Why Iran is sending warships to Venezuela


A few days ago, the whole world was stunned by a very unexpected news - The Islamic Republic of Iran has sent two ships of its navy to South America.


This event in itself cannot be called an ordinary one - previously, Iran has rarely demonstrated any capabilities and desire to expand its military presence outside the Middle East. A special piquancy of the situation is added by the fact that one of the ships is the operating base of the notorious Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, or rather, its legendary elite Quds unit, which is responsible for conducting special operations outside Iran.

Naturally, this fact caused great confusion and outrage in the United States, which immediately protested what was happening.

So, let's try to figure out why Washington is so fiercely opposed to the presence of Iranian forces in South America?

It would be worth starting this conversation with a small excursion into the history of the last decades. Perhaps for some it will come as a surprise, but serious relations between the Islamic Republic and Venezuela did not emerge today or yesterday - their foundation was laid at the beginning of this century.

After the revolution and the Iran-Iraq war, Tehran desperately needed any new markets and was looking for potential allies - and as such, only rogue countries like Iran, which Venezuela was at that time, looked confident as such.

Further rapprochement between the two states was predetermined - they had enough points of contact, both in the sphere economicAnd political relations closely tied to anti-American rhetoric (which was successfully fueled by sanctions packages from Washington).

We are with Iran forever. As long as we are united, we can defeat imperialism, but if we divide, they will crush us

- once declared Hugo Chavez, the former president of Venezuela.

So, by itself, the events taking place now are not some desperate improvisation that many analysts in the Russian information space talk about so often. By no means, Tehran is acting within the framework of a long-established relationship, and the message of its current actions is closely tied to two key factors: the election of a new president of the Islamic Republic and negotiations on a nuclear deal, which are currently taking place in Vienna.

As many probably already know, presidential elections will be held in Iran on June 18. Victory over them, in essence, is a foregone conclusion - judging by a number of indirect signs, they will be dominated by forces oriented towards some variation of the restoration of the principles of the 1979 revolution in its Khomeinist version. Of course, they also have a negative attitude towards the policy of the current Rouhani-Zarif government, which is oriented towards a "deal" with the West through absolutely any concessions.

A small digression is worth making: Rouhani and Zarif belong to the reformist camp. The main instrument of their foreign policy was diplomacy, through which they for several years unsuccessfully tried to reach agreements with the EU and the United States. This strategy did not pay off: the deal with the West collapsed before it took effect, and the situation in Iran and neighboring countries only worsened.

In turn, the political bloc of "neo-Khomeinists" advocates a policy of forceful pressure. In their vision, Iran's only option for survival lies in resisting external pressure. Opponents of the Rouhani and Zarifa bloc (which also include the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, as well as related structures) put forward the thesis of "active defense". Naturally, such protection of the political and military achievements of the Islamic Republic includes support for radical movements (such as Hamas and Hezbollah groups), the use of force, strengthening the military presence abroad, along with building a self-sufficient economy within Iran itself (and this is also very important in the topic of our conversation today).

It is easy to understand that the sending of warships by the IRGC to Venezuela is one of the pre-election gestures of the new political bloc. It is directly related to the second aspect of the foreign policy of the Islamic Republic - the negotiations on the nuclear deal.

Of course, militarily, this gesture does not pose any threat to the United States (although Washington is trying to play the “terrible threat” card from one frigate and a floating base converted from a tanker) - the real combat capabilities of an improvised naval formation are very, very modest. But you can't talk about the political side of the issue like that - in the current negotiations, such a bright gesture of cooperation with the Maduro regime serves as an excellent argument for bargaining with Western countries. Iran already has many of them: the Houthis (who have sharply intensified hostilities on the border with Saudi Arabia), Hezbollah, control of the Bashar al-Assad regime and the development of the national nuclear industry.

Naturally, it would be naive to believe that the Islamic Republic will confine itself exclusively to theatrical gestures - the cruise of the IRGC ships also has other tasks closely related to Tehran's desire to provide itself both reliable protection from outside encroachments, and to make a significant breakthrough in the field of science and equipment.

It so happened that Venezuela has one of the largest reserves of uranium ore in the world - back in 2006, Iran began active geological exploration in the country, seeking to provide itself with such a strategically important resource at the expense of an ally. Earlier, according to unconfirmed reports, the Islamic Republic has already received uranium from Caracas - and Tehran urgently needs it now, when the scientific and industrial processes of Iran were seriously affected by the attack of Israeli hackers (according to some information, the cyber attacks dealt a strong blow to the Iranian nuclear power industry).

Of course, the transportation of such an important cargo cannot be carried out by the ships of the Iranian civil fleet - moreover, only last summer, the United States seized 4 Iranian cargo ships, which were en route without security to Venezuela. The precedent has been well understood, and Tehran clearly does not want to be negligent in matters of strategic security. It was quite a logical solution to such a serious task to send the best of the best - or rather, the Quds division.

Summing up, we can say that what is happening is clearly connected with much more global processes than the trivial electronic intelligence off the coast of America, of which Washington is so desperately trying to convince us.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: Mass Communication Specialist 3rd Class Michael Starkey
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 2 June 2021 11: 34
    -6
    Why Iran is sending warships to Venezuela

    - An hour from an hour is not easier ... - This is arrogance ...
    - Damn, Iran, which does not even have its own outlet to the Mediterranean Sea and ... and to get to Venezuela is forced to cross the Indian Ocean and., Having rounded Africa ... - also to cross the Atlantic ... ... - suddenly decided take this whole cruise ...
    - Yeah ... - It seems that America continues to sleep with its elderly Biden ... - Russia continues to sleep and see "friendly Iran" in its dreams ... - And Israel slept through everything; and now only the hair on his head tears from despair and powerlessness and only groans and asks for help ... - Such things ...
    - Is it not China that "taught" Iran to do this ... - and now just pulls its strings ... - It seems that China has begun to win game after game ...
    - It's so easy to win ... - and the Americans are du_ra_chit and loyal Russia once again "directs on the right path" (once again indicates "who is the boss" and that it is necessary to be more "loyal" to Iran ... Chinese vassal) ... - Moreover, China and Erdogan with this ... - so carelessly lowers below the plinth ... - Erdogan still dreams of becoming "the ruler of the whole East" ... - And then they just click on his nose and openly make it clear that he is neither a sultan nor a padishah; but just a buffoonish "caliph for an hour" ... -Hahah ...
    - Yes, that's the way it is ...
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 2 June 2021 18: 22
    +1
    In my opinion, the key word in this whole story, and in the "long-standing cooperation" of the two countries - URANUS.
  3. Kofesan Offline Kofesan
    Kofesan (Valery) 2 June 2021 23: 57
    0
    Iran is a very peculiar country. For the Persians, behind-the-scenes intrigues are characteristic, moreover, this is how for Russia to give way to a respected old man or a pregnant woman. And almost like breathing. Mahmoud Ahmadinejad was flooded partly because of the excessive, in their opinion, directness ...

    In everyday life, in the manner of speaking, in dialogue, the Persians, for example, often fall silent, pondering what to say in response, without uttering the phrase impromptu. There are pauses ...

    There is also a great power ... this is both the memory of the great civilization of their ancestors, and the successes of their industry, which turned the country from a colony under the Shah into a completely independent entity. But still, delving into an alien mentality is a rotten thing.

    Moreover, they are "groovy", like the Jews. Well, for example, if Israel did not react so hatefully and with the ambition of a child to Iranian trifles, in the beginning, in the end, they would never have made a mortal enemy. And vice versa.

    So, something came into Iran's head! What? Not a single analyst in the world will say. Most likely, this is a strong-willed decision, worked out in intrigue and in a narrow circle, pursuing several goals, even such exotic as, for example, to squeeze (I do not exclude that to expel from there, whoever succeeds) Russia and (or) China on the Venezuelan market, charming a new one " old "friend.
  4. For me, a Ukrainian, the main mission of Iran is different ..
    In the readiness to produce more than 5 million barrels of oil, which the Iranians announced. This is just enough to replace Russia in the global hydrocarbon market. In the event of the introduction of sectoral sanctions against the Russian Federation. It is for this, I think, that the United States is relieving tension in relations with Iran ...
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 3 June 2021 19: 26
      0
      For me, a Ukrainian, the main mission of Iran is different ..
      In the readiness to produce more than 5 million barrels of oil, which the Iranians announced. This is just enough to replace Russia in the global hydrocarbon market. In the event of the introduction of sectoral sanctions against the Russian Federation. It is for this, I think, that the United States is relieving tension in relations with Iran ...

      No offense, but such thoughts can only walk in your information field.
      Understand already at last, there is no "the whole world with us" fellow There will be no sectoral sanctions and the Russian woman will not collapse under their yoke.
      It is not up to them, and not to allow the supply of uranium to Iran is an important task. By the way, here the ship of the Iranian Navy "Kharg" caught fire and sank.
      https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jun/02/iran-warship-has-caught-fire-and-sunk-in-gulf-of-oman-say-local-agencies

      Wasn't it going to Venezuela? Do you think it's a coincidence?
      Is this very similar to the fact that soon with Iran, peace-friendship-bubble gum? Do you think Iranian oil will flood the world market on Monday or will you wait with optimistic forecasts?

Зачем Иран отправляет военные корабли в Венесуэлу


Несколько дней назад весь мир был ошарашен весьма неожиданной новостью – Исламская Республика Иран направила два корабля своего военного флота в Южную Америку.


Данное событие само по себе нельзя назвать рядовым – ранее Иран редко демонстрировал какие-либо возможности и желание расширять свое военное присутствие за пределами Ближнего Востока. Особенную пикантность ситуации добавляет тот факт, что один из кораблей – операционная база одиозного Корпуса стражей исламской революции, а точнее – его легендарного элитного подразделения «Кудс», которое отвечает за проведение специальных операций за пределами Ирана.

Естественно, этот факт вызвал огромное смятение и возмущение в США, которые немедленно выразили протест происходящему.

Итак, попробуем разобраться, почему же Вашингтон так яростно сопротивляется присутствию иранских сил в Южной Америке?

Начать данный разговор стоило бы с небольшого экскурса в историю последних десятилетий. Возможно, для кого-то это станет неожиданностью, однако серьезные отношения между Исламской Республикой и Венесуэлой возникли не сегодня и не вчера – их фундамент был заложен еще в начале текущего века.

После революции и ирано-иракской войны Тегеран отчаянно нуждался в любых новых рынках и искал потенциальных союзников – а в качестве таковых уверенно смотрелись в основном лишь подобные Ирану страны-изгои, какой и была к тому моменту Венесуэла.

Дальнейшее сближение двух государств было предопределено – у них было достаточно точек для соприкосновения как в сфере экономических, так и политических отношений, тесно завязанных на антиамериканской риторике (которая успешно подогревалась санкционными пакетами со стороны Вашингтона).

Мы с Ираном навсегда. Пока мы будем едины, мы сможем победить империализм, но если мы разделимся, они раздавят нас

– заявлял когда-то Уго Чавес, бывший президент Венесуэлы.

Так что, само собою, происходящие сейчас события – это не какая-то отчаянная импровизация, о которой так часто говорят многие аналитики в российском информационном пространстве. Отнюдь, Тегеран действует в рамках давно устоявшихся взаимоотношений, а посыл его сегодняшних действий тесно завязан на два ключевых фактора: выборы нового президента Исламской Республики и переговоры по ядерной сделке, которые в данный момент проходят в Вене.

Как многие уже наверняка знают, 18 июня в Иране пройдут президентские выборы. Победа на них, в сущности, предрешена – судя по ряду косвенных признаков, верх на них одержат силы, ориентированные на некоторую вариацию реставрации принципов революции 1979 года в ее хомейнистской версии. Само собой, они также негативно относятся к политике нынешнего правительства Роухани-Зарифа, которое ориентируется на «сделку» с Западом путем абсолютно любых уступок.

Стоит сделать небольшое отступление: Рухани и Зариф относятся к лагерю реформистов. Основным инструментом их внешней политики была дипломатия, путем которой они в течение нескольких лет безуспешно пытались добиться договоренностей с ЕС и США. Данная стратегия себя не оправдала: сделка с Западом развалились, не успев вступить в силу, а ситуация в Иране и прилегающих к нему странах только ухудшилась.

В свою очередь, политический блок «нео-хомейнистов» выступает за политику силового давления. В их видении единственный вариант выживания Ирана лежит в сопротивлении внешнему давлению. Оппоненты блока Роухани и Зарифа (в них входит и Корпус стражей исламской революции, а также связанные с ним структуры) выдвигают тезис «активной обороны». Естественно, подобная защита политических и военных достижений Исламской Республики включает в себя и поддержку радикальных движений (как, например, группировок ХАМАС и «Хезболла»), применение силовых мер, усиление военного присутствия за рубежом наряду с выстраиванием самодостаточной экономики внутри самого Ирана (и это тоже очень важно в теме нашего сегодняшнего разговора).

Как легко понять, отправка боевых кораблей КСИР в Венесуэлу – это один из предвыборных жестов нового политического блока. Он напрямую связан и со вторым аспектом внешней политики Исламской Республики – переговорами по ядерной сделке.

Само собою, в военном отношении данный жест не несет никакой угрозы для США (хотя Вашингтон и пытается разыграть карту «страшной угрозы» от одного фрегата и переоборудованной из танкера плавбазы) – реальные боевые возможности импровизированного флотского соединения весьма и весьма скромны. Но вот о политической стороне вопроса так говорить нельзя – в текущих переговорах столь яркий жест сотрудничества с режимом Мадуро служит отличным аргументом торга со странами Запада. Таковых у Ирана уже немало: хуситы (которые резко активизировали боевые действия на границе с Саудовской Аравией), «Хезболла», контроль режима Башара Асада и развитие национальной атомной индустрии.

Естественно, было бы наивно считать, что Исламская Республика ограничится исключительно театральными жестами – у похода кораблей КСИР также есть и иные задачи, плотно связанные с желанием Тегерана обеспечить себе как надежную защиту от посягательств извне, так и совершить значительный прорыв в сфере науки и техники.

Так уж сложилось, что Венесуэла располагает одними из крупнейших запасов урановой руды в мире – еще в далеком 2006 году Иран начал активные геологоразведочные работы в стране, стремясь обеспечить себя столь стратегически важным ресурсом за счет союзника. Ранее по неподтвержденным данным Исламская Республика уже получала уран от Каракаса — и он чрезвычайно необходим Тегерану сейчас, когда научные и промышленные процессы ИРИ серьезно пострадали от атаки израильских хакеров (по ряду сведений, кибернападения нанесли сильный удар по иранской атомной энергетике).

Само собою, транспортировка столь важного груза не может осуществляться судами гражданского флота Ирана – более того, только летом прошлого года США захватили 4 грузовых корабля ИРИ, которые следовали без охраны в Венесуэлу. Прецедент был хорошо усвоен, и Тегеран очевидным образом не хочет допускать небрежности в вопросах стратегической безопасности. Вполне логичным решением столь серьезной задачи стала отправка лучших из лучших – а точнее, подразделения «Кудс».

Подводя итоги, можно сказать, что происходящее однозначно связано с куда более глобальными процессами, нежели тривиальная радиоэлектронная разведка у берегов Америки, в чем нас столь отчаянно пытается убедить Вашингтон.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 2 июня 2021 11:34
    -6
    Зачем Иран отправляет военные корабли в Венесуэлу

    - Час о́т часу не легче... - Вот это наглость...
    - Блин , Иран , который даже не имеет своего выхода в Средиземное море и...и , чтобы попасть в Венесуэлу вынужден пересекать Индийский океан и ., обогнув Африку ...- еще и пересечь Атлантику... ... - вдруг решил совершить весь этот круиз...
    - Да уж... - Похоже , что Америка так и продолжает спать вместе со своим престарелым Байденом ... - Продолжает спать и Россия и видеть "дружественный Иран" в своих снах... - Да и Израиль всё проспал ; а теперь только волосы у себя на голова рвёт от отчаяния и бессилия и только стенает и просит о помощи... - Такие дела...
    - Уж не Китай ли "подучил" Иран такое творить...- и теперь просто дёргает его за ниточки... - Похоже что Китай начал выигрывать партию за партией...
    - Так просто выигрывать ... - и американов ду_ра_чит и преданную Россию очередной раз "направляет на путь истинный" (лишний раз указывает "кто в доме хозяин" и что надо ещё "лояльней" относится к Ирану ... - ведь это тоже теперь китайский вассал) ... - Да ещё Китай и Эрдогана этим ... - так небрежненько опускает ниже плинтуса... - Эрдоган всё мечтает стать "правителем всего Востока" ... - А тут его просто щёлкают по носу и открыто дают понять , что никакой он ни султан и ни падишах ; а просто шутовской "калиф на час"... -Хахах...
    - Да , такие вот дела...
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 2 июня 2021 18:22
    +1
    По моему ключевое слово во всей этой истории, да и в "давнем сотрудничестве" двух стран - УРАН.
  3. Kofesan Офлайн Kofesan
    Kofesan (Валерий) 2 июня 2021 23:57
    0
    Иран - очень своеобразная страна. Для персов характерны закулисные интриги, причем , это, как для России уступить место уважаемому старику или беременной. И почти, как дышать. Махмуда Ахмадинежада поперли отчасти из-за излишней, на их взгляд прямоты....

    В быту, в манерах разговарвать, в диалоге персы например, часто замолкают, обдумывая что-то, что сказать в ответ, не произнося фразу экспромтом. Получаются паузы...

    Присутствует и великодержавность... это и память о великой цевилизации их предков, и успехи их промышленности, которые превратили страну из колонии при шахе во вполне себе самостоятельное образование. Но всё же копаться в чуждом менталитете - дело тухлое.

    К тому же они "заводные", как и евреи. Ну, например, если бы Израиль не так ненавистно и с гонором ребенка реагировал на иранские мелочи, в начале, в конце, они , смертельного врага не нажили бы никогда. И наоборот.

    Так что, Ирану что-то вступило в голову! Что? Не скажет ни один аналитик в мире. Скорее всего, это волевое решение, выработанное в интригах и в узком кругу, преследующее несколько целей, даже такую экзотическую, как например потеснить(не исключаю что и выгнать оттуда, кого удастся) Россию и(или) Китай на рынке Венесуэллы, обаяв нового "старого" друга.
  4. Для меня, украинца, главная миссия Ирана в другом..
    В той готовности добывать 5 с лишним миллионов баррелей нефти, о которой заявили иранцы. Этого как раз хватит, чтобы заместить Россию на мировом рынке углеводородов. В случае введения против РФ секторальных санкций. Именно для этого, думаю, США и снимают напряжение в отношениях с Ираном...
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 3 июня 2021 19:26
      0
      Для меня, украинца, главная миссия Ирана в другом..
      В той готовности добывать 5 с лишним миллионов баррелей нефти, о которой заявили иранцы. Этого как раз хватит, чтобы заместить Россию на мировом рынке углеводородов. В случае введения против РФ секторальных санкций. Именно для этого, думаю, США и снимают напряжение в отношениях с Ираном...

      Без обид, но такие думки могут гулять только в вашем информационном поле.
      Поймите уже наконец, нет никакого "весь мир с нами" fellow Не будет никаких секторальных санкций и россиюшка под их гнетом не рухнет.
      Не до того им, а не допустить поставки урана в Иран задача важная. Кстати, тут судно иранских ВМФ «Харг» загорелось и затонуло.
      https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jun/02/iran-warship-has-caught-fire-and-sunk-in-gulf-of-oman-say-local-agencies

      Уж не оно ли в Венесуэлу собиралось? Думаете совпадение?
      Это очень похоже на то что скоро с Ираном мир-дружба-жвачка? Как думаете иранская нефть хлынет на мировой рынок в понедельник или подождете с оптимистическими прогнозами?