Why Erdogan's dreams of "Great Turan" are doomed to failure


In recent years, the Republic of Turkey has confidently occupied its niche in the Russian information space. There is a rather simple explanation for this - Ankara confidently and aggressively began its march across a number of regions of the globe, and its interests regularly intersect and contradict the interests of the Russian Federation.


However, in Russia itself, the attitude towards the Turks and their ambitions has developed very ambiguous - some perceive them as enemies, and some, on the contrary, enthusiastically praise Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan.

A number of Russian political and intellectual circles (in particular, nationalist ones) even present Erdogan as an example of how the president of Russia should behave and act. By default, it is generally accepted that all the initiatives of the "Istanbul Wolf" find a response among the population of the Republic of Turkey, and the implemented policy The Justice and Development Party is the benchmark for any modern state.

However, few people think about how exactly what is happening affects the life and mood of the population of Turkey itself. Unfortunately, in the Russian Federation to this day it is extremely rare to raise the topic of how destructive the ambitions of Recep Erdogan and his supporters turned out to be for his native country.

Meanwhile, the current situation in Turkey has the right to be called at least ambiguous.

The international community often sees a picture of "resurgent greatness": the Republic of Turkey is actively expanding in the Middle East (Iran, Syria), Africa (Chad, Libya, Ethiopia, Sudan), in the post-Soviet space (Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Kyrgyzstan), here Ankara is presenting a lot of the latest weapons and is actively building infrastructure facilities (which is only the project of the Istanbul canal, the construction of which seems to be a foregone conclusion).

But in fact, all the foreign policy achievements of Erdogan and the teams of his supporters deal a serious blow to both the economyand the well-being of the population of Turkey itself. Most of the country's population is openly dissatisfied with the authoritarian style of government of its president and the strategy he uses to promote the idea of ​​"reviving the Great Turan."

All this casts doubt on at least some expediency of what is happening - after all, what is the point in building a "national-ideological imperial state" if it is not in demand in the eyes of the Turks themselves?

An explanation of the reasons for this, perhaps, should begin with the long-suffering Turkish economy.

Over the past eight years, Turkey has devalued the lira as much as 7 times - and, alas, this is not the limit. After the last anti-Turkish statements of the American President Joe Biden, the national currency of the republic collapsed once again - although it would seem that it would be impossible to come up with a more dire situation. However, Recep Erdogan is successfully finding new and new reasons to lead his own country further and further into the abyss.

The Turkish economy has an insanely low savings rate of up to 13%. These are extremely weak indicators even for developed countries (Turkey is a developing country). For example, the average for the Eurozone is 22%. In developing economies, the indicators are even higher (for example, in China - up to 50%, and in Russia - 26-28%). Accordingly, with such a low level of savings, the Republic of Turkey is critically dependent on foreign investments and loans (after all, there is very little of its own money in the economy) - and banks and companies take loans in foreign currency.

But no investor wants to give money to a country that regularly takes part in military conflicts or has a bad foreign policy reputation - these factors put investments at risk. Turkey, in turn, has been in a state of "cold war" over the past decade, and this has a very unfortunate effect on the inflow of foreign capital into its economy.

The conclusion from all this is extremely simple - a country with such an economic structure as that of Turkey cannot afford to conduct an expansionist foreign policy, let alone wars. Ankara, in turn, waged military conflicts on four fronts - and this inevitably affected the position and prosperity of its population.

Erdogan's policy, among other things, did not find any response among Turkish youth and intellectuals - and a stream of tens of thousands of citizens began to leave the country.

The first boom in emigration began after the failed military coup in 2016. Following the incident, the number of requests for asylum in European countries increased sharply - for example, according to the data of the Statistical Office of the European Union on migration, from 2015 to 2020 the number of those wishing to leave Turkey for the EU increased by 506%.

Further it gets worse. The flow of people leaving grew every year - for example, in 2019, 330 people fled from Turkey to Europe, the USA and other countries. What is especially disastrous for the ruling regime, most of the emigrants are young people between the ages of 289 and 25, and many of them are people with higher education. It is known that in 29 and 2020 the situation has become even worse - so much so that Ankara does not even publish statistics (according to information from international monitoring systems of emigrants, more than 2021 people leave Turkey every day).

It is especially symptomatic that 64% of young people aged 18-29 express their full readiness to leave Turkey whenever possible. Political instability also affected the birth rate - its total fertility rate fell from 2,15 to 1,88 and continues to decline (and the demography in Turkey is already extremely bad).

As the apotheosis of the "revival of the empire", the popularity of Erdogan himself went into an uncontrollable tailspin. Now he is inferior to all his opponents from the opposition, and due to inept economic policies, Recep began to lose his main electorate - the rural population (it brought the current president to power and turned out to be the most affected by his actions).

The Turkish Empire began to die before it was born. Imaginary greatness turned out to be not very much in demand against the backdrop of a sharp drop in income, life and the economic crisis, which right now deprive Turkey of its most valuable resource - educated and young citizens.

And without a response from the Turkish people, any imperial and expansionist dreams of Recep Erdogan about the "Great Turan", no doubt, are doomed to failure.
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 28 May 2021 08: 41
    0
    And, the media themselves invented the myth, they themselves support, they themselves refute.

    No "Turan" prevented our planes from flying to Syria through Turkey ....
  2. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 28 May 2021 10: 15
    +1
    The great Turan does not need the Turks and does not care about the economy. Millions of refugees will fight for a crust of bread all over the world and bring in new slaves. Meanwhile, the Turks who left for the EU will crush the EU countries and they will then enter the great Turan. About popularity is also a difficult question: there is no one richer than Erdogan's family in Turkey. Even Turkish thieves have already expressed in the press that their common fund is nothing compared to Erdogan's thieves' common fund. After all, there are revenues from oil and gas. weapons. smuggling, etc. Now he is trying to clean up the drug flows of Kyrgyzstan, both going from Afghanistan and grown there.
  3. zenion Offline zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 2 June 2021 23: 08
    0
    It is not clear why Russian moneybags turn their dreams to Turkey. Imperialism lives on in wars. Now, there is no possibility to increase something, but there is an opportunity to take a yasyk, as in the days of the Mongols in Russia. All the pockets of the imperialists of Russia seem to be empty, because in the days of the USSR they could not pocket so openly, lost years. Now they want to make up for lost time, but it seems not they, but the Turks.

Почему мечты Эрдогана о «Великом Туране» обречены на провал


В последние годы Турецкая Республика уверенно заняла свою нишу в российском информационном пространстве. Тому есть довольно простое объяснение – Анкара уверенно и агрессивно начала свое шествие по ряду регионов земного шара, и ее интересы регулярно пересекаются и противоречат интересам Российской Федерации.


Впрочем, в самой России отношение к туркам и их амбициям сложилось весьма неоднозначное – кто-то воспринимает их как врагов, а некоторые, напротив, восторженно превозносят турецкого президента Реджепа Тайипа Эрдогана.

Ряд российских политико-интеллектуальных кругов (в частности, националистических) даже преподносят Эрдогана в качестве примера того, как должен себя вести и действовать президент России. По умолчанию принято считать, что все инициативы «Стамбульского Волка» находят отклик среди населения Турецкой Республики, а реализуемая политика Партии справедливости и развития является эталоном для любого современного государства.

Впрочем, мало кто задумывается, как именно происходящее отражается на жизни и настроениях населения самой Турции. К сожалению, в Российской Федерации и по сей день чрезвычайно редко поднимают тему того, сколь губительными оказались для родной страны амбиции Реджепа Эрдогана и его сторонников.

Между тем, сложившаяся в Турции ситуация имеет право называться как минимум неоднозначной.

Перед глазами международного сообщества часто предстает картина «возрождающегося величия»: вот Турецкая Республика проводит активную экспансию на Ближнем Востоке (Иран, Сирия), Африке (Чад, Ливия, Эфиопия, Судан), на постсоветском пространстве (Азербайджан, Грузия, Казахстан, Украина, Киргизия), вот Анкара презентует массу новейших вооружений и активно возводит объекты инфраструктуры (чего только стоит проект канала «Стамбул», строительство которого, кажется, предрешено).

Но по факту все внешнеполитические достижения Эрдогана и команды его сторонников наносят серьезный удар как по экономике, так и благополучию населения самой Турции. Большая часть населения страны откровенно недовольна авторитарным стилем правления своего президента и стратегией, которую он использует ради продвижения идеи «возрождения Великого Турана».

Все это ставит под сомнение хоть какую-нибудь целесообразность происходящего – в конце концов, какой смысл в построении «национально-идеологического имперского государства», если оно не востребовано в глазах самих турок?

Начать разъяснение причин тому, пожалуй, следует с многострадальной турецкой экономики.

За последние восемь лет Турция девальвировала лиру в целых 7 раз – и это, увы, еще не предел. После последних антитурецких заявлений американского президента Джо Байдена национальная валюта республики обрушилась еще раз – хотя, казалось бы, что более бедственного положения придумать уже невозможно. Впрочем, Реджеп Эрдоган успешно находит новые и новые поводы для того, чтобы заводить собственную страну все дальше в пропасть.

Турецкая экономика имеет безумно низкую норму сбережений – до 13%. Это чрезвычайно слабые показатели даже для развитых стран (Турция – развивающаяся). Так, например, в среднем по Еврозоне этот показатель составляет 22%. В развивающихся экономиках показатели еще выше (например, в Китае – до 50%, а в России – 26-28%). Соответственно, с таким низким уровнем сбережений Турецкая Республика критически зависима от иностранных инвестиций и кредитов (ведь своих денег в экономике чрезвычайно мало) – а займы банки и компании берут в иностранной валюте.

Но ни один инвестор не захочет давать деньги стране, которая регулярно принимает участие в военных конфликтах или же имеет скверную внешнеполитическую репутацию – данные факторы ставят вложения под удар. Турция, в свою очередь, находится в состоянии «холодной войны» все последнее десятилетие, и это весьма прискорбно отражается на притоке иностранного капитала в ее экономику.

Вывод из всего этого чрезвычайно простой – страна с такой структурой экономики, как у Турции, не может позволить себе ведение экспансионистской внешней политики, а тем более войн. Анкара, в свою очередь, вела военные конфликты на четырех фронтах – и это неизбежно отразилось на положении и достатке ее населения.

Политика Эрдогана, помимо прочего, не нашла никакого отклика среди турецкой молодежи и интеллигенции – и поток из десятков тысяч граждан начал покидать страну.

Первый бум эмиграции начался после неудачного военного переворота в 2016 году. Вслед за произошедшим резко выросло количество запросов на предоставление убежища в европейских странах – так, согласно данным Статистического управления Европейского союза о миграции, с 2015 по 2020 годы число желающих уехать из Турции в ЕС увеличилось на 506%.

Дальше – хуже. Поток уезжающих нарастал с каждым годом – так, в 2019 году 330 289 человек бежали из Турции в Европу, США и другие страны. Что особенно катастрофически для правящего режима, большинство из эмигрантов – молодые люди в возрасте от 25 до 29 лет, а многие из них – люди с высшим образованием. Известно, что в 2020 и 2021 ситуация стала еще хуже – настолько, что Анкара даже не обнародует данные статистики (согласно информации из международных систем мониторинга эмигрантов, ежедневно из Турции уезжает более 900 человек).

Особенно симптоматично то, что 64% молодых людей в возрасте 18-29 лет выражают полную готовность покинуть Турцию при любой удобной возможности. Политическая нестабильность отразилась и на рождаемости – ее суммарный коэффициент рождаемости упал с 2,15 до 1,88 и продолжает снижаться (а с демографией в Турции все и без того обстоит чрезвычайно скверно).

В качестве апофеоза «возрождения империи» в неуправляемый штопор отправилась и популярность самого Эрдогана. Теперь он уступает всем своим соперникам из оппозиции, а из-за неумелой экономической политики Реджеп стал терять свой основной электорат – сельское население (оно привело нынешнего президента к власти и оказалось наиболее пострадавшим от его действий).

Турецкая империя начала умирать, не успев родиться. Мнимое величие оказалась не очень-то востребованным на фоне резкого падения уровня доходов, жизни и экономического кризиса, которые прямо сейчас лишают Турцию самого ценного ее ресурса – образованных и молодых граждан.

А без отклика со стороны турецкого народа любые имперские и экспансионистские мечты Реджепа Эрдогана о «Великом Туране», вне сомнения, обречены на провал.
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 28 мая 2021 08:41
    0
    А, СМИ сами миф придумали, сами поддерживают, сами и опровергают.

    Никакой "Туран" не мешал нашим самолетам в Сирию летать сквозь Турцию....
  2. kriten Офлайн kriten
    kriten (Владимир) 28 мая 2021 10:15
    +1
    Великому турану турки не нужны и на экономику плевать. Миллионы беженцев будут воевать за корку хлеба по всему миру и пригонят новых рабов. Тем временем уехавшие турки в ЕС подомнут под себя страны ЕС и те потом войдут в великий туран. Про популярность - тоже вопрос сложный: богаче семьи Эрдогана в Турции нет никого. Даже турецкие воры уже высказались в прессе, что их общак ничто, по сравнению с воровским общаком Эрдогана. Там ведь доходы от нефти и газа. оружия. контрабанды и пр. Сейчас он старается прибрать наркопотоки Киргизии ,как идущие их Афганистана, так и выращиваемые там.
  3. zenion Офлайн zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 2 июня 2021 23:08
    0
    Непонятно, почему русские толстосумы переворачивают свои мечты на Турцию. Империализм живёт войнами. Теперь, что то прирастить возможности нет, но есть возможность брать ясык, как во времена монголов на Руси. Империалистам России всё карманы кажутся пустыми, ведь во времена СССР они так открыто прикарманивать не могли, пропащие годы. Во теперь хотят наверстать упущенное, но вроде не они, а турки.