US press calls Russia "safe haven for cyber pirates"


Probably, Russian President Vladimir Putin revived the system of issuing "marque certificates" that existed in the XNUMXth century, which England used against the Spanish Empire, writes the American agency Bloomberg.


Queen Elizabeth, who ruled Protestant England from 1558 to 1603, had a huge problem - Catholic Spain. The gigantic colonial empire possessed incredible resources, and England was a poor country with no decent navy to compete with. But Elizabeth decided to legalize pirates. She handed out the mentioned certificates (a kind of license), which allowed to rob any state with which England was at war.

In the modern world, the "cybernetic seas" of the XNUMXst century are practically unlimited space, which is becoming more and more dangerous. It looks like the Kremlin has borrowed the above strategy and started issuing similar licenses to cybercriminals. There is no direct evidence that the Russian leadership is receiving any financial benefit from this, but numerous sources of US government agencies indicate that the Russian authorities provide protection to hacker groups that create numerous problems for Western countries.

Hackers are prohibited from harming Russia and its allies, all others are potential targets. The recent attack by cybercriminals against the US East Coast pipeline system, carried out by the Russian-based DarkSide group, fits well into this pattern.

Former head of the US Cyber ​​Command, Michael Rogers, said that the Russian special services have established relationships with various hacker groups that extort money from private companies and data from government agencies. He stressed that the largest concentration of hackers is observed in the Russian Federation.

He recalled that there is an excellent NATO Cyber ​​Center in Estonia, which should be used more actively for counteraction. The United States should be more active in sharing data with allies and should not hesitate to support them, condemning Moscow's actions. Sanctions and the expulsion of Russian diplomats may become additional levers of pressure on Russia.

In fact, Russia has become a "safe haven for cyber pirates." NSA and Cyber ​​Command need to act more aggressively against hackers. If it is established that the hackers have damaged elements of the critical infrastructure of the United States and another country is behind them, then it will be necessary to give an appropriate response at the state level, the American media summed up.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 15 May 2021 21: 03
    +2
    numerous sources of US government agencies

    these are usually social networks of Ukrainians and Balts. they certainly need to be believed laughing
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 15 May 2021 21: 27
    0
    The US Press said ...
    Do you have any disagreements? Then we fly to you ...
  3. Volga073 Offline Volga073
    Volga073 (MIKLE) 16 May 2021 07: 01
    +1
    America is a loud haven for cyber terrorists.

Пресса США назвала Россию «тихой гаванью для киберпиратов»


Вероятно, президент России Владимир Путин возродил существовавшую в XVI веке систему выдачи «каперских свидетельств», которую Англия использовала против Испанской империи, пишет американское агентство Bloomberg.


У королевы Елизаветы, которая правила протестантской Англией с 1558 года по 1603 год, была огромная проблема – католическая Испания. Гигантская колониальная империя обладала невероятными ресурсами, а Англия была бедной страной, не имевшей приличного флота для соперничества. Но Елизавета решила легализовать пиратов. Она раздавала упомянутые свидетельства (своеобразные лицензии), которые разрешали грабить любое государство, с которым воевала Англия.

В современном мире «кибернетические моря» XXI века являются практически не ограниченным пространством, которое становится все более опасным. Похоже, что Кремль позаимствовал вышеописанную стратегию и начал выдавать подобные лицензии киберпреступникам. Прямых доказательств нет, что руководство России получает от этого какую-то финансовую выгоду, но многочисленные источники госорганов США указывают на то, что российские власти предоставляют защиту группам хакеров, которые создают многочисленные проблемы для стран Запада.

Хакерам запрещено вредить России и её союзникам, все остальные являются потенциальными целями. Недавняя атака киберпреступников, направленная на трубопроводную систему Восточного побережья США, осуществленная расположенной в РФ группировкой «Темная сторона» (DarkSide), хорошо вписывается в указанную схему.

Экс-глава Кибернетического командования США Майкл Роджерс сообщил, что российские спецслужбы установили отношения разными хакерскими группами, которые вымогают деньги у частных компаний и данные правительственных учреждений. Он подчеркнул, что самая крупная концентрация хакеров наблюдается именно в РФ.

Он напомнил, что в Эстонии находится прекрасный Киберцентр НАТО, который нужно активней использовать для противодействия. США должны интенсивней делиться данными с союзниками и не стесняться выступать в их поддержку, осуждая действия Москвы. Санкции и высылка российских дипломатов могут стать дополнительными рычагами давления на Россию.

Фактически, Россия стала «тихой гаванью для киберпиратов». АНБ и Киберкомандованию нужно действовать более напористо против хакеров. Если будет установлено, что хакеры нанесли вред элементам критически важной инфраструктуры США и за ними стоит другая страна, то тогда нужно будет дать надлежащий ответ на государственном уровне, подытожило американское СМИ.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 15 мая 2021 21:03
    +2
    многочисленные источники госорганов США

    это обычно социальные сети украинцев и прибалтов. им конечно нужно верить laughing
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 15 мая 2021 21:27
    0
    "Пресса США" сказала...
    Несогласные есть? Тогда мы летим к вам...
  3. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
    Volga073 (MIKLE) 16 мая 2021 07:01
    +1
    Америка - громкая гавань кибертеррористов.