Karabakh: How Both Sides Try to Undermine Russia's Peacekeeping Efforts


On the territory of the Gegharkunik region of Armenia, the Azerbaijani military captured six Armenian soldiers who were performing engineering work in the border area: mining and installing appropriate warning signs. In response, according to the statements of Baku, the reconnaissance and sabotage group of the Armed Forces of Armenia tried to penetrate the territory of Azerbaijan, but was detained. The number of border incidents between the two irreconcilable adversaries is constantly growing, despite the reached trilateral armistice agreements. Is another escalation possible that could lead to the second, final round of the war for Nagorno-Karabakh?


Let's face it, yes, it is possible. The problem is that the key task facing official Baku and its allied Ankara to open a transport corridor through Armenia has not actually been achieved. We are talking about the Zangezur (Syunik) corridor. After the collapse of the USSR, the Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic was cut off from the rest of Azerbaijan by the Syunik region of Armenia (Zangezur). During the Soviet period, a highway and a southern branch of the Transcaucasian railway functioned there. As a result of the first Nagorno-Karabakh war, which was successful for Yerevan, several Azerbaijani regions bordering Iran came under the control of Armenians, the land corridor was blocked, and the railroad track was completely dismantled. Transport links with the exclave of Baku could only be maintained by air or by transit through the neighboring Islamic Republic. The parties failed to find a compromise through peaceful negotiations.

Baku managed to resolve the problem in 2020 by military force, with the support of Ankara, defeating the Armenian army in just a month and a half and regaining control over most of Nagorno-Karabakh. In accordance with the trilateral agreements, Yerevan was supposed to open the land Zangezur (Syunik) corridor for Azerbaijan. This would give the winners a lot of "goodies". It is estimated that Azerbaijani exports will grow by more than $ 700 million annually. Baku will be able to save up to $ 10 million a year, which now has to be spent on subsidizing air flights to Nakhichevan, as well as on gas transit through Iran, where Tehran keeps up to 15% of the cost as payment for its services. Well, Turkey would get through the territory of its ally a land corridor to the Caspian Sea, where tempting prospects of creating a "logistic superpower" open up.

So, more than half a year has passed since the end of the military defeat of Armenia, but things are still there. In Yerevan, the opening of a transport corridor through the Syunik region is associated with the extradition of all prisoners of war. They refuse in Baku, believing that the Armenian soldiers detained after the declaration of an armistice are "saboteurs and terrorists." One can understand why Yerevan is actually evading the fulfillment of its obligations. The problem lies in the not fully regulated legal status of the Syunik region. Rather, each side interprets this status differently and considers the cards referred to by the opponents as "fakes". The Armenians are quite rightly afraid that after the opening of the transport corridor and the start of the construction of the road, Azerbaijan will actually take possession of the disputed strategically important region and at the same time cut it off from the Iranian border. Baku, as a winner, demands its own:

We are implementing the Zangezur Corridor, whether Armenia wants it or not. If he wants, then we will decide easier, if he does not want, we will decide by force. Just as before and during the war, I said that they must free themselves from our lands, or we will expel them by force. And so it happened. The same will be the fate of the Zangezur corridor.

A certain dizziness from the success of President Aliyev is clearly evident. The Azerbaijani military was recently brought into the territory of the disputed Syunik region. Former Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan, who is participating in the new election campaign, in turn demands from the CSTO to take all necessary measures so that Baku withdraw all its soldiers from the Armenian land. The conflict is obvious and insoluble by peaceful means. Azerbaijan and Turkey never got what the second Nagorno-Karabakh war was started to a large extent for. And why does everyone think that they will endlessly endure it? Baku has enough strength for the second round, and now there is not even a legitimate government in Yerevan.

The key question is how the Kremlin will behave in this case, which side will the Russian peacekeepers on the territory of the unrecognized republic take? During the "one and a half month war" of 2020, Moscow was emphatically neutral so as not to spoil its relations with Azerbaijan and Turkey, so why should something be different this time? And after all, formally, the Kremlin is right to distance itself from this long-standing interethnic conflict. The problem is that this is shaking the foundation of the CSTO, within which Russia and Armenia are military allies. Yerevan defiantly sent an appeal to this organization with a request to take measures to expel the Azerbaijani military from the territory of the Syunik region. She is still studying the issue. In response, Nikol Pashinyan threatened to contact other structures:

Armenia does not exclude the possibility of appealing to the UN Security Council if the CSTO instruments do not allow solving the problem at the border.

The willingness of the Armenian leadership to resolve the issue through the head of the CSTO and the Kremlin, to put it mildly, does not work in the best way for the international image of this organization and Russia, around which it was actually created. In fact, our country itself becomes a hostage to its own policy "Multi-vector", for which we traditionally scold Belarus.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 29 May 2021 16: 03
    +2
    Karabakh: How Both Sides Try to Undermine Russia's Peacekeeping Efforts

    Russian border troops have increased their presence in Zangezur (Syunik region). Russian Ambassador to Armenia Sergei Kopyrkin stated this yesterday, ..... the official press release of the Russian Embassy in Armenia.

    The introduction of a new contingent of border troops is associated with an exacerbation on the border of Azerbaijan with Armenia.

    Russian border guards in Armenia, according to the ambassador, are serving with a multiply increased workload.

    Two days ago, Pashinyan made a proposal to bring a peacekeeping contingent from the countries of the Minsk Group to the border. It contains the phrase “together with Russian peacekeepers. Pashinyan’s former desire to get hold of the American contingent is evident.

    Acting Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan proposed to place international observers representing Russia on the border with Azerbaijan or another country - the co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group
  2. Binder Offline Binder
    Binder (Miron) 29 May 2021 17: 06
    -1
    It seems that in this situation the Armenians are making a serious mistake, ignoring the fulfillment of their obligations to provide the Azerbaijani side with a land corridor to Nakhichevan. Aliyev is right in speaking of his determination to resolve the problem by military means - as it turns out, the Armenians do not voluntarily intend to fulfill the peace agreements. What are they counting on in Yerevan, is there anyone else hoping that the Russians will fight the Azerbaijanis for the interests of Armenia? And they also say that the Armenians are an ancient wise people ... Where is that wisdom?
  3. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 29 May 2021 18: 43
    +1
    Hello!
    Father, rest in peace, told. During the Soviet Union I traveled from Tbilisi to Baku along this railway track.
    What is remembered. On the Armenian side, the borders of the village glow, on the Turkish side it is dark. The natural question is why? Answer from Georgian and Armenian colleagues. The Turks remember about the lease agreement, so these territories are not being developed.
    1. kapitan92 Offline kapitan92
      kapitan92 (Vyacheslav) 29 May 2021 19: 13
      0
      Quote: Petr Vladimirovich
      Father, rest in peace, told. During the Soviet Union I traveled from Tbilisi to Baku along this railway track.

      We are talking about the Baku-Julfa (Nakhichevan) railway line
      Which side is Tbilisi here?
      1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 29 May 2021 19: 50
        +1
        Yes, the most that neither is direct. In Tbilisi, I flew on a plane on business trips, then a train to Yerevan, then to Nakhichevan, from there to Baku ...
    2. Bakht Offline Bakht
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 29 May 2021 19: 43
      +1
      There was not and there is no lease agreement.
      1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 30 May 2021 17: 03
        +1
        Salam, buddy!
        I agree!

        The Moscow Treaty (tur. Moskova Anlaşması) is a "treaty of friendship and brotherhood" signed on March 16, 1921 in Moscow by representatives of the government of the Grand National Assembly of Turkey and the government of the RSFSR. The treaty established the northeastern border of Turkey, which exists to this day.

        “Having transferred to Turkey the large territories conquered by the Russian Empire, and in fact betrayed the Armenians, the Bolshevik-Leninists hoped that Turkey would become a fraternal socialist country for them. But that did not happen. Turkey followed the path of bourgeois nationalism, and during the Second World War it became a “neutral” ally of Nazi Germany, ”says research historian Alexander Mosyakin. - At the 1945 Potsdam Conference, Stalin tried to correct the mistakes made by Lenin and demanded that the territories of Western Armenia with Mount Ararat be transferred to the Soviet Union (Armenian SSR). But the allies did not agree to this.
        1. Shmurzik Offline Shmurzik
          Shmurzik (Seymslav) 30 May 2021 17: 32
          0
          territories conquered by the Russian Empire, and actually betraying the Armenians

          And where are the Armenians ????
  4. Shmurzik Offline Shmurzik
    Shmurzik (Seymslav) 29 May 2021 20: 26
    +1
    Yerevan associates the opening of a transport corridor through the Syunik region with the extradition of all prisoners of war

    Armenia did not fight ... - what prisoners of war ??? Especially taken after the war and after the deadline for the withdrawal of troops ????
    Enlighten who is in the subject?
    1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 30 May 2021 17: 09
      +2
      Except the respected author, no one ... fellow

Карабах: как обе стороны пытаются подорвать миротворческие усилия России


На территории Гегаркуникской области Армении азербайджанские военные захватили в плен шестерых армянский солдат, выполнявших инженерные работы на приграничном участке: минирование и установку соответствующих предупредительных знаков. В ответ, если верить заявлениям Баку, разведывательно-диверсионная группа Вооруженных сил Армении попыталась проникнуть на территорию Азербайджана, но была задержана. Количество пограничных инцидентов между двумя непримиримыми противниками непрерывно нарастает, несмотря на достигнутые трехсторонние соглашения о перемирии. Возможна ли очередная эскалация, способная привести ко второму, завершающему раунду войны за Нагорный Карабах?


Скажем прямо, да, возможна. Проблема заключается в том, что ключевая задача, стоявшая перед официальным Баку и союзной ему Анкарой по открытию транспортного коридора через Армению, фактически так и не достигнута. Речь идет о Зангезурском (Сюникском) коридоре. После распада СССР Нахичеванская Автономная Республика оказалась отрезанной от остальной территории Азербайджана Сюникской областью Армении (Зангезуром). В советский период там функционировала автомобильная трасса и южное ответвление Закавказской железной дороги. По итогам первой, успешной для Еревана Нагорно-Карабахской войны несколько азербайджанских районов, граничащих с Ираном, перешли под контроль армян, сухопутный коридор был перекрыт, а железнодорожное полотно и вовсе разобрано. Транспортная связь с эксклавом Баку мог поддерживать только по воздуху или транзитом через соседнюю Исламскую Республику. Путем мирных переговоров найти компромисс сторонам так и не удалось.

Разрешить проблему Баку сумел в 2020 году военной силой, при поддержке Анкары всего за полтора месяца разгромив армянскую армию и вернув себе контроль над большей частью Нагорного Карабаха. В соответствии с трехсторонними соглашениями Ереван должен был открыть для Азербайджана сухопутный Зангезурский (Сюникский) коридор. Это дало бы победителям массу «плюшек». Подсчитано, что азербайджанский экспорт вырастет ежегодно более чем на 700 миллионов долларов. Баку сможет сэкономить до 10 миллионов долларов в год, которые сейчас приходится тратить на субсидирование авиационных полетов в Нахичевань, а также на транзите газа через Иран, где Тегеран удерживает в качестве оплаты своих услуг до 15% от стоимости. Ну, а Турция получила бы через территорию своего союзника сухопутный коридор на Каспий, где открываются заманчивые перспективы создания «логистической супердержавы».

Так вот, с момента завершения военного разгрома Армении прошло уже более полугода, но воз и ныне там. В Ереване связывают открытие транспортного коридора через Сюникскую область с выдачей всех военнопленных. В Баку отказываются, считая, что задержанные после объявления перемирия армянские военные являются «диверсантами и террористами». Почему Ереван фактически уклоняется от исполнения взятых на себя обязательств, понять можно. Проблема заключается в не вполне урегулированном правовом статусе Сюникской области. Вернее, каждая из сторон по-разному этот статус трактует и считает карты, на которые ссылаются оппоненты, «фальшивками». Армяне вполне обоснованно опасаются, что после открытия транспортного коридора и начала строительства дороги Азербайджан фактически завладеет спорным стратегически важным регионом и одновременно отрежет его от иранской границы. Баку на правах победителя требует своего:

Мы реализуем Зангезурский коридор, хочет того Армения или нет. Если захочет, то решим проще, если не захочет - решим силой. Так же, как до и в период войны я говорил, что они должны по доброй воле убраться с наших земель, или мы выдворим их силой. Так и случилось. Такой же будет и судьба Зангезурского коридора.

Некое головокружение от успехов у президента Алиева явно налицо. На территорию спорной Сюникской области недавно были введены азербайджанские военные. Бывший премьер-министр Никол Пашинян, который участвует в новой избирательной кампании, в свою очередь требует от ОДКБ принять все необходимые меры, чтобы Баку вывел всех своих солдат с армянской земли. Конфликт очевиден и неразрешим мирными методами. Азербайджан и Турция так и не получили то, ради чего в значительной мере и затевалась вторая Нагорно-Карабахская война. И почему же все считают, что те будут это бесконечно терпеть? Сил на второй раунд у Баку хватит, а в Ереване сейчас даже нет легитимной власти.

Ключевой вопрос, как в этом случае будет вести себя Кремль, чью сторону займут российские миротворцы, находящиеся на территории непризнанной республики? Во время «полуторамесячной войны» 2020 года Москва была подчеркнуто нейтральной, чтобы не испортить свои отношения с Азербайджаном и Турцией, так почему что-то должно быть иначе на этот раз? И ведь формально Кремль прав, дистанцируясь от этого давнего межнационального конфликта. Проблема заключается в том, что тем самым расшатывается фундамент ОДКБ, в рамках которой Россия и Армения являются военными союзниками. Ереван демонстративно направил обращение в данную организацию с просьбой принять меры для выдворения азербайджанских военных с территории Сюникской области. Та пока что изучает вопрос. В ответ Никол Пашинян пригрозил обратиться в иные структуры:

Армения не исключает возможности обращения в Совбез ООН, если инструменты ОДКБ не позволят решить проблему на границе.

Готовность армянского руководства решать вопрос через голову ОДКБ и Кремля, мягко говоря, не самым лучшим образом работает на международный имидж этой организации и России, вокруг которой она фактически и создана. По сути дела, наша страна сама становится заложницей своей же политики «многовекторности», за которую мы традиционно ругаем Белоруссию.
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 29 мая 2021 16:03
    +2
    Карабах: как обе стороны пытаются подорвать миротворческие усилия России

    Российские погранвойска увеличили присутствие в Зангезуре (Сюникской области). Об этом накануне заявил посол России в Армении Сергей Копыркин, .....официальный пресс-релиз посольства России в Армении.

    Ввод нового контингента погранвойск связан с обострением на границе Азербайджана с Арменией.

    Российские пограничники в Армении, по словам посла, несут службу с многократно увеличенной нагрузкой.

    Два дня назад Пашинян выступил с предложением ввести на границу миротворческий контингент от стран участников МинскойГруппы. Там есть фраза "совместно с российскими миротворцами. Налицо прежнее стремление Пашиняна заиметь американский контингент.

    Исполняющий обязанности премьера Армении Никол Пашинян предложил разместить на границе с Азербайджаном международных наблюдателей, представляющих Россию или другую страну — сопредседателя Минской группы ОБСЕ
  2. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 29 мая 2021 17:06
    -1
    Представляется что в данной ситуации армяне совершают серьёзную ошибку, игнорируя исполнение взятых обязательств по предоставлению азербайджанской стороне сухопутного коридора в Нахичевань. Алиев прав, говоря о своей решимости разрешить проблему военными методами - мирные соглашения, как выясняется, армяне добровольно не намерены выполнять. На что рассчитывают в Ереване, неужели там кто-то ещё надеется что русские станут воевать с азербайджанцами за интересы Армении? А ещё говорят что армяне - древний мудрый народ... Где ж та мудрость?
  3. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 29 мая 2021 18:43
    +1
    Всем привет!
    Отец, земля пухом, рассказывал. Ездил во времена Союза из Тбилиси в Баку по этой жд дорожке.
    Что запомнилось. На армянской стороне границы деревни светятся, на турецкой темно. Вопрос естественный, почему? Ответ от грузинских и армянских коллег. Турки помнят про договор об аренде, поэтому эти территории на развивают.
    1. kapitan92 Офлайн kapitan92
      kapitan92 (Вячеслав) 29 мая 2021 19:13
      0
      Цитата: Петр Владимирович
      Отец, земля пухом, рассказывал. Ездил во времена Союза из Тбилиси в Баку по этой жд дорожке.

      Речь идет о ж/д ветке Баку - Джульфа (Нахичевань)
      Тбилиси здесь каким боком?
      1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 29 мая 2021 19:50
        +1
        Да самым что ни на есть прямым. В Тбилиси в командировки летал на ероплане, потом поезд в Ереван, потом, в Нахичевань, оттуда в Баку...
    2. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 29 мая 2021 19:43
      +1
      Там не было и нет никакого договора об аренде.
      1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 30 мая 2021 17:03
        +1
        Салам, дружище!
        Согласен!

        Московский договор (тур. Moskova Anlaşması) — «договор о дружбе и братстве», подписанный 16 марта 1921 года в Москве представителями правительства Великого национального собрания Турции и правительства РСФСР. Договором была установлена северо-восточная граница Турции, существующая до настоящего времени.

        «Передав Турции большие территории, отвоеванные Российской империей, и фактически предав армян, большевики-ленинцы рассчитывали на то, что Турция станет для них братской социалистической страной. Но этого не произошло. Турция пошла по пути буржуазного национализма, а во время Второй мировой войны стала „нейтральным“ союзником гитлеровской Германии, — указывает историк-исследователь Александр Мосякин. — На Потсдамской конференции 1945 года Сталин попытался исправить ошибки, допущенные Лениным, и потребовал передать Советскому Союзу (Армянской ССР) территории Западной Армении с горой Арарат. Но союзники не пошли на это.
        1. Шмурзик Офлайн Шмурзик
          Шмурзик (Seymslav) 30 мая 2021 17:32
          0
          территории отваоеванные Российской империей, и фактически предав армян

          И причём здесь армяне ????
  4. Шмурзик Офлайн Шмурзик
    Шмурзик (Seymslav) 29 мая 2021 20:26
    +1
    В Ереване связывают открытие транспортного коридора через Сюникскую область с выдачей всех военнопленных

    Армения же не воевала ...- какие военнопленные ??? Тем-более взяты после войны и после крайнего срока вывода войск ????
    Просветите кто в теме ?
    1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 30 мая 2021 17:09
      +2
      Кроме уважаемого автора никто... fellow