US waiver of sanctions against Nord Stream 2 will not affect Russia


On Monday, Berlin gave the go-ahead to continue work on Nord Stream 2 off the coast of Germany. Thus, nothing will prevent the completion of the gas pipeline construction. The administration of Joseph Biden decided to abandon the restrictions on the SP-2, however, in Washington, there is now a different opinion about the addressees of the sanctions.


According to Axios, the US State Department plans to provide Congress with a report on the measures taken regarding the new Russian pipeline on the bottom of the Baltic Sea. Sources of the publication report that the United States is maintaining sanctions against several Russian ships participating in the work on the SP-2. Thus, the refusal of the US from sanctions against the gas pipeline will not affect the Russian Federation.

The operator of the gas project, Nord Stream 2 AG, and its CEO Matthias Warnig, a friend of Russian President Vladimir Putin and his former intelligence colleague, are also subject to Washington's actions. However, the State Department, guided by the national interests of the United States, decided to abandon these sanctions.

The Americans considered that to stop the construction of Nord Stream 2, which was 95 percent completed, it would be more effective to impose restrictions on the end consumers of Russian gas in Germany. But the State Department will refuse such measures as well, not wanting to deteriorate relations with the FRG.

At the same time, the US noted that at any time they can cancel the refusal to impose sanctions, since the country's authorities are still not interested in launching Nord Stream-2.
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Alexndr p Offline Alexndr p
    Alexndr p (Alexander) 19 May 2021 10: 21
    -1
    Washington is everything. We must choose a negra - then heal. And Biden from the evil one, where BLM looks
  2. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 19 May 2021 12: 48
    0
    Why did they lag behind the Germans?
  3. rotkiv04 Offline rotkiv04
    rotkiv04 (Victor) 19 May 2021 18: 51
    0
    placate Putin before the meeting, it remains to be hoped that he will not bite this carrot

Отказ США от санкций против «Северного потока-2» не коснется России


В понедельник Берлин дал добро на продолжение работ по «Северному потоку-2» у побережья Германии. Таким образом, окончанию строительства газопровода уже ничто не помешает. Администрация Джозефа Байдена решила отказаться от ограничений по СП-2, однако в Вашингтоне теперь иное мнение по поводу адресатов санкций.


По информации издания Axios, Госдепартамент США планирует предоставить Конгрессу отчет о принятых мерах в отношении нового российского трубопровода по дну Балтийского моря. Источники издания сообщают о том, что Соединенные Штаты оставляют в силе санкционные меры в отношении нескольких российских кораблей, участвующих в работе по СП-2. Таким образом, отказ США от санкций против газопровода не коснется РФ.

Под действия Вашингтона также подпадает оператор газового проекта компания Nord Stream 2 AG и ее генеральный директор Маттиас Варниг – друг российского президента Владимира Путина и его бывший коллега по службе в разведке. Однако Госдеп, руководствуясь национальными интересами США, решил отказаться от этих санкций.

Американцы посчитали, что для остановки строительства «Северного потока-2», законченного на 95 процентов, более эффективно будет наложить ограничения на конечных потребителей российского газа в Германии. Но Государственный департамент откажется и от подобных мер, не желая ухудшения отношений с ФРГ.

При этом в США отметили, что в любое время могут отменить отказ от наложения санкций, поскольку власти страны по-прежнему не заинтересованы в запуске «Северного потока-2».
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Алексндр П Офлайн Алексндр П
    Алексндр П (Александр) 19 мая 2021 10:21
    -1
    Вашингтон уже все. Надо выбрать негра - тогда заживут. А Байден от лукавого, куда смотрит БЛМ
  2. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 19 мая 2021 12:48
    0
    За что от немцев отстали?
  3. rotkiv04 Офлайн rotkiv04
    rotkiv04 (Виктор) 19 мая 2021 18:51
    0
    задабривают Путина перед встречей, остается надеяться что он не клюнет на эту морковку