"Brown Russian bear turns into white": Western media on Moscow's Arctic policy


Russia is slowly but surely realizing its Arctic policies, attaching great importance to this climatically difficult region in recent years. According to the resource OWP (The Organization for World Peace), NATO does not yet include the Arctic among its important strategic interests, which plays into the hands of Moscow. As the media points out, "the brown Russian bear turns into a white one." A significant role in this is played by the Kola Peninsula, where the base of Russian strategic missile carriers (Gadzhievo) is located.


In the Russian Federation, it is difficult to overestimate the importance of the Arctic expanses, since the Kremlin views this region not only as another theater of military operations, but also as a territory politically and economically linking the Baltic in the west and the Pacific Ocean in the east. Nevertheless, in order to preserve the status quo, after the expansion of the North Atlantic Alliance to the east, Russia decided to include the Arctic not in the political, but in the climate agenda.

At the same time, Moscow is expanding its defensive capabilities in the north in order to protect the perimeter of the Kola Peninsula and control the Northern Sea Route, which in the future may become a very important trade artery. In addition, from January 2021, the Northern Fleet received the status of a military district, and the corresponding Strategic Command was created.

Thus, the Arctic is becoming part of a large military strategy of the Russian Federation and an important frontier for the protection of the country's northern borders. As the ice-covered region becomes more navigable, other players will rush into it, and then conflicts of interest will become inevitable. And the desire of the North Atlantic Alliance to include the Arctic in the NATO 2023 program document only confirms the imminent transformation of the region into a new point of tension.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. beeper Offline beeper
    beeper 5 December 2021 00: 53
    +1
    Well done Russians! good
    At least here work proactively! yes
    Combined arms combat is difficult to organize in the Arctic, since in everything that you take, its own extreme northern specificity is manifested (which is better to master in advance, even in peacetime)!
    The Nazis, when they came to take the North from us, even contrived to arrange suspended railways in the near rear (for better logistics of supplying their advanced units) - all the components were prepared in advance ...
    That experience of battles, in extreme conditions of low temperatures and polar landscapes (in which it is very easy to "get lost" even during the day, with clear visibility and with a compass in hand ...), must be thoroughly studied and developed during exercises, thinking over and practicing everything possible and "impossible", the nuances of organizing and securing the battle, not missing "thousands of little things" ... - this is all in a complex, the guarantee of future victories!
    I am glad that I see the current Russian army in the Arctic - a lot of new special equipment and equipment good , which we only dreamed of in Soviet times! yes

«Бурый русский медведь превращается в белого»: западные СМИ об арктической политике Москвы


Россия медленно, но верно реализует свою арктическую политику, придавая в последние годы большое значение этому непростому в климатическом отношении региону. По мнению ресурса OWP (The Organization for World Peace), НАТО пока не включает Арктику в число своих важных стратегических интересов, что играет на руку Москве. Как указывает СМИ, «бурый русский медведь превращается в белого». Немалую роль в этом играет Кольский полуостров, где находится пункт базирования российских стратегических ракетоносцев (Гаджиево).


В РФ трудно переоценить значение арктических просторов, поскольку Кремль рассматривает этот регион не только в качестве очередного театра военных действий, но и как территорию, в политическом и экономическом отношении связывающую Балтику на западе и Тихий океан на востоке. Тем не менее, для сохранения статус-кво Россия после расширения Североатлантического Альянса на восток решила включить Арктику не в политическую, а в климатическую повестку.

При этом Москва расширяет свои оборонительные возможности на севере в целях охраны периметра Кольского полуострова и контроля над Северным морским путем, который в будущем может стать весьма важной торговой артерией. Кроме того, с января 2021 года Северный флот получил статус военного округа, и было создано соответствующее Стратегическое командование.

Таким образом, Арктика становится частью большой военной стратегии РФ и важным рубежом для защиты северных границ страны. Когда покрытый льдом регион станет более судоходным, в него устремятся и другие игроки, и тогда конфликты интересов станут неизбежностью. А желание Североатлантического Альянса включить Арктику в программный документ «НАТО 2023» лишь подтверждает скорое превращение региона в новую точку напряженности.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. пищак Офлайн пищак
    пищак 5 декабря 2021 00:53
    +1
    Молодцы россияне! good
    Хотя бы тут работают на упреждение! yes
    В Арктике общевойсковой бой трудно организовать, т.к. во всём, что ни возьми, проявляется своя крайнесеверная специфика( которую лучше заранее освоить, ещё в мирное время)!
    Гитлеровцы, когда пришли отнять у нас Север, даже ухитрялись устраивать в ближнем тылу подвесные рельсовые дороги( для лучшей логистики снабжения своих передовых частей)-все компоненты у них были заранее заготовлены...
    Тот опыт боёв, в экстремальных условиях низких температур и приполярных ландшафтов( в которых очень легко "потеряться" даже днём, при ясной видимости и с компасом в руках...), необходимо досконально изучать и развивать на учениях, продумывая и отрабатывая все, возможные и "невозможные", нюансы организации и обеспечения боя, не упуская "тысяч мелочей"...-это, всё в комплексе, залог будущих побед!
    Меня радует то, что я вижу у нынешней российской армии в Арктике-много новой специальной техники и снаряжения good , о которых в советское время мы только мечтали! yes