NASA will have the world's first refueling satellite


For the first time, American researchers came close to solving the problem of refueling satellites in orbit without human intervention. So, NASA approved the project of the first such vehicle-tanker OSAM-1. Soon, Maxar will begin work on its assembly, while the launch of the space robot is scheduled for 2022.


OSAM-1 will maintain and extend the life of the satellites in orbit. The first target of the tanker will be a flight to the Landsat 7 satellite, launched into space back in 1999 and running out of almost all the fuel. Landsat 7 hovers over the Earth at an altitude of 700 km, in a geocentric orbit. OSAM-1 will have to come close to the satellite and, docking with it, refuel the device.

Since Landsat 7 does not provide additional refueling while in orbit, the specialists decided to carry out this work in several stages: removing the thermal insulation materials from the refueling apparatus, connecting the refueling device, pumping fuel and returning the thermal insulation coating to its original place.

Another point of the OSAM-1 mission will be the installation of an antenna for transmitting signals in the Ka-band - such signals are widely used in satellite radio communications and radar. The device will also have to install a light beam with a height of 10 meters. The success of the operation will demonstrate the possibility of carrying out installation and other work in orbit without direct human participation, which opens up broad prospects for the further development of space equipment.
  • Photos Used: NASA
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) 17 May 2021 19: 16
    0
    "refueling satellite" So it seems that for SpaceX NACA something was allocated there to try to refuel the ship in space. Work is still underway on a nuclear-powered tug. Now in the world there is an explosive growth in space technology research.
  2. Alexander Ivanov (Alexander Ivanov) 17 May 2021 19: 46
    +1
    Where does the first in the world come from? "Progress" has been carrying fuel into orbit for 45 years.
    1. Kristallovich Offline Kristallovich
      Kristallovich (Ruslan) 18 May 2021 09: 48
      0
      How long has Progress become a satellite?
      1. Alexander Ivanov (Alexander Ivanov) 9 June 2021 09: 02
        0
        Whoever got into Earth's orbit is a satellite. Did not know?
    2. aries2200 Offline aries2200
      aries2200 (aries) 18 May 2021 13: 46
      0
      it is a tanker, not an object in orbit for many years
  3. aries2200 Offline aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) 18 May 2021 13: 46
    0
    in 1968, a satellite of the Cosmos series fell into Canada in detail that did not burn out in the atmosphere, it became clear to the gentlemen from NASA that these were the remains of an atomic boiler ... the satellite autonomously recharged space "products" with electricity, autonomously charged ... so the experience is available in ROSKOSMOS a long time ago .............................

У NASA появится первый в мире спутник-заправщик


Американские исследователи впервые подошли вплотную к решению проблемы дозаправки спутников на орбите без участия человека. Так, в NASA утвержден проект первого такого аппарата-заправщика OSAM-1. Вскоре компания Maxar начнет работы по его сборке, старт же космического робота запланирован на 2022 год.


OSAM-1 будет обслуживать и продлевать срок функционирования находящихся на орбите спутников. Первой целью заправщика станет полет к спутнику Landsat 7, запущенному в космос еще в 1999 году и выработавшему почти все топливо. Landsat 7 висит над Землей на высоте 700 км, находясь на геоцентрической орбите. OSAM-1 должен будет подойти вплотную к спутнику и, состыковавшись с ним, дозаправить аппарат.

Поскольку на Landsat 7 не предусмотрена дополнительная заправка при нахождении на орбите, специалисты решили осуществить эту работу в несколько этапов: снятие теплоизоляционных материалов с аппарата-заправщика, подсоединение заправочного устройства, перекачка топлива и возврат на прежнее место теплоизоляционного покрытия.

Еще одним пунктом миссии OSAM-1 станет установка антенны для передачи сигналов в Ка-диапазоне – такие сигналы широко применяются в спутниковой радиосвязи и радиолокации. Аппарат также должен будет установить легкую балку высотой 10 метров. Успех операции продемонстрирует возможность осуществления монтажных и иных работ на орбите без прямого участия человека, что открывает широкие перспективы для дальнейшего развития космической техники.
  • Использованы фотографии: NASA
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 17 мая 2021 19:16
    0
    "спутник-заправщик" Так вроде и для SpaceX NACA что то там выделило на попробовать заправить корабль в космосе. Еще идут работы по буксиру на ядерной тяге. Сейчас в Мире наблюдается взрывной рост в исследованиях космических технологий.
  2. Александр Иванов (Александр Иванов) 17 мая 2021 19:46
    +1
    Откуда первый в мире? "Прогресс" лет 45 возит на орбиту топливо.
    1. Кристаллович (Руслан) 18 мая 2021 09:48
      0
      Давно "Прогресс" спутником стал?
      1. Александр Иванов (Александр Иванов) 9 июня 2021 09:02
        0
        Кто на орбиту Земли попал, тот и спутник. Не знал?
    2. aries2200 Офлайн aries2200
      aries2200 (aries) 18 мая 2021 13:46
      0
      это танкер, а не объект на орбите многолетнего нахождения
  3. aries2200 Офлайн aries2200
    aries2200 (aries) 18 мая 2021 13:46
    0
    в 1968 году в канаду упал спутник серии Космос по детали, что не сгорела в атмосфере ,стало ясно господам из наса ,что это остатки атомного котла ...спутник автономно подзаряжал космические "изделия" электроэнергией,автономно заряжал...так что опыт такой имеется в РОСКОСМОСЕ давным давно.............................