us/

    Казахстан является ведущим производителем урана в мире, на его долю приходится почти 40 процентов мировой добычи урана (24 690 тонн урана в 2016 году).

    Примерно 20% из них приходится на Uranium One.
    В 2016 году доля Uranium One в добыче шести совместных предприятий в Казахстане составила 12,73 миллиона фунтов. U 3 O 8 (4896 тонн урана).

    С Австралией не понятно, производит около 6,5 тыс. тонн, примерно 12% мирового производства.
    Узбекистан ежегодно производит около 3,5 тыс. тонн урана, примерно 6,5% мирового производства).


    Потребности в уране огромные, в стране 93 ректора, если правильно понял, 40 из них остановлены. На их долю приходится 19,7% вырабатываемой энергии (как и в России). Самый молодой введен в эксплуатацию в 1993 году, все имеющиеся наследие мрачной эпохи холодной войны. Со времен Горбачава не построен ни один реактор, с 2013 года с разной степенью успешности пытаются доделать 2 реактора, в эксплуатацию они так и не введены.
    https://pris.iaea.org/pris/CountryStatistics/CountryDetails.aspx?current=US

    Соединенные Штаты были ведущим производителем урана в мире с 1953 по 1980 год, когда производство в США достигло пика в 16 810 тонн урана в год. До начала 1980-х годов действовали урановые рудники в Аризоне, Колорадо, Нью-Мексико, Южной Дакоте, Техасе, Юте, Вашингтоне и Вайоминге. В 2015 году в США было произведено 1 281 тонну уранового концентрата

    https://uranium1.com/our-operations/#kazakhstan

    Похоже на подходе проблемы. Мрачная тень деградации накрыла атомную отрасль. Реакторы стареют, будут неизбежно выводится из эксплуатации, на замену им ничего не строится, с нефтью и газом тоже как то не задается. Остается последняя надежда прикрыть развал, сделать вид что это все не интересно и вообще вчерашний день. Все дружно переходим на зеленую энергетику fellow
    1. Тени Офлайн Тени
      Тени 8 мая 2021 15:11
      -1
      Смотрите чего нашёл.
      https://topcor.ru/19022-megavatt-ne-budet-zhdite-megatonny-rossija-otkazalas-postavljat-uran-v-ssha.html
      1. 123 Онлайн 123
        123 (123) 8 мая 2021 17:15
        +1
        Смотрите чего нашёл.

        Там речь о поставках "оружейного" урана, его из боеголовок "добывали". Здесь о добыче и производстве. hi
        1. Тени Офлайн Тени
          Тени 8 мая 2021 17:31
          +1
          Вот только заголовок это статьи какой? Что

          США могут отказаться от российского урана

          А в той статье, что Россия перестанет снабжать США ураном. Чувствуешь разницу?
          1. 123 Онлайн 123
            123 (123) 8 мая 2021 18:34
            0
            Противоречий не вижу. Оружейный уран отказались поставлять, России это больше не зачем делать. У них свой производство угроблено. Теперь они хотят заняться импортозамещением и все восстановить. Тут речь идет о добыче руды и обогащении.
  3. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 7 мая 2021 21:20
    -1
    Ой! До первой нашей Обнинской АЭС от СНТ километров 15.
    Всё нормально... Ежи, правда, куда-то подевались, раньше их много было, прямо непруха... Собака скучает...
  4. Странник039 Офлайн Странник039
    Странник039 8 мая 2021 11:26
    +2
    Долгое время США получали Уран из РФ почти на халяву,по невыгодным для РФ соглашениям времен Иудушки Горбачева и Алканавта Ельцина,теперь янки придется покупать Уран по рыночной стоимости,что будет для них существенно дороже
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  5. alex5450 Офлайн alex5450
    alex5450 (Alex L) 8 мая 2021 23:03
    -2
    Будут сокращать у нас закупки топлива одновременно снижая долю ядерной энергетики. Процесс лет на 10 затянется.