New Glenn Rocket: A Media That Could Crush Ilona Mask


Billionaire vs. Billionaire



The main opponent of Ilona Mask is not Russia, Europe or China, but the richest man on Earth. This, of course, is about the founder of Amazon named Jeff Bezos. He is older than Musk: Bezos is now 54th, Ilona - 47. And, according to some journalists, he is not as “agile” and initiative as Ilon Musk. Bezos was not even jokingly or seriously compared once to a turtle. However, all this did not prevent him from becoming the richest man in history! In 2018, in the Forbes ranking of billionaires, he took first place with a fantastic capital of $ 149,8 billion.

Jeff Bezos spends his fortune not only on “beautiful life”, but also on space exploration. Moreover, the billionaire can also be considered an innovator, because his reusable New Shepard rocket from Blue Origin successfully returned to Earth, and this happened before the first successful landing of the first stage of Falcon 9. On the other hand, the New Shepard system is designed for suborbital flights, while Falcon 9 is a full-fledged heavy-class space launch vehicle, which, by the way, is now the most demanded on the market. Generally from all existing missiles.


Cheap, reliable and actively promoted on the international launch market, the Falcon 9 has become a real headache for competitors who, as it now appears, have lost their market share forever. But some people do not despair and are ready to challenge the Mask, even taking into account the fact that, in fact, they never competed with him. It's about Blue Origin.

Reusability as a brand


Let several similar names not bother you: New Shepard and New Glenn are fundamentally different designs. The prospective New Glenn rocket should be the first "serious" Blue Origin rocket. Early design work on it started in 2012, and in September 2015, Blue Origin officially announced the development. In September 2016, Blue Origin specialists unveiled the design of the rocket and reported its official name - New Glenn.

Before us is a promising two- or three-stage heavy launch vehicle. It is assumed that it will be able to display up to 45 tons of cargo into a low reference orbit. At Falcon 9 FT, excluding the return of the first stage, this figure is almost 23 tons. SpaceX has a super-heavy Falcon Heavy, whose payload ratings are even higher. But do not forget that this is essentially a highly specialized superheavy launch vehicle, which will be used for single launches, such as, for example, launching heavy military satellites into orbit. For most commercial tasks, the power of the Falcon Heavy is completely redundant, and the launch price, even in the most optimistic scenario, will be much higher than that of the Falcon 9, since the Falcon Heavy rocket is much larger and more complex.


New Glenn will be able to claim the same market share as the Falcon 9. Yes, it is larger and heavier, but conceptually very similar to the work of Mask engineers. The presented images of New Glenn demonstrate the engineering "minimalism" inherent in the Falcon 9 and the Soviet "Zenith". Minimum blocks, maximum profitability. In theory, the assembly of such a rocket can be carried out relatively quickly and inexpensively.

The most important feature of the rocket, which in itself will make it a brand, is the notorious reusability. Re-use, of course, as in the case of the Falcon 9, it will not be possible to use the entire rocket, but only its first stage. In the animated video shown by Blue Origin, you can see the vertical take-off of the New Glenn rocket, the output of the payload into orbit and the landing of the first stage on the ocean automatic platform. Everything, like SpaceX.


Methane rocket


So why then the creation of Jeff Bezos will be better than the Falcon 9 rocket? Indeed, a higher load in itself can hardly be called an advantage. In fact, the trump card in the sleeve of Bezos may be that active work on New Glenn began later than on Falcon 9. When the methane revolution, in fact, had already taken place, although the promising methane engines had not yet managed to squeeze their kerosene “brothers”. Recall that Falcon 9 engines called Merlin use a kerosene / liquid oxygen fuel pair and in this regard are no different from Russian ones. Although Proton-M engines use toxic heptyl, this is not for long, because soon this missile will be replaced with kerosene Angara.

The creators of New Glenn have almost exactly decided on the device of the rocket. In the first and second stages, they want to use a BE-4 of their own design, which uses a methane / liquid oxygen fuel pair. The advantages of this concept over kerosene engines are several:

- Methane is cheap and affordable. It can even be mined on other planets (this is if someone is going to fly to Mars, for example);

- The use of a methane scheme allows to reduce the amount of soot formed in the rocket engines and, in general, minimizes technical risks;

- A pair of liquid methane / liquid oxygen is characterized by a relatively high density, which saves on the design of tanks and a number of other systems of the launch vehicle;

- The temperature of the methane in the liquid state is sufficient to effectively ensure engine cooling.


More recently, new methane rocket engines were considered "unnecessary toys of the West." Like, the potential of our products will last for many decades ... and in general, Americans buy Russian RD-180 for their Atlas-5. But in 2018, the general director of the Russian Energomash Igor Arbuzov was not so optimistic. “Methane today meets these requirements (the requirements of the modern market. - Note. Reporter) to the greatest extent, since it has a more developed raw material base and surpasses kerosene in energy,” said the specialist. In July of this year, it became known that Russian engineers began to develop a methane engine for launch vehicles. The product will be called RD-169, and its testing can begin in a few years. However, you must understand that the degree of availability of BE-4 is incomparably higher. He was repeatedly tested and demonstrated to the public.

By the way, it was the methane rocket engine (Raptor) that Ilon Mask chose for his promising Big Falcon Rocket. It has already been tested, but here is another question, more complex. Big Falcon Rocket is a truly powerful superheavy rocket, the development of which even with the experienced SpaceX can take many years. So in theory, Blue Origin can catch up with the company Mask and overtake.

The only thing that confuses a bit is that News there is relatively little about New Glenn, although it cannot be said that there are none at all. This can be partially explained by the fact that Bezos’s company is now absorbed in the tourist New Shepard. Recall that one of his tests took place recently - in July 2018. The ship rose to a height of 100 kilometers, after which the capsule detached from it and successfully landed by parachute. Another mini-victory in the piggy bank of Jeff Bezos. Of course, bringing closer the first flight of New Glenn.
Author:
Photos used: https://ytimg.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Rocj Offline
    Rocj (Gera) 12 August 2018 11: 40
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    are you sure? maybe they have been there for a long time? and RD-180 is tomorrow for Russia ??
    Why are they so stubbornly building new spaceports? maybe for new missiles? this is just my opinion.
  2. voyaka uh-repa Offline
    voyaka uh-repa (Alexey) 12 August 2018 16: 58
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Bezos is a workaholic. He invests income in the expansion of his Amazon, from an online bookstore that has turned into a super-empire of online sales.
    Fortunately for Musk, Bezos is less attracted to mega-projects in space. I think that he climbed into space to provide massive satellite communications for his Amazon. Under his favorite Amazon came up with a cloud, and all sorts of microservice and much more.
  3. voyaka uh-repa Offline
    voyaka uh-repa (Alexey) 13 August 2018 10: 28
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    The article is good. Respect to the author. hi

Ракета New Glenn: носитель, который может сокрушить Илона Маска


Миллиардер против миллиардера

Главный противник Илона Маска — это не Россия, Европа или Китай, а самый богатый человек на Земле. Речь, конечно, идет об основателе Amazon по имени Джефф Безос. Он постарше Маска: Безосу сейчас 54-е, Илону — 47. А еще, по мнению ряда журналистов, он не столь «проворен» и инициативен как Илон Маск. Безоса даже не то в шутку, не то всерьез сравнили однажды с черепахой. Впрочем, все это не помешало ему стать ни много ни мало самым богатым человеком в истории! В 2018 году в рейтинге миллиардеров Forbes он занял первую строчку с фантастическим капиталом 149,8 миллиардов долларов.



Свое состояние Джефф Безос тратит не только на «красивую жизнь», но и на покорение космоса. Более того, миллиардера тоже можно считать инноватором, ведь это его многоразовая ракета New Shepard от Blue Origin успешно вернулась обратно на Землю, причем произошло это еще до первой успешной посадки первой ступени Falcon 9. С другой стороны, система New Shepard предназначена для суборбитальных полетов, в то время как Falcon 9 — полноценная космическая ракета-носитель тяжелого класса, которая, к слову, сейчас является самой востребованной на рынке. Вообще из всех существующих ракет.


Дешевая, надежная и активно продвигаемая на международном рынке запусков Falcon 9 стала настоящей головной болью для конкурентов, которые, как сейчас видится, потеряли свою долю рынка навсегда. Но некоторые люди не отчаиваются и готовы бросить вызов Маску, даже с учетом того, что они, по сути, никогда с ним и не конкурировали. Речь идет про Blue Origin.

Многоразовость как бренд

Пусть несколько схожие названия вас не смущают: New Shepard и New Glenn принципиально разные разработки. Перспективная ракета New Glenn должна стать первой «серьезной» ракетой Blue Origin. Ранние проектные работы над ней стартовали в 2012 году, а в сентябре 2015 года Blue Origin официально объявила о разработке. В сентябре 2016 года специалисты Blue Origin обнародовали дизайн ракеты и сообщили ее официальное название — New Glenn.

Перед нами перспективная двух- или трехступенчатая тяжелая ракета-носитель. Предполагается, что на низкую опорную орбиту она сможет выводить до 45 тонн груза. У Falcon 9 FT без учета возвращения первой ступени данный показатель равен почти 23 тоннам. У SpaceX есть сверхтяжелая Falcon Heavy, показатели грузоподъемности которой еще выше. Но не стоит забывать, что это по сути узскоспециализированная сверхтяжелая ракета-носитель, которую будут применять для единичных запусков, таких, например, как вывод на орбиту тяжелых военных спутников. Для большей части коммерческих задач мощность Falcon Heavy совершенно избыточна, а цена запусков даже при самых оптимистичных раскладах будет гораздо выше, чем у Falcon 9, так как ракета Falcon Heavy намного крупнее и сложнее.


New Glenn сможет претендовать на ту же долю рынка, что и Falcon 9. Да, она крупнее и тяжелее, но концептуально очень похожа на творение инженеров Маска. Представленные изображения New Glenn демонстрируют инженерный «минимализм», свойственный Falcon 9 и советскому «Зениту». Минимум блоков, максимум экономичности. В теории сборку такой ракеты можно будет осуществлять относительно быстро и недорого.

Самая же важная особенность ракеты, которая сама по себе сделает ее брендом — это пресловутая многоразовость. Использовать повторно, конечно, как и в случае с Falcon 9, можно будет не всю ракету, а только ее первую ступень. На показанном компанией Blue Origin анимационном ролике можно видеть вертикальный взлет ракеты New Glenn, вывод полезной нагрузки на орбиту и посадку первой ступени на океанскую автоматическую платформу. Все, как у SpaceX.


Метановая ракета

Так чем же тогда творение Джеффа Безоса будет лучше ракеты Falcon 9? Ведь более высокую нагрузку саму по себе сложно назвать преимуществом. На самом деле, козырем в рукаве Безоса может стать то, что активные работы над New Glenn начались позднее, чем над Falcon 9. Когда метановая революция по сути, уже свершилась, хотя перспективные метановые двигатели еще не успели потеснить своих керосиновых «собратьев». Напомним, что двигатели Falcon 9 под названием «Мерлин» используют топливную пару керосин/жидкий кислород и в этом плане ничем не отличаются от российских. Хотя двигатели «Протон-М» применяют токсичный гептил, это ненадолго, ведь скоро данную ракету заменят керосиновой «Ангарой».

Создатели New Glenn уже почти точно определились с устройством ракеты. На первой и второй ступени они хотят использовать BE-4 собственной разработки, который использует топливную пару метан/жидкий кислород. Преимуществ у этой концепции над керосиновыми двигателями несколько:

— Метан дешев и доступен. Его даже можно будет добывать на других планетах (это если кто-то собирается лететь на Марс, например);

— Применение метановой схемы позволяет снизить количество образующейся в двигателях ракеты сажи и, в целом, минимизирует технические риски;

— Пару жидкий метан/жидкий кислород характеризует относительно высокая плотность, позволяющая сэкономить на конструкции баков и целого ряда других систем ракеты-носителя;

— Температура метана в жидком состоянии достаточна для эффективного обеспечения охлаждения двигателя.


Еще недавно новые метановые ракетные двигатели считали «ненужными игрушками Запада». Мол, потенциала наших изделий хватит на много десятилетий…и вообще американцы покупают российские РД-180 для своих «Атлас-5». Но в 2018 году генеральный директор российского «Энергомаша» Игорь Арбузов был не столь оптимистичен. «В наибольшей степени этим требованиям (требованиям современного рынка. — Прим. Репортер) сегодня отвечает метан, поскольку он имеет более развитую сырьевую базу, а по энергетике превосходит керосин», — заявил специалист. В июле этого года стало известно, что российские инженеры приступили к разработке метанового двигателя для ракет-носителей. Изделие получит название РД-169, а его испытания могут начаться уже через несколько лет. Однако нужно понимать, что степень готовности BE-4 несравнимо выше. Его неоднократно испытывали и демонстрировали публике.

Кстати, именно метановый ракетный двигатель (Raptor) избрал для своей перспективной ракеты Big Falcon Rocket Илон Маск. Его уже тоже испытали, но здесь еще один вопрос, более сложный. Big Falcon Rocket это поистине могущественная сверхтяжелая ракета, разработка которой даже у опытной SpaceX может занять долгие годы. Так что в теории Blue Origin может догнать компанию Маска и перегнать.

Единственное что немного смущает это то, что новостей о New Glenn относительно немного, хотя и нельзя сказать, что их совсем нет. Отчасти это можно объяснить тем, что сейчас компания Безоса поглощена туристическим New Shepard. Напомним, что одно из его испытаний состоялось совсем недавно — в июле 2018-го. Корабль поднялся на высоту 100 километров, после чего от него отделилась капсула и успешно приземлилась на парашютах. Еще одна мини-победа в копилку Джеффа Безоса. Безусловно, приближающая первый полет New Glenn.
Автор: Илья Легат
Использованы фотографии: https://ytimg.com/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Rocj Офлайн
    Rocj (Gera) 12 августа 2018 11:40
    0
    а вы уверены? может они давно уже есть? и РД-180 уже для России завтрашний день??
    для чего так упорно строят новые космодромы? может для новых ракет? это лишь мое мнение.
  2. voyaka uh-repa Офлайн
    voyaka uh-repa (Alexey) 12 августа 2018 16:58
    +1
    Безос - работоголик. Он доходы вкладывает в расширение своего Амазона, из интернет книжного магазина превратившегося в супер-империю online продаж.
    К счастью для Маска, Безоса меньше тянет на мега-проекты в космонавтике. Я думаю, что в космос он полез, чтобы обеспечить массовую спутниковую связь для своего Амазон. Под его любимца Амазон придумали и cloud, и всякие microservice и еще много чего.
  3. voyaka uh-repa Офлайн
    voyaka uh-repa (Alexey) 13 августа 2018 10:28
    0
    Статья - хорошая. Респект автору. hi