Washington declared state of emergency due to "Russian cyberattack" on oil pipeline


On May 6, the computer systems of the operator of the Colonial Pipeline, which supplies fuel to the country's east coast, were hacked in the United States. According to Bloomberg, the failure of the pipeline could lead to massive disruptions in the supply of fuel. According to a number of media reports, this cyber attack is behind the DarkSide hacker organization, whose roots go back to Russia.


In the course of the hack, network criminals took possession of the company's confidential data and blocked its computer machinery, demanding a ransom - its amount has not yet been disclosed.

On May 7, the operation of the Colonial Pipeline was suspended, and only after a while the operation of the oil pipeline was resumed. The company released a statement in which it indicated the complete restoration of work on the transportation of fuel after eliminating the consequences of the hacker attack and achieving the level of necessary security.

In the meantime, the US transport department has declared a state of emergency in Texas, New York, as well as in Florida and Pennsylvania. Such a measure will help to organize the delivery of the necessary volumes of fuels and lubricants in tank trucks to the regions of the states most affected by the actions of hackers.

DarkSide is known as a group of cyber intruders who donate a portion of their criminal proceeds to charity. According to experts, the current hacker attack on critical infrastructure in the United States has become the most destructive in a series of such incidents to date.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 10 May 2021 18: 06
    +1
    Why am I not a hacker, why am I not breaking ... (c) almost
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 10 May 2021 18: 15
    +5
    Introducing a state of emergency in a country in which a state of emergency has already been introduced is a strong move.
    The main thing is that the Russians are to blame for everything, migrants are driven to the states in herds, and now they have taken up oil pipelines. Interestingly, green energy is not encroached upon. Doesn't anyone need them, or don't they want to upset Biden?
    Apparently the kingdom is rotten, the beginning is falling. That means they will again scare, impose sanctions. It remains to knock on the podium with a slipper.
    In the country, inflation begins, you have to tell the people something.
    1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 10 May 2021 19: 39
      +1
      Inspired, about three years ago, an RC pilot, a car mechanic, "dumped" from a nearby meadow / branch to the USA.
      Now he instructs his fellow hobbyists:
      you have complete corruption,
      you have a general drunkenness
      yes, the Chinese have already occupied half of the country ...
  3. beeper Offline beeper
    beeper 10 May 2021 18: 50
    +2
    Even when I learned that hackers allegedly encroached on the amersky oil pipeline, I was very surprised that there was no postscript about "Russian hackers" ... I thought then that Washington at that time did not decide who they wanted to blame for "cyberattacks" ", Russia or China. wassat
    And now "the decision of the Washington regional committee took place" and "communicated to the newsmakers" ..?! winked
    What, nevertheless, a "cool notion" of the State Department's dogs ... hackers, with these "hacker virtual attacks", because it is almost impossible to justify oneself from such an indiscriminately accusatory "highlighted like", but only to "pray and repent" in front of the "mega-inappropriate whites sahibami "from the Castle on the Hill ?!
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 10 May 2021 20: 09
      +4
      What's more, in North Carolina gasoline is extracted directly from the ground, pure gasoline is pumped 944 gallons (400 tons.) And about 3 tons. contaminated water. The new field is called a leaky pipeline. It will soon become clear that Petrov and Bashirov laid it for 574 years.

      https://deq.nc.gov/news/press-releases/2021/04/16/colonial-pipeline-increases-estimate-gasoline-release-near
  4. Wolter Offline Wolter
    Wolter (Wolter) 10 May 2021 19: 48
    -6
    Well done! Now the Americans will be ready. And their liberals will subside and use new weapons.
  5. George W. Bush - medium (George Bush - average) 11 May 2021 10: 58
    0
    Petrov and Boshirov were definitely not here - their specialization is weapons depots. And visits to the cathedrals.
  6. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 11 May 2021 11: 42
    0
    I reviewed several pieces of DarkSide organizations that nafigato hang out in Russia, and their roots, for some reason, not surprisingly, lead from it ...
    "I looked around to see if she looked back ...". I wanted to send a letter to my comrades for interfering with the work of the colonial pipes, but then you can see the state "guards" themselves ...

Вашингтон объявил ЧП из-за «российской кибератаки» на нефтепровод


6 мая в США произошел взлом компьютерных систем оператора нефтепровода Colonial Pipeline, обеспечивающего топливом восточное побережье страны. По информации Bloomberg, отказ в работе нефтепровода может привести к массовым перебоям с поставками топлива. По данным ряда СМИ, за этой кибератакой стоит хакерская организация DarkSide, корни которой ведут в Россию.


В ходе взлома сетевые преступники завладели конфиденциальными данными компании и заблокировали ее компьютерную технику, потребовав выкуп – сумма его пока не разглашается.

7 мая работа Colonial Pipeline была приостановлена, и лишь через некоторое время функционирование нефтепровода возобновилось. Компания обнародовала заявление, в котором указала на полное восстановление работы по транспортировке топлива после устранения последствий хакерской атаки и достижения уровня необходимой безопасности.

Пока же транспортное ведомство США объявило ЧП в Техасе, в Нью-Йорке, а также во Флориде и в Пенсильвании. Такая мера поможет организовать подвоз необходимых объемов ГСМ в автоцистернах в наиболее пострадавшие от действий хакеров регионы штатов.

DarkSide получила известность в качестве группы кибервзломщиков, которые жертвуют определенную часть полученных преступным путем средств на благотворительность. По мнению специалистов, нынешняя хакерская атака на критическую важную инфраструктуру Соединенных Штатов стала самой разрушительной в ряду подобных инцидентов на сегодняшний день.
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 10 мая 2021 18:06
    +1
    Чому я не хакер, чому не ломаю...(с) почти
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 10 мая 2021 18:15
    +5
    Ввести ЧП в стране, в которой уже введено ЧП это сильный ход.
    Главное во всем русские виноваты, мигрантов в штаты табунами гонят а теперь за нефтепроводы взялись. Что интересно на зеленую энергетику не покушаются. Они никому не нужна или Байдена не хотят расстраивать?
    Видимо прогнило королевство, сыпаться начало. Значит опять будут пугать, санкции вводить. Осталось тапком по трибуне постучать.
    В стране инфляция начинается, надо же что то народу рассказывать.
    1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 10 мая 2021 19:39
      +1
      Навеяло, года три назад RC пилот, автослесарь, с соседней поляны/ветки "свалил" в США.
      Теперь своих же коллег по хобби наставляет:
      у вас сплошная коррупция,
      у вас поголовное пьянство
      да у вас полстраны уже китайцы оккупировали...
  3. пищак Офлайн пищак
    пищак 10 мая 2021 18:50
    +2
    Ещё когда узнал, что на амерский нефтепровод якобы "покусились хакеры"-очень удивился, что не было приписки о "российских хакерах"...подумалось тогда, что в Вашингтоне на тот момент не решили, кого же им больше хочется обвинить в "кибератаках", Россию или Китай. wassat
    И вот "решение вашингтонского обкома состоялось" и "доведено до ньюсмейкеров"..?! winked
    Какая, всё же, "классная придумка" госдеповских псак...писак-с этими "хакерскими виртуальными атаками", ведь оправдаться от такого огульно-обвинительного "хайли лайкли" практически невозможно, а только-"молиться и каяться" перед "меганеполживыми белыми сахибами" из Града на Холме?!
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 10 мая 2021 20:09
      +4
      Это еще что, в Северное Королине бензин прямо из земли добывают, чистого бензина 944 400 галлонов (3 574 тонн.) накачали и примерно 4 000 тонн. загрязненной воды. Новое месторождение называется дырявый трубопровод. Скоро выяснится что прокладывали его 40 лет Петров и Баширов.

      https://deq.nc.gov/news/press-releases/2021/04/16/colonial-pipeline-increases-estimate-gasoline-release-near
  4. Wolter Офлайн Wolter
    Wolter (Wolter) 10 мая 2021 19:48
    -6
    Прально сделали! Теперь америкосы будут готовы. И их либерасты поумолкнут и пойдут на новые вооружения.
  5. Джордж Буш - средний (Джордж Буш - средний) 11 мая 2021 10:58
    0
    Петров и Боширов здесь точно не были - их специализация оружейные склады. И посещения катедрал.
  6. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 11 мая 2021 11:42
    0
    Пересмотрел несколько штук организаций DarkSide, что нафигато тусуются в России, и их корни, почему то не удивительно, ведут из неё...
    "Я оглянулся посмотреть не оглянулась ли она...". Хотел было грамоту направить товарищам за помехи в работе колониальных труб, да тут видать штатовские "охранники" сами всё сами...