Saudis may replace American anti-aircraft systems with Russian


On the eve of the British publication Al Arab reported that Riyadh is looking for an alternative to the American THAAD and Patriot missile systems. It should be noted that there are not so many such complexes in the world. At the same time, one of the leaders in the industry is our S-400. Thus, it is possible that Russian missile systems may appear in Saudi Arabia instead of the American ones, although this option at first glance seems incredible.


The reason why the Saudis have begun looking for an alternative to American missile defense systems is the regular drone attacks that began in 2019. The thing is that the same Patriot complex is "sharpened" for intercepting high-flying targets and is practically helpless in the event of UAV attacks. This is probably why the Americans so quickly removed the "reinforcement" provided to the Allies after the attack on the oil refineries. So that their systems do not completely spoil their reputation.

But back to a possible deal between Saudi Arabia and Russia. The contract for the purchase of the S-400 by the Saudis was discussed back in 2017. However, then Riyadh abandoned the deal under the threat of imposing sanctions.

In 2019, after a drone attack on the Abkaik and Khurais refineries, Vladimir Putin invited the Saudi king to return to the deal. Then, after the Americans “freeze” the supply of weapons to Saudi Arabia in early 2021, Riyadh confirmed the possibility of returning to the treaty. A little later, in February, Rostec also announced the resumption of negotiations on the supply of S-400s to Saudi Arabia.

It is not yet clear how the next attempt to conclude a deal will end, but it is obvious that our country has a chance to "squeeze" the United States out of the Middle East arms market.

Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
    Ulysses (Alexey) 6 October 2021 23: 12
    0
    As one hero of one of Bulgakov's works said:

    In line, sons of bitches, in line

    smile

Саудиты могут заменить американские зенитные комплексы на российские


Накануне британское издание Al Arab сообщило, что Эр-Рияд ищет альтернативу американским ракетным системам THAAD и Patriot. Стоит отметить, что подобных комплексов в мире не так много. При этом одним из лидеров в индустрии является наш С-400. Таким образом, не исключено, что в Саудовской Аравии вместо американских могут появиться российские ракетные системы, хоть это вариант на первый взгляд и кажется невероятным.


Причина, по которой саудиты начали поиск альтернативы американским системам ПРО, являются регулярные атаки дронов, начавшиеся в 2019 году. Все дело в том, что тот же комплекс Patriot «заточен» под перехват высоколетящих целей и практически беспомощен в случае атак БПЛА. Видимо поэтому американцы так быстро сняли «усиление», предоставленное союзникам после атаки на нефтеперерабатывающие заводы. Чтобы их системы окончательно не испортили свою репутацию.

Но вернемся к возможной сделке между Саудовской Аравией и Россией. Контракт о закупке саудитами С-400 обсуждался еще в 2017 году. Однако тогда Эр-Рияд отказался от сделки под угрозой введения санкций.

В 2019 году, после атаки дронов на НПЗ Абкайк и Xурайс, Владимир Путин предложил саудовскому королю вернуться к сделке. Затем, после «заморозки» американцами поставок оружия Саудовской Аравии в начале 2021 года, в Эр-Рияде подтвердили возможность возврата к договору. Немногим позднее, в феврале, о возобновлении переговоров о поставках С-400 в Саудовскую Аравию заявили и в «Ростехе».

Пока не ясно, чем закончится очередная попытка заключить сделку, но очевидно, что у нашей страны появился шанс «потеснить» США на ближневосточном рынке вооружений.

Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
    Улисс (Алексей) 6 октября 2021 23:12
    0
    Как говорил один герой одного произведения Булгакова:

    В очередь, сукины дети, в очередь

    smile