Some of the richest people unite to save the planet from warming with nuclear energy


Concerned about saving the planet from global warming, Bill Gates ($ 125 billion) and Warren Buffett ($ 100 billion) decided to contribute to green energy, occupying the fourth and tenth places in the list of the richest people in the world, respectively. According to OilPrice, the entrepreneurs are going to invest in the environmentally friendly TerraPower nuclear power plant.


An innovative nuclear reactor will be built in western Wyoming. It will be cooled with liquid sodium instead of water, making the plant safer, more efficient and more cost effective. Moreover, the new nuclear power plant will operate according to a closed fuel cycle.

The cost of the first single-block station is $ 4 billion. In the future, it is expected that the construction of such nuclear power plants will be significantly cheaper.

According to Insider, the energy generated by TerraPower should be enough to power 400 homes for 60 years. The basic capacity of the facility will be about 345 megawatts with the possibility of increasing it up to 500 megawatts.

Meanwhile, the development of nuclear energy is currently the subject of heated debate not only in the United States, but also on the world stage. Critics point to the danger of radioactive waste with a half-life of thousands of years. According to supporters, the harm from waste is nothing compared to what the planet can expect from climate change due to global warming.
  • Photos used: https://twitter.com/TerraPower/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. BMP-2 Offline BMP-2
    BMP-2 (Vladimir V.) 24 November 2021 12: 47
    0
    And since when did people start calling stuffing their pockets "saving the planet"? wassat
  2. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
    zzdimk 24 November 2021 16: 40
    0
    I am not a specialist in this subject, but I remember that sodium ones are based on fast neutrons, and this technology has been developed in Russia and partly in France. Will the French sell or for nothing? I wonder what will be built in the states without the appropriate competencies? The Japanese tried to do something on helium, but returned to the water. There is also lead and bismuth on lead and alloy, but there are problems with corrosion. It looks like it’s an empty piece of paper.

Одни из богатейших людей объединяются, чтобы спасти планету от потепления с помощью атомной энергии


Озабоченные спасением планеты от глобального потепления, свой вклад в «зеленую» энергетику решили внести Билл Гейтс (125 млрд долларов) и Уоррен Баффет (100 млрд долларов), занимающие четвертое и десятое места в списке богатейших людей мира соответственно. По данным OilPrice, предприниматели собираются вложиться в экологически чистую АЭС TerraPower.


Инновационный атомный реактор построят на западе штата Вайоминг. Его охлаждение будет происходить при помощи жидкого натрия вместо воды, что сделает станцию более безопасной, эффективной и рентабельной. Более того, новая АЭС будет работать по схеме замкнутого топливного цикла.

Стоимость первой одноблоковой станции 4 млрд долларов. В дальнейшем ожидается, что строительство подобных АЭС будет существенно дешевле.

По информации издания Insider, вырабатываемой TerraPower энергии должно хватить для питания 400 тыс. домов в течение 60 лет. Базовая мощность выработки объекта составит порядка 345 Мегаватт с возможностью ее увеличения до 500 мегаватт.

Между тем, развитие атомной энергетики в настоящее время является предметом горячих споров не только в Соединенных Штатах, но и на мировой арене. Критики указывают на опасность радиоактивных отходов с периодом полураспада в тысячи лет. По мнению же сторонников, вред от отходов – ничто в сравнении с тем, что может ожидать планету вследствие изменения климата из-за глобального потепления.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://twitter.com/TerraPower/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. БМП-2 Офлайн БМП-2
    БМП-2 (Владимир В.) 24 ноября 2021 12:47
    0
    И с каких это пор набивание своих карманов начали называть "спасением планеты"? wassat
  2. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
    zzdimk 24 ноября 2021 16:40
    0
    Я не спец в данной тематике, но помню, что натриевые - на быстрых нейтронах, а эта технология отработана в России и частично во Франции. Неужели французы продадут или даром? Интересно, что в штатах строить будут без соответствующих компетенций? Японцы что-то на гелии пытались сделать, но вернулись на воду. Ещё на свинце и сплаве свинец-висмут есть, но там проблемы с коррозией. Похоже, что это пустой брёх.