A new level of the economy: What will the digital ruble give Russia


The Central Bank of Russia has prepared a prototype of the digital ruble platform and the first test operations with it will begin in January 2022. This was announced on December 20 by the first deputy chairman of the Central Bank Olga Skorobogatova.


The prototype of the digital ruble platform is ready. Immediately after the January holidays, we begin piloting the operations of the first stage with 12 banks

- noted Skorobogatova. Earlier in the media it was already reported that the testing of the digital domestic currency platform will take place in several stages over the next year.

Not "wooden", but digital


Financial experiments with digitalization of the domestic currency are not news... According to the Central Bank's advisory report on the digital ruble, published back in October 2020, the regulator is actively studying the prospects for expanding the ruble system of monetary circulation, adding to the already existing forms of existence of the domestic currency (cash and non-cash) a third - digital.

The first stage of testing the digital ruble platform involves connecting credit institutions to it and launching transfers between individuals (C2C). At the second stage, the Central Bank is going to connect the Federal Treasury to the new platform, as well as launch smart contracts and transactions between individuals and legal entities (C2B, B2C), between only legal entities (B2B), as well as between individuals and legal entities and the state. That is, in fact, to test all types of transactions carried out in the Russian Federation on the digital ruble.

Although this is an obvious step forward in financial development, it cannot be said that everyone in Russia is enthusiastic about the prospects for a digital national currency.

I do not fully understand why this is necessary. From the initiators of the project, I hear only general words about digitalization.

- notes the deputy chairman of the board of Alfa-Bank Vladimir Senin. His bank, according to Vedomosti, is part of a pilot group for testing the digital ruble.

However, in response to this and similar comments, the first deputy chairman of the Central Bank, Sergei Shvetsov, who spoke at the XVIII International Banking Forum "Banks of Russia - XXI Century" in Sochi, only stressed that the goal of creating a digital ruble, in principle, lies outside the area of ​​interests of banks. For the rest, the advantages of the digital ruble are obvious. All settlements will be carried out at the same rates and transaction costs will be drastically reduced. As a result, the additional commission of banks for money transfers will be finally abolished, which partly explains the cool attitude of the Russian banking community to the innovation. In addition, each ruble will have a unique number, which will make it possible to fully track its movement and return money in case of theft, which, given the increased incidence of telephone and Internet fraud using social engineering methods, is also very important. For example, in April - June this year, telephone scammers stole more than 3 billion rubles from Russian bank clients, of which only 222 million (7,4%) were returned to the victims. If this money passed through a digital platform, where each ruble could be traced to the final recipient, the situation would clearly be different.

Bets have been placed, are there any more bids?


And yet, the prospects and innovativeness are good, but the introduction of the digital ruble cannot be considered in isolation from the current realities. On December 17, the Central Bank sharply raised the key rate by one percentage point at once - from 7,5 to 8,5%. The reason is clear - inflation in Russia has recently accelerated much higher than the target of four percent announced by the Central Bank for this year. The very fact of the key rate increase, predicted by the majority of financial analysts, is also understandable. Central Bank Rate Games - A Critical Monetary Management Tool policies within the fiat system. The classic pendulum: inflation accelerates - the rate rises and vice versa, in this case it swung in the direction of rising prices, so the Central Bank, as expected, reacted by tightening. Nevertheless, this time the situation is somewhat different from the crises with which the Russian economy faced in the past. And the reason for this is the fact that inflation in Russia today is "imported" in nature, i.e. primarily exported from the dollar and euro area. The United States, faced with the consequences of the pandemic, habitually floods them with money. As a result, despite the record inflation in the United States over the past thirty years, the base rate after the next Fed meeting last month was kept in the range from 0% to 0,25% per annum. That is, no one is going to stop the printing press in the USA. On the contrary, the American authorities, like pole vaulters, each time try to take new heights, as if checking how much more money can be printed? So President Joe Biden just a few days ago raised the ceiling of the American national debt again. And at once for trillions of dollars. And all of them, as before, will not be taken out of thin air, but out of our pockets. As well as from the pockets of the rest of the seven billion inhabitants of the Earth.

Russia will not be able to follow a similar path. Of course, there are always "experts" who believe that the domestic key rate is simply unreasonably high, and if you make it almost zero, like in the US or the EU, then things will go uphill. The industry will start spinning, having received cheap loans, the financial well-being of the population will begin to increase, due to the fact that there will simply be more money in the economy. Nevertheless, if today the Central Bank rate is reduced to zero, then all this will lead to is a huge jump in inflation. Just look at the example of Turkey and how the easing of monetary policy contrary to the trend affected its economy. Instead of raising the rate when prices rise, the head of the country, Recep Erdogan, according to media reports, has been actively influencing the leadership of the Turkish Central Bank for the last year, forcing it to lower the rate, despite the explosive growth of inflationary expectations. The result was not long in coming - since the beginning of this year, the Turkish lira has depreciated by more than half.

Erdogan, in his actions, obviously focuses on the developed Western countries, which thrive in the paradigm of "low rates - high GDP". The problem lies in the fact that they have it all tied to national currencies that are in demand abroad, and the Turkish lira outside Turkey is practically of no use to anyone. It does not have the status of a world reserve currency and it is not used by foreigners as a store of value (except perhaps as a subject of speculation in the Forex market). Of course, all this is a problem for Turkey, if not for one thing. A similar situation with the national currency is extremely familiar to Russia.

China, USA, India, Japan, Germany, Russia, Indonesia, Brazil, France, UK - this is the list of the top 10 economies in terms of GDP (PPP) in the world according to the IMF. Six of these countries issue money in the status of world reserve currencies. China - yuan, USA - dollar, Japan - yen, Germany and France - euro, UK - pound. The Russian ruble, in spite of the fact that the domestic economy is one third larger than the British one, does not have such a status. And the further it goes, the more it becomes obvious that it will be more and more difficult to achieve sustainable growth of the Russian economy without securing such a status.

And this is where Russia needs to use the digital ruble. But for this it is necessary that it function not within a separate sandbox platform, but be fully integrated into the Russian alternative to SWIFT - SPFS and be available for circulation outside Russia, at least within the banks connected to the system. So that any foreign citizen or institutional investor clearly knows that he can directly convert digital rubles without contacting a long chain of intermediaries and pay them around the world. Only this will make it possible to bring the Russian economy to a new level, primarily by raising the status of the ruble from the monetary unit, which accounts for tenths of a percent in international settlements, to the level of the first major state currency circulating in digital form. After all, if something is capable of making the Russian banknote a world reserve currency, then it is digitalization at a faster pace.
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 22 December 2021 09: 18
    0
    A new level.
    Digital pensions have been around for a long time, there are already digital elections, there will be a digital ruble.
  2. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 22 December 2021 09: 52
    0
    1. The cheapest and least expensive form of money turnover for state institutions
    2. Providing not gold reserves, but the productive forces of state institutions
    3. Issuer - state education represented by the central bank
    4. Centralized settlements through the central bank
    5. Commercial banks - the fifth wheel in the cart
    6. Total control over the movement of each banknote and person
    7. The most important step on the path of globalization is the transition from state division to the ownership of transnational corporations, and then to world government
    1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
      Bulanov (Vladimir) 22 December 2021 10: 07
      0
      When they built the Tower of Babel, did they also count on the world government?
  3. Dear sofa expert. 24 December 2021 00: 05
    +2
    Can anyone explain to me what “digital ruble” means?
    As far as I understand, digital currency is a cryptocurrency. Cryptocurrency is tied to some underlying topic (for example, technology)
    Then what does the ruble have to do with it?
    1. Alex Rus Offline Alex Rus
      Alex Rus (Alex Rus) 24 December 2021 14: 37
      0
      Look at the paper bill - each one has an individual number on it. The digital ruble will also have an individual number. At the moment, non-cash money in accounts is stupidly total amounts.
      The digital ruble is easier to control and easier to operate.
    2. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
      Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 26 December 2021 19: 52
      +1
      Any competent PC owner can become the issuer of cryptocurrency. It is not provided with anything, but it brings a good income to the owner in real terms.
      The issuers of digital currencies are government entities represented by their central banks. Accordingly, this implies the responsibility of state education for its own currency.
      How can it be provided if all available gold reserves are not enough for the normal functioning of the world economy?
      The provision of their digital currencies issued by state entities is implied by all productive forces at the disposal of state entities - land, natural resources, labor instruments, technologies, products, etc.
      1. Dear sofa expert. 26 December 2021 20: 51
        +1
        Any competent PC owner can become the issuer of cryptocurrency. She is not provided with anything

        How is it not provided? I always believed that mostly cryptocurrencies, at least formally, are backed by some underlying technologies that provide certain services. Or not?
        1. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
          Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 27 December 2021 09: 22
          +1
          Who owns the technologies - state institutions and corporations that trade them out of their own interests and for which researchers, inventors, engineers, PR people, the media, etc., etc. work.
          Crypto and digital currencies are not the same thing.
          All crypto bitcoins, ethereums and others, of which there are more than a thousand in the world, are private. Any organization, social network or a competent PC owner can become their issuer through mining.
          How can they back their altcoins - Nothing! A kind of scam in which the owners of crypto "farms" earn. In Yakutia, the cold is free, in the Irkutsk province - cheap electricity, in Moscow and other settlements if they are looking for options for recouping mining costs.
          The anonymity of transactions with such “currencies” is bullshit. As soon as they are exchanged for real goods, including banknotes, this is where they are tracked.
          Moreover, this scam undermines the basis of the economy - the financial monopoly of state education, and that's another story.
          1. Dear sofa expert. 27 December 2021 11: 37
            +1
            Crypto and digital currencies are not the same thing.

            This is the same. The difference is in their “(de-) centralization”.

            How can they back their altcoins - Nothing! A kind of scam in which the owners of crypto "farms" earn

            "Crypto farms", through "mining" provide "blockchain tenologies" with their capacities to generate new blocks. For this service, the "miner" receives a reward in the form of a cryptocurrency. The cost of a cryptocurrency is determined by the market as the demand for a particular "blockchain technology"
            By means of blockchain technologies, various electronic transfers are provided: from money transfers to providing telephone conversations, video streams, and other various types of electronic information transfer.
            All this in our time is the provision of appropriate services. Services are also a kind of product. The goods are bought and sold.

            What exactly do you see a scam?

            The anonymity of transactions with such “currencies” is bullshit. As soon as they are exchanged for real goods, including banknotes, this is where they are tracked.
            Moreover, this scam undermines the basis of the economy - the financial monopoly of state education, and that's another story.

            Any profit is tax deductible. Earned, paid tax. In my opinion this is acceptable. The tax on your profits will not hurt the state from the word - at all.

            Where do you see the dissonance here?

Новый уровень экономики: Что даст России цифровой рубль


Центробанк России подготовил прототип платформы цифрового рубля и первые тестовые операции с ним начнутся в январе 2022 года. Об этом 20 декабря сообщила первый зампред ЦБ Ольга Скоробогатова.


Прототип платформы цифрового рубля готов. Сразу после январских праздников мы начинаем пилотирование операций первого этапа с 12 банками

— отметила Скоробогатова. Ранее в СМИ уже сообщалось о том, что тестирование платформы цифровой отечественной валюты будет происходить в ходе нескольких этапов в течение следующего года.

Не «деревянный», а цифровой


Финансовые эксперименты с цифровизацией отечественной валюты — не новость. Согласно опубликованному еще в октябре 2020 года консультативному докладу ЦБ о цифровом рубле, регулятор активно изучает перспективы расширения рублевой системы денежного обращения, добавив к уже существующим формам существования отечественной валюты (наличной и безналичной) третью — цифровую.

Первый этап тестирования платформы цифрового рубля предполагает подключение к ней кредитных организаций и запуск переводов между физическими лицами (C2C). На втором этапе Центробанк собирается подключить к новой платформе Федеральное казначейство, а также запустить смарт-контракты и операции между физическими и юридическими лицами (C2B, B2C), между только юрлицами (B2B), а также между физическими и юридическими лицами и государством. То есть, по сути, протестировать на цифровом рубле все типы транзакций, проводимые в РФ.

Хотя несмотря на то, что это очевидный шаг вперед по линии финансового развития, нельзя сказать, что все в России отзываются о перспективах цифровой национальной валюты с восторгом.

Я не до конца понимаю, зачем это нужно. От инициаторов проекта я слышу только общие слова про цифровизацию

– отмечает зампред правления Альфа-банка Владимир Сенин. Его банк, как сообщают «Ведомости», входит в пилотную группу тестирования цифрового рубля.

Впрочем, в ответ на этот и подобные ему комментарии первый зампред ЦБ Сергей Швецов, выступавший в ходе XVIII Международного банковского форума «Банки России – XXI век» в Сочи, лишь подчеркнул, что цель создания цифрового рубля в принципе лежит вне области интересов банков. В остальном же преимущества цифрового рубля — налицо. Все расчеты будут проводиться по единым тарифам и транзакционные издержки будут снижены радикально. Как следствие, дополнительная комиссия банков за денежные переводы будет окончательно упразднена, что отчасти и объясняет прохладное отношение российского банковского сообщества к нововведению. Кроме того каждый рубль будет обладать уникальным номером, что позволит полностью отследить его движение и вернуть деньги в случае хищения, что, учитывая участившиеся случаи телефонного и интернет-мошенничества с использованием методов социальной инженерии, также весьма актуально. К примеру, за апрель — июнь этого года телефонные мошенники украли у российских банковских клиентов более 3 миллиардов рублей, из которых лишь 222 миллиона (7,4%) было возвращено жертвам. Если бы эти деньги проходили через цифровую платформу, где каждый рубль можно было бы отследить до конечного получателя ситуация бы явно была иной.

Ставки сделаны, ставки еще есть?


И все же перспективы и инновационность это хорошо, однако введение цифрового рубля нельзя рассматривать в отрыве от текущих реалий. 17 декабря Центробанк резко повысил ключевую ставку сразу на один процентный пункт — с 7,5 до 8,5%. Причина понятна — инфляция в России в последнее время резко разогналась куда выше целевых четырех процентов, заявленных ЦБ на этот год. Понятен также и сам факт повышения ключевой ставки, предсказанный большинством финансовых аналитиков. Игры со ставкой центрального банка — важнейший инструмент управления денежно-кредитной политикой в рамках фиатной системы. Классический маятник: инфляция разгоняется — повышается ставка и наоборот, в данном случае качнулся в сторону роста цен, так что ЦБ, как и следовало ожидать, отреагировал ужесточением. Тем не менее на этот раз ситуация несколько отличается от кризисов, с которыми российская экономика сталкивалась в прошлом. И причина тому тот факт, что инфляция в России сегодня носит «завозной» характер, т.е. прежде всего экспортируется из долларовой и еврозоны. США, столкнувшиеся с последствиями пандемии, привычно заливают их деньгами. В результате, несмотря на рекордную за последние тридцать лет инфляцию в Штатах, базовая ставка после очередного заседания ФРС в прошлом месяце была сохранена в диапазоне от 0% до 0,25% годовых. То есть останавливать печатный станок в США никто и не собирается. Напротив, американские власти, словно прыгуны с шестом, каждый раз пытаются взять новую высоту, словно бы проверяя, сколько же еще денег можно будет напечатать? Так президент Джо Байден всего несколько дней назад снова поднял потолок американского госдолга. Причем сразу на триллионы долларов. И все они, как и прежде, возьмутся не из воздуха, а из наших с вами карманов. Как и из карманов остальных семи миллиардов жителей Земли.

России же идти по подобному пути не удастся. Безусловно, всегда находятся «эксперты», которые считают, что отечественная ключевая ставка просто необоснованно высока, и если сделать ее почти нулевой как в США или ЕС, то дело резко пойдут в гору. Закрутится промышленность, получив дешевые кредиты, начнет повышаться финансовое благосостояние населения, за счет того, что денег в экономике просто станет больше. Тем не менее, если сегодня снизить ставку ЦБ до нуля, то все к чему это приведет — сильнейший скачок инфляции. Достаточно посмотреть на пример Турции и то, как смягчение денежно-кредитной политики наперекор тренду повлияло на ее экономику. Вместо того чтобы поднимать ставку в момент роста цен, глава страны Реджеп Эрдоган, по сообщениям СМИ, весь последний год активно воздействует на руководство турецкого ЦБ, заставляя его понижать ставку, несмотря на взрывной рост инфляционных ожиданий. Результат не заставил себя долго ждать — с начала этого года турецкая лира обесценилась более чем вдвое.

Эрдоган в своих действиях, очевидно, ориентируется на развитые западные страны, которые процветают в условиях парадигмы «низкие ставки — высокий ВВП». Проблем заключается в том, что у них все это завязано на национальные валюты, пользующиеся спросом за рубежом, а турецкая лира за пределами Турции практически никому не нужна. У нее нет статуса мировой резервной валюты и она не используется иностранцами как средство накопления (разве что, как предмет спекуляций на рынке Forex). Конечно, все это проблема Турции, если бы не одно но. Подобная ситуация с национальной валютой крайне знакома и для России.

Китай, США, Индия, Япония, Германия, Россия, Индонезия, Бразилия, Франция, Великобритания — вот список топ-10 экономик по уровню ВВП (ППС) в мире по данным МВФ. Шестеро из данных стран эмитируют деньги, находящиеся в статусе мировых резервных валют. Китай — юань, США — доллар, Япония — иену, Германия и Франция — евро, Великобритания — фунт. Российский же рубль, несмотря на то, что отечественная экономика на треть больше британской, подобным статусом не обладает. И чем дальше, тем больше становится очевидно, что без закрепления за ним подобного статуса добиться устойчивого роста российской экономики будет все сложнее.

И именно тут России и нужно использовать цифровой рубль. Но для этого необходимо, чтобы он функционировал не в рамках отдельной платформы-песочницы, а был полностью интегрирован в российскую альтернативу SWIFT — СПФС и доступен к обращению за пределами России как минимум в пределах подключенных к системе банков. Так, чтобы любой иностранный гражданин или институциональный инвестор четко знал, что сможет напрямую конвертировать цифровые рубли без контакта с длинной цепочкой посредников и расплачиваться ими по всему миру. Только это позволит вывести экономику России на новый уровень, прежде всего за счет поднятия статуса рубля с денежной единицы, на которую приходятся десятые доли процента в международных расчетах до уровня первой крупной государственной валюты, обращающейся в цифровой форме. Ведь если что-то и способно сделать российский денежный знак мировой резервной валютой — то это цифровизация опережающими темпами.
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 22 декабря 2021 09:18
    0
    Новый уровень.
    Цифровые пенсии уже давно, цифровые выборы уже есть, будет цифровой рубль.
  2. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 22 декабря 2021 09:52
    0
    1. Самая дешёвая и малозатратная для гособразований форма денежного оборота
    2. Обеспечение не ЗВР, а производительными силами гособразований
    3. Эмитент – гособразование в лице центральной банки
    4. Централизованные расчёты через центральную банку
    5. Коммерческие банки – пятое колесо в телеге
    6. Тотальный контроль за движением каждого дензнака и человека
    7. Важнейший шаг на пути глобализации – переходу от государственного деления к владениям транснациональных корпораций, а затем и к мировому правительству
    1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
      Буланов (Владимир) 22 декабря 2021 10:07
      0
      Когда строили Вавилонскую башню - тоже расчитывали на мировое правительство?
  3. Кто нибудь может мне объяснить, что означает «цифровой рубль»?
    На сколько я понимаю, цифровая валюта - это криптовалюта. Криптовалюта завязана на какую либо, стоящую за ней тему (например - технологию)
    Тогда при чём здесь рубль?
    1. Alex Rus Офлайн Alex Rus
      Alex Rus (Alex Rus) 24 декабря 2021 14:37
      0
      Поглядите на бумажную купюру - там на каждой есть индивидуальный номер. У цифрового рубля тоже будет индивидуальный номер. На данный момент безналичные деньги на счетах - тупо общие суммы.
      За цифровым рублём проще контроль и проще оперирование.
    2. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
      Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 26 декабря 2021 19:52
      +1
      Эмитентом криптовалюты может стать любой грамотный обладатель ПК. Она ничем не обеспечена, но приносит хороший доход владельцу в реальном выражении.
      Эмитентами цифровых валют являются гособразования в лице своих центральных банок. Соответственно это подразумевает и ответственность гособразования за свою валюту.
      Чем она может быть обеспечена если всех имеющихся запасов золота не хватит для нормального функционирования мировой экономики?
      Обеспечение выпускаемых гособразованиями своих цифровых валют подразумевается всеми имеющимися в распоряжении гособразований производительными силами – землёй, природными ресурсами, орудиями труда, технологиями, продукцией и т.д.
      1. Эмитентом криптовалюты может стать любой грамотный обладатель ПК. Она ничем не обеспечена

        Как это не обеспечена? Всегда считал, что в основном криптовалюты, хотя бы формально обеспечены какими либо, стоящими за ними технологиями, оказывающими определённые сервисные услуги. Или нет?
        1. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
          Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 27 декабря 2021 09:22
          +1
          Технологии кому принадлежат – гособразованиям и корпорациям, которые ими торгуют исходя из собственных интересов и на которые трудятся исследователи, изобретатели, инженеры, пиарщики, СМИ и т.д., и т.п.
          Крипто и цифро валюты – не одно и то же.
          Все крипто биткойны, эфириумы и прочие, которых по миру больше тысячи, – частные. Любая организация, соцсеть или грамотный владелец ПК может стать их эмитентом путём майнинга.
          Чем они могут обеспечить свои альткойны – Ничем! Разновидность лохотрона, в котором зарабатывают владельцы крипто“ферм”. В Якутии – холод бесплатный, в Иркутской губернии – дешёвая электроэнергия, в Москве и других поселениях если изыскивают варианты окупаемости затрат на майнинг.
          Анонимность операций с такими “валютами” – враки. Как только их обменивают на реальные товары, включая дензнаки, тут-то они и отслеживаются.
          Мало того, этот лохотрон подрывает основу экономики – финансовую монополию гособразования, а это уже другая история.
          1. Крипто и цифро валюты – не одно и то же.

            Это одно и то же. Разница в их «(де-) централизованности».

            Чем они могут обеспечить свои альткойны – Ничем! Разновидность лохотрона, в котором зарабатывают владельцы крипто“ферм”

            «Криптофермы», посредством «майнинга» предоставляют «блокчейн тенологиям» свои мощности для генерирования новых блоков. За эту услугу «майнер» получает вознаграждение в виде криптовалюты. Стоимость криптовалюты определяется рынком по мере востребованности той или иной «блокчейн технологии»
            Посредством блокчейн-технологий обеспечиваются различные электронные трансферы: от переводов денег, до обеспечения телефонных разговоров, видео стримов, и других различных видов перевода электронной информации.
            Всё это в наше время является оказанием соответствующих услуг. Услуги это тоже разновидность товара. Товар продаётся и покупается.

            В чём именно вы видите лохотрон?

            Анонимность операций с такими “валютами” – враки. Как только их обменивают на реальные товары, включая дензнаки, тут-то они и отслеживаются.
            Мало того, этот лохотрон подрывает основу экономики – финансовую монополию гособразования, а это уже другая история.

            Любая прибыль подлежит налогообложению. Заработал, заплатил налог. По моему это приемлемо. Государству налог от вашей прибыли не помешает от слова - совсем.

            В чём вы видите здесь диссонанс?