Erdogan's “Crazy” Project: What Will End the Creation of the “Second Bosphorus”

Turkey intends to implement a project that even its supporters call “crazy”: to build the Istanbul canal, parallel to the Bosphorus. It will connect the Black and Marmara seas.


In Turkey, they dreamed of something like this since the 16th century. The Bosphorus is difficult for shipping and is currently overloaded. A lot of oil tankers are moving along it, which affects the environmental situation. Traffic is growing every year, and the number of incidents is growing. The new canal is supposed to be built west of the Bosphorus. The European district of Istanbul will be divided into two parts, and the city center will turn into an island.

Environmentalists put forward several claims to the project. First, a bulldozer will have to dig only part of the canal: its route goes through the Sazlidere reservoir. This reservoir is a large source of fresh water, and during the construction of the strait it will become saline. We will have to solve the issue of water supply in Istanbul: to drill many wells. But even now, during periods of drought, water outages occur.

Environmentalists are alarmed by the mutual influence of the waters of the Black and Marmara Seas. It is believed that as a result of the construction of the Istanbul canal, the Black Sea will become saline, and the Marmara Sea will be desalinated. This can lead to the fact that part of the inhabitants of both seas will not be able to adapt to new conditions and will die out.

Another concern is related to the possible penetration of hydrogen sulfide from the Black Sea into the Marmara. However, oceanologists believe that this will not happen: hydrogen sulfide in the Black Sea exists only at great depths, and the problem of salinization and desalination will affect only local areas, and even then only slightly.

The idea is of interest to political scientists. A new strait will be paid. It is not clear how Turkey will motivate ships to go along it, bypassing the free Bosphorus. Another point: shipping through the Bosphorus is regulated by the Montreux Convention, which imposes restrictions on the passage of military vessels of non-Black Sea countries. In this strait, only the Turkish authorities will dictate the rules.

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

«Сумасшедший» проект Эрдогана: чем закончится создание «второго Босфора»

В Турции намерены реализовать проект, который даже его сторонники называют «сумасшедшим»: построить судоходный канал «Стамбул», параллельный проливу Босфор. Он соединит Черное и Мраморное моря.

О чем-то подобном в Турции мечтали еще с 16 века. Босфор сложен для судоходства и в настоящее время перегружен. По нему идет немало нефтеналивных танкеров, что сказывается на экологической ситуации. Ежегодно трафик растет, растет и количество происшествий. Новый канал предполагается построить к западу от Босфора. Европейский район Стамбула окажется разделенным на две части, и центр города превратится в остров.



Экологи выдвигают к проекту несколько претензий. Во-первых, бульдозером придется прорыть лишь часть канала: его маршрут идет через водохранилище Сазлидере. Данное водохранилище является крупным источником пресной воды, а при строительстве пролива она засолится. Придется решать вопрос с водоснабжением Стамбула: бурить множество скважин. А ведь даже сейчас в периоды засухи случаются перебои с водой.

Экологов тревожит взаимное влияние вод Черного и Мраморного морей. Есть мнение, что в результате строительства канала «Стамбул» Черное море будет засоляться, а Мраморное – опресняться. Это может привести к тому, что часть обитателей обоих морей не сможет приспособиться к новым условиям и вымрет.

Еще одно опасение связано с возможным проникновением сероводорода из Черного моря в Мраморное. Однако океанологи полагают, что этого не случится: сероводород в Черном море существует лишь на большой глубине, а проблема засоления и распреснения затронет лишь локальные участки, да и то незначительно.

Идея вызывает интерес и у политологов. Новый пролив будет платным. Непонятно, как Турция будет мотивировать суда идти по нему в обход бесплатного Босфора. Еще один момент: судоходство через Босфор регулируется конвенцией Монтрё, налагающей ограничения на проход военных судов нечерноморских стран. В данном же проливе правила будут диктовать только турецкие власти.

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти