Will Russia's new project be able to challenge Boeing and Airbus




Through thorns to world markets

Russian and Chinese aircraft manufacturing, despite fundamentally different economic the dynamics of the two countries, has similar features. At one time, both states relied primarily on the development of military aviation. This was dictated by the rules of the Cold War: “enemies around” and even the closest “comrades” could turn out to be not comrades at all tomorrow. A striking example is the complex Soviet-Chinese or Soviet-Yugoslav relations.

Western countries were more pragmatic, so to speak. Their aircraft manufacturers have always tried to make a profit, and without the development of civil aircraft manufacturing, to put it mildly, it is hard to do, because the market for passenger aircraft is incomparably larger than the market for military aircraft. Therefore, now both Russia and China really want to declare themselves. In the first case, everything is more or less clear: there was once a very serious civilian aircraft industry in a deep crisis, and the thesis of "restoration of the aircraft industry" suggests that everything will be, at least, no worse than before. For China, its own passenger plane is also a matter of prestige. As well as scientifictechnical touched for the future conquest of heights.

If we talk about economic feasibility (making a profit, roughly speaking), then the situation for both countries is complicated. Western giants divided the customers: Boeing and Airbus. According to reports, the foreign market was contracted by these companies by 75% until 2025. Both offer modern, reliable and economical cars. There is no reason to doubt the potential of the Boeing 787 Dreamliner - the latest wide-body jet passenger aircraft, the construction of which is widely used composite materials. Despite all the complexity of the design, in June 2018, Boeing built 708 of these machines. Very soon, their number can equal the total number of domestic Tu-154s built over all decades. I don’t really want to talk about the Sukhoi Superjet 100 with its total number of cars built in just over a hundred and a half. If we recall specifically about wide-body aircraft (with two aisles between passenger seats), then the situation here for Russia looks very sad. IL-96 was produced in a series of 30 aircraft: apart from Cuba, none of the foreign customers bought a car.



Chiniz Rus Bhai Bhai

In such circumstances, when de facto neither Russia nor China have their own modern wide-body, a very ambitious project CR929 appeared. It is not often written about by the media at all, so it makes sense to say what kind of car it is. The parties signed the agreement on cooperation in this area in 2014, when Vladimir Putin visited Beijing. The model of the winged car was first shown at the China Airshow-2016 international aerospace show, and in 2017 it got its current name CR929, where C is China, R - Russia. The Russian-Chinese wide-body aircraft will be designed for 250-300 passengers. It is being developed by the Russian United Aircraft Corporation and the Chinese COMAC. The basic model will be called CR 929-600, the younger version - CR 929-500, and the older - CR 929-700. The latter will receive 320 seats. At the first stage, they want to supply the aircraft with Western-made engines: General Electric or Rolls-Royce. After 2030, it is planned to switch to the promising Russian PD-35 engine.



If we catch up with the West with the PD-14 control system, then with PD-35 we want to overtake the West. System has extremely high performance requirements.

- the managing director of Perm OEC-STAR JSC Sergey Ostapenko told reporters.

This, of course, is a very optimistic assessment, especially when you consider that European and American engine building are now far ahead of the Russian one and they all understand this very well. Suffice it to say that the Sukhoi Superjet uses the French, and the main hope of domestic aviation - the MS-21 airliner - American "engines". In the future, they want to install the aforementioned Russian PD-14s on the last aircraft, but this is clearly not the main thing for its creators now. In the case of PD-35, the announced date is indicative. Even if we assume that the engine will be ready by 2030, it is not known what competitors from different countries will be able to offer at that time.

Price issue

The cost of a wide-body aircraft development program is such that Russia would hardly be able to pull the project on its own. China, apparently, needs technology. Now the cost of developing an aircraft is estimated at about 13-20 billion dollars. Russia and China participate in the project on an equal footing, investing at 50% of the total cost. Chinese COMAC intends to develop and release a metal-composite fuselage, the United Aircraft Corporation will create and will produce a composite wing. At the same time, they want to carry out the final assembly of the liner in Shanghai.

Frankly speaking, if we remove the promising Russian engines from the list, the plane does not appear to be Russian-Chinese, but Chinese-Russian. Cooperation with China and cooperation with India are completely different categories. The Chinese are not just pragmatic, they have vast experience in aircraft manufacturing and a number of key technologies that are needed specifically for the development of a passenger aircraft. This, however, is not as fundamental as another question. Namely - commercial appeal. It is assumed that the first cars customers will receive in about 2026-27. The cost of CR929 should be 113,5-117,8 million dollars. For comparison, the price of the Boeing-777 reaches $ 300 million. Earlier it was announced that the Russian-Chinese airliner will be no less than 50% composed of composite materials, so that its weight will be lower than that of passenger aircraft of comparable size and purpose. A definite plus, but this is still just a theory.



In practice, it turns out that neither Russia nor China have the experience of building new economical wide-body aircraft. And it will be hard to say whether the “first pancake will be lumpy”. But it can be said with almost complete certainty that almost nothing threatens the dominance of Boeing and Airbus in the wide-body aircraft market (except for competition between them). By the way, in 2016, Airbus and Boeing presented 20-year forecasts for the world liner market. Europeans estimated the need for air carriers in 33 aircraft (of which 500, or 9500%, are wide-body), Americans - in 29 (37% of them are wide-body). Accordingly, 240% and 24% of demand will come from narrow-body airliners such as the Boeing 71 MAX and Airbus A76neo. Will there be a place in this situation for the new Russian-Chinese aircraft?

There is almost no doubt that if the aircraft appears, Chinese companies will actively buy it, and the account will be kept on hundreds of cars. In this regard, a telling story with the promising Chinese narrow-body Comac C919, which has already been purchased in batches of a total of more than 750 cars, while almost all customers were from the Middle Kingdom. In Russia, where the default market is incomparably smaller, you can’t count on such a “miracle”. To squeeze out Boeing and Airbus in the European or American market, most likely, as we have already said, will not work either. But at a low price the aircraft may be of interest to the so-called countries. Third World: Africa, some countries in Asia and Latin America.
  • Author:
  • Used photos: http://sohucs.com
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Сможет ли новый проект России бросить вызов «Боингу» и «Аэробусу»



Через тернии к мировым рынкам



Российское и китайское авиастроение, несмотря на принципиально разную экономическую динамику двух стран, имеет схожие черты. В свое время оба государства сделали ставку, прежде всего, на развитие военной авиации. Это диктовалось правилами Холодной войны: «вокруг враги» и даже самые близкие «товарищи» могли завтра оказаться и не товарищами вовсе. Яркий пример — сложные советско-китайские или советско-югославские отношения.

Западные страны оказались более прагматичными, если можно так выразиться. Их авиастроители всегда пытались получить прибыль, а без развития гражданского авиастроения сделать это, мягко говоря, тяжело, ведь рынок пассажирских самолетов несравнимо больше рынка боевой авиации. Поэтому сейчас и Россия, и Китай очень хотят заявить о себе. В первом случае все более или менее понятно: некогда вполне серьезное гражданское самолетостроение в глубоком кризисе, а тезис о «восстановлении авиастроения» предполагает, что все будет, как минимум, не хуже, чем раньше. Для Китая свой собственный пассажирский самолет — тоже вопрос престижа. А также научно-технический задел для будущего покорения высот.

Если говорить об экономической целесообразности (получения прибыли, грубо говоря), то ситуация для обеих стран сложная. Заказчиков поделили между собой западные гиганты: «Боинг» и «Аэробус». По имеющимся сведениям, внешний рынок законтрактован этими компаниями на 75% до 2025 года. Обе предлагают современные, надежные и экономичные машины. Нет оснований сомневаться в потенциале Boeing 787 Dreamliner — новейшего широкофюзеляжного реактивного пассажирского самолета, в конструкции которого широко использованы композиционные материалы. Несмотря на всю сложность конструкции, на июнь 2018 года «Боинг» построил 708 таких машин. Очень скоро их количество может сравняться с общим числом построенных за все десятилетия отечественных Ту-154. Про Sukhoi Superjet 100 с его общим числом построенных машин в чуть более полторы сотни говорить не очень хочется. Если же вспомнить конкретно о широкофюзеляжных самолетах (с двумя проходами между пассажирскими креслами), то здесь ситуация для России выглядит совсем печально. Ил-96 произвели серией в 30 самолетов: кроме Кубы никто из зарубежных заказчиков машину не купил.



Чайниз руси бхай бхай

В таких условиях, когда де-факто ни Россия, ни Китай не имеют своего современного широкофюзеляжника, появился очень амбициозный проект CR929. О нем вообще не часто пишут СМИ, поэтому есть смысл сказать, что это за машина. Само соглашение о кооперации в этой сфере стороны подписали в 2014 году, когда Владимир Путин посетил Пекин. Модель крылатой машины впервые показали на международном аэрокосмическом салоне China Airshow-2016, а в 2017-м она получила свое теперешнее название CR929, где С это China, R — Russia. Российско-китайский широкофюзеляжный самолет будет рассчитан на 250—300 пассажиров. Его разрабатывает российская «Объединенная авиастроительная корпорация» и китайская COMAC. Базовую модель назовут CR 929—600, младшую версию — CR 929—500, а старшую — CR 929—700. Последняя получит 320 кресел. На первом этапе самолет хотят снабдить двигателями западного производства: General Electric или Rolls-Royce. После 2030 года предполагается перейти на перспективный российский двигатель ПД-35.



Если с системой управления ПД-14 мы догоняем Запад, то с ПД-35 мы хотим Запад обогнать. К системе заявлены крайне высокие требования по характеристикам

– сказал журналистам управляющий директор Пермского АО «ОДК-СТАР» Сергей Остапенко.

Это, конечно, очень оптимистичная оценка, особенно, если учесть, что европейское и американское двигателестроение сейчас сильно опережает российское и все это прекрасно понимают. Достаточно сказать, что «Сухой Суперджет» использует французские, а главная надежда отечественной авиации — авиалайнер МС-21 — американские «движки». В перспективе хотят устанавливать на последний самолет вышеупомянутые российские ПД-14, но это сейчас явно не главное для его создателей. В случае с ПД-35 показательна озвученная дата. Даже если предположить, что двигатель будет готов к 2030 году, неизвестно, что на тот момент смогут предложить конкуренты из разных стран.

Цена вопроса

Стоимость программы разработки широкофюзеляжного самолета такова, что Россия вряд ли смогла бы потянуть проект самостоятельно. Китаю же, судя по всему, нужны технологии. Сейчас стоимость разработки самолета оценивают в около 13-20 миллиардов долларов. Россия и Китай участвуют в проекте на паритетных началах, инвестируя по 50% от общей стоимости. Китайская COMAC намерена разработать и выпустить метало-композитный фюзеляж, Объединенная авиастроительная корпорация создаст, и будет производить композитное крыло. При этом окончательную сборку лайнера хотят проводить в Шанхае.

Откровенно говоря, если убрать из списка перспективные российские двигатели, самолет видится не российско-китайским, а китайско-российским. Сотрудничество с Китаем и сотрудничество с той же Индией — совершенно разные категории. Китайцы не просто прагматичны, а обладают гигантским опытом авиастроения и целым рядом ключевых технологий, нужных конкретно для разработки пассажирского самолета. Это все, впрочем, не настолько принципиально, как другой вопрос. А именно — коммерческая привлекательность. Предполагается, что первые машины заказчики получат примерно в 2026-27 годах. Стоимость CR929 должна составить 113,5-117,8 миллионов долларов. Для сравнения цена Boeing-777 достигает 300 миллионов долларов. Ранее было заявлено, что российско-китайский лайнер будет не меньше чем на 50% состоять из композиционных материалов, благодаря чему его масса окажется ниже, чем у сравнимых по размерам и назначению пассажирских самолетов. Несомненный плюс, но это все пока что лишь теория.



На практике же получается, что ни Россия, ни Китай опыта строительства новых экономичных широкофюзеляжных самолетов не имеют. И будет ли «первый блин — комом» — сказать тяжело. Зато можно почти с полной уверенностью заявить, что доминированию «Боинга» и «Аэробус» на рынке широкофюзеляжных самолетов почти ничего не угрожает (кроме конкуренции между ними самими). К слову, в 2016 году Airbus и Boeing представили 20-летние прогнозы мирового рынка лайнеров. Европейцы оценили потребность авиаперевозчиков в 33 500 самолетов (из них 9500 штук, или 29%, — широкофюзеляжные), американцы — в 37 240 (из них широкофюзеляжными является 24% крылатые машин). Соответственно, 71% и 76% спроса придется на узкофюзеляжные лайнеры, такие как Boeing 737 MAX и Airbus A320neo. Найдется ли место в этой ситуации новому российско-китайскому самолету?

Можно почти не сомневаться, что если самолет появится, его будут активно покупать китайские компании, и счет будет вестись на сотни машин. В этой связи показательная история с перспективным китайским узкофюзеляжником Comac C919, который уже закупили партиями в общей сложности более чем 750 машин, при этом почти все заказчики были из Поднебесной. В России, где рынок по умолчанию несравнимо меньше, рассчитывать на такое «чудо» не приходится. Потеснить Boeing и Airbus на европейском или американском рынке, скорее всего, как мы уже говорили, тоже не выйдет. Зато при низкой цене самолет может быть интересен странам т.н. третьего мира: Африки, некоторым странам Азии и Латинской Америки.
Автор: Илья Легат
Использованы фотографии: http://sohucs.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти