Can China and Russia jointly build and use the Nicaraguan Canal


One of the loudest and most frustrated initiatives of the last decade is the Nicaraguan Canal construction project. An alternative to the Panama Canal, de facto controlled by the United States, the waterway was intended to be built by Chinese investors, but never built. Why did a large-scale infrastructure project become a "project", and are there any chances that it can get a new lease on life?


The Panama Canal, with a total length of 81,6 kilometers, connects the Pacific and Atlantic oceans, making it the second most important shipping canal in the world after the Suez. The canal is overloaded, about 14 thousand vessels of various classes pass through it every year, from pleasure yachts to huge bulk carriers, up to supertankers. We should especially note that the construction was carried out on the initiative and under the auspices of the Pentagon, and Panama itself was a protectorate of the United States. Formally, in 2000, the management of a strategically important channel was transferred to the government of the country, but one should not be under any illusions: Panama is still the "backyard" of the United States, where all key decisions are made in Washington. For this reason, it is not surprising what problems faced the project of an alternative shipping artery through Nicaragua, which China was trying to promote.

Economically impractical?


The idea of ​​connecting the Pacific and Atlantic oceans through Nicaragua has existed for a very long time. Despite the great length of 278 kilometers, this route also has its undoubted advantages.

At first, 105 kilometers of the path pass through the freshwater lake of Nicaragua.

Secondly, the terrain is much more comfortable than in Panama.

Thirdly, in reality, only 45 kilometers of track would have to be dug, using the excavated soil for the construction of dams and dams. It would be possible to pass through the canal in a day, its capacity was estimated at 5100 vessels per year.

As you can see, there is nothing unreal in this project with technical no point of view. The Nicaraguan government has given the go-ahead for the construction of the Hong Kong-based HK Nicaragua Canal Development Investment Co Ltd (HKND). The concession was supposed for a period of 50 years, which could be extended up to 100 years. Under its terms, in the first 10 years, the investor paid $ 10 million each, as well as 1% of all income from subprojects, which were to gradually grow to 99%. In other words, in the first half century Nicaragua, without investing anything, was to become the owner of 51% of the project's shares, and after 100 years - 99%. Also within the framework of the project, it was supposed to build two seaports at both ends of the canal, an oil pipeline, an airport, a road network and open a free trade zone. It is not surprising that the country's authorities jumped at this option.

But why did the Chinese investors, who are known for their love of large-scale infrastructure projects, “jumped off”? There are at least two versions explaining this.

According to the first, the owner of the company HK Nicaragua Canal Development Investment Co Ltd (HKND) Wang Jing is a certain Chinese Ostap Bender, who, within the framework of a private initiative, wanted to “raise money” for co-investors, but overestimated their interest, and as a result, the project "Blown away". Indeed, with all the advantages of the Nicaraguan Canal, it also has a number of serious shortcomings.


First of all, this is a much lower capacity when compared with Panama: 5100 versus 14000 ships per year. It should also be borne in mind that Uncle Sam would not calmly look at such economic activities in his "backyard". It could be stopped, for example, by imposing sanctions on those ships that have decided to pass through the Nicaraguan Canal at least once. The reason for such restrictive measures could be environmental risks associated with the possible ingress of seawater through the system of locks into the freshwater lake of Nicaragua, on which the country's agriculture depends, as well as other pollution from passing tankers and dry cargo vessels. Thus, it is not possible to make money on the channel, and the total investment is estimated at $ 40-50 billion. In charity, Chinese businessmen are not particularly noticed.

But there is also another version.

The time has not come?


As you know, the telecommunications sector in the PRC is under state control, and the founder of HK Nicaragua Canal Development Investment Co Ltd Wang Jing is a co-owner of the telecommunications holding Xinwei Telecom. Among his projects is the launching of a constellation of inexpensive satellites into orbit to provide communications in remote regions and at sea. In general, Wang Qing is either the Chinese "Elon Musk" or "Petrov and Boshirov" rolled into one.

Obviously, Beijing needs the Nicaraguan Canal, an alternative to Panama, not so much to make money on the passage of foreign ships, but to satisfy its own needs. We are talking, in particular, about unhindered access to Venezuelan oil. Currently, the United States has imposed sanctions on the purchase of "black gold" from Caracas, and therefore the PRC has to purchase oil by bypass schemes in limited quantities. No additional shipping channel for $ 40-50 billion is needed for this.

But much could change if relations between China and the United States deteriorate further. So far, everything is developing according to the standard Cold War-2 scheme with the gradual escalation and strengthening of mutual sanctions. At a certain stage, Beijing will need its own powerful foothold in the "backyard" of the Americans, and it will no longer be up to restrictive measures. Then the construction of the Nicaraguan Canal has a chance to resume, and Chinese military bases will appear in this country to protect it. And to denote a threat to the United States.

Obviously, for such activities in the southern underbelly of the "hegemon", Beijing will need a powerful naval and merchant fleet. You can't do without it. In fact, the PRC is currently engaged in the creation of a modern navy, putting the channel on pause. Landing ships, destroyers, aircraft carriers and helicopter carriers are being built - everything that is needed for long-distance expeditions, including to Latin America, where Chinese naval bases may appear. For example, in each of the new ports in Nicaragua, where the shipping canal will enter - on the Pacific and Caribbean coasts.

If Russia had a modern navy capable of operating in the far sea zone, or at least an adequate concept of its development, one could think about economic and military-technical cooperation with the PRC in Nicaragua. After the Kremlin voluntarily renounced Cuba as a military foothold, we can only consider Venezuela and, possibly, Nicaragua. The concession could be entered as a partner, build your own naval base (PMTO), and more than one, on the Nicaraguan and / or Venezuelan coast and supply through the canal. But so far there is nothing to even talk about.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: Kaidor / wikimedia.org, artes2franco / pixabay.com
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 17 December 2021 13: 38
    -2
    Firstly, the Nicaraguan Canal is an open challenge to the SSHAs, and the PRC does not seek confrontation and calls on the SSHAs to cooperate in the interests of the whole world.
    Secondly, the PRC will not be able to protect it - the Sshasovites are blocking the sea trade routes and the PRC Navy along the line:
    1. South Korea-Okinawa-Taiwan;
    2. Japan-Philippines-Singapore;
    3. Alaska-Hawaii-Australia.
    And third, the canal across the Kra Isthmus is more important for the PRC in Times (!), Especially against the background of Quad and Aukus, but by itself it costs nothing and will be easy prey without a chain of full-fledged bases in Djibouti, Gwadar, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Cambodia, the islands of Xisha and Nansha and the creation of at least 7 - 10 full-fledged AUG.
    Most importantly, bringing the military potential of the PRC to the needs of the economy, causes hysteria of the Sshasovites, fears of India, Vietnam, and Japan's revanchism.
  2. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 17 December 2021 13: 47
    +2
    Quote: Jacques Sekavar
    third, the channel across the Kra Isthmus is more important for the PRC in Times (!), especially against the background of Quad and Aukus, but by itself it costs nothing and will be easy prey without a chain of full-fledged bases in Djibouti, Gwadar, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Cambodia , the islands of Xisha and Nansha and the creation of at least 7 - 10 full-fledged AUG.
    Most importantly, bringing the military potential of the PRC to the needs of the economy, causes hysteria of the Sshasovites, fears of India, Vietnam, and Japan's revanchism.

    China is planning 10 bases abroad
    The PRC will undoubtedly have the required AUG. Tea, not USC builds ...

    Secondly, the PRC will not be able to protect it - the Sshasovites are blocking the sea trade routes and the PRC Navy along the line:

    The blockade is already a war. In wartime, all paths will be closed anyway. An air and cruise missile base in Latin America is a deterrent.
    1. gunnerminer Offline gunnerminer
      gunnerminer (gunner miner) 17 December 2021 19: 42
      -7
      Pictured is the Panama Canal as seen from the Atlantic Ocean.
  3. gunnerminer Offline gunnerminer
    gunnerminer (gunner miner) 17 December 2021 15: 58
    -7
    Russia has such a channel as an electric drum jackal. It has neither a modern fishing fleet, nor a modern merchant fleet comparable to the Soviet fleets. The same modest Navy. Without a pair of aircraft carriers, with a nuclear power plant, there is nothing to do in this region. There is no strength to implement. the possibility of such a transit, and the United States can destroy it quite quickly, or block it.
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 18 December 2021 14: 10
    -1
    A rhetorical question about an unrealistic project.

    YSA has already shown in Panama what will happen if someone rock the boat near the canals. With the same success, you can dream of a base in Mexico.
    Did the media write that the Mexican march would sweep away something in Omerik? So to load the people further ...

Могут ли Китай и Россия совместно построить и использовать Никарагуанский канал


Одной из самых громких и несостоявшихся инициатив прошлого десятилетия можно назвать проект строительства Никарагуанского канала. Альтернативную Панамскому каналу, де-факто подконтрольному США, водную артерию намеревались построить китайские инвесторы, но так и не построили. Почему масштабный инфраструктурный проект превратился в «прожект», и есть ли шансы на то, что он может получить новую жизнь?


Панамский канал общей длиной в 81,6 километра соединяет Тихий и Атлантический океаны, что делает его вторым после Суэца по значимости в мире судоходным каналом. Канал перегружен, в год через него проходит порядка 14 тысяч судов различных классов, от прогулочных яхт до огромных сухогрузов, вплоть до супертанкеров. Особо отметим, что строительство велось по инициативе и под эгидой Пентагона, а сама Панама являлась протекторатом Соединенных Штатов. Формально в 2000 году управление стратегически важным каналом было передано правительству страны, но не стоит испытывать лишних иллюзий: Панама - это по-прежнему «задний двор» США, где все ключевые решения определяются в Вашингтоне. По этой причине нет ничего удивительного в том, с какими проблемами столкнулся проект альтернативной судоходной артерии через Никарагуа, которую пытался продвигать Китай.

Экономически нецелесообразно?


Идея соединить Тихий и Атлантический океаны через Никарагуа существовала очень давно. Несмотря на большую протяженность, составляющую 278 километров, этот маршрут имеет и свои несомненные преимущества.

Во-первых, 105 километров пути проходят по пресноводному озеру Никарагуа.

Во-вторых, рельеф местности гораздо более удобный, чем в Панаме.

В-третьих, реально прорыть пришлось бы всего 45 километров пути, используя вынутый грунт для строительства плотин и запруд. Пройти по каналу можно было бы за сутки, его пропускная способность оценивалась в 5100 судов в год.

Как видно, ничего нереального в данном проекте с технической точки зрения нет. Правительство Никарагуа дало добро на строительство гонконгской компании «HK Nicaragua Canal Development Investment Co Ltd» (HKND). Предполагалась концессия сроком на 50 лет, которая могла быть продлена до 100 лет. По ее условиям в первые 10 лет инвестор выплачивал по 10 миллионов долларов, а также 1% от всех доходов от субпроектов, которые постепенно должны были вырасти до 99%. Иначе говоря, за первые полвека Никарагуа, ничего не вложив, должно было стать обладателем 51% акций проекта, а через 100 лет – 99%. Также в рамках проекта предполагалось построить два морских порта с обоих концов канала, нефтепровод, аэропорт, сеть дорог и открыть зону свободной торговли. Неудивительно, что власти страны ухватились за подобный вариант.

Но почему «соскочили» китайские инвесторы, которые известны своей любовью к масштабным инфраструктурным проектам? Есть как минимум две версии это объясняющие.

Согласно первой, владелец компании «HK Nicaragua Canal Development Investment Co Ltd» (HKND) Ван Цзин – это некий китайский «Остап Бендер», который в рамках частной инициативы хотел «развести на бабки» соинвесторов, но переоценил их интерес, и в итоге проект «сдулся». Действительно, при всех плюсах Никарагуанского канала он имеет и ряд серьезных недостатков.


Прежде всего, это гораздо меньшая пропускная способность, если сравнивать его с Панамским: 5100 против 14000 судов в год. Также следует учитывать, что Дядя Сэм не стал бы спокойно смотреть на подобную хозяйственную деятельность на своем «заднем дворе». Пресечь ее можно было бы, например, введением санкций на те суда, что решили хоть раз пройти по Никарагуанскому каналу. Поводом к подобным ограничительным мерам могли бы стать экологические риски, связанные с возможным попаданием морской воды через систему шлюзов в пресноводное озеро Никарагуа, от которого зависит сельское хозяйство страны, а также прочих загрязнений от проходящих танкеров и сухогрузов. Таким образом, заработать что-то на канале не представляется возможным, а общих размер инвестиций оценивается в 40-50 миллиардов долларов. В благотворительности китайские бизнесмены особо не замечены.

Но есть и другая версия.

Время не пришло?


Как известно, телекоммуникационная сфера в КНР находится под контролем государства, а основатель компании «HK Nicaragua Canal Development Investment Co Ltd» Ван Цзин является совладельцем телекоммуникационного холдинга Xinwei Telecom. Среди его проектов – выведение на орбиту группировки недорогих спутников для обеспечения связи в удаленных регионах и на море. В общем, Ван Цин не то китайский «Илон Маск», не то «Петров и Боширов» в одном лице.

Очевидно, что Пекину альтернативный Панамскому Никарагуанский канал нужен не столько для того, чтобы зарабатывать на проходе иностранных судов, сколько для удовлетворения собственных потребностей. Речь идет, в частности, о беспрепятственном доступе к венесуэльской нефти. В настоящее время Соединенные Штаты ввели санкции за покупку «черного золота» у Каракаса, и потому КНР приходится приобретать нефть по обходным схемам в ограниченных объемах. Никакой дополнительный судоходный канал за 40-50 миллиардов долларов для этого не нужен.

Но многое может измениться в случае дальнейшего ухудшения отношений между Китаем и США. Пока что все развивается по стандартной схеме «Холодной войны-2» с постепенным нагнетанием и усилением взаимных санкций. На определенном этапе Пекину понадобится свой мощный плацдарм на «заднем дворе» у американцев, и ему уже будет не до ограничительных мер. Тогда строительство Никарагуанского канала имеет шансы возобновиться, и в этой стране появятся китайские военные базы для его охраны. И для обозначения угрозы США.

Очевидно, что для подобной деятельности в южном подбрюшье «гегемона» Пекину понадобится мощный военно-морской и торговый флот. Без этого никак. Созданием современных ВМС, собственно говоря, КНР в настоящее время и занимается, поставив канал на паузу. Строятся десантные корабли, эсминцы, авианосцы и вертолетоносцы – все то, что нужно для дальних экспедиций, в том числе, в Латинскую Америку, где, вероятно, могут возникнуть китайские военно-морские базы. Например, в каждом из новых портов Никарагуа, куда выйдет судоходный канал - на тихоокеанском и карибском побережьях.

Имей Россия современный военно-морской флот, способный действовать в дальней морской зоне, или хотя бы адекватную концепцию его развития, можно было бы задуматься об экономическом и военно-техническом сотрудничестве с КНР в Никарагуа. После добровольного отказа Кремля от Кубы в качестве военного плацдарма мы можем рассматривать только Венесуэлу и, возможно, Никарагуа. В концессию можно было бы войти в качестве партнера, построить собственную военно-морскую базу (ПМТО), и не одну, на никарагуанском и/или венесуэльском побережье и снабжать через канал. Но пока даже говорить не о чем.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 17 декабря 2021 13:38
    -2
    Во-первых, Никарагуанский канал – открытый вызов сшасовцам, а КНР не стремится к конфронтации и призывает сшасовцев к сотрудничеству в интересах всего мира.
    Во-вторых, защитить его КНР не сможет – сшасовцы блокируют морские торговые пути и ВМФ КНР по линии:
    1. Ю.Корея-Окинава-Тайвань;
    2. Япония-Филиппины-Сингапур;
    3. Аляска-Гавайи-Австралия.
    И третье, канал через перешеек Кра для КНР в Разы(!) важнее, особенно на фоне Quad и Aukus, но сам по себе он ничего не стоит и будет лёгкой добычей без цепочки полноценных баз в Джибути, Гвадаре, Шри-Ланке, Мьянме, Камбодже, островах Сиша и Наньша и создания как минимум 7-ми – 10-ти полноценных АУГ.
    Самое главное, приведение военного потенциала КНР потребности экономики, вызывает истерию сшасовцев, опасения Индии, Вьетнама, реваншизм Японии.
  2. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 17 декабря 2021 13:47
    +2
    Цитата: Jacques Sekavar
    третье, канал через перешеек Кра для КНР в Разы(!) важнее, особенно на фоне Quad и Aukus, но сам по себе он ничего не стоит и будет лёгкой добычей без цепочки полноценных баз в Джибути, Гвадаре, Шри-Ланке, Мьянме, Камбодже, островах Сиша и Наньша и создания как минимум 7-ми – 10-ти полноценных АУГ.
    Самое главное, приведение военного потенциала КНР потребности экономики, вызывает истерию сшасовцев, опасения Индии, Вьетнама, реваншизм Японии.

    КНР как раз и планируют 10 баз за рубежом
    Требуемые АУГ у КНР будут несомненно. Чай, не ОСК строит...

    Во-вторых, защитить его КНР не сможет – сшасовцы блокируют морские торговые пути и ВМФ КНР по линии:

    Блокада - это уже война. В военное время все пути будут перекрыты и так. База в Латинской Америке с авиацией и крылатыми ракетами - это фактор сдерживания.
    1. gunnerminer Офлайн gunnerminer
      gunnerminer (gunnerminer) 17 декабря 2021 19:42
      -7
      На фото Панамский канал.Вид со стороны Атлантического океана.
  3. gunnerminer Офлайн gunnerminer
    gunnerminer (gunnerminer) 17 декабря 2021 15:58
    -7
    России такой канал как шакалу электробубен.Ни современного промыслового , ни современного торгового флота , сопоставимых с советскими флотами, не имеет.Такой же скромный Военно-морской флот.Без пары авианосцев , с ядерной силовой установкой , в данном районе делать нечего.Нет сил реализовать возможности такого транзита.А разрушить его США могут достаточно оперативно, или забокировать.
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 18 декабря 2021 14:10
    -1
    Риторическкий вопрос о нереальном проекте.

    ЮСА уже показали в Панаме, что будет, если кто будет рыпаться у каналов. С темже успехом можно помечтать о базе в мексике.
    Сми же расписывали, что мексиканский марш сметет там чегото в Омерике? Вот и грузить народ дальше....