When the US reopens the Erickson airbase in Alaska, Russia will have a reason to worry


The US Air Force can reactivate the Erickson airbase in Alaska in order to create "ideal positions" for intercepting Russian Aerospace Forces aircraft over the Bering Sea, writes the American magazine Forbes.


According to analyst David Ax, when the Pentagon re-commissions this military facility, Moscow will have a reason to "really worry." The airbase is located just 320 km from the Russian border on Shemya Island (Simia), which is part of the Aleutian Islands. It was closed in the early 90s of the twentieth century, right after the end of the Cold War and the collapse of the USSR, but the local military airfield is in working order and still functions.

The expert is confident that Erickson is of "strategic importance" and will help neutralize the threat from Russia. Currently, the US authorities are allocating money for the "resuscitation of the facility." Since 2012, $ 200 million has already been spent to maintain the facility "warm", the electrics have been replaced and new roofs have been installed on hangars and other buildings. Therefore, the airbase can become an "ideal place" for the basing of F-22, F-35 and promising fighters.

If the United States wants to conduct hostilities in a "cold and merciless" climate, then Erickson AFB will definitely come in handy. Crews of Chinook helicopters and C-17 transport aircraft are already training from the mainland. They worked out a quick reinstallation of air defense batteries, as well as elements for transferring another equipment and personnel, the expert summed up.
  • Photos used: Alan Wilson / flickr.com
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. We'll choke them with Zircons to breathe once! And then we will reunite Alaska with Russia!
    1. UVB Offline UVB
      UVB (Victor) 9 May 2021 11: 34
      +3
      Why spend Zircons? The Iskander is quite enough. 320 km is not a distance for them!
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 9 May 2021 12: 26
    +2
    The place is really not good, to Vilyuchinsk in a straight line 1 km.
    координаты: 52°42'52"N 174°6'52"E
    The hegemordor has already hesitated with his peacefulness, it is time to come to an agreement with Cuba.
  3. aries2200 Offline aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) 9 May 2021 15: 59
    +1
    it will be a good incentive ..., a reason for the development of the Arctic of the RF Ministry of Defense ... the area will be strengthened, like the Kaliningrad region, the national economy will grow ...
  4. PokerFace Offline PokerFace
    PokerFace (Kirill) 10 May 2021 02: 24
    0
    We'll have to deliver nuclear weapons to Cuba. And I don’t want to, but what to do?
  5. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 10 May 2021 03: 20
    0
    It seems like a topic, but not the fact that they will miss
    "Lube" Don't play the fool America ...

Когда США вновь введут в строй авиабазу «Эриксон» на Аляске, у России будет повод поволноваться


ВВС США могут расконсервировать авиабазу «Эриксон» на Аляске, чтобы создать «идеальные позиции» для перехвата авиации ВКС РФ над акваторией Берингова моря, пишет американский журнал Forbes.


По мнению аналитика Дэвида Экса, когда Пентагон вновь введет в строй указанный военный объект, у Москвы будет повод «по-настоящему поволноваться». Авиабаза находится всего в 320 км от границы РФ на острове Шемья (Симия), входящего в группу Алеутских островов. Её закрыли в начале 90-х годов ХХ века, сразу после окончания «холодной войны» и развала СССР, но местный военный аэродром находится в рабочем состоянии и функционирует до сих пор.

Эксперт уверен, что «Эриксон» имеет «стратегическое значение» и позволит нейтрализовать угрозу со стороны России. В настоящее время власти США выделяют деньги на «реанимацию объекта». С 2012 года уже израсходовано $200 млн на поддержание объекта «в тепле», заменена электрика и установлены новые крыши на ангарах и других зданиях. Поэтому авиабаза может стать «идеальным местом» для базирования F-22, F-35 и перспективных истребителей.

Если США захотят вести боевые действия в «холодном и беспощадном» климате, то авиабаза «Эриксон» обязательно пригодится. Экипажи вертолетов Chinook и транспортных самолетов C-17 уже проводят тренировки, летая туда с материка. Они отработали быструю переустановку батарей ПВО, а также элементы переброски другой техники и личного состава, подытожил эксперт.
  • Использованы фотографии: Alan Wilson/flickr.com
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Мы их Цирконами придушим однова дыхнуть! А потом Аляску воссоединим с Россией!
    1. УВБ Офлайн УВБ
      УВБ (Виктор) 9 мая 2021 11:34
      +3
      Зачем Цирконы тратить? Вполне Искандеров хватит. 320 км для них не расстояние!
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 9 мая 2021 12:26
    +2
    Место и правда не хорошее, до Вилючинска по прямой 1 000 км.
    координаты: 52°42'52"N 174°6'52"E
    Заколебал уже гегемордор со своим миролюбием, пора с Кубой договариваться.
  3. aries2200 Офлайн aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) 9 мая 2021 15:59
    +1
    это будет хороший стимул..,повод для освоения Арктики МО РФ ....будет укреп район, как Калининградская область ,народное хозяйство возрастёт ....
  4. PokerFace Офлайн PokerFace
    PokerFace (Кирилл) 10 мая 2021 02:24
    0
    Придется-таки поставить на Кубу ядерное оружие. И не хочется, а что делать?
  5. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 10 мая 2021 03:20
    0
    Вроде в тему, но не факт, что пропустят
    "Любэ" Не валяй дурака Америка...