"We will not move an inch": the President of the Philippines rejected the call of China to withdraw the ships from the disputed islands


Tensions in the South China Sea are on the rise. The Spratly archipelago (about 50 islands) is a large fishing area, and six states (China, Taiwan, the Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia and Brunei) are trying to sort out relations for it, the oldest English-language newspaper in Hong Kong, South China Morning Post, writes.


On May 4, 2021, Beijing called on Manila to "respect China's sovereignty" and to withdraw the fishing vessels and ships of the Philippine Navy from the disputed islands "without complicating the situation." In response, Filipino President Rodrigo Duterte rejected the Chinese claims.

First of all, I do not want to fight China, we are deeply grateful to Beijing. But we have our own position. And I want to declare here and now that our ships, which are on Pag-As (Titus) and elsewhere, will not move back an inch. You can kill me, but we will stay there and our friendship will end there.

- said Duterte in a televised address on May 14, 2021.

The Philippines has increased its presence in the disputed area, considering the surrounding waters to be its exclusive economic zone. In the PWI, Manila also included Titu Island, located near the Chinese military base. In the area, Filipinos counted hundreds of Chinese fishing boats manned by "militias".

Manila this week announced plans to build a logistics center on Titu, the second largest island in the archipelago. The node will allow the Philippine Navy to replenish supplies and better control the surrounding waters. The Philippine military has also announced plans to install surveillance cameras in some locations.




After the televised address to Duterte, there was criticism from the Philippine opposition. The head of state has repeatedly stated his desire to be at a distance from the United States and develop friendship with China. Now they remembered it, and at the same time they accused him of "defeatism." Critics said the president's statements should be viewed with a healthy dose of skepticism. They recalled that Duterte himself called his election promise a joke - to ride a jet ski to the disputed area with the Philippine flag, the Hong Kong media summed up.
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

«Не отойдём ни на дюйм»: президент Филиппин отклонил призыв Китая отвести корабли от спорных островов


Напряженность в Южно-Китайском море растет. Архипелаг Спратли (около 50 островов) является крупным рыбопромысловым районом, и за него выясняют отношения шесть государств (Китай, Тайвань, Филиппины, Вьетнам, Малайзия и Бруней), пишет старейшая англоязычная газета Гонконга South China Morning Post.


4 мая 2021 года Пекин призвал Манилу «уважать суверенитет Китая» и отвести рыболовецкие суда и корабли ВМС Филиппин от спорных островов, «не осложняя ситуацию». В ответ филиппинский президент Родриго Дутерте отклонил китайские притязания.

Прежде всего, я не хочу воевать с Китаем, мы глубоко признательны Пекину. Но у нас есть своя позиция. И я хочу заявить здесь и сейчас, что наши корабли, которые находятся на Паг-Асе (Титу) и в других местах, не отойдут ни на дюйм назад. Вы можете убить меня, но мы останемся там, и на этом наша дружба закончится

– сказал Дутерте в телеобращении 14 мая 2021 года.

Филиппины увеличили свое присутствие в спорном районе, считая прилегающую акваторию своей исключительной экономической зоной. В ИЭС Манила также включила остров Титу, находящийся возле китайской военной базы. В этом районе филиппинцы насчитали сотни китайских рыболовецких судов, укомплектованных «ополченцами».

На этой неделе Манила объявила о планах строительства логистического центра на Титу, втором по величине острове на архипелаге. Узел позволит ВМС Филиппин пополнять припасы и лучше контролировать прилегающие акватории. Филиппинские военные объявили также о планах установки камер наблюдения в некоторых местах.




После телеобращения в адрес Дутерте раздалась критика со стороны филиппинской оппозиции. Глава государства не раз заявлял о своем желанием быть на расстоянии от США и развивать дружбу с Китаем. Теперь ему это припомнили, а заодно обвинили в «пораженчестве». Критики заявили, что к заявлениям президента следует отнестись со здоровой долей скептицизма. Они напомнили, что сам Дутерте назвал шуткой свое предвыборное обещание – прокатиться на гидроцикле в спорную зону с филиппинским флагом, подытожило гонконгское СМИ.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.