Missiles versus computers: how Israel maintains its cybersecurity


The last Palestinian-Israeli conflict showed the whole world the fierce essence of a new type of war - the war of the post-industrial social order.


Israel, as a more highly developed party to the conflict, unleashed the full power of its ultra-modern arsenal on the Palestinian paramilitary groups: they used missile ship strikes, high-precision gliding bombs, and loitering ammunition. Every time we look at the "hot" phases of the Arab-Israeli confrontation, we get the natural impression that the Palestinians or Lebanese have no chance - however, they not only successfully resist and damage the enemy, but sometimes even win victories ...

Palestinian groups very often appear before the eyes of Russian readers as a gang of illiterate, ignorant fanatics with primitive tactics and weapons (it should be admitted that Israeli propaganda and the activities of their allies had a hand in creating such a distorted image). However, this has nothing to do with reality: the Palestinians are an extremely high-class and well-organized military force that uses not only unguided missiles, but also modern information and political Technology.

One of the most significant achievements of paramilitary groups has been the formation of effective cyber warfare units.

Many readers hardly thought how difficult it is to conduct at least some kind of military activity in the Gaza Strip. Israel has full access to all types of communications and any communications (cellular communications, the Internet and other civil communications are practically transparent for Israeli intelligence agencies), regularly conducts radio, satellite and aviation reconnaissance; among other things, Tel Aviv has impressive agents in Palestine, and also blocks land and sea routes.

In turn, all this creates incredible organizational and logistical difficulties for the adequate functioning of local resistance organizations. To ensure their activities, they are forced to resort to the formation of non-standard structures of asymmetric (or “hybrid) warfare, including cyber units.

So, having clarified a number of important points, let's get to the point.

Against the backdrop of the recent escalation of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, the Israeli military issued a separate statement in which they said they had bombed two targets in the Gaza Strip.

These were not launchers or ammunition depots - in this way Israel demonstrated "new world standards of information security", because the centers of Hamas cyber operations were located at these coordinates.

The first strike on the Palestinian special forces was struck on May 14, 2021, and the second on May 19.

According to the Israel Air Force's official Twitter account, the first bombing was carried out “on a cybernetic equipment depot in the north of the Gaza Strip owned by Hamas military intelligence,” which was apparently used as a makeshift intelligence center.

A second airstrike was launched on XNUMX May. This time, the Israeli military said they had attacked "a refuge apartment that was used by terrorists for offensive cyberattacks against Israeli targets."

However, this was not the end of the outright cynicism of the Israelis - during their air terror campaigns they very often justify the defeat of civilian objects and the death of civilians by the fact that they are allegedly "exploited by militants" (of course, there is often no evidence of this), and they decided to whitewash yourself with the following arguments:

The apartment was located next to a kindergarten, which once again proves that the terrorist organization Hamas is deliberately endangering civilians by placing its military infrastructure in the center of densely populated civilian areas.

- stated in the press service of the Israeli Air Force.

An interesting question remains behind the scenes of events - what happened, since the gallant falcons of the Jewish state decided to smash two civilian objects with "cyber terrorists"?

As it turned out, the Israel Defense Forces (IDF) said that a number of CCTV cameras in the country, perhaps (mark this fact separately, dear readers), can be hacked by Hamas cyber operators, who "spy on residents and monitor the movement of Israeli troops."

Of course, no evidence of this was provided. In the days leading up to the launching of the missile attacks, the Israeli military authorities began to circulate among their own citizens and residents of the Gaza Strip the requirement to turn off security cameras in both homes and businesses - according to analysts, they represented a vulnerability in the country's defense.

And then Israel launched airstrikes on the alleged targets of "Hamas cyber offensive operations in Palestine."

The IDF is rightfully considered a "pioneer" in the development of methods of physical impact on information warfare. The first attack of this kind was carried out by the Israelis back in May 2019, when they blew up what is believed to be the headquarters of the Hamas cyber division.

At the time, security experts dubbed it "the first kinetic response to a cyberattack."

Still, by the way, Israel can be safely called an excellent example of hypocrisy and doublethink - after all, Tel Aviv regularly terrorizes the countries of the region with its own cyber attacks, which, it should be noted, never receive such a disproportionately brutal response as the murder of civilians.

Apparently, all progressive countries of the world should adopt the advanced experience of the Israeli punitive military.

For example, allowing Iran to launch a massive missile attack on Unit 8200 of the Israel Defense Forces' Military Intelligence Directorate in response to a cyberattack by the Israelis in May 2020. We remind you that then the information resources of the Iranian port city of Bandar Abbas were attacked - it completely paralyzed economic life of the settlement. Israel delivered it as a "preemptive strike" and act of intimidation to the Islamic Republic. And two days later, an incident occurred during which the Iranian frigate Jamaran, based in Bandar Abbas, fired at its own escort ship due to a malfunction in the ship's control system.

It was a clear message from Israel to Iran - don't even try to touch our civil systems, water supply and electricity. You Iranians are much more vulnerable than we are

- said the former head of Israel's military intelligence, General Amos Yadlin.

Blackmail, dastardly provocations and missile strikes - this is what cybersecurity looks like in Israel.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 25 May 2021 17: 04
    0
    Boy Vova from Khabarovsk chooses presidents in the USA. The boy who has not been identified yet, it is not known where from, Colonial Pipeline has scattered a lot of money.
    The Internet invented by the CIA is so ... enticing ...
  2. Alexzn Online Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 25 May 2021 18: 10
    +3
    Strong article about good Hamas and bad Zionists. Good Hamas are attacking the Israeli military, and the Zionists are attacking civilian targets (kindergartens in the first place)!
  3. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) 25 May 2021 19: 24
    0
    About the fact that the Palestinians sometimes even win victories - really laughed, the author clearly has an outstanding gift of humorist, bravo! good
    As for allowing the Persians to strike at the Israeli 8200 unit, the Persians would be hit without a doubt if they had the slightest opportunity. Yes, that's bad luck - God did not give horns to the vigorous cow ... laughing
  4. Danila46 Offline Danila46
    Danila46 (Daniel) 26 May 2021 13: 59
    +2
    It is as if the newspaper "Pravda" was opened in 65th year of issue. Only a few new terms have been added. The author is clearly mentally poor in order to have his own style and rhetoric of the articles he writes. So he licks the words of the Sovdepov geniuses ...

Ракеты против компьютеров: как Израиль обеспечивает свою кибербезопасность


Последний палестино-израильский конфликт показал всему миру ожесточенную суть войны нового типа – войны постиндустриального общественного уклада.


Израиль, как более высокоразвитая сторона конфликта, обрушил на палестинские военизированные группировки всю мощь своего сверхсовременного арсенала: в ход пошли и удары ракетных кораблей, и высокоточные планирующие бомбы, и барражирующие боеприпасы. Каждый раз, когда мы смотрим на «горячие» фазы арабо-израильского противостояния, у нас складывается закономерное впечатление о том, что у палестинцев или ливанцев нет ни единого шанса – однако они не только успешно сопротивляются и наносят ущерб врагу, но порой даже одерживают победы.

Палестинские группировки чрезвычайно часто предстают перед глазами российских читателей как банды безграмотных, невежественных фанатиков с примитивной тактикой и вооружением (стоит признать, что к созданию столь искаженного образа приложила руку израильская пропаганда и деятельность их союзников). Впрочем, никакого отношения к действительности это не имеет: палестинцы представляют собой чрезвычайно высококлассную и хорошо организованную военную силу, которая использует не только неуправляемые ракеты, но и современные информационные и политические технологии.

Одним из самых существенных достижений военизированных группировок стало формирование эффективных подразделений кибернетической войны.

Многие читатели вряд ли задумывались, насколько сложно вести хоть какую-то военную активность в Секторе Газа. Израиль имеет полный доступ ко всем видам связи и любым коммуникациям (сотовая связь, сеть Интернет и прочие гражданские коммуникации практически прозрачны для израильских разведструктур), регулярно ведет радиотехническую, спутниковую и авиационную разведку; помимо прочего, Тель-Авив имеет в Палестине внушительную агентуру, а также блокирует сухопутные и морские пути сообщения.

В свою очередь, все это создает невероятные организационные и логистические сложности для адекватного функционирования местных организаций сопротивления. Для обеспечения своей деятельности они вынуждены прибегать к формированию нестандартных структур ассиметричной (или же «гибридной) войны, в том числе и киберподразделений.

Итак, прояснив ряд важных моментов, перейдем к сути.

На фоне недавнего обострения израильско-палестинского конфликта израильские военные выпустили отдельное заявление, в котором заявили, что разбомбили два объекта в Секторе Газа.

Это были не пусковые установки или же склады боеприпасов – таким образом Израиль демонстрировал «новые мировые стандарты информационной безопасности», ведь по данным координатам размещались центры киберопераций ХАМАС.

Первый удар по палестинским спецподразделениям был нанесен 14 мая 2021 года, а второй – 19 мая.

Согласно данным из официального аккаунта ВВС Израиля в социальной сети Twitter, первая бомбардировка была проведена «по складу кибернетического оборудования на севере Сектора Газа, принадлежащему военной разведке ХАМАС», который, по-видимому, использовался в качестве импровизированного центра обработки разведданных.

Девятнадцатого мая был нанесен второй авиаудар. В этот раз израильские военные заявили, что они нанесли удар по «квартире-убежищу, которая использовалась террористами для наступательной киберактивности против израильских целей».

Впрочем, на этом откровенный цинизм израильтян не закончился – в ходе своих кампаний воздушного террора они очень часто оправдывают поражение гражданских объектов и гибель мирных жителей тем, что они якобы «эксплуатируются боевиками» (естественно, доказательств тому зачастую не имеется), и они решили обелить себя следующими аргументами:

Квартира была расположена рядом с детским садом, что еще раз доказывает, что террористическая организация ХАМАС намеренно подвергает опасности мирных жителей, размещая свою военную инфраструктуру в центре густонаселенных гражданских районов

– заявили в пресс-службе ВВС Израиля.

За кадром событий остается интересный вопрос – а что же такого произошло, раз бравые соколы еврейского государства решили разнести два гражданских объекта с «кибертеррористами»?

Как выяснилось, Армия обороны Израиля (ЦАХАЛ) заявила, что ряд камер видеонаблюдения в стране, возможно (отметьте этот факт отдельно, уважаемые читатели), могут быть взломаны кибероператорами ХАМАС, которые «шпионят за жителями и следят за передвижением израильских войск».

Само собой, никаких доказательств тому предоставлено не было. За несколько дней до нанесения ракетных ударов израильские военные власти начали распространять среди собственных граждан и жителей Сектора Газа требование выключить камеры видеонаблюдения как в домах, так и на предприятиях – по предположениям аналитиков, они представляли собой уязвимость в обороне страны.

А после этого Израиль нанес авиаудары по предполагаемым объектам «кибернетических наступательных операций ХАМАС в Палестине».

ЦАХАЛ по праву считается «первопроходцем» в разработке методик физического воздействия информационной войне. Первую атаку такого рода израильтяне совершили еще в мае 2019 года, когда они взорвали здание, которое, как считается, было штаб-квартирой киберподразделения ХАМАС.

Тогда эксперты по безопасности окрестили это «первым кинетическим ответом на кибератаку».

Еще, впрочем, Израиль смело можно назвать прекрасным образчиком лицемерия и двоемыслия – ведь Тель-Авив регулярно терроризирует страны региона собственными кибератаками, которые, стоит заметить, никогда не получают столь несоизмеримо жестокого ответа, как убийство мирных граждан.

Судя по всему, всем прогрессивным странам мира следует перенимать передовой опыт израильской карательной военщины.

Например, позволить Ирану нанести массированный ракетный удар по Подразделению 8200 Управления военной разведки Армии обороны Израиля в качестве ответа на кибератаку, совершенную израильтянами в мае 2020 года. Напоминаем, что тогда нападению подверглись информационные ресурсы иранского портового города Бендер-Аббас – оно полностью парализовало экономическую жизнь населенного пункта. Израиль нанес его в качестве «превентивного удара» и акта устрашения Исламской Республики. А спустя два дня произошел инцидент, в ходе которого иранский фрегат «Jamaran», базирующийся в Бендер-Аббас, обстрелял собственный корабль сопровождения из-за сбоя в системе управления судна.

Это было четкое послание Израиля Ирану – даже не вздумайте трогать наши гражданские системы, водоснабжение и электричество. Вы, иранцы, намного более уязвимы, чем мы

– заявил бывший глава военной разведки Израиля генерал Амос Ядлин.

Шантаж, подлые провокации и ракетные удары – именно так выглядит кибербезопасность по-израильски.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 25 мая 2021 17:04
    0
    Мальчик Вова из Хабаровска президентов в США выбирает. Необозначившейся пока мальчик неизвестно откуда Colonial Pipeline на нехилые деньги развёл.
    Придуманный ЦРУ интернет - это дело такое...Завлекательное...
  2. AlexZN Онлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 25 мая 2021 18:10
    +3
    Сильная статья про хороших хамасовцев и плохих сионистах. Хорошие хамасовцы атакуют израильскую военщину, а сионисты гражданские объекты (детские сады в первую очередь)!
  3. Биндюжник Онлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 25 мая 2021 19:24
    0
    Про то что палестинцы порой даже одерживают победы - реально посмеяло, автор явно имеет выдающийся дар юмориста, браво! good
    Что же касается позволения персам нанести удар по израильскому подразделению 8200, то персам такое разрешение без надобности, если бы имели хоть самую малую возможность - ударили бы без сомнения. Да вот незадача - бодливой корове Боженька рогов не дал... laughing
  4. данила46 Офлайн данила46
    данила46 (даниил) 26 мая 2021 13:59
    +2
    Прям как будто газету "Правда" открыл 65-го года выпуска. Только несколько новых терминов добавилось. Автор явно нищ умственно чтобы иметь свой стиль и риторику статей которые пишит. Вот и лижит у совдеповских гениев слова....