Soviet aircraft serving NATO will face different destinies


The last days turned out to be rich in incidents with MiG-29 fighters: either one plane will disappear from radar over the Black Sea, then another will receive “friendly fire” from an aircraft cannon on the fuselage during exercises. The most remarkable thing in all this is that these Soviet-made fighters are in the service of the NATO countries, and for some reason they are in no hurry to abandon them.


In the first case we mentioned, the MiG-29 of the Bulgarian Air Force crashed. During the exercises of the North Atlantic Alliance called "Shabla-21" on June 9, communication with the plane was lost, and it disappeared from radar over the Black Sea. In connection with the emergency, maneuvers were suspended, searches for the fallen fighter are underway. The second case occurred in Poland much earlier, on May 14, but the media reported about it only now. According to the Onet publication, during the exercise, one of the MiG-29 pilots mistakenly fired at his comrade in the same aircraft. Despite the fact that the fighter got out of a 30 mm cannon, he was able to land safely, and his pilot was not injured. However, the Polish military department does not officially confirm this information. The state commission is investigating the circumstances of the damage to the combat aircraft.

The MiG-29 is a fourth-generation Soviet-made multipurpose fighter. The MiG-29 is a reliable and proven light frontline fighter. It is in service in many countries - in addition to Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Syria, Iran, India, Serbia, North Korea, Egypt, Yemen and others. In particular, they are also part of the air forces of Bulgaria and Poland, where they ended up thanks to their participation in the Warsaw Pact. Today, after the collapse of the socialist bloc and the accession of these countries to the European Union and NATO, Sofia and Warsaw demonstrate two opposite approaches to the use of their inherited Soviet equipment.

Bulgarian Air Force


It should be noted that the Air Force of the countries of Eastern Europe is a bizarre mixture of images of Soviet and Western aircraft. For example, in Bulgaria until 2015, the ancient third-generation fighters MiG-21 survived, which were later removed from service and sold to the Romanians. Also, the Air Force of this country is armed with 12 MiG-29 and 4 training MiG-29 UB, 14 attack aircraft Su-25UK and Su-25UBK. Military transport aviation is represented by a combined hodgepodge of Soviet, French, Czech, Italian and Swiss-made aircraft.


Su-25 attack aircraft of the Bulgarian Air Force

It is clear that Sofia's capital dependence on Soviet / Russian technology causes great displeasure in the NATO leadership. There was an interesting story with the Su-25 attack aircraft. For political reasons, the Bulgarians avoided asking Moscow for help in repairing older aircraft, so they had to deal with Minsk. Su-25s were sent for modernization to the 558th Aviation Repair Plant in Baranovichi. And then, until the last moment, the country's authorities were afraid to deal with Belarus because of the risk of falling under secondary EU sanctions. I wonder how Bulgaria will get out now that Batka has fallen into isolation from the West?

Sofia's main problem, if we call a spade a spade, is her poverty. Perhaps the Bulgarians would not mind transferring to American planes, but they simply cannot afford it. For example, two years ago, President Radev vetoed a deal to acquire F-16 fighters worth 1,256 billion euros, which were supposed to replace our MiG-29s. The formal reason for this was that guarantees and post-warranty service were not clearly spelled out in the contract. In reality, eight F-16 Block 70/72 would have cost Bulgaria too much. American businessmen sold a fourth-generation fighter to their Eastern European ally at the price of a fifth-generation F-35 fighter, while imposing a lot of additional paid services on it. The country's leadership turned out to be smarter and refused such a business proposal.

The bottom line is that it is more profitable for Bulgaria to continue to exploit the old, but reliable Soviet equipment to the stop. However, the deterioration of EU relations with Russia, and now also with Belarus, calls into question the prospects of its military aircraft.

Polish Air Force


Warsaw demonstrates a different approach. The Polish Air Force is an even bigger hodgepodge than the Bulgarian. Soviet fighters MiG-29A and MiG-29UB, fighter-bombers Su-22M4K and Su-22UM3K, American multipurpose fighters F-16C "Jastrząb" and F-16D "Jastrząb", Polish training aircraft PZL-130TC-1 Orlik and TS-11 Iskra bis DF, as well as Italian combat trainers Aermacchi M-346. Military transport aircraft are represented by American, Spanish, Brazilian and Polish aircraft.


To replace the MiG-29 and Su-22, Warsaw intends to purchase the American F-35 multirole fighters of the fifth generation. At the same time, representatives of the Polish opposition expressed dissatisfaction with the high price of the contract, which amounts to $ 4,6 billion for 32 aircraft. In their opinion, the price for the allies in Eastern Europe could be more comfortable. What choice wears political character, Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki confirmed:

This means that the shadow of Russian domination in this part of Europe, which we got rid of 30 years ago, has moved further away from Poland.

Note that while Poland is still in no hurry to get rid of age-old, but reliable Soviet fighters. After the scandalous story of the arrest of Protasevich, the Belarusian aircraft factories will most likely be closed for the repair of Polish MiG-29s, but Warsaw is quite coping with the forces of its aircraft company No. 2 (Wojskowe Zaklady Lomicze 2, Bydgoszcz), which received a contract for the modernization and extension of their operation until at least 2028. The flight simulator for Soviet fighter pilots was supplied by the Polish company KenBIT Koenig i Wspolnicy Spolka Jawna.

Thus, Warsaw, unlike Sofia, does not spare funds for the renewal of its air forces, and therefore the final replacement of Soviet aircraft with American ones will gradually take place in them.
  • Author:
  • Used photographs: Captain of the Bulgarian Air Force Dimo ​​Vichev / airforce.mod.bg
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. steelmaker Online steelmaker
    steelmaker 10 June 2021 14: 15
    0
    contract price, which is $ 4,6 billion for 32 aircraft.

    "To my evil grandmother, I will frostbite my ears." That's good. Less money will remain for the nasty things of Russia and Belarus.
  2. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
    zzdimk 10 June 2021 17: 10
    +1
    Quote: steel maker
    "at a contract price of $ 4,6 billion for 32 aircraft."
    "To my evil grandmother, I will frostbite my ears." That's good. Less money will remain for the nasty things of Russia and Belarus.

    They will print some more. And they will give it at a terrible percentage. Money worthless is killing the economies of real countries.

Советские самолеты на службе НАТО ждет разная судьба


Последние дни оказались богаты на происшествия с истребителями МиГ-29: то один самолет исчезнет с радаров над Черным морем, то другой получит по фюзеляжу «дружественный огонь» из авиационной пушки во время учений. Самое примечательное во всем этом то, что эти истребители советского производства стоят на службе у стран, входящих в блок НАТО, и те почему-то не спешат от них отказываться.


В первом упомянутом нами случае крушение потерпел МиГ-29 ВВС Болгарии. Во время учений Североатлантического альянса под названием «Шабла-21» 9 июня с самолетом была потеряна связь, и он исчез с радаров над акваторией Черного моря. В связи с ЧП маневры приостановлены, ведутся поиски упавшего истребителя. Второй случай произошел в Польше намного раньше, 14 мая, но СМИ сообщили о нем только сейчас. По данным издания Onet, также во время учений один из пилотов МиГ-29 по ошибке обстрелял своего товарища на таком же самолете. Несмотря на то, что истребителю досталось из пушки калибром 30 мм, он смог спокойно приземлиться, а его пилот не пострадал. Впрочем, официально польское военное ведомство данную информацию не подтверждает. Государственная комиссия ведет расследование обстоятельств получения боевым самолетом повреждений.

МиГ-29 представляет собой многоцелевой истребитель четвертого поколения советского производства. МиГ-29 представляет собой надежный и проверенный в деле легкий фронтовой истребитель. Он состоит на вооружении во многих странах – помимо России, в Украине, Белоруссии, Казахстане, Азербайджане, Сирии, Иране, Индии, Сербии, КНДР, Египте, Йемене и других. В частности, имеются они и в составе ВВС Болгарии и Польши, где оказались благодаря их участию в Варшавском договоре. Сегодня, после распада социалистического блока и вступления этих стран в состав Евросоюза и НАТО, София и Варшава демонстрируют два противоположных подхода к использованию унаследованной ими советской техники.

ВВС Болгарии


Следует отметить, что Военно-воздушные Силы стран Восточной Европы представляют собой причудливую смесь из образов советской и западной авиатехники. Так, например, в Болгарии до 2015 года сохранились древние истребители третьего поколения МиГ-21, которые впоследствии были сняты с вооружения и проданы румынам. Также ВВС этой страны вооружены 12 МиГ-29 и 4 учебными МиГ-29 УБ, 14 штурмовиками Су-25УК и Су-25УБК. Военно-транспортная авиация представлена сборной солянкой из самолетов советского, французского, чешского, итальянского и швейцарского производства.


Штурмовик Су-25 ВВС Болгарии

Понятное дело, что капитальная зависимость Софии от советской/российской техники вызывает большое неудовольствие в руководстве НАТО. С штурмовиками Су-25 вообще была любопытная история. По политическим мотивам болгары уклонялись от обращения за помощью в ремонте возрастных самолетов к Москве, потому им пришлось иметь дело с Минском. Су-25 были отправлены на модернизацию в «558-й авиационный ремонтный завод» в Барановичах. И то, до последнего момента власти страны опасались иметь дело с Белоруссией из-за риска попасть под вторичные санкции Евросоюза. Интересно, как Болгария будет выкручиваться теперь, когда «Батька» попал в изоляцию со стороны Запада?

Главной проблемой Софии, если называть вещи своими именами, является ее бедность. Быть может, болгары и не против были бы пересесть на американские самолеты, но просто не могут себе этого позволить. Так, например, два года назад президент Радев наложил вето на сделку по приобретению истребителей F-16 на сумму в 1,256 миллиарда евро, которые должны были заменить наши МиГ-29. Формальным поводом для этого стало то, что в договоре нечетко были прописаны гарантии и постгарантийное обслуживание. В действительности же восемь F-16 Block 70/72 обошлись бы Болгарии слишком дорого. Американские дельцы впаривали своему восточноевропейскому союзнику истребитель четвертого поколения по цене истребителя пятого поколения F-35, при этом навязывая ему массу дополнительных платных услуг. Руководство страны оказалось умнее и от такого делового предложения отказалось.

В сухом остатке выходит, что Болгарии выгоднее продолжать до упора эксплуатировать старую, но надежную советскую технику. Однако ухудшение отношений ЕС с Россией, а теперь еще и с Белоруссией, ставит под большой вопрос перспективы ее боевой авиации.

ВВС Польши


Иной подход демонстрирует Варшава. Польские ВВС представляют собой еще большую солянку, чем болгарские. Тут соседствуют советские истребители МиГ-29А и МиГ-29УБ, истребители-бомбардировщики Су-22М4К и Су-22УМ3К, американские многоцелевые истребители F-16C «Jastrząb» и F-16D «Jastrząb», польские учебные самолеты PZL-130TC-1 Orlik и TS-11 Iskra bis DF, а также итальянские учебно-боевые Aermacchi M-346. Военно-транспортная авиация представлена американскими, испанскими, бразильскими и польскими самолетами.


На замену МиГ-29 и Су-22 Варшава намерена приобрести американские многоцелевые истребители пятого поколения F-35. При этом представители польской оппозиции выражали неудовольствие высокой ценой контракта, которая составляет 4,6 миллиарда долларов за 32 самолета. По их мнению, цена для союзников в Восточной Европе могла бы быть более комфортной. То, что выбор носит политический характер, подтвердил премьер-министр страны Матеуш Моравецкий:

Это означает, что тень российского господства в этой части Европы, от которой мы избавились 30 лет тому назад, отодвинулась от Польши еще дальше.

Отметим, что при этом Польша все-таки не торопится избавляться от возрастных, но надежных советских истребителей. После скандальной истории с задержанием Протасевича белорусские авиазаводы, скорее всего, будут закрыты для ремонта польских МиГ-29, однако Варшава вполне справляется силами своего авиапредприятия № 2 (Wojskowe Zaklady Lomicze 2, г. Быдгощ), которое получило контракт на модернизацию и продление сроков их эксплуатации минимум до 2028 года. Летный тренажер для пилотов советских истребителей поставила польская же компания KenBIT Koenig i Wspolnicy Spolka Jawna.

Таким образом, Варшава, в отличие от Софии, не жалеет средств на обновление своих ВВС, и потому в них постепенно произойдет окончательная замена советских самолетов на американские.
  • Автор:
  • Использованы фотографии: Капитан ВВС Болгарии Димо Вичев/airforce.mod.bg
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 10 июня 2021 14:15
    0
    ценой контракта, которая составляет 4,6 миллиарда долларов за 32 самолета.

    "На зло бабушке, отморожу уши." Вот и хорошо. Меньше денег на гадости России и Белоруссии останется.
  2. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
    zzdimk 10 июня 2021 17:10
    +1
    Цитата: сталевар
    "ценой контракта, которая составляет 4,6 миллиарда долларов за 32 самолета. "
    "На зло бабушке, отморожу уши." Вот и хорошо. Меньше денег на гадости России и Белоруссии останется.

    Они ещё напечатают. И под жуткий процент дадут. Ничего не стоящие деньги убивают экономику реальных стран.