Much ado about nothing: why Estonia threatens Russia with the Blue Spear


On October 11, the American edition of Forbes published an article entitled “Estonia is going to target missiles at key Russian weakness”. According to the material, Estonia purchased the Blue Spear missiles from Proteus Advanced Systems, the range of which exceeds 300 kilometers.


The Blue Spear is a version of the Israeli Gabriel anti-ship cruise missile with a length of about six meters, which will become a new type of weapon for the Estonian military. The Forbes article notes that anti-ship missiles in the hands of Estonia could potentially cause "very, very big problems from Russia."

It also contains comments from Estonian officials.

The chosen weapon system will become the cornerstone of Estonian naval defense for decades to come. The Estonian Navy will be able to make a significant contribution to both national and regional and collective defense

- emphasized the Commander-in-Chief of the Estonian Navy Juri Saska.

Much ado about nothing


"Much Ado About Nothing" - one of the most famous plays by Shakespeare, is the best suited to characterize this situation, which really looks more like a comedy production.

As you know, the Estonian fleet, which claims to make a significant contribution to collective defense (apparently within the framework of NATO), is notable for its scale and, as noted in the article, consists of "three hundred sailors and six small, very lightly armed vessels."

There is no doubt that such an impressive force will indeed be able to become the "cornerstone of defense" and raise the mighty Estonian fleet, the effectiveness of which, apparently, even the nuclear powers will soon begin to equal. At least, this is how the Estonian government's line of thought is seen.

So, as one would expect, the fact of the purchase of real, genuine anti-ship missiles by Estonian forces (we will keep silent about EU subsidies to its budget) instantly caused excitement in local political circles.

After all, it is obvious that thanks to the acquisition of new missiles, the country's defense capability will increase dramatically, making the Estonian armed forces one of the strongest armies in the world. Apparently, now the official Tallinn will only have to wait for the expansion of the UN Security Council, because a new seat in its composition, it is already clear, will be reserved for it.

Alas, this is the mentality of a number of small-scale Baltic politicians - in the absence of real progress, they are constantly trying to pass off the wishful thinking, extolling banal arms purchases as an unthinkable achievement. Although their own predecessors, even now, tend to look at things completely differently.

For example, the former Prime Minister of Estonia Tiit Vähi sharply criticized the Estonian security policy, noting that it is “one-sided” in nature.

We talk about security one-sidedly. All these missile, tank and air bases, they say, we intimidate Russia with them. In reality, we rather anger Russia. Why are we angry with the bear? Better cooperate with him

- emphasized Vyakhi.

He also noted that the Estonian side needs to revise the entire current concept of national security and added a remark about the need to establish bilateral cooperation with Russia in the field of culture and sports.

It is gratifying to observe that some representatives of the Estonian elite still retain a sense of reality. However, it is significant that Vähi headed the Estonian government back in the 90s, before the country was admitted to NATO. In the absence of a “broad American back,” the views of Estonian politicians and rhetoric towards Russia were much more moderate. More precisely, realism and understanding of the real state of affairs and the balance of power in the region.

Russophobia and consequences


By a strange coincidence, the flourishing of a violent post-Soviet Russophobia in Estonia, as well as in other Baltic republics, begins precisely from the moment the first military bases of the North Atlantic Alliance were deployed on their territory. And the more Russophobia flourished, the worse it got economic indicators. As a result, the times when Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia were called "Baltic tigers" are irrevocably gone.

And today the social and economic situation in Estonia leaves much to be desired. The outflow of young people for a better life to developed Western European states already directly threatens the country with depopulation in the near future. Indeed, back in 1990, the population of Estonia was almost 1,6 million people. Now, in 2021, it barely exceeds 1,3 million.

Thus, the number of inhabitants of the Baltic republic has decreased by 15% over thirty years, the outflow amounted to about a quarter of a million people. Moreover, judging by the research data, the process of leaving Estonia by residents will not stop in the near future. According to the official forecast of the country's statistics department, over the next 60 years, the population of Estonia will decrease by another 11% or 145200 people. And this is just a basic scenario, authored by officials who are extremely committed and seeking to “smooth things over”, and released in 2019, even before the start of the pandemic. As they say, who will be the last to fly from the airport, do not forget to turn off the light at the airport.

At the same time, during the years of Soviet power (after the entry of the Republic of Estonia into the USSR in 1940), the population of the country did not fall, but on the contrary, increased, moreover by more than half a million people, reaching a peak just before the proclamation of Estonian independence.

Approximately the same picture is observed in other Baltic republics. Sharp growth during the years of the USSR and an equally sharp outflow after its collapse.

Somehow, democratic European values ​​had a bad effect on the Baltics. The population is leaving, the industry is closing, so that soon there will be no one and nothing to defend with the notorious newly acquired missiles.

The tragedy of the Estonian people


In fact, this is a great tragedy for the Estonian people. After all, Estonians who leave their country are gradually integrating and settling in other countries, finding work there, acquiring real estate, and starting families. And very often for their children born in a foreign land, the Estonian language becomes a foreign language, and the culture becomes something alien and incomprehensible. And all this thanks to the "competent policy" of the pro-American political leadership, which is mostly interested in only three things: how to please Washington in its foreign policy, how to convince the EU to give more money, and how to petty mischief to Russia (just to do it, there is no more talk ).

The problems and needs of the Estonian population are played by local politicians not even on the second or third, but on completely secondary, insignificant roles.

What else can you call the announcement of the purchase of expensive missiles in the midst of a severe energy crisis? After all, prices are rising not only for electricity itself, but also for all goods and services, turning into a kind of "infrastructure" inflation. Moreover, this is a thickening of colors, that the Estonians themselves say that such a situation is developing in the Estonian economy.

As the executive officer of the Estonian Central Union of Employers Arto Aas notes:

If electricity prices remain at a high level for a long time, then, of course, this will affect the profits of enterprises, the ability of employers to pay higher wages. And (...) part of the (increased) electricity price will be passed on to the end consumers. Prices, services, goods will rise in price. There is a very real risk of a sharp jump in inflation.

Simply put, Estonia is now facing a “perfect storm”: prices for everything will rise, and wages for the population will fall. And it was at this moment that the Estonian leadership, obviously, came up with the most ingenious idea of ​​its kind: "Shouldn't we buy missiles against Russia?" Tomorrow people will have nothing to eat and nothing to pay for utilities, the economy is about to collapse - it's time to buy new weapons. Moreover, according to various estimates, the contract amount ranges from $ 30 to $ 46 million.

Calling such actions other than a crime against their own people does not dare. And the regime, which, despite the total crisis, continues to strive to meet NATO's military spending requirements, at the same time "threatening" Russia, cannot be called an occupation regime.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: Clandestine Immigration and Navy Museom, Haifa
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 13 October 2021 09: 47
    -3
    Much ado about nothing, really.
    As if, supposedly only now

    Estonia is now facing a "perfect storm", prices for everything will rise, and wages of the population will fall

    and here it has been raging for a long time ...
  2. And we are their hydrogen, hydrogen!
    1. Estonia threatens us
      blue spear!
      it can be seen - it's time to flog
      wearing pants!

Много шума из ничего: зачем Эстония грозит России «Голубым копьем»


11 октября американское издание Forbes выпустило статью под заголовком «Эстония собирается нацелить ракеты на ключевую российскую слабость». Согласно материалу, Эстония закупила у компании Proteus Advanced Systems ракеты «Голубое копье», дальность полета которых превышает 300 километров.


«Голубое копье» — это одна из версий израильской противокорабельной крылатой ракеты «Габриэль» длиной около шести метров, которая станет новым типом вооружения для эстонских военных. В статье Forbes отмечается, что противокорабельные ракеты в руках Эстонии потенциально могут вызвать «очень и очень большие проблемы со стороны России».

Также там приведены и комментарии эстонских официальных лиц.

Выбранная система вооружения станет краеугольным камнем морской обороны Эстонии на десятилетия вперед. Эстонский флот сможет внести значительный вклад как в национальную, так и в региональную и коллективную оборону

— подчеркнул главнокомандующий военно-морского флота Эстонии Юри Саска.

Много шума из ничего


«Много шума из ничего» — одна из наиболее известных пьес Шекспира, как нельзя лучше подходит для характеристики данной ситуации, которая и вправду больше напоминает комедийную постановку.

Как известно, эстонский флот, претендующий на значительный вклад в коллективную оборону (по-видимому, в рамках НАТО), отличается масштабностью и, как отмечается в статье, состоит из «трехсот моряков и шести маленьких, очень легковооруженных судов».

Нет никаких сомнений, что столь внушительная сила действительно сможет стать «краеугольным камнем обороны» и возвысить могучий эстонский флот, на эффективность которого, видимо, скоро начнут равняться даже ядерные державы. По крайней мере, именно таким видится ход мысли эстонского правительства.

Так что, как и следовало ожидать, факт закупки настоящих, всамделишных противокорабельных ракет силами Эстонии (о дотациях ЕС в ее бюджет пока умолчим) мгновенно вызвал возбуждение в местных политических кругах.

Ведь очевидно же, что благодаря приобретению новых ракет обороноспособность страны резко усилится, выводя эстонские вооруженные силы в число сильнейших армий мира. По-видимому, теперь официальному Таллину останется только ждать расширения Совета безопасности ООН, ведь новое место в его составе, уже понятно, будет зарезервировано именно для него.

Увы, таков менталитет ряда мелкопоместных прибалтийских политиков — в отсутствие реального прогресса они все время пытаются выдавать желаемое за действительное, превознося банальные закупки вооружений, как немыслимое достижение. Хотя их же собственные предшественники даже сейчас склонны смотреть на вещи совершенно иначе.

К примеру, бывший премьер-министр Эстонии Тийт Вяхи подверг резкой критике эстонскую политику в области безопасности, отметив, что она носит «однобокий» характер.

Мы говорим о безопасности односторонне. Все эти ракетные, танковые и авиационные базы, мол, мы запугиваем ими Россию. В действительности мы скорее злим Россию. Зачем мы злим медведя? Лучше сотрудничать с ним

— подчеркнул Вяхи.

Также он заметил, что эстонской стороне требуется пересмотр всей текущей концепции нацбезопасности и добавил ремарку о необходимости налаживания двустороннего взаимодействия с Россией в сфере культуры и спорта.

Отрадно наблюдать, что у отдельных представителей эстонской элиты все ж таки сохранилось чувство реальности. Впрочем, показательно, что Вяхи возглавлял правительство Эстонии еще в 90-е годы, до принятия страны в НАТО. В отсутствие «широкой американской спины» взгляды эстонских политических деятелей и риторика в отношении России отличались куда большей умеренностью. Точнее сказать, реалистичностью и пониманием реального положения вещей и расстановки сил в регионе.

Русофобия и последствия


Расцвет ярой постсоветской русофобии в Эстонии, как и в других прибалтийских республиках, по странному совпадению, начинается именно с момента размещения первых военных баз Североатлантического альянса на их территории. И чем больше расцветала русофобия, тем хуже становились экономические показатели. В результате времена, когда Латвию, Литву и Эстонию называли «балтийскими тиграми», безвозвратно ушли.

И сегодня социально-экономическая ситуация в Эстонии оставляет желать лучшего. Отток молодежи за лучшей жизнью в развитые западноевропейские государства уже напрямую угрожает стране депопуляцией в ближайшем будущем. Ведь еще в 1990 году население Эстонии составляло почти 1,6 миллиона человека. Сейчас же, в 2021-м, оно едва превышает 1,3 миллиона.

Таким образом, число жителей прибалтийской республики за тридцать лет сократилось на 15%, отток составил около четверти миллиона человек. Более того, судя по данным исследования, процесс покидания Эстонии жителями не остановится и в ближайшем будущем. Согласно официальному прогнозу департамента статистики страны за следующие 60 лет население Эстонии снизится еще на 11% или 145200 человек. И это всего лишь базовый сценарий, за авторством предельно ангажированных и стремящихся «сгладить углы» чиновников, причем выпущенный в 2019 году, еще до начала пандемии. Что называется, кто последний будет улетать из аэропорта, не забудьте выключить свет в аэропорту.

При этом за годы советской власти (после вхождения Эстонской республики в состав СССР в 1940 году) численность населения страны не упала, а напротив, выросла, причем более чем на полмиллиона человек, достигнув пика перед самым провозглашением эстонской независимости.

Примерная такая же картина наблюдается и в других прибалтийских республиках. Резкий рост в годы СССР и столь же резкий отток после его развала.

Как-то демократические европейские ценности плохо отразились на Прибалтике. Население уезжает, промышленность закрывается, так что скоро защищать пресловутыми новоприобретенными ракетами будет некого и нечего.

Трагедия эстонского народа


На самом деле для эстонского народа это большая трагедия. Ведь уезжающие за пределы своей страны эстонцы постепенно интегрируются и оседают в других странах, находят там работу, приобретают недвижимость, заводят семьи. И очень часто для их детей, родившихся на чужбине, эстонский язык становится иностранным, а культура — чем-то чуждым и непонятным. И все это благодаря «грамотной политике» проамериканского политического руководства, которое по большей части интересуют только три вещи: как угодить Вашингтону в его внешней политике, как убедить ЕС дать больше денег и как мелко напакостить России (именно напакостить, о большем там речи не идет).

Проблемы и нужды эстонского населения идут у местных политиканов даже не на вторых-третьих, а на совсем побочных, малозначительных ролях.

А как еще можно назвать объявление о закупке дорогостоящих ракет посреди жесточайшего энергетического кризиса? Ведь цены растут не только на само электричество, но и на все товары и услуги, превращаясь в своего рода «инфраструктурную» инфляцию. Причем это сгущение красок, о том, что в экономике Эстонии складывается такая ситуация говорят сами эстонцы.

Как отмечает исполнительный Центрального союза работодателей Эстонии Арто Аас:

Если цены на электричество надолго останутся на высоком уровне, то, разумеется, это повлияет на прибыли предприятий, возможности работодателей платить более высокую зарплату. И (...) часть (возросшей) цены электричества переложат и на конечных потребителей. Цены, услуги, товары подорожают. Есть вполне реальный риск резкого скачка инфляции.

Проще говоря, на Эстонию сейчас надвигается «идеальный шторм»: цены на все будут расти, а зарплаты населения — падать. И именно в этот момент эстонскому руководству, очевидно, приходит гениальнейшая в своем роде идея: «А не закупиться ли нам ракетами против России?». Завтра людям будет нечего есть и нечем платить за ЖКХ, экономика вот-вот схлопнется — самое время покупать новое вооружение. Причем, по разным оценкам, сумма контракта составляет от 30 до 46 миллионов долларов.

Называть подобные действия иначе чем преступлением против собственного народа не поворачивается язык. И режим, который, несмотря на тотальный кризис, по-прежнему стремится удовлетворять требованиям НАТО по военным расходам, одновременно «грозя» России, кроме как оккупационным никак не назовешь.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 13 октября 2021 09:47
    -3
    Много шума из ничего, действительно.
    Как бы, якобы только сейчас

    на Эстонию сейчас надвигается «идеальный шторм», цены на все будут расти, а зарплаты населения — падать

    а у нас он бушует уже давно....
  2. А мы их водородиком, водородиком!