US and China want to end Russian Arctic

Our country historically considers the Arctic to be its sphere of influence. However, things could change soon. The United States and China have openly challenged Russia's traditional “Arctic rule”. What is this connected with and what can lead to?



There are plenty of reasons for interest in gaining control of the High North.

At firstThe shortest route between the Russian Federation and the United States of America runs through the Arctic. In the days of the USSR, it was the North that was the territory of the Cold War itself in all senses of the word. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the Arctic was largely demilitarized, but gradually everything is back to square one.

Secondly, thanks to the gradual melting of the ice cover, great prospects are opening up along the Northern Sea Route, which is the shortest waterway between Europe and Asia. Freight through the NSR is growing every year, thanks to its advantages over the Suez Canal due to lower transportation costs. However, to ensure reliable northern transit, a serious icebreaking fleet is needed, which so far only Russia has.

Thirdly, The Arctic is still an untouched pantry of natural resources: oil and gas, gold and silver, copper and diamonds, titanium and other rare elements.

Almost a hundred years ago, the Arctic was divided between the five countries that have claims to it due to its geographical location - the USA, USSR, Canada, Denmark and Norway. Due to the colossal length of the coastline, the USSR received the largest piece of the North, and the Russian Federation inherited it. According to the Convention on the Law of the Sea, with the exception of 12 miles of territorial waters, the adjacent 200 nautical miles are free shipping areas, but Russia controls natural resources. However, these resources prevent Washington and Beijing from sleeping peacefully.

The US Navy included in the training program the development of skills in the Far North. The US Coast Guard is insisting on its presence on the Northern Sea Route, ostensibly to assist distressed ships. However, the Coast Guard has only 2 icebreakers, and only 1 belongs to the heavy class, and it is already forty years old. For comparison, the Russian icebreaking fleet has over 40 units. The United States expects the adoption of a new program to build 6 modern icebreakers. The cost of each will exceed $ 900 million. The first of the series will be launched already in 2023. Washington is ready to make the necessary efforts to take control of the short sea route "from the Varangians to the Americans."

But do not sleep in the Middle Kingdom. The squinted eyes of Asian partners look with great interest at the colossal reserves of the resources they need so much. More than 400 gas fields have been discovered in the Arctic alone. And how many are still not discovered? Despite the absence of its borders there, Beijing embarked on the implementation of Arctic projects, making it clear about its global ambitions. Experts comment on Chinese initiatives this way:

They consider themselves to be a state close to the Arctic and interested in it, and they want none of the coastal states to block their access to the Arctic. They want to become something like an equal partner. Now they are studying their economic opportunities to be guaranteed a seat at the negotiating table on the future use of the Arctic


In addition to the extraction of natural resources, China became interested in the development of the NSR, turning it into the Northern Silk Road. The route “from the Varangians to the Chinese” is more reliable and much shorter than the alternative of transit through the Suez Canal, which, moreover, may be blocked for them under certain circumstances. To ensure safe shipping, China itself began to build its own icebreaking fleet. Next year, an icebreaker with the speaking name Xuelong 2 - "Snow Dragon" will be launched in Shanghai. The range of its course will be 14 nautical miles, ice up to one and a half meters thick will obey him.

All these preparations should not be ignored by Moscow.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Alexander Ra Offline Alexander Ra
    Alexander Ra (Alexander) 9 August 2018 08: 31
    +1
    The implementation by China of its globalist plans will sharply bring an ecological catastrophe - on their territory they are ruthless to nature, they will also develop new fields. If their plans are successful, we will be replaced and end up on the reservation. When will we wake up from a 1000-year-old dream? Ancestors said: "God, do not have time to me to death."

США и Китай хотят покончить с русской Арктикой

Наша страна исторически считает Арктику сферой своего влияния. Однако вскоре все может измениться. США и Китай бросили открытый вызов традиционному «арктическому владычеству» России. С чем же это связано и к чему может привести?


Причин для интереса к обретению контроля над Крайним Севером предостаточно.



Во-первых, через Арктику пролегает самый короткий путь между Российской Федерацией и Соединенными Штатами Америки. Во времена существования СССР именно Север был территорией самой «холодной войны» во всех смыслах этого слова. После распада Советского союза Арктика в значительной степени была демилитаризована, но постепенно все возвращается на круги своя.

Во-вторых, благодаря постепенному таянию ледяного покрова все большие перспективы открываются у Северного морского пути, который является кратчайшей водной артерией между Европой и Азией. Грузопоток через СМП растет с каждым годом, благодаря его преимуществам перед Суэцким каналом из-за меньших временных затрат на транспортировку. Однако для надежного обеспечения северного транзита необходим серьезный ледокольный флот, который пока есть только у России.

В-третьих, Арктика – это пока нетронутая кладовая природных ресурсов: нефти и газа, золота и серебра, меди и алмазов, титана и прочих редких элементов.

Почти сто лет назад Арктика была поделена между пятью странами, имеющими на нее претензии благодаря географическому расположению – США, СССР, Канадой, Данией и Норвегией. Благодаря колоссальной протяженности береговой линии, СССР получил наибольший кусок Севера, а Российская Федерация его унаследовала. Согласно Конвенции о морском праве, за исключением 12 миль территориальных вод, прилегающие 200 морских миль являются территорией свободного судоходства, но контроль за природными ресурсами осуществляется Россией. Однако эти ресурсы не дают спокойно спать Вашингтону и Пекину.

Военно-морской флот США включил в программу обучения отработку навыков действий в условиях Крайнего Севера. Береговая охрана США настаивает на своем присутствии на Северном морском пути якобы для оказания помощи терпящим бедствие судам. Однако у Береговой охраны ледоколов всего 2, причем только 1 относится к классу тяжелых, и ему уже сорок лет. Для сравнения, российский ледокольный флот насчитывает свыше 40 единиц. В Штатах ожидают принятия новой программы по строительству 6 современных ледоколов. Стоимость каждого превысит 900 миллионов долларов. Первый из серии будет спущен на воду уже в 2023 году. Вашингтон готов приложить необходимые усилия, чтобы взять под контроль короткий морской путь «из варяг в американцы».

Но не дремлют и в Поднебесной. Прищуренные глаза азиатских партнеров с большим интересом смотрят на колоссальные запасы столь необходимых им ресурсов. Одних только месторождений газа в Арктике открыто свыше 400. А сколько еще осталось не открытых? Несмотря на отсутствие там своих границ, Пекин приступил к реализации арктических проектов, давая понять о своих глобальных амбициях. Эксперты так комментируют китайские инициативы:

Они считают себя государством, близким к Арктике и заинтересованным в ней, и они хотят, чтобы ни одно из прибрежных государств не закрыло им доступ к Арктике. Они хотят стать кем-то вроде равноправного партнера. Сейчас они изучают свои экономические возможности, чтобы гарантированно получить место за столом переговоров о будущем использовании Арктики


Помимо добычи природных ресурсов, КНР заинтересовала в развитии СМП, превратив его в «Северный шелковый путь». Путь «из варяг в китайцы» надежнее и значительно короче, чем альтернатива транзита через Суэцкий канал, которая, к тому же, может быть при определенных обстоятельствах для них перекрыта. Чтобы обеспечить себе безопасное судоходство, Китай сам приступил к строительству собственного ледокольного флота. Уже в следующем году в Шанхае будет спущен на воду ледокол с говорящим названием Xuelong 2 - «Снежный дракон». Дальность его хода составит 14 000 морских миль, ему будет покоряться лед толщиной до полутора метров.

Все эти приготовления не должны быть обойдены вниманием Москвы.
Автор: Сергей Маржецкий
Использованы фотографии: http://vvaleritur.ru

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Александр Ра (Александр) 9 августа 2018 08:31
    +1
    Реализация Китаем своих глобалистских планов резко приблизит экологическую катастрофу – на своей территории они безжалостны к природе, так же будут осваивать и новые поля. В случае успеха их планов мы будем замещены и окажемся в резервации. Когда мы очнемся от 1000-летнего сна? Предки говорили: «Боже, не успи мя вусмерть».