"Buran", which could: was there a chance for Russia?




Shuttle in Russian

The Space Shuttle was launched for the first time in 1981. The reaction of the USSR followed immediately, although the development of the reusable ship by the Americans was not a secret for the Soviets. The party said: you need your own shuttle. The reason was the fear that the Americans could use the ship as a space weapon. In theory, of course, the shuttle could indeed be used to put elements of space combat systems into orbit or steal Soviet spacecraft. But, probably, the reason for its development is more trivial. These are the fears of NASA experts to remain without work after minimizing the lunar program. A new goal was needed: she became a reusable spaceship. On paper, it was quite economical, in fact, no. But we'll talk about this later.

From the very beginning, the Soviet shuttle was seen as a potential military apparatus. At first they wanted to make the shuttle a copy of the "American", but then it turned out that there was no opportunity to build the same ship. One reason is the lack of engines, like those that were installed on the Space Shuttle. The Soviet product 11D122 was heavier than the overseas RS-25 and lost to it in traction.

Gradually, the concepts of the Space Shuttle and the Buran began to diverge greatly. The American spacecraft, as you know, received three marching liquid rocket engines RS-25, which returned to Earth with the spacecraft. The side boosters of the shuttle were splashed in the ocean, and a huge fuel tank burned out in the atmosphere of the Earth. In general, the Americans have achieved reusability, which would have envied old Elon himself.


Soviet engineers could not boast of such. The aforementioned difficulties with engines, as well as the fundamentally different conditions for launching the Buran, led to the fact that the shuttle itself was left without large marching engines: they were located on the first and second steps of the Energy - Buran system. Roughly speaking, on the rocket itself: they were all disposable. The shuttle at the same time became something like the Soyuz spacecraft, only it was attached not to the top of the rocket, but to the side. And, of course, it was very different from Soyuz in weight and dimensions.

The USSR, represented by Energia-Buran, received an almost classical space-rocket system, consisting of several stages, but with a reusable space plan. At the same time, the shuttle was not completely “naked”: it was equipped with engines for maneuvering in orbit and turbojet engines for flying in the Earth’s atmosphere. In theory, all of these systems could be reused more than once. But this is in theory. The second time to launch the Buran was not destined.

The unique advantage of the Soviet shuttle over the American shuttle can be considered a higher degree of automation. The shuttle made its only flight on November 15, 1988: without a crew on board, using the Beads-4 on-board digital computer. Another plus is that, in the framework of the program, the USSR received not only a shuttle, but also a completely self-sufficient superheavy class rocket - "Energy". It could be used, for example, for lunar or Martian missions: without directly using the most reusable ship. The American Space Shuttle was a single, "indivisible" whole. Apart from engines, all of its main elements have sunk into oblivion. No one needed a gigantic fuel tank, just like side boosters, even reusable ones.


As you can see, in the end, the United States and the USSR built different space systems. Each of them had its advantages and disadvantages.

Advantages of the Energy-Buran system over the Space Shuttle:

- Higher degree of automation;
- Together with the development of the ship, the USSR received a unique universal launch vehicle.

Disadvantages:

“The Energy-Buran system was less reusable than the Space Shuttle.”

Buran 2.0

The Energy-Buran program was closed in 1993. In fact, it was never completed. On the whole, Buran was not such a widespread topic for media speculation as Russian space projects of the 90s - 2000s. Or Soviet programs of the 60s. This is partly due to the fact that the enormous price of the program would not allow to put into practice something similar in the 90s, when the future of the domestic space industry hung in the balance (now, by the way, the situation is not much better).

Recall that the United States did not receive an economical spacecraft: in the 2000s, the launch price of the Space Shuttle increased to a fantastic $ 420 million. For comparison, the launch of the Falcon 9 is now estimated at 62 million dollars. It must be assumed that if the USSR / Russia program were brought to the Buran mind, one start would cost much less. And in any case, much more than the cost of starting a one-time launch vehicle. Almost any.


There are several reasons for this. Firstly, both the Space Shuttle and the Buran were created during the years of the Cold War, when no one considered the money spent on a geopolitical competition in space. And the USSR, in the appendage, also saw its ship as a military complex, which almost always puts an end to profitability. In any case, if we talk about the application in the civilian sphere. Secondly, launching superheavy media as such is not cheap by default technical the complexity and cost of such systems. Even the cost of starting is relatively economical According to estimates, the Falcon Heavy superheavy can reach $ 120 million, which is almost twice the launch price of the Falcon 9. But there are almost no orders for the new superheavy: medium-heavy missiles successfully cope with the lion's share of commercial orders.


In fact, such a powerful rocket as the Falcon Heavy or Energy is now needed only for single missions. “Superheavy missiles have not been launched for 30 years, the entire economy, all military manufacturers, the entire satellite industry are now imprisoned under a load of no more than 30 tons. Therefore, for a new rocket there is no decent load. " - notes the famous popularizer of science Vitaly Egorov. It is unlikely that the presence of a working “Energy” in Russia could affect the market. Rather, it would be the notorious "suitcase without a handle."

Therefore, you should not worry about the lost technologies of "Energy - Buran". The shuttle itself is not needed right now. And regardless of his fate, the Energia rocket could hardly find application in modern Russia, which has reliable and economical Unions and Protons. And in the future, Soyuz-5 may appear, which can be considered the Russian reincarnation of the Soviet-Ukrainian Zenith. And, of course, the long-suffering Angara.

A rocket whose power will be comparable to the power of Energia will be needed only if Russia is seriously planning to send its astronauts to the moon or to Mars. Due to a number of circumstances, primarily of an economic nature, this should not be expected in the foreseeable future.
Author:
Photos used: https://www.roscosmos.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

«Буран», который смог: был ли шанс у России?



Шаттл по-русски



Американский челнок «Спейс шаттл» впервые запустили в 1981 году. Реакция СССР последовала незамедлительно, хотя разработка американцами многоразового корабля не была для советов тайной. Партия сказала: нужен собственный шаттл. Причиной стали опасения, что американцы смогут использовать корабль как космическое оружие. В теории, конечно, челнок и впрямь могли применять для вывода на орбиту элементов космических боевых систем или кражи советских космических аппаратов. Но, вероятно, причина его разработки более тривиальна. Это страхи специалистов NASA остаться без работы после сворачивания лунной программы. Нужна была новая цель: ей стал многоразовый космический корабль. На бумаге он был довольно экономичным, на деле — нет. Но об этом поговорим позже.

Советский шаттл с самого начала видели в качестве потенциального военного аппарата. Сначала челнок хотели сделать копией «американца», но потом выяснилось, что возможности построить такой же корабль, нет. Одна из причин — отсутствие двигателей, наподобие тех, которые были установлены на «Спейс шаттле». Советское изделие 11Д122 было тяжелее заокеанского RS-25 и проигрывало оному по тяге.

Постепенно концепции «Спейс шаттла» и «Бурана» начали сильно расходиться. Американский космоплан, как известно, получил три маршевых жидкостных ракетных двигателя RS-25, которые возвращались на Землю вместе с космическим аппаратом. Боковые ускорители шаттла приводнялись в океане, а огромный топливный бак сгорал в атмосфере Земли. В целом, американцы добились многоразовости, которой бы позавидовал сам старина Илон.


Советские инженеры таким похвастаться не могли. Вышеупомянутые трудности с двигателями, а также принципиально другие условия для запуска «Бурана» привели к тому, что непосредственно сам челнок остался без крупных маршевых двигателей: их расположили на первой и второй ступенях системы «Энергия — Буран». Грубо говоря, на самой ракете: все они были одноразовыми. Челнок при этом стал чем-то наподобие космического корабля «Союз», только крепился он не к верхней части ракеты, а сбоку. И, конечно, сильно отличался от «Союза» по массе и габаритам.

СССР в лице «Энергии — Буран» получил почти классическую ракетно-космическую систему, состоящую из нескольких ступеней, но с многоразовым космопланом. При этом челнок не был абсолютно «голым»: его оснастили двигателями для маневрирования на орбите и турбореактивными двигателями для полета в атмосфере Земли. В теории, все эти системы можно было использовать повторно не один раз. Но это в теории. Второй раз запустить «Буран» было не суждено.

Однозначным преимуществом советского челнока перед американским шаттлом можно считать более высокую степень автоматизации. Свой единственный полет челнок совершил 15 ноября 1988 года: без экипажа на борту, используя бортовую цифровую вычислительную машину «Бисер-4». Другим плюсом является то, что в рамках программы СССР получил не только челнок, но также и вполне самодостаточную ракету сверхтяжелого класса — «Энергию». Ее можно было использовать, например, для лунных или марсианских миссий: без применения непосредственно самого многоразового корабля. Американский «Спейс шаттл» был единым, «неделимым» целым. Не считая двигателей, все его основные элементы канули в Лету. Никому был не нужен гигантский топливный бак, ровно, как и боковые ускорители, пусть даже многоразовые.


Как видим, в итоге США и СССР построили разные космические системы. Каждая из них имела свои преимущества и недостатки.

Преимущества системы «Энергия — Буран» над «Спейс шаттлом»:

– Более высокая степень автоматизации;
– Вместе с разработкой корабля СССР получил уникальную универсальную ракету-носитель.

Недостатки:

– Система «Энергия — Буран» была менее многоразовой, чем «Спейс шаттл».

«Буран 2.0»

Программу «Энергия — Буран» закрыли в 1993 году. По сути, ее так и не завершили. В целом, «Буран» не был настолько распространенной темой для спекуляций в СМИ, как российские космические проекты 90-х — 2000-х годов. Или же советские программы 60-х. Отчасти это вызвано тем, что колоссальная цена программы не позволила бы реализовать на практике что-то подобное в 90-е, когда будущее отечественной космической индустрии висело на волоске (сейчас, кстати, ситуации не намного лучше).

Напомним, что США экономичного космического корабля так и не получили: в 2000-е цена запуска «Спейс шаттл» возросла до фантастических 420 миллионов долларов. Для сравнения, запуск Falcon 9 сейчас оценивают в 62 миллиона долларов. Нужно полагать, доведи СССР/Россия программу «Буран» до ума, один старт стоил бы намного дешевле. И в любом случае значительно больше, чем стоит старт одноразовой ракеты-носителя. Практически любой.


Причин тому несколько. Во-первых, как «Спейс шаттл», так и «Буран» создавались в годы Холодной войны, когда деньги, потраченные на геополитическое состязание в космосе, никто не считал. А СССР в довесок еще и видел свой корабль в качестве военного комплекса, что почти всегда ставит крест на экономичности. Во всяком случае, если говорить о применение в гражданской сфере. Во-вторых, запуск сверхтяжелых носителей, как таковых, по умолчанию не является дешевым из-за технической сложности и дороговизны таких систем. Даже стоимость пуска относительно экономичной сверхтяжелой Falcon Heavy по оценкам может достигать 120 миллионов долларов, что почти вдвое большое цены запуска Falcon 9. А ведь заказов на новый «сверхтяж» почти нет: средне-тяжелые ракеты успешно справляются с львиной долей коммерческих заказов.


По сути, настолько мощная ракета, как Falcon Heavy или «Энергия» сейчас нужна лишь для единичных миссий. «Сверхтяжелые ракеты не запускались уже 30 лет, вся экономика, все военные производители, вся индустрия спутникостроения сейчас заточена под нагрузку не более 30 тонн. Поэтому для новой ракеты нет достойной нагрузки». — отмечает известный популяризатор науки Виталий Егоров. Вряд ли наличие у России рабочей «Энергии» смогло бы повлиять на рынок. Скорее, это был бы пресловутый «чемодан без ручки».

Посему не стоит переживать из-за утерянных технологий «Энергии — Бурана». Сам по себе челнок сейчас не нужен. И вне зависимости от его судьбы, ракета «Энергия» вряд ли могла бы найти применение в современной России, у которой есть надежные и экономичные «Союзы» и «Протоны». А в будущем может появиться «Союз-5», который можно считать российской реинкарнацией советско-украинского «Зенита». Ну и, конечно, многострадальная «Ангара».

Ракета, мощность которой будет сравнима с мощностью «Энергии», потребуется лишь в том случае, если Россия всерьез соберется отправить своих космонавтов на Луну или к Марсу. В силу ряда обстоятельств, прежде всего, экономического характера, ждать этого в обозримом будущем не стоит.
Автор: Илья Легат
Использованы фотографии: https://www.roscosmos.ru/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти