Scramble for Turkmen gas awaits Europe and China


Winter is just around the corner, and the energy crisis in Europe is only getting worse. At the same time, Gazprom has clearly been designated as the main “culprit,” and the Western press is beginning to hear calls to send it to hell. But what, then, will replace Russian gas?


The general triumph of renewable sources is still very far away, nuclear power is frightening for many, coal is environmentally harmful. It is also impossible to rely on LNG, because in the conditions of a liberal market, suppliers forget about Europe and send their tankers to Asia, where the profit is higher. There remains only gas, moreover, pipeline gas, preferably with long-term contracts for guaranteed supplies. But where to get it, if not in Russia? And here again they start talking a lot about Azerbaijani gas.

Southern Gas Transportation Corridor


The idea of ​​reducing Europe's dependence on supplies from Russia has been around for a long time. Within its framework, the so-called "Southern Gas Transportation Corridor" was built, connecting the fields of Azerbaijan with the Turkish Trans-Anatolian Gas Pipeline (TANAP) and the Trans-Adriatic Gas Pipeline (TAP), leading to southern Europe. The only problem is that within the framework of the existing pipeline network, Baku can supply only 10 billion cubic meters of gas a year to the countries of the European Union. However, President Aliyev recently boasted that Azerbaijan's proven gas reserves reached 2,6 trillion cubic meters and threatened to expand supplies:

Azerbaijan began gas supplies to Europe at the end of 2020. We see that we can become gas suppliers to other EU countries. We plan to work with the EU to expand the geography of supplies.

In the context of the current energy crisis, Brussels' interest in Baku's initiatives will obviously increase sharply. However, Europe will no longer be full of Azerbaijani gas alone. Apparently, in the very near future, we should expect activation in the direction of connecting to the "Southern Gas Transportation Corridor" of Turkmenistan.

Trans-Caspian gas pipeline


Europe has been eyeing Turkmen gas fields for a long time. This Central Asian republic is extremely rich in "blue fuel" reserves, which amount to about 19,5 trillion cubic meters. However, due to the peculiarities of its geographical location, Ashgabat can export it only to two neighboring countries - China and Russia. This makes it possible for the main gas buyers to set prices that are comfortable for themselves, and the PRC has especially succeeded in this. Turkmenistan is forced to sell "blue fuel" to the Celestial Empire at low prices in payment of a 4 billion loan issued by China for the construction of a pipeline for its own needs. That's how you need to be able to do things.

As an alternative to Russia and China, Turkmenistan considered the energy market of distant Europe. It was planned to build an offshore pipeline along the bottom of the Caspian Sea, which was supposed to connect with the Southern Gas Corridor. At the expense of Turkmenistan, the European Union could already receive 30 billion cubic meters of gas per year, which already represents a very significant volume. Unfortunately for Ashgabat, the problem of the unsettled legal status of the Caspian Sea stood in the way of the construction of the Transcapian pipeline, and all these plans remained just projects. It was also not clear who would pay for the construction of the gas pipeline.

Fortunately for Ashgabat and its European partners, in 2018 the "Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea" was signed. All five Caspian countries, including Russia, have established new rules for laying subsea pipelines. Now, for this, the consent of only the nearest neighbors is sufficient, and not of all five states. In other words, Moscow's permission to sign an agreement between Baku and Ashgabat is no longer required. True, a reservation was made that other parties to the Convention may require the implementation of all environmental standards, delaying the process. Practice shows that in the case of Nord Stream 2, Denmark was able to drag out the red tape for several years, but in the end it was still forced to issue a permit. Why the Russian leadership gave the green light to an energy project competing with Gazprom, the author of the lines has not yet been able to figure out for himself. But in Baku and Ashgabat they immediately perked up. In early 2021, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan signed a memorandum of understanding on joint exploration and development of hydrocarbon resources at the Dostlug (Druzhba) field in the Caspian Sea. A very symbolic event and the name of the project. Against whom the former Soviet republics will be friends, probably, and so it is clear without unnecessary explanations.

So what do we have. A large-scale energy crisis is growing in the Old World. The guilty party is Gazprom. At present, there is a plan to replace Russian gas with any other, for example, Azerbaijani, or better yet, Turkmen. Taking into account the heightened interest of Europe and the extreme politicization of the issue, it can be assumed with a high degree of probability that Brussels itself will find the necessary investments for the construction of the Trans-Caspian pipeline. At the same time, Moscow for some reason itself tied its hands by signing the Convention on the Caspian Sea. What's next?

Now it remains to rely only on the position of China. Beijing is extremely interested in maintaining its exclusive status, and it does not need Turkmen gas to start going to the alternative European market. Why would he? The PRC clearly considers all these "blue fuel" reserves as their own, and the Chinese benefit from the preservation of Ashgabat's semi-cabal status. This means that after Russia's voluntary withdrawal from the game, the Celestial Empire will enter the battle for Turkmen gas with Europe, which will be forced to use other methods of pressure.
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 1 November 2021 13: 49
    0
    Waiting / not waiting ...
    You can just as well write about Russia, Belarus, the Saudis, and Star Wars.
    Price and bandwidth are key.

    If there are no pipes to Europe, but there are pipes to Asia, short logistics, and the price there is also higher (as the media emphasize), then what is the fight?
    And there the greens will ripen ...
  2. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 1 November 2021 13: 56
    0
    President Aliyev recently boasted that Azerbaijan's proven gas reserves reached 2,6 trillion cubic meters and threatened to expand supplies:

    Can Russia also produce gas on the border with Azerbaijan?
    And why did Yeltsin in 1991 have to give up such a gas-rich country as Turkmenistan? This is roughly how Bulgaria abandoned the gas pipeline through its country. Very shortsighted!
  3. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 1 November 2021 14: 05
    0
    Quote: Sergey Latyshev
    If there are no pipes to Europe, but there are pipes to Asia, short logistics, and the price there is also higher (as the media emphasize), then what is the fight?

    Prices for Turkmen gas in China are very low. This is directly written in the article and explained why. In Asia, prices are higher for LNG. These are two different things.
    There is already a pipe in the direction of Europe from Azerbaijan. It is enough to cross the Caspian Sea from Turkmenistan, and now there are no obstacles to that.
  4. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 1 November 2021 14: 15
    +3
    For information. On the Dostlug deposit. This is an oil and gas condensate field, where geophysical studies have not yet been carried out. So its boundaries and reserves are only tentative. Today it is estimated at 100 billion cubic meters of gas. How many of them are recoverable is still unknown.

    Nobody will run the gas pipeline along the bottom of the Caspian Sea. Nearby there is the developed ACG field (Azeri-Chirag-Guneshli). In the case of Dostlug development, you just need to connect it with ACG and then the infrastructure is already there. This is just a few kilometers of an underwater gas pipeline. According to the data that were published, 70% of the costs are borne by Turkmenistan, and 30% by Azerbaijan. Accordingly, the division of profits in the same proportions.

    And finally, the most important thing. The contractor and performer of work at the field has been identified. This is the Russian company LUKOIL. What a surprise .... So, by and large, it will be Russian gas.

    Geophysical surveys are likely to take place in 2022. Data processing will take several months. By the end of 2022, development of the field may begin. It will reach its design capacity in three years.


    And this is a Turkmen border boat just at the border of the field. Last year's photo.
    Azerbaijan is not allowed there. Perhaps the exploration will also be carried out by a Russian company.
  5. The comment was deleted.
  6. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 1 November 2021 15: 18
    -5
    Scramble for Turkmen gas awaits Europe and China

    - Yes, what a "fight" ??? - The fight is already over ...
    - China will never let Turkmenistan out of its ... embrace ... - That's it - the train has already left ...
    - Here, Russia, too, is unlikely to be able to free itself from the same "embrace" (it is urgently necessary to "master" the whole "roundabout" Northern Way) ... - And even Turkmenistan, even more so ...
    - As for the Caspian ... - then ... then ... then Russia has very, very much "broken off" in this Caspian ... - Why did Russia become the initiator, and then sign the "Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea?" ?? and so on ... - = Well, why would Russia do it ???
    - Well, now ... - Of course, China will not let Turkmenistan go anywhere and will not let anyone into Turkmenistan (neither Turkey, nor others) ... - But this does not make it easier for Russia ... - Yes, and Kazakhstan - today, too, has fallen under the influence of China ... - the same thing happened with Iran ... - So with the official division of the Caspian and its coastal zones ... - Russia has very much lost its positions in the Caspian ... - A who else had such a "special influence", such strong positions as Russia - nobody else ... - So today Europe has nothing to do in the Caspian ... - China is already "ruling" there ...
  7. Yuriy Gagarin Offline Yuriy Gagarin
    Yuriy Gagarin (Yuri Gagarin) 1 November 2021 19: 19
    0
    I wonder if the Reporter checks "analytical" articles for incompetence?
    I would like to ask the author why to assert what he does not have the completeness of the data for?

Европу и Китай ждет схватка за туркменский газ


Зима уже на носу, а энергетический кризис в Европе только усиливается. При этом главным «виновным» явно назначен «Газпром», и в западной прессе начинают звучать призывы послать его куда подальше. Но чем тогда заменить российский газ?


До всеобщего триумфа возобновляемых источников еще очень далеко, атомная энергетика многих страшит, уголь экологически вреден. Полагаться на СПГ тоже нельзя, поскольку в условиях либерального рынка поставщики забывают про Европу и направляют свои танкеры в Азию, где получаемая прибыль выше. Остается только газ, причем, газ трубопроводный, желательно с долгосрочными контрактами на гарантированные поставки. Но где его взять, если не в России? И тут вновь начинают много говорить про азербайджанский газ.

Южный газотранспортный коридор


Идея снизить зависимость Европы от поставок из России возникла уже давно. В ее рамках был построен так называемый «Южный газотранспортный коридор», соединивший месторождения Азербайджана с турецким Трансанатолийским газопроводом (TANAP) и Трансадриатическим газопроводом (TAP), выходящим в Южную Европу. Проблема заключается только в том, что в рамках существующей трубопроводной сети Баку может поставлять в страны Европейского союза всего 10 миллиардов кубометров газа в год. Однако президент Алиев недавно похвалился, что доказанные запасы газовых месторождений Азербайджана достигают 2,6 триллиона кубометров, и пригрозил расширить объемы поставок:

Азербайджан в конце 2020 года начал поставки газа в Европу. Мы видим, что можем стать поставщиками газа и в другие страны ЕС. Мы планируем работать с ЕС для расширения географии поставок.

В условиях нынешнего энергетического кризиса интерес Брюсселя к инициативам Баку, очевидно, резко возрастет. Однако одним только азербайджанским газом Европа сыта уже не будет. Судя по всему, в самое ближайшее время стоит ожидать активизации в направлении подключения к «Южному газотранспортному коридору» Туркмении.

Транскаспийский газопровод


Европа уже давно присматривается к туркменским месторождениям газа. Эта среднеазиатская республика чрезвычайно богата запасами «голубого топлива», которые составляют порядка 19,5 триллиона кубометров. Однако из-за особенностей своего географического положения Ашхабад может экспортировать его только в две соседние страны – Китай и Россию. Это дает возможность основным покупателям газа устанавливать комфортные для себя цены, и особенно преуспела в этом КНР. Туркмения вынуждена продавать «голубое топливо» Поднебесной по низким ценам в уплату 4-миллиардного кредита, выданного Китаем для строительства трубопровода для его же собственных нужд. Вот так надо уметь дела делать.

В качестве альтернативы России и Китаю Туркменией рассматривался энергетический рынок далекой Европы. Предполагалось строительство морского трубопровода по дну Каспийского моря, который должен был соединиться с «Южным Газовым коридором». За счет Туркменистана Евросоюз смог бы получать уже 30 миллиардов кубометров газа в год, что уже представляет весьма значимые объемы. К сожалению для Ашхабада, на пути строительства Транскапийского трубопровода стояла проблема неурегулированного правового статуса Каспийского моря, и все эти планы так и оставались прожектами. Также не было ясности, кто будет оплачивать процесс строительства газопровода.

К счастью для Ашхабада и его европейских партнеров, в 2018 году была подписана «Конвенция о правовом статусе Каспия». Все пять прикаспийских стран, включая и Россию, установили новые правила прокладки подводных трубопроводов. Теперь для этого достаточно согласия лишь ближайших соседей, а не всех пяти государств. Иначе говоря, разрешение Москвы для подписания соглашения между Баку и Ашхабадом больше не требуется. Правда, была сделана оговорка, что иные участники Конвенции могут требовать исполнения всех экологических норм, затягивая процесс. Практика показывает, что в случае с «Северным потоком-2» Дания смогла растянуть волокиту на несколько лет, но в конечно итоге все равно была вынуждена выдать разрешение. Зачем российское руководство дало «зеленый свет» конкурирующему с «Газпромом» энергетическому проекту, автор строк так для себя и не смог пока что уяснить. Зато в Баку и Ашхабаде сразу же воспряли духом. В начале 2021 года Азербайджан и Туркменистан подписали меморандум о взаимопонимании по совместной разведке и разработке углеводородных ресурсов на месторождения «Достлуг» (Дружба), что на Каспии. Очень символическое мероприятие и название проекта. Против кого дружить будут бывшие советские республики, наверное, и так понятно без лишних пояснений.

Итак, что мы имеем. В Старом свете нарастает масштабный энергетический кризис. Виновным в нем назначен «Газпром». В настоящее время идет установка на замену российского газа любым другим, например, азербайджанским, а лучше – еще и туркменским. Если учесть повышенный интерес Европы и крайнюю политизированность вопроса, то можно с высокой степенью вероятности предположить, что Брюссель сам найдет необходимые инвестиции для строительства Транскаспийского трубопровода. При этом Москва зачем-то сама связала себе руки подписанием Конвенции по Каспию. Что дальше?

Теперь остается рассчитывать только на позицию Китая. Пекин крайне заинтересован в сохранении своего эксклюзивного статуса, и ему не нужно, чтобы туркменский газ начал уходить на альтернативный европейский рынок. Зачем ему это? В КНР явно считают все эти запасы «голубого топлива» своими, и китайцам выгодно сохранение полукабального статуса Ашхабада. Это означает, что после добровольного выбывания из игры России в схватку за туркменский газ с Европой вступит уже Поднебесная, которая будет вынуждена применять иные методы давления.
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 1 ноября 2021 13:49
    0
    Ждет/не ждет....
    С тем же успехом можно писать и о России, Белорусии, Саудитах, и звездых войнах
    Цена и пропускная способность - главное.

    Если в европу труб нет, а есть трубы в азию, короткая логистика, и цена там же выше (как подчеркивают сми), то какая схватка?
    А там и зеленые созреют...
  2. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 1 ноября 2021 13:56
    0
    президент Алиев недавно похвалился, что доказанные запасы газовых месторождений Азербайджана достигают 2,6 триллиона кубометров, и пригрозил расширить объемы поставок:

    А что, Россия на границе с Азербайджаном тоже может добывать газ?
    А зачем Ельцину в 1991 г. нужно было отказываться от такой богатой газом страны, как Туркмения? Это, примерно, как Болгария отказалась от газовой трубы через свою страну. Очень недальновидно!
  3. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 1 ноября 2021 14:05
    0
    Цитата: Сергей Латышев
    Если в европу труб нет, а есть трубы в азию, короткая логистика, и цена там же выше (как подчеркивают сми), то какая схватка?

    Цены для туркменского газа в Китае очень низкие. Об этом прямо написано в статье и объяснено, почему. В Азии цены выше на СПГ. Это разные вещи.
    В сторону Европы уже есть труба от Азербайджана. Достаточно через Каспий прокинуть от Туркменистана, и теперь нет никаких к тому препятствий.
  4. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 1 ноября 2021 14:15
    +3
    Для информации. По месторождению "Достлуг". Это нефтегазоконденсатное месторождение, на котором до сих пор не проведены геофизические исследования. Так что его границы и запасы только предположительны. На сегодняшний день оцениваются в 100 млрд кубов газа. Сколько из них извлекаемых - пока неизвестно.

    Газопровод по дну Каспия вести никто не будет. Рядом есть разрабатываемые месторождение АЧГ ("Азери-Чираг-Гюнешли"). В случае разработки "Достлуга", надо просто соединить с АЧГ и дальше уже инфраструктура есть. Это всего несколько км подводного газопровода. По тем данным, что были опубликованы, 70% расходов берет на себя Туркмения, а 30% - Азербайджан. Соответственно и раздел прибыли в таких же пропорциях.

    И, наконец, самое главное. Определен подрядчик и исполнитель работ на месторождении. Это российская компания ЛУКОЙЛ. Какая неожиданность.... Так что это, по большому счету, будет российский газ.

    Геофизические исследования, скорее всего проведут в 2022 году. Обработка данных займет несколько месяцев. К концу 2022 года возможно начнется обустройство месторождения. На проектную мощность выйдет года через три.


    А это туркменский пограничный катер как раз на границе месторождения. Фото прошлого года.
    Азербайджан туда не пускают. Возможно разведку проведет тоже российская компания.
  5. Комментарий был удален.
  6. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 1 ноября 2021 15:18
    -5
    Европу и Китай ждет схватка за туркменский газ

    - Да , какая "схватка" ??? - Схватка уже закончилась...
    - Китай уже никогда не выпустит Туркмению из своих ...объятий... - Всё -поезд уже ушёл...
    - Тут и Россия-то - тоже - вряд ли сможет из всё тех же "объятий" освободиться (приходится срочно аж целый "обходной" Северный Путь "осваивать") ... - А уж Туркмения-то и подавно...
    - Что касается Каспия ...- то...то...то Россия очень и очень сильно "обломалась" на этом Каспии... - Зачем было России становиться инициатором , а потом и подписывать "Конвенцию о правовом статусе Каспийского моря ??? и тд... -= Ну , зачем это было России делать ???
    - Ну , а теперь... - Конечно же Китай никуда не отпустит Туркмению и никого уже не пустит в Туркмению (ни Турцию , ни прочих) ... - но России-то от этого не легче... - Да и Казахстан - тоже сегодня очень сильно подпал под влияние Китая... - то же самое произошло и с Ираном... - Так что с официальным разделом Каспия и его прибрежных зон ... - Россия очень сильно утратила свои позиции на Каспии ... - А кто там ещё имел такое "особое влияние" , такие сильные позиции как Россия - больше никто ... - Так что Европе сегодня уже нечего делать на Каспии ... - там уже "правит" Китай......
  7. Yuriy Gagarin Офлайн Yuriy Gagarin
    Yuriy Gagarin (Юрий Гагарин) 1 ноября 2021 19:19
    0
    Интересно, Репортёр проверяет "аналитические" статьи на некомпетентность?
    Хочется спросить автора, зчем утверждать то, о чем он не располагает полнотой данных?