Why did Greece suddenly oppose Russia?

Despite the fact that Russia and Greece are linked by a rich history of relations, today it is as if a "black cat" has run between these countries. The matter has come to the mutual expulsion of diplomats. What caused this?


On the one hand, the reason for this situation is rooted in the years when Yugoslavia was destroyed by the efforts of the West. One of the Republics, separated from this country, is called Macedonia. But in Athens, this caused a protest, since Greece already has the historical region of Macedonia.

Greece, as you know, is a member of the European Union and NATO. Using her voting right, she blocked for Macedonia the possibility of joining these international organizations until she changed her name in order to avoid confusion. Finally, the Macedonian leadership decided to rename their country: it will now be called the Republic of Northern Macedonia. This means that the doors to the North Atlantic Alliance are ajar before it. Of course, we Russians do not like it. Although Moscow formally claims that the name of the country is the choice only of Macedonia itself.

But in Athens it was decided that Russia opposed the renaming of Macedonia and thereby allegedly interferes in the internal affairs of Greece. It was under this pretext that Russian diplomats were deported. The Russian Foreign Ministry, however, completely rejects these allegations.

But, as political analyst Eugene Super believes, this is not only the case. The gas issue also mixes with this. In light of this, it turns out that the United States stands behind the deterioration of relations between the two countries.

Currently, work is underway to create the Turkish Stream gas pipeline. And through which country can gas from Russia and Turkey enter the EU? One option suggests that via Greece. That would be in her interest. But Washington is against such a development. And Athens does not dare to withstand pressure from him.

One of those who are actively involved in preventing the construction of a gas pipeline through Greece is Jeffrey Payette, US ambassador to Athens. The one who previously worked hard in the face in Ukraine and together with Nuland distributed cookies on the Euromaidan. Thus, when the Russian Foreign Ministry speaks of US pressure on Greece, this is not at all unfounded ...

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. commbatant Offline commbatant
    commbatant (Sergei) 19 August 2018 11: 53
    +1
    It also mixes gas issue.

    Not yet, but only he ...
    Only our Foreign Ministry, as always is surprised at what happened, is it time to drive Lavrov in the wild ... The approval of the resolution on Libya, persuaded the SAR to give up its chemical weapons, Maidan, Pashinyan in Armenia, now this ... is directly the second Shevarnadze, in such situations and enemies do not...
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 4 September 2018 18: 01
    0
    And how they danced around Greece, like being friends ...

Почему Греция вдруг выступила против России?

Несмотря на то, что Россию и Грецию связывает богатая история взаимоотношений, сегодня между этими странами словно пробежала «черная кошка». Дело дошло до взаимной высылки дипломатов. Что же послужило причиной этого?

С одной стороны, повод к такой ситуации уходит корнями к тем годам, когда усилиями Запада была развалена Югославия. Одна из Республик, отделившаяся от этой страны, носит название Македония. Но в Афинах это вызвало протест, поскольку в Греции уже имеется историческая область Македония.

Греция, как известно, является членом Евросоюза и НАТО. Пользуясь своим правом голоса, она блокировала для Македонии возможность вступления в эти международные организации, пока та не изменит название, дабы избежать путаницы. Наконец, македонское руководство решилось переименовать свою страну: она теперь будет называться Республика Северная Македония. Это означает, что перед ней приоткрываются двери в Североатлантический альянс. Безусловно, нам, россиянам, это не по душе. Хотя формально в Москве утверждают, что название страны – это выбор только самой Македонии.



Но в Афинах решили, что Россия выступает против переименования Македонии и тем самым якобы вмешивается во внутренние дела Греции. Под этим предлогом и были высланы российские дипломаты. МИД РФ, однако, полностью отвергает данные обвинения.

Но, как полагает политолог Евгений Супер, дело не только в этом. Сюда примешивается еще и газовый вопрос. В свете этого, выходит, за порчей отношений между двумя странами стоят США.

В настоящее время ведутся работы по созданию газопровода «Турецкий поток». А через какую страну газ из России и Турции может попасть в ЕС? Один из вариантов предполагает, что через Грецию. Это соответствовало бы ее интересам. Но Вашингтон против такого развития событий. И Афины не решаются противостоять давлению с его стороны.

Один из тех, кто предпринимает активные усилия по недопущению строительства газопровода через Грецию – посол США в Афинах Джеффри Пайетт. Тот самый, который ранее трудился в поте лица на Украине и вместе с Нуланд раздавал печеньки на «евромайдане». Таким образом, когда в российском министерстве иностранных дел говорят о давлении США на Грецию – это вовсе не безосновательно...

Автор: Елена Громов

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. commbatant Офлайн
    commbatant (Сергей) 19 августа 2018 11:53
    +1
    Сюда примешивается еще и газовый вопрос.

    Ни еще, а только он...
    Только наш МИД, как всегда удивляется произошедшему, пора гнать Лаврова в зашей... Одобрение резолюции по Ливии, уговорил САР расстаться с ее химическим оружием, Майдан, Пашинян в Армении, теперь это...прям второй Шеварнадзе, при таких раскладах и врагов не надо...
  2. Сергей Латышев (Сергей Латышев) 4 сентября 2018 18:01
    0
    А как плясали вокруг греции, типа дружим...