Flight to Hawaii: SpaceX plans to test its "Mars ship" in flight


After a successful "jump" of the Starship spacecraft prototype to an altitude of 10 km, SpaceX intends to conduct an orbital flight of the device at the next stage of testing. The company's plans became known from documents filed with the Federal Communications Commission on Thursday, May 13.


It is worth noting that in the upcoming mission, for the first time, the joint work of the Starship and the Super Heavy launch vehicle will be tested. In the future, it is this transport system that Elon Musk plans to use to "conquer" deep space. In particular, for flights to Mars.

The application filed by SpaceX indicates that the promising spacecraft will make a 90-minute orbital flight and softly land on the water about 100 km off the northwest coast of the island of Kauai (Hawaii). In turn, the super-heavy carrier Super Heavy will separate from the ship 3 minutes after launch and "splash down" in the Gulf of Mexico 20 miles offshore. The launch will traditionally take place at the SpaceX launch site in Boca Chica.

The company claims that the upcoming tests will play an important role in the further development of the manned spacecraft. They will demonstrate the maneuvers of a promising vehicle that cannot be calculated using computer simulations. So far, nothing has been said about the date of the test orbital flight, but according to information from the letter accompanying the application, it will take place no later than March 1, 2022.
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Рейс до Гавайев: SpaceX планирует испытать свой «марсианский корабль» в полете


После удачного «прыжка» прототипа космического корабля Starship на высоту 10 км, в SpaceX намерены уже на следующем этапе испытаний провести орбитальный полет аппарата. О планах компании стало известно из документов, поданных в Федеральную комиссию по связи в четверг 13 мая.


Стоит отметить, что в предстоящей миссии впервые будет проверена совместная работа корабля Starship и ракеты-носителя Super Heavy. В будущем именно эту транспортную систему планирует использовать Илон Маск для «покорения» дальнего космоса. В частности, для полетов на Марс.

В поданной компанией SpaceX заявке указано, что перспективный космический корабль совершит 90-минутный орбитальный полет и мягко сядет на воду примерно в 100 км от северо-западного побережья острова Кауаи (Гавайи). В свою очередь, сверхтяжелый носитель Super Heavy отделится от корабля через 3 минуты после запуска и «приводнится» в Мексиканском заливе в 20 милях от берега. Запуск уже традиционно состоится на стартовой площадке SpaceX в Бока-Чика.

В компании утверждают, что предстоящие испытания сыграют важную роль в дальнейшей разработке пилотируемого корабля. Они продемонстрируют маневры перспективного аппарата, которые невозможно просчитать посредством компьютерного моделирования. О дате тестового орбитального полета пока ничего не говорится, но согласно информации из письма, сопровождавшего заявку, он состоится не позднее 1 марта 2022 года.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.