What Biden has to offer in a personal meeting with Putin


The day before in the Icelandic capital, a meeting of the heads of the foreign affairs agencies of Russia and the United States took place. Sergei Lavrov and his American counterpart Anthony Blinken calmly discussed a wide range of issues. After that, the US Secretary of State announced that a meeting between President Joe Biden and the "killer" Vladimir Putin could take place in the very near future. After a series of anti-Russian steps on the part of Washington, such a constructive approach in the domestic press was considered almost a "surrender" of the White House. But is this really so, and what can be expected from the upcoming meeting of the presidents of the two leading nuclear powers?


First, let's see what many Russian political scientists and journalists saw as the surrender of positions on the part of the United States to the Kremlin. Joe Biden's administration allegedly refused to impose sanctions against the Nord Stream operator Nord Stream AG and its head. Ostensibly because this interpretation of events does not correspond to reality. In fact, the United States imposed sanctions with the following wording:

The State Department has submitted a report to Congress on amendments to the PEESA law, identifying four vessels, five organizations and one person that are involved in the construction of the Nord Stream 2 pipeline, including Nord Stream 2 AG and the head of the company Matthias Warnig. The individuals identified in the report are subject to sanctions.

However, in relation to Nord Stream 2 AG, its head Matthias Warnig and corporate employees of Nord Stream 2 AG, the sanctions were immediately suspended. Note, not canceled, but suspended, which indicates the temporary nature of these restrictions. And with regard to four Russian vessels and four organizations that participated in the construction of the gas pipeline, no exceptions were made, that is, sanctions will be introduced and will continue to operate. At the same time, Washington directly stated that they would continue to hinder the implementation of this energy project. With a great desire, of course, you can interpret this all as our unheard-of victory, but let's refrain from such assessments for now.

Now, on the merits of the past meeting. As US State Department spokesman Ned Price explained, Sergei Lavrov and Anthony Blinken discussed a wide range of issues:

The Secretary of State stressed the need to ensure humanitarian access for the people of Syria, they also discussed regional issues, including the search for a long-term political solution to the conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan.

The heads of the Russian and American foreign affairs agencies touched upon those issues where both sides have "points of contact."

At first, this is an unhealthy situation with the work of diplomatic missions in both countries. This issue became a problem under Barack Obama, worsened during the 4-year presidency of Donald Trump and reached its maximum acuteness under Joe Biden. For its part, the RF Ministry of Foreign Affairs proposed “options for a solution”, up to zeroing to the state of 15 years ago. Now the ball is on the side of the White House.

Secondly, the key issue in relations between the two strongest nuclear powers in the world has been and remains strategic security. According to Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, he saw the opponent's readiness to conduct a dialogue on all factors affecting international stability.

Thirdly, Lavrov and Blinken paid attention to numerous regional problems and armed conflicts. It turned out that the positions of both sides coincide on the settlement of the Korean Peninsula, in Afghanistan and on the Iranian nuclear issue. At the same time, the Russian minister drew attention to the undesirability of the deployment of the American military in Poland, which negatively affects the defense capability of the Russian Federation.

What conclusions can we draw from this meeting? As a matter of fact, we did not hear anything fundamentally new. The State Department broadcasts the position of Joe Biden, from which he went to the presidential elections from the very beginning: to use Russia where it is beneficial to the United States, and to continue to put pressure on where the Americans consider it necessary. The most interesting thing is what "Sleepy Joe" wants to achieve from the "killer" in person. And there are not so many options. Immediately come to mind: the situation in the East of Ukraine, the frozen Nord Stream 2, which the United States promised to press further, and the already slightly forgotten opposition leader Aleksey Navalny, languishing in the dungeons of the GULAG. It can be assumed that the United States will offer the Kremlin some kind of deal: a "settlement" of the issue with the DPR and LPR in exchange for the possibility of completing and launching the problem gas pipeline. For its part, Gazprom undertakes to maintain the transit of certain volumes of gas through the Ukrainian GTS even after 2024, and the work of Nord Stream 2 will be directly linked to the world in the East of Independent. The maximum program for Joe Biden would be the release from prison of Alexei Navalny, who will then turn into Khodorkovsky-2.

Needless to say, it's not worth it to go towards such proposals, if they really sound? In the end, nothing good comes out of "friendship" with the Americans.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kofesan Offline Kofesan
    Kofesan (Valery) 21 May 2021 18: 21
    +1
    The meeting does not solve anything, since only two are involved in it. This means that any concessions to Russia on the part of America will immediately be torn apart by the "deep state" which, in fact and in practice, forms and implements "realpolitik". Strictly speaking, the Can is just a talking head.

    On the part of Russia, yes ... here, Putin has concentrated absolute power. And he can push through practically any concessions, except for those fatal for his personal safety ... (and with her, he is “all right.” Putin's support of at least a third of the population is guaranteed to him by the very institution, the “vertical” he created himself. as the saying goes "I would like to, but not a trabe").

    So! Meet only to give in ??? Or ... Okay, let's not talk about the saddest.

    Win some time? Like Stalin - after the agreement in Munich, he was able to answer with the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact.
    But time is now working against us, not for us. Not at all like then. Russia is degrading with opportunities rather than acquiring them. He does not build at a frantic pace like Stalin. And, on the contrary, for a ruble of open "new", read bought from the West,
    technologies, loses two old, still Soviet with the modernization of the latter, through the use of only new design tools and materials ...
    .. Yes, and there is no HSP at all, and there will be no more. Too old. He should go to the sea and worry about French cuisine. Single ...

    Reverse the geopolitical deterioration of the situation? As the Japanese had hoped before World War II. Lined with Americanos on all sides. To knock out the trump cards with a sharp blow, or long teeth? See above for the answer. No HPP ... You can only turn it illusory, after a while the West, having digested the concessions, will reach its throat much more confidently ...

    So .... Why is this meeting necessary?
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 21 May 2021 18: 54
    0
    Gaddafi swung at the dollar in Africa, killed. Strauss Kann very modestly said something about him, they put him in prison. Babyoshka from the ICC about the war crimes of the United States, the money in the bank was taken away.
    1. Binder Offline Binder
      Binder (Miron) 21 May 2021 21: 40
      -3
      The conclusion suggests itself, very clearly voiced by the character of the cult film:

      Take it by yourself so as not to fall when walking!

      laughing
      1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 21 May 2021 21: 59
        0
        No need to say! Saddam Hussein spoke how?
        We will be in Tehran in a week. USA said YES!
        And what happened? Ukantrop bought two very rich countries in 8 years, please be so kind ... fellow
        1. Binder Offline Binder
          Binder (Miron) 21 May 2021 22: 22
          -3
          Well, Saddam was still a chatterbox, like his Moscow friend Volfovich, the son of a lawyer. bully
    2. Canich-dotoshnii 26 May 2021 09: 41
      0
      Russian officials and state Duma members also have money, children, relatives overseas and overseas. Plus, citizens of enemy states are sitting in the State Duma. So there is no one to defend Russian interests.
  3. Kofesan Offline Kofesan
    Kofesan (Valery) 22 May 2021 02: 32
    0
    Sorry, of course, the author, it is always interesting what Marzhetsky will say ... But is there a feeling that ... firstly, secondly and thirdly, these are only tactical points. The main thing is how will the "Anaconda loop" develop further? And what can Russia, represented by Putin, oppose to this? This, in my opinion, is still the main and defining question. Determining all other points.

    America's war against Russia will not be stopped, will it? Or will they be able to ... temporarily ... before the "elections"? And how to stop it?

    And the meeting ...? - I wonder if someone came up with the idea of ​​organizing a meeting, say, Hitler and Stalin to resolve the issue (s), for example, mistreatment of prisoners, or not using chemical weapons, or lifting the blockade of the Gulf of Finland and Murmansk in exchange for free movement oil tankers ...?

    Or am I wrong and there is no "loop"?

  4. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 23 May 2021 18: 53
    +2
    What Biden has to offer in a personal meeting with Putin

    Nothing aimed at improving relations because the US policy towards the Russian Federation is legislatively surrounded by “red flags”, beyond which no S Shas administration can fail without repealing the adopted laws defining the Russian Federation as an enemy of the United States.
    Therefore, the meeting has no prospects and will be reduced to clarifying positions, accusing the Russian Federation of all sorts of sins - violation of the foundations of international law, an arms race, a threat to the integrity of neighboring states (Ukraine, Georgia, the Baltic States, etc.) and support for terrorism (Syria, DPR- LPR), cyber attacks, suppression of internal "opposition", etc., etc. They will raise the question of Russia's assistance in US pressure on Iran, North Korea, Syria, China to the START agreement, the northern stream, the Northern Sea Route, and many others in the interests of the United States.
  5. Canich-dotoshnii 24 May 2021 07: 22
    +1
    What agreements can there be with barbarians and bandits. They do not fulfill the contract.
  6. Alexander Pankov (Alexander Pankow) 24 May 2021 16: 53
    +1
    Indeed, why is this meeting necessary? The USA is a world bandit, they will not give up this role. Putin already knows how to deal with the bandits. So what remains is only curiosity: what if ...?
    1. Vladest Offline Vladest
      Vladest (Vladimir) 30 May 2021 23: 48
      -3
      Quote: Alexander Pankov
      USA is the world bandit

      This bandit supports the separatists in Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. Is this a bandit supporting dictators like Lukashenka, Assad and Modura? 8 million refugees from Assad, from Modura 3.
      After the military coup in Myanmar, the military killed hundreds of people there, and the Russian delegation went to visit these killers at the Parade.
      Do you often look in the Mirror?
  7. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) 30 May 2021 23: 42
    -3
    The United States does not seem to depend on the Russian Federation. From this and it is necessary to dance. But the Russian Federation is the opposite. This means that in order to receive the lifting of sanctions, it is the Russian Federation that must give something away or retreat from something.
    Leave the LDNR? Yes, Vladimirovich and G will devour their own. And for the States, Ukraine is one of the key issues.
    Or Putin will hand over someone from the two Assad or Modura? Also hardly. Why do they ask for money backgammon booze.
    Strategic questions remain. They do not affect the sanctions.

Что может предложить Байден на личной встрече с Путиным


Накануне в исландской столице состоялась встреча глав внешнеполитических ведомств России и США. Сергей Лавров и его американский коллега Энтони Блинкен спокойно обсудили широкий круг вопросов. После чего Госсекретарь США заявил о том, что встреча президента Джо Байдена с «убийцей» Владимиром Путиным может состояться в самое ближайшее время. После целого ряда антироссийских шагов со стороны Вашингтона столь конструктивный подход в отечественной прессе сочли чуть ли не «капитуляцией» Белого Дома. Но так ли это на самом деле, и чего можно ожидать по результату грядущей встречи президентов двух ведущих ядерных держав?


Сперва давайте разберемся, в чем многие российские политологи и журналисты усмотрели сдачу позиций со стороны США перед Кремлем. Администрация Джо Байдена якобы отказалась от введения санкций в отношении компании-оператора «Северного потока» Nord Stream AG и ее руководителя. Якобы потому, что эта трактовка событий не соответствует действительности. На самом деле США ввели санкции со следующей формулировкой:

Госдепартамент подал в Конгресс доклад в соответствии с поправками в закон PEESA, обозначив четыре судна, пять организаций и одно лицо, которые участвуют в строительстве трубопровода «Северный поток 2», включая Nord Stream 2 AG и главу компании Маттиаса Варнига. Лица, отмеченные в докладе, подлежат санкциям.

Однако в отношении Nord Stream 2 AG, его главы Маттиаса Варнига и корпоративных работников Nord Stream 2 AG действие санкций было тут же приостановлено. Заметим, не отменено, а именно приостановлено, что указывает на временный характер этих ограничений. А в отношении четырех российских судов и четырех организаций, участвовавших в строительстве газопровода, никаких исключений сделано не было, то есть санкции будут введены и будут действовать. При этом в Вашингтоне прямым текстом заявили, что продолжат препятствовать реализации этого энергетического проекта. При большом желании, конечно, можно истолковать это все как неслыханную нашу победу, но давайте все же пока воздержимся от подобных оценок.

Теперь по существу прошедшей встречи. Как пояснил официальный представитель Госдепартамента США Нед Прайс, Сергей Лавров и Энтони Блинкен обсудили широкий круг вопросов:

Госсекретарь подчеркнул необходимость обеспечения гуманитарного доступа для народа Сирии, они также обсудили региональные вопросы, включая поиск долгосрочного политического урегулирования конфликта между Арменией и Азербайджаном.

Главы российского и американского внешнеполитических ведомств коснулись тех тем, где у обеих сторон имеются «точки соприкосновения».

Во-первых, это нездоровая ситуация с работой дипломатических представительств в обеих странах. Данный вопрос стал проблемой при Бараке Обаме, усугубился по время 4-летнего президентства Дональда Трампа и достиг максимальной остроты при Джо Байдене. Со своей стороны, МИД РФ предложил «варианты развязки», вплоть до обнуления до состояния 15-летней давности. Теперь мяч на стороне Белого дома.

Во-вторых, ключевым вопросом в отношениях между двумя сильнейшими ядерными державами мира была и остается стратегическая безопасность. По словам министра иностранных дел Сергея Лаврова, он увидел готовность оппонента вести диалог по всем факторам, влияющим на международную стабильность.

В-третьих, Лавров и Блинкен уделили внимание многочисленным региональным проблемам и вооруженным конфликтам. Выяснилось, что позиции обеих сторон совпадают по вопросам урегулирования на Корейском полуострове, в Афганистане и по иранской ядерной проблеме. При этом российский министр обратил внимание на нежелательность размещения американских военных в Польше, что негативно влияет на обороноспособность РФ.

Какие же выводы мы можем сделать из этой встречи? Собственно говоря, ничего принципиально нового мы и не услышали. Госдеп транслирует позицию Джо Байдена, с которой тот с самого начала шел на президентские выборы: использовать Россию там, где это выгодно США, и продолжать давить там, где американцы считают необходимым. Самое интересное это то, чего «Сонный Джо» пожелает добиться от «убийцы» при личной встрече. А вариантов тут не так уже и много. Немедленно на ум приходят: ситуация на Востоке Украины, зависший «Северный поток-2», который США обещали давить и дальше, и томящийся в застенках «ГУЛАГа» уже слегка подзабытый оппозиционер Алексей Навальный. Можно предположить, что США предложат Кремлю некую сделку: «урегулирование» вопроса с ДНР и ЛНР в обмен на возможность достройки и запуска в строй проблемного газопровода. Со своей стороны, «Газпром» обязуется сохранить транзит определенных объемов газа через украинскую ГТС и после 2024 года, а работа «Северного потока-2» будет напрямую увязана с миром на Востоке Незалежной. Программой-максимум для Джо Байдена стало бы освобождение из-за решетки Алексея Навального, который после этого превратится в «Ходорковского-2».

Стоит ли говорить, что идти навстречу подобным предложениям, если они действительно прозвучат, не стоит? Из «дружбы» с американцами у нас все равно ничего хорошего в итоге не получается.
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Kofesan Офлайн Kofesan
    Kofesan (Валерий) 21 мая 2021 18:21
    +1
    Встреча ничего не решает, так как в ней участвует всего двое. А значит, со стороны Америки любые уступки России тут же будут растерзаны тем "глубинным государством", которое фактически и на практике формирует и осуществляет "реалполитИк". Строго говоря, Бидон - всего лишь говорящая голова.

    Со стороны России, тут да ..., тут Путин сосредоточил абсолютную власть. И может продавить практические любые уступки, кроме фатальных для его личной безопасности ... (а с ней у него всё "в порядке". Поддержка Путина минимум трети населения ему гарантирована самим институтом, созданной им самим, "вертикали". А больше и не нужно. Как говорится "хотелось бы, но не трэба").

    Итак! Встретиться только для того, что бы уступить??? Или ... Ладно, не будем о самом грустном.

    Выиграть время? Как Сталин - после сговора в Мюнхене, ответить на него смог пактом Молотова-Риббентропа.
    Но время сейчас работает против нас, а не за нас. Совсем не как тогда. Россия скорее деградирует возможностями, а не приобретает их. Не строит бешеными темпами как Сталин. А, наоборот, на рубль открытых "новых", читай купленных у Запада,
    технологий, теряет два старых, ещё советских с модернизацией последних, за счет применения только лишь новых средств проектирования и материалов....
    .. Да и нет вообще никакого ХПП и уже не будет. Слишком стар. Ему бы к морю, да о французской кухне побеспокоиться. Единичные ...

    Повернуть геополитическое ухудшение ситуации вспять? Как надеялись японцы перед второй мировой. Обложенные со всех сторон Америкосами. Резким ударом выбить козыри, или длинные зубы? Ответ смотри выше. Нет ХПП... Повернуть можно только иллюзорно, через некоторое время Запад, переварив уступки, потянется к горлу гораздо уверенней...

    Итак....Зачем нужна эта встреча?
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 21 мая 2021 18:54
    0
    Каддафи на доллар в Африке замахнулся, убили. Стросс Канн очень скромно чё-то насчёт него вякнул, посадили. Бабёшка из МУСа насчёт военных преступлений США, деньги в банке отняли.
    1. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
      Биндюжник (Мирон) 21 мая 2021 21:40
      -3
      Напрашивается вывод, предельно четко озвученный персонажем культового фильма:

      Бери ношу по себе чтоб не падать при ходьбе!

      laughing
      1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 21 мая 2021 21:59
        0
        И не говори! Саддам Хуссейн глаголил как?
        Через неделю будем в Тегеране. USA сказала YES!
        И чё вышло? Две очень небедные страны укантропупил за 8 лет по самое будьте любезны... fellow
        1. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
          Биндюжник (Мирон) 21 мая 2021 22:22
          -3
          Ну Саддам тот ещё был болтун, как и его московский дружбан Вольфович, сын юриста. bully
    2. Canich-doтoshnii Офлайн Canich-doтoshnii
      Canich-doтoshnii 26 мая 2021 09:41
      0
      У российских чиновников и госдумовцев тоже деньги, детки, родственники за океаном и за бугром имеются. Плюс, в Госдуме сидят граждане вражеских государств. Так что некому российские интересы отстаивать.
  3. Kofesan Офлайн Kofesan
    Kofesan (Валерий) 22 мая 2021 02:32
    0
    Пардон, конечно, автор, всегда интересно, что скажет Маржецкий... Но нет ли ощущения, что ... во-первых, во-вторых и третьих - это только тактические пункты. Главное - как дальше будет развиваться "петля Анаконды"? И что противопоставить этому может Россия, в лице Путина? Это, по моему, всё-таки - главный и определяющий вопрос. Определяющий все остальные пункты.

    Войну Америки против России останавливать же не будут? Или смогут..., временно..., перед "выборами"? И чем её остановить?

    А встреча...? - интересно, кому-нибудь пришла в голову мысль организовать встречу, скажем, Гитлера и Сталина для решения вопроса(ов) , например, плохого обращения с пленными, или не применения хим оружия, или отмены блокады Финского Залива и Мурманска в обмен на свободное перемещения танкеров с нефтью...?

    Или я не прав, и "петли" - не существует?

  4. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 23 мая 2021 18:53
    +2
    Что может предложить Байден на личной встрече с Путиным

    Ничего, направленного на улучшение отношений потому как политика США в отношении РФ законодательно обставлена “красными флажками”, выйти за которые ни одна сшасовская администрация не может не отменив принятые законы определяющие РФ врагом США.
    Потому встреча не имеет перспектив и сведётся к выяснению позиций, обвинениями РФ в во всевозможных грехах – нарушении основ международного права, гонке вооружений, угрозе целостности сопредельным государствам(Украина, Грузия, Прибалтика и т.д.) и поддержке терроризма (Сирия, ДНР-ЛНР) , кибератаках, подавлении внутренней “оппозиции” и т.д., и т.п. Поставят вопрос о содействии РФ в давлении США на Иран, КНДР, Сирию, КНР к соглашению СНВ, северный поток, севморпуть, и массу других в интересах США.
  5. Canich-doтoshnii Офлайн Canich-doтoshnii
    Canich-doтoshnii 24 мая 2021 07:22
    +1
    Какие могут быть договора с варварами и бандитами. Они же договора не выполняют.
  6. Александр Панков (Alexander Pankow) 24 мая 2021 16:53
    +1
    Действительно, зачем нужна эта встреча? США - мировой бандит, от этой роли они не откажутся. Как обращаться с бандитами Путин и так знает. Так что остаётся только любопытство: а вдруг...?
    1. Владест Офлайн Владест
      Владест (Владимир) 30 мая 2021 23:48
      -3
      Цитата: Александр Панков
      США - мировой бандит,

      Это бандит поддерживает сепаратистов в Грузии , Молдове и Украине. Это бандит поддерживает диктаторов типа Лукашенко, Асада и Модуру? От Асада 8 млн. беженцев, от Модуры 3.
      После военного переворота в Мьянме военные убили там сотни людей а делегация РФ поехала к этим убийцам в гости на Парад.
      Вы часто в Зеркало смотритесь ?
  7. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 30 мая 2021 23:42
    -3
    США вроде ни как не зависят от РФ. От этого и надо плясать. А вот РФ наоборот. Это значит что бы получить снятие санкций это РФ должна что то отдать или от чего то отступить.
    Бросить ЛДНР ? Да Владимировича с Г сожрут свои же. А для Штатов Украина один из ключевых вопросов.
    Или Путин кого то сдаст из двух Асада или Модуру ? Тоже едва ли. Зачем спрашивается в них деньги нардные бухали.
    Остаются стратегические вопросы. Они на санкции не влияют.