The Americans found a "convenient place" to intercept Russian bombers


The US Armed Forces, in search of effective ways to intercept Russian military aircraft, drew attention to their infrastructure capabilities in Alaska. According to Forbes magazine, Washington is considering for this purpose the King Salmon base, located 300 km from the larger similar military facility Elmendorf-Richardson, as well as the Irexon airbase on Shemya Island (Aleutian Islands).


The Pentagon's goal is to disperse combat aircraft across several air bases to increase the ability to intercept Russian bombers. Thus, two F-16 fighters from the Agressor squadron located at Fairbanks (central Alaska) were relocated to Irexon. And in May of this year, as part of the Agile Combat Employment maneuvers, F-22 flew from the King Salmon airfield.


According to the American publication, the exercises were a rehearsal of a full-scale war between the United States and Russia. The northern direction of the strike is the most probable. From here, the Russians can attack large Air Force bases with ballistic and cruise missiles. Increasing operational capabilities throughout the future front will reduce the likely damage.

Shemya Island, with an area of ​​6 square miles, is located just 370 km from the Russian coast. With the exception of deployed aircraft carriers, this is the closest facility to Russian territory on which American combat aircraft can be located.
  • Photos Used: US Air Force
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Американцы нашли «удобное место» для перехвата российских бомбардировщиков


Вооружённые силы США в поисках эффективных способов перехвата российской боевой авиации обратили внимание на свои инфраструктурные возможности на Аляске. По данным журнала Forbes, Вашингтон рассматривает для этой цели базу Кинг Салмон, расположенную в 300 км от более крупного подобного военного объекта Элмендорф-Ричардсон, а также авиабазу Ирексон на острове Шемья (Алеутские острова).


Цель Пентагона – рассредоточение боевых самолетов на нескольких авиабазах для увеличения возможностей перехвата российских бомбардировщиков. Так, два истребителя F-16 из эскадрильи Agressor, расположенной у Фэрбенкса (центральная часть Аляски), были перебазированы на Ирексон. А еще в мае этого года в рамках маневров Agile Combat Employment F-22 совершали вылеты с аэродрома Кинг Салмон.


По мнению американского издания, учения были репетицией полномасштабной войны США с Россией. Северное направление удара является наиболее вероятным. Отсюда русские могут атаковать крупные базы ВВС баллистическими и крылатыми ракетами. Наращивание оперативных возможностей на всем протяжении будущего фронта позволит сократить вероятный урон.

Остров Шемья площадью 6 квадратных миль находится всего в 370 км от побережья России. За исключением развернутых авианосцев, это самый близкий объект к российской территории, на котором могут находиться американские боевые самолеты.
  • Использованы фотографии: U.S. Air Force
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.