Forced concessions: Turkey went to meet the United States on the issue of Russian S-400


Political The Turkish leadership decided to send Russian military specialists home to help their Turkish colleagues master the S-400 air defense systems purchased from Russia. Ankara went to meet Washington in a not the most important and fundamental issue for itself, since the Russians can always be returned, the American Bloomberg agency reported on May 31, 2021.


In mid-June this year, during the NATO summit in Brussels, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan is to meet and hold important talks with American leader Joe Biden. Before that, the United States expressed concern and made it clear that Turkey, as a NATO member country, is obliged to stop the presence of the Russian military on its territory. Therefore, the Turks made a compromise, making a forced concession, which in reality is symbolic, because Ankara is not going to abandon the S-400, but only postponed the activation of these air defense systems for a while.

On the same day, during his visit to Greece, Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said that after the departure of the Russians, the S-400s would remain with Ankara. He clarified that his country will not abandon the deployment of the S-400 and will not yield to Washington for the sake of lifting the anti-Turkish sanctions imposed by the United States in December 2020.

The S-400s will be under our 100 percent control. We sent a lot of technical specialists for training (to Russia - ed.). Russian military experts will not stay in Turkey

- said the minister, whose words are quoted by the Turkish media.

American experts believe that the equipment included in the S-400 air defense system can collect intelligence information about the aircraft of NATO countries, including data from F-35 fighters. On May 27, Deputy Head of the US State Department Wendy Sherman and Turkish Deputy Foreign Minister Sedat Onala met in Ankara. The American side offered the Turks an "alternative" to the S-400, probably, it was about the Patriot missile defense systems.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 1 June 2021 18: 29
    0
    After all, they are Turks, multi-vector ...

    And ours and yours, and for a penny we will dance
    1. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 1 June 2021 19: 30
      0
      Some foreigner disagrees. There is nothing to say ... sad
      1. The comment was deleted.
        1. The comment was deleted.
  2. The comment was deleted.
  3. Hayer31 Offline Hayer31
    Hayer31 (Kashchei) 2 June 2021 09: 57
    0
    These specialists had to return anyway after the Turks had mastered the technology. The article is so so

Вынужденные уступки: Турция пошла навстречу США в вопросе российских С-400


Политическое руководство Турции решило отправить на родину российских военных специалистов, помогающих турецким коллегам осваивать приобретенные у России ЗРК С-400. Анкара пошла навстречу Вашингтону в не самом важном и принципиальном для себя вопросе, так как россиян всегда можно вернуть, сообщило американское агентство Bloomberg 31 мая 2021 года.


В середине июня этого года в ходе саммита НАТО в Брюсселе турецкий президент Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган должен встретиться и провести важные переговоры с американским лидером Джо Байденом. Перед этим США выразили озабоченность и дали понять, что Турция, как страна-участница НАТО, обязана прекратить присутствие военных РФ на своей территории. Поэтому турки пошли на компромисс, сделав вынужденную уступку, которая в реальности является символической, ведь Анкара не собирается отказываться от С-400, а лишь отложила активацию этих ЗРК на время.

В этот же день в процессе визита в Грецию глава МИД Турции Мевлют Чавушоглу заявил, что после отбытия россиян С-400 останутся у Анкары. Он уточнил, что его страна не откажется от развертывания С-400 и не уступит Вашингтону ради отмены антитурецких санкций, введенных США в декабре 2020 года.

С-400 будут под нашим 100-процентным контролем. Мы отправили на обучение (в Россию – ред.) много технических специалистов. Российские военные эксперты не останутся в Турции

– сказал министр, слова которого приводят турецкие СМИ.

Американские специалисты считают, что оборудование, входящее в ЗРК С-400, может собирать разведывательную информацию о самолетах стран НАТО, включая данные истребителей F-35. 27 мая в Анкаре состоялось общение замглавы Госдепа США Венди Шерман и замминистра иностранных дел Турции Седата Онала. Американская сторона предложила туркам «альтернативу» С-400, вероятно, речь шла о комплексах ПРО Patriot.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 1 июня 2021 18:29
    0
    Турки они ведь такие, многовекторные...

    И нашим и вашим, и за копейку спляшем
    1. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 1 июня 2021 19:30
      0
      Иностранец некий не согласен. Сказать ведь нечего... sad
      1. Комментарий был удален.
        1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Hayer31 Офлайн Hayer31
    Hayer31 (Кащей ) 2 июня 2021 09:57
    0
    Эти спецы и так должны были вернутся, по окончании освоения техники турками. Статья так себе